$19 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

El Cortez Hotel and Casino

3 stars
View map of 600 E. Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
694 out of 694
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Feb 28, 2008

very friendly and well laid out

the vintage rooms was not that big but the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was really to small as there was no where to even turn around in. the closest space and drawer space was adequate for 2 people. the location was fine. it was a pleasent walk to the freemont street and was really a great place to eat. the cafe has the very best food around and a great meal for so little money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

you have to eat at the cafe. it was the best breakfast in town. only a very short walk to freemont street.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vijay
Business
USA
May 30, 2007

Very family friendly

This is one of the best value for money hotel in Vegas. One can get a 3-4 star hotel facilities in a very reasonable price. Though its towards the end of the strip(Vegas Blvd), but its not that far. If you are going to Vegas for the first time then let me tell you one thing, Strip is just about 2 miles long, so it hardly makes any difference which part of it you are staying. All in all I enjoyed staying in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The strip where all the hotels are which you wouldnt want to miss is just about half a mile.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 2, 2007

Great for the money

We stayed Friday,Saturday,Sunday and Monday. We were so happy with the |El Cortez that we went back that weekend of October 7th and stayed that Sunday and Monday night again. We stayed in three different rooms in three different locations and they were all great. However we really enjoyed the Tower room. The location was great to see the strip and the light show without going far. Just a few blocks. I would stay again. All the rooms had nice furniture and were very roomy The Tower room has a sitting area also. Adequate space for hanging clothes in all the rooms and they all provided suitcase stands.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The downtown strip was just a short walk down the street

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Erric
Business
Dayton, OH
Dec 3, 2007

Very Comfortable and friendly

The El Cortez was very comfortable, the room seemed much larger than most with a desk area and a seperat couch with view of downtown. I liked the fact that the bathroom was separate from the vanity area and there was a sink with a long counter and there was adequate space for hanging clothes and they provided two suitcase stands. The location was very good -- it was vert easy to manuver throughout downtown Las Vegas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The casino downstairs was very inexpensive.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Apr 26, 2007

Nice casino layout, friendly bartenders, friendly dealers at the tables

Very nicely surprised. Had read previous reviews stating this hotel was a bit smokey and needing better air circulation. While my wife and I were there, the hotel was in the process of replacing all the carpet on the main floor which removed nearly all of the old smoke smell from the that level. By the time we checked out, three days later, you couldn't tell if someone had been smoking or not! Very friendly staff for the most part. Did run into one, I say one, old foggie at the customer service desk but, he was the only pimple on the place. Our room was clean and comfortable. I am looking forward to staying at the El Cortez again and very soon! Nice decor, very original.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Fremont Street Experience is a short walk from the hotel, approximately two blocks. Lots to do, lots of dining options and loads of entertainment.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 21, 2008

Old school Las Vegas

The El Cortez is a great value for the dollar. The single deck blackjack is still full pay and combine this with the royal match side bet makes this game one of the best if not the best to be found in Las Vegas today!We stayed in the tower queen room. The room is well maintained and well furnished. This casinio and hotel is not geared for a family vacation but for adults.The gaming is overall better here than on freemont. The atmosphere is that of the stepping back in time to the early 1960's. Do Not worry about it being too smokey in the casino both myself and my daughter are nonsmokers and had no problem what so ever.We stayed her for 5 nights and would recomend it to others highly. Your best bet is to rent a car during your stay for easy acesss to the strip or any where else you might want to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Freemont experience

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Allentown, PA
Feb 29, 2008

COZY ATMOSPHERE

STAFF: VERY FRIENDLY AND ACCOMMODATING COZY RELAXING ATMOSPHERE WOULD RECOMMEND VENDING MACHINES UP IN THE VINTAGE ROOM AREAS. WOULD ALSO RECOMMEND BETTER LIGHT ON STEPS LEADING TO VINTAGE ROOMS. I STUMBLED TWICE DUE TO THE POOR LIGHTING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Aug 9, 2007

Great hotel for the price

Best value in Vegas. Rooms are huge and clean. Casino is one of the best downtown. Bath is outdated but room size and bed make up for it. Main restaurant is great food for price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
May 29, 2007

nice stay for the price

Large room. Everythink in the room is very clean and new. Location is good, very close to Strip shuttles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

give yourself some time if you plan to travel to the strip by shuttle as shuttle to the strip takes longer than expected due to MULTIPLE stops.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Syracuse, NY
Feb 21, 2008

great check in

we got there late, yet the check in was easy & the clerk was GREAT!! Because we were late they up-graded the room to t tower room no charge!! We also got 2 free nights for the next month!! The people here are great! would not recomend for kids tho due to the location. Yet if you want a cheep room that is good , then stay here!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

rent a car..it is cheeper than a taxi and less stress than the bus! There are great deals...you just got to look...we got a car from thrifty for less than 100 for 5 days!

Back to menu Return to top