$21 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 15, 2015 Check-out: Apr 16, 2015

El Cortez Hotel and Casino

3 stars
View map of 600 E. Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
624 reviews
Great way to do Vegas!

Old Las Vegas is crazy fun and this hotel is a great place to stay for the money. They even have... See full review

  • Phemma
  • Feb 23, 2015
Random vega trip

The hotel was just what we needed,convenient location to just walk around very nice a quiet to get... See full review

  • Eric E.
  • Jan 27, 2015
Downtown Las Vegas hotel and casino is a throwback to the Rat Pack days

Experience the legendary nightlife capital of the western U.S. at one of its first hotspots. The El Cortez Hotel & Casino is part of Las Vegas lore in the original shopping, restaurant and casino district. Spacious private rooms sit 17 stories atop blackjack, keno, sports book and more. The El Cortez Hotel & Casino is a fun retro experience for couples and individuals looking for a 24/7 authentic, affordable Vegas stay. The downtown Fremont East District is out the front door and the Las Vegas Strip is just minutes away.

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • Near the Fremont Street Experience in downtown Las Vegas
  • Meeting space
  • 24-hour cafe and room service
  • Free parking
Rooms

Sleep up to four people comfortably with plenty of space. Rooms at the El Cortez Hotel & Casino come with one king or two queen beds as well as sofas and tables for lounging. Amenities include cable TVs, safe deposit boxes, hairdryers and refrigerators. Suites boast Jacuzzi bathtubs and some provide views of the Las Vegas Strip. High-speed wireless Internet access is available (fees apply). All rooms have electronic door locks. Accessible rooms are available upon request at the El Cortez Hotel & Casino.

Features

The El Cortez Hotel & Casino recalls the golden Rat Pack days of Las Vegas with gambling halls in the Fremont East District. Find slot machines, gaming tables, roulette, live keno and a sports book. Enjoy the evening with a full prime rib and seafood dinner with an accompanying martini, or grab more casual fare at the 24-hour coffee shop cafe. The El Cortez lounge boasts a full bar and video poker. Room service also is available. Guests of the El Cortez Hotel & Casino have access to a fitness center inside the hotel.

Transportation
  • McCarran International Airport (6.3 mi/10.2 km)
  • Greyhound bus terminal (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown/Fremont Street (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Cashman Field (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Las Vegas Convention Center (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • The Strip (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • UNLV (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Las Vegas Motor Speedway (13.7 mi/22 km)
  • Hoover Dam/Lake Mead (33.6 mi/54 km)
Business
  • Meeting space accommodates up to 100 people
Policies and Fees
  • NOTE: Starting 1 February 2014, resort fee will be $8.95 daily plus tax. Resort fee includes Wi-Fi in rooms, free local phone calls, complimentary access to fitness center, free parking and two bottles of water. 
  • At least one person in the room must be 21 years of age.
  • Either a credit or debit card is required upon registration. The El Cortez does NOT accept cash deposit.
  • This hotel requires, upon check-in, a refundable US$ 50 credit card deposit or US$40 debit card deposit per night, up to a maximum of US$120.
  • The hotel has a 7-night maximum stay during a calendar month.  Any additional nights will incur a $25.00 per day charge plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Cortez Hotel and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

El Cortez Hotel and Casino Rooms

Tower Room
Spacious and beautifully decorated, these rooms provide either a mountain or a strip view. This room comes standard with one king bed or two queens, as well as a sitting area with sofa and tables. Comfortable private bath with separate vanity area. All Tower rooms are 100% nonsmoking rooms.
Pavilion Room
Spacious and beautifully decorated this room comes standard with two queen beds. Comfortable private bath with separate vanity area as well. This is the only section of the hotel that currently offers some smoking rooms.
Vintage Room
Vintage rooms have one queen bed and have been converted to nonsmoking only. There is no elevator access to these rooms. (Stairway access only.)
Jacuzzi Suite
Bedroom with king sized bed, separate living room, Jacuzzi tub, private bath, two televisions and a refrigerator.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Casino
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.1 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.1 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.2 mi
  • The Western: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.1 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.1 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.2 mi
  • The Western: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.4 mi
  • California Club: 0.4 mi
  • La Bayou: 0.4 mi
  • Lewis Avenue Pedestrian Corridor: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 0.5 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 0.5 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Neon Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Elvis Chapel: 0.7 mi
  • Las Vegas City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lied Discovery Children's Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Las Vegas–Clark County Library District: 0.8 mi
  • Huntridge Theater: 0.8 mi
  • The Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Old Las Vegas Mormon Fort State Historic Park: 0.8 mi
  • Desert Inn Massage & Spa: 0.9 mi
  • Cashman Field Center: 0.9 mi
  • Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health: 0.9 mi
  • Cashman Field: 0.9 mi
  • Cowtown Guitars: 1 mi
  • Viva Las Vegas Wedding Chapel: 1 mi
  • Little Chapel of the Flowers: 1.5 mi
  • Bonanza Gift Shop: 1.7 mi
  • Jerry's Nugget: 1.7 mi
  • Stratosphere Las Vegas: 1.7 mi
  • Sahara Hotel and Casino: 1.9 mi

