$18 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 30, 2014 Check-out: Oct 1, 2014

El Cortez Hotel and Casino

3 stars
600 E. Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
589 reviews
excellent trip

We checked in and the room was warm but we cooled it off. There was so many things to do and it was... See full review

  • mom of two 88 best mom
  • Sep 1, 2014
Great

Was great very clean and all the staff was great and friendly and welcoming See full review

  • Muffin girl
  • Aug 29, 2014
Downtown Las Vegas hotel and casino is a throwback to the Rat Pack days

Experience the legendary nightlife capital of the western U.S. at one of its first hotspots. The El Cortez Hotel & Casino is part of Las Vegas lore in the original shopping, restaurant and casino district. Spacious private rooms sit 17 stories atop blackjack, keno, sports book and more. The El Cortez Hotel & Casino is a fun retro experience for couples and individuals looking for a 24/7 authentic, affordable Vegas stay. The downtown Fremont East District is out the front door and the Las Vegas Strip is just minutes away.

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • Near the Fremont Street Experience in downtown Las Vegas
  • Meeting space
  • 24-hour cafe and room service
  • Free parking
Rooms

Sleep up to four people comfortably with plenty of space. Rooms at the El Cortez Hotel & Casino come with one king or two queen beds as well as sofas and tables for lounging. Amenities include cable TVs, safe deposit boxes, hairdryers and refrigerators. Suites boast Jacuzzi bathtubs and some provide views of the Las Vegas Strip. High-speed wireless Internet access is available (fees apply). All rooms have electronic door locks. Accessible rooms are available upon request at the El Cortez Hotel & Casino.

Features

The El Cortez Hotel & Casino recalls the golden Rat Pack days of Las Vegas with gambling halls in the Fremont East District. Find slot machines, gaming tables, roulette, live keno and a sports book. Enjoy the evening with a full prime rib and seafood dinner with an accompanying martini, or grab more casual fare at the 24-hour coffee shop cafe. The El Cortez lounge boasts a full bar and video poker. Room service also is available. Guests of the El Cortez Hotel & Casino have access to a fitness center inside the hotel.

Transportation
  • McCarran International Airport (6.3 mi/10.2 km)
  • Greyhound bus terminal (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown/Fremont Street (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Cashman Field (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Las Vegas Convention Center (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • The Strip (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • UNLV (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Las Vegas Motor Speedway (13.7 mi/22 km)
  • Hoover Dam/Lake Mead (33.6 mi/54 km)
Business
  • Meeting space accommodates up to 100 people
Policies and Fees
  • NOTE: Starting 1 February 2014, resort fee will be $8.95 daily plus tax. Resort fee includes Wi-Fi in rooms, free local phone calls, complimentary access to fitness center, free parking and two bottles of water. 
  • At least one person in the room must be 21 years of age.
  • Either a credit or debit card is required upon registration. The El Cortez does NOT accept cash deposit.
  • This hotel requires, upon check-in, a refundable US$ 50 credit card deposit or US$40 debit card deposit per night, up to a maximum of US$120.
  • The hotel has a 7-night maximum stay during a calendar month.  Any additional nights will incur a $25.00 per day charge plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.1691 -115.1386
Area served
Las Vegas, NV
Nearby airports
McCarran International Airport
Area description
Located near Fremont Street Experience gambling mall, Las Vegas Strip, Las Vegas Speedway, Cashman Field, Lake Mead, Mt. Charleston, Red Rock, Thomas and Mack Center and University of Las Vegas.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Cortez Hotel and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

