$17 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

El Cortez Hotel and Casino

3 stars
View map of 600 E. Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
580 out of 580
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juanchito
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 13, 2012

The Dream City

Excellent value for the money. Friendly, helpful staff. Very safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mexican Food outside of the Strip

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tailgate
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jun 17, 2012

Incredible & immaculate 40's "Vintage" room deal

I was very surprised at how well maintained my bargain "Vintage" room (3302) was! The interior was immaculate, everything from the 40's style furniture to the interior painting. Coffee, iron & board, separate living/TV area, and even a small "office" that had an immaculate desk that had a leather top (40's style?). I LOVED this hotel/casino. It's a gem and shows how classy things were in the 40's. Incredible value (I didn't see any tower or cabana rooms)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Only one short (and safe) block to the exciting downtown Fremont Experience. I've been to Vegas many times and I prefer downtown. Much better hotel value and everyting in walking distance. I also stayed on the strip (IP casino) but the downtown El Cortez hotel was much, much more classy!

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John 4949
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 11, 2012

Pleasantly Surprised

The room was magnificent. It was clean, did not smell of smoke, I walked barefoot on the carpet and room service was outstanding. A steal at the price I paid..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Fremont Experience is right up the street, lots of entertainment and fun for all.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thyear2525
Business
Phoenix, Az.
Aug 10, 2012

Tremendous Value

We enjoy downtown after years of staying on the strip. Downtown offers free entertainment on every street corner, better odds on gaming, and bargains galore. Watching the "locals" is entertainment itself. The "Cafe" at El Cortez was rated best in its category in 2012 and I agree. The $12 prime rib dinner would cost you $22+ any where else. The "Cafe" was a first class operation intended to serve the gamblers..........not make money. We come to Las Vegas about 3 times a year for the food, gambling and fun. At $15 a night for a great room, how can you find a better deal?.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Next door was a WiFi/coffee shop with free WiFi. No need to spend the $11.95 for the WiFi at El Cortez.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tailgate
Business
Sacramento, CA
Mar 28, 2013

Impressive quaint hotel/casino

I find the El Cortez to be an excellent casino/hotel. It's very well-run and in an area that's just two short blocks away from all the main Fremont casinos. The East end Fremont street area is becoming more and more attractive. This casino is the anchor for the East side of Fremont streeet. $3 craps and 21, a courtesy shuttle (and it's a Lincoln town car! to airport, excellent gaming floor and it's not small, either. Not just a few machines but a rather large gaming floor.I love the old-time "Vintage" rooms #expecially the rooms facing 4th street, Fremont street. Really a gem of a hotel/casino. Nice old-time Las Vegas photos adorn walls. Charming!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The main Fremond Experience is just two blocks away. The area is great!

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
croosing2
Business
Dallas, TX
Apr 2, 2013

Great place, would definetly stay again

Nice hotel, nice large room, friendly staff, would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BreeBee
Business
Pinole, CA
Apr 11, 2013

Our Favorite Vegas Hotel!

My husband and I love the hotel! Ask for a room with a view of the strip for sure--you can see almost to the south end from at least the 7th floor. The king mattress was SUPER comfortable and we loved how close it is to East Fremont's hot spots! We'll be back for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great places in walking distance to eat... Le Thai, Park, Radio City Pizza...and...for a cocktail, visit the Commonwealth and better yet, their hidden speakeasy, the Laundry Room!

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
beano58
Business
lincoln ne
Sep 7, 2013

a helluva deal

use funbook to full advantage and when i was there the room was almost free. great deal and great service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

5 dollar hamburger with beer or drink was an unbeatable deal. Use funbook coupon and meal was free.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
beano58
Business
lincoln ne
Dec 21, 2013

great inexpensive hotel

great hotel, inexpensive, good food. Only issue is can be loud outside at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frank05261073Elpaso
Business
El Paso
Dec 28, 2013

Great Place

I stayed in the vintage rooms. They were nice and clean. They're over 70 or 80 years old. They been remodeled. One little minus was not having a desk. They had most of the cable channels. They had coffee in the room, gave me a coupon book with goodies. Casino itself is a little old like from the 80's or early 90s. The staff was great and friendly. The casino is near the Fremont experience. Over all good value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top