Dining

Cafe Cortez
Enjoy something delicious at Cafe Cortez. With a wide variety of breakfast, lunch, and dinner specialties served in generous portions, Cafe Cortez is your place to enjoy a great meal in a classic and comfortable setting. Cafe Cortez kitchen will have limited hours of operation on Sunday through Thursday from 10:30 PM to 7:00 AM. Serving a limited menu of Breakfast items, Salads, Deli Platters, Pastries, Cakes and Pies. Enjoy our complete menu 24 hours Friday and Saturday.
New Restaurants
Subway

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting and banquet facilities available to accommodate functions of up to 100 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
624 out of 624
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pianoman8574
Business
northridge ca.
Oct 27, 2012

el cortez hotel and casino

i was impressed, i got my card key out and inserted in to the elevator: pressed #5 and away i went, i opened the door and i got a blast from the fairly new furniture that was in my room. it was better than the D hotel, the shower was the only draw back as i was taken a shower the water changed by itself. first it was hot then it was cold. it needs to be fixed. the drain mechism was also not working. it came out and then it drained. overall i had a plesant 3 nights there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

du pars at the end of the street by the plaza, inside the golden gate hotel and casino.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
May 4, 2008

Perfect

If you compared the accomodations to the cost at El Cortez, this place certainly made the grade. The staff was very pleasant, the hotel was clean, my reservations were waiting on us when we got there late in the night, which I was grateful for... As far as location, it is right down from the Fremont St. little mall area and close to the bus lines that took us to and from the strip. I traveled with another female and felt safe and secure here, which was another concern before we got there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Fremont St is right there maybe a couple of blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Panguitch, UT
Aug 11, 2008

Very Friendly Hotel

The El Cortez Hotel was very comfortable, large rooms, desk w/table & chairs, 2 Q. beds, couch w/table. I liked the fact that the bathroom was separate from the vanity area. It is downtown Las Vegas, & close to everything. We had a great time, the food was really good & we enjoyed it, and will be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In the downtown Las Vegas area on Fremont Street with the Fremont Street Experience, Lots of Casinos & Dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham/Raleigh, NC
Jul 24, 2007

Budget conscious value

The El Cortez is a clean, low cost casino/hotel with low limit, higher odds gambling located downtown by the Fremont Street experience. Many working class locals frequent the establishment knowing the great odds on video poker, craps, blackjack and keno. I have met budget conscious people from Europe that stay for a month. The tower rooms are more spacious, although the bathroom is small. Stayed in the pavillion room which is part of of the original hotel circa 1950's. Dated but clean. Free airport shuttle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Boyd free shuttle service several blocks away stops at Las Vegas strip, Sam's Town, Orleans, Fashion Show mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 24, 2007

El Cortez Stay

The El Cortez has really made a positive make over of the property. This is in reference of the five years past. I had reluctancy of staying there before and when I saw improvements being made I thought I would give it a try and glad I did. This was my second stay at the El Cortez within a period of three months. The first was on the high tower and second the lower level. Both levels were great. For view the high level was best. The rooms were very clean and very comfortable. The staff were very nice and check in was quick. Definetly will plan on revisiting the El Cortez again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Charleston Outlets are nearby and a few minutes away from the El Cortez. There is a shuttle that takes you from the Fremont Street Experience and picks up people near the Golden Gate. It costs $1 to use the shuttle one way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Feb 28, 2008

very friendly and well laid out

the vintage rooms was not that big but the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was really to small as there was no where to even turn around in. the closest space and drawer space was adequate for 2 people. the location was fine. it was a pleasent walk to the freemont street