El Cortez Hotel and Casino Rooms

Tower Room
Spacious and beautifully decorated, these rooms provide either a mountain or a strip view. This room comes standard with one king bed or two queens, as well as a sitting area with sofa and tables. Comfortable private bath with separate vanity area. All Tower rooms are 100% nonsmoking rooms.
Pavilion Room
Spacious and beautifully decorated this room comes standard with two queen beds. Comfortable private bath with separate vanity area as well. This is the only section of the hotel that currently offers some smoking rooms.
Vintage Room
Vintage rooms have one queen bed and have been converted to nonsmoking only. There is no elevator access to these rooms. (Stairway access only.)
Jacuzzi Suite
Bedroom with king sized bed, separate living room, Jacuzzi tub, private bath, two televisions and a refrigerator.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Casino
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.1 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.1 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.2 mi
  • The Western: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.1 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.1 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.2 mi
  • The Western: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.4 mi
  • California Club: 0.4 mi
  • La Bayou: 0.4 mi
  • Lewis Avenue Pedestrian Corridor: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 0.5 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 0.5 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Neon Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Elvis Chapel: 0.7 mi
  • Las Vegas City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lied Discovery Children's Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Las Vegas–Clark County Library District: 0.8 mi
  • Huntridge Theater: 0.8 mi
  • The Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Old Las Vegas Mormon Fort State Historic Park: 0.8 mi
  • Desert Inn Massage & Spa: 0.9 mi
  • Cashman Field Center: 0.9 mi
  • Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health: 0.9 mi
  • Cashman Field: 0.9 mi
  • Cowtown Guitars: 1 mi
  • Viva Las Vegas Wedding Chapel: 1 mi
  • Little Chapel of the Flowers: 1.5 mi
  • Bonanza Gift Shop: 1.7 mi
  • Jerry's Nugget: 1.7 mi
  • Stratosphere Las Vegas: 1.7 mi
  • Sahara Hotel and Casino: 1.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting and banquet facilities available to accommodate functions of up to 100 guests.

Dining

Cafe Cortez
Enjoy something delicious at Cafe Cortez. With a wide variety of breakfast, lunch, and dinner specialties served in generous portions, Cafe Cortez is your place to enjoy a great meal in a classic and comfortable setting. Cafe Cortez kitchen will have limited hours of operation on Sunday through Thursday from 10:30 PM to 7:00 AM. Serving a limited menu of Breakfast items, Salads, Deli Platters, Pastries, Cakes and Pies. Enjoy our complete menu 24 hours Friday and Saturday.
New Restaurants
Subway

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (589)

Ratings and reviews for El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
589 out of 589
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pianoman8574
Business
northridge ca.
Oct 27, 2012

el cortez hotel and casino

i was impressed, i got my card key out and inserted in to the elevator: pressed #5 and away i went, i opened the door and i got a blast from the fairly new furniture that was in my room. it was better than the D hotel, the shower was the only draw back as i was taken a shower the water changed by itself. first it was hot then it was cold. it needs to be fixed. the drain mechism was also not working. it came out and then it drained. overall i had a plesant 3 nights there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

du pars at the end of the street by the plaza, inside the golden gate hotel and casino.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pianoman8574
Business
northridge ca.
Oct 27, 2012

el cortez hotel and casino

i was impressed, i got my card key out and inserted in to the elevator: pressed #5 and away i went, i opened the door and i got a blast from the fairly new furniture that was in my room. it was better than the D hotel, the shower was the only draw back as i was taken a shower the water changed by itself. first it was hot then it was cold. it needs to be fixed. the drain mechism was also not working. it came out and then it drained. overall i had a plesant 3 nights there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

du pars at the end of the street by the plaza, inside the golden gate hotel and casino.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Birthday Chiller
Las Vegas
Apr 3, 2010

Great Hotel Service.

Had a great stay, problem with room lock and engineer had to repair. manager of hotel john commped me extra day. hotel desk did a great job . [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Freemont Experiance a half block away. deli across the street. more restrants accross the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Klondike Mike
Texas
Jun 27, 2014

Great Stay

Everything was perfect.would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 16, 2008

Nothing super fancy, but., a great deal and a clean comfortable room.

I have stayed at this hotel quite a few times before and have only stayed in the Vintage rooms and the Pavilion rooms. The rooms at this hotel have been recently renovated within the past couple years and you can get some great deals here. The rooms are updated and the beds are comfortable. Once again I am not speaking of the Tower Rooms as I have never stayed in them. The bathrooms are a bit small, but, what do you need them for? If you are looking for a comfortable place to sleep at a great value, this is your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Allentown, PA
Feb 29, 2008

COZY ATMOSPHERE

STAFF: VERY FRIENDLY AND ACCOMMODATING COZY RELAXING ATMOSPHERE WOULD RECOMMEND VENDING MACHINES UP IN THE VINTAGE ROOM AREAS. WOULD ALSO RECOMMEND BETTER LIGHT ON STEPS LEADING TO VINTAGE ROOMS. I STUMBLED TWICE DUE TO THE POOR LIGHTING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 21, 2008

Wiil return

I had a great stay at El Cortez. My friend had a room a the San Francisco Hotel down the street from me. My room was much nicer. Yes... Cigarette smell was bad... but it seemed to be bad anywhere I went in Vegas except the high end hotels on the strip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Deuce. The Deuce bus runs up and down the strip every 6 minutes. Only 5 bucks for 24 hours! What a deal! The Deuce stops a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lady Carrington
San Bernardino,CA
Jul 26, 2010

Awesome Getaway

I had never stayed in Downtown Vegas before. The El Cortez was really cool. The room was huge, we had an excellent view from the 8th floor facing Las Vegas blvd. The staff was friendly. I did get the Fremont Experience, more than once it was so neat. Free concerts, vendors, impersonators, I liked way better than staying in the newer casinos. We stayed at the stratosphere the year before last and it was ok. But man the El Cortez was So much better than any other place I stayed in Vegas. Cheaper, Cleaner, more friendly. It's not a busy as the strip, you can do more and not feel closterfobic. There is a cool coffee shop across the street, must see their record collection.I had a great time.We stayed for 6 night and enjoyed myself a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Go to Down Town Vegas and walk around. If you go to a time share..or are asked to go to one. Look for [...], he was awesome we got 8 free tickets and all kinds of stuff. He really blessed us and saved us some money.Plus Casino hop all around for fun book, which saves you money on food and drink..Plus sign up for all the players clubs, you get free stuff at most.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Nov 4, 2007

Old Fashioned Charm

The room was large and comfortable. Very convenient to the Casino floor. Short walk to other Downtown casinos and Freemont Street Experience. Many dining choices in the hotel. Food was excellent and resonably priced!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Madison
May 25, 2008

Small Town Feel, Big City Service

This was my second stay @ The El Cortez. I met my parents there since we flew in and out of Vegas for a nine day Utah National Park and Grand Canyon trip. I arrived our first night @ 1 am and was greeted warmly. The bellmen, valets and all staff were more than helpful. My parents had eaten that evening @ Roberta's Restaurant and raved about the food, the attentive service, as well as the reasonable prices. On our return trip we were close to exhausted after our week of National Parks, but were made to feel so welcome and very well taken care of. Our bellman even went and took care of a room change for us @ check in after a minor mix up on our room. We were treated to a complimentary bottle of wine with our meal @ Roberta's that evening. We enjoyed a great, generous meal with the same servers my parents had their previous trip. We also received books with gaming coupons that I used the next day after enjoying an extra hour as I requested a delayed checkout without a question. I've read and heard some less than favorable reviews about downtown accomodations concerning safety/quality and our experiences @ The El Cortez couldn't have been better. Don't buy into the hype about the strip. I can do without the chaos and crazy prices, nonstop traffic, noise, and mania. Give me The El Cortez any day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jacksonville, FL
Jun 12, 2007

An Excellent Las Vegas Experience

Have stayed at the El Cortez a number of times over the past several years. The tower rooms are probably as nice as any in the downtown area. The coffee shop is always open and the food, although not spectacular, meets most of my expectactions. Overall a nice mix of locals as well as those from out of town. The staff is down to earth and pleasant. It appears that the property renovations are now in their final stages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

The Fremont Experience is 2 blocks from the hotel and the Deuce (city bus) to the strip stops 1 block from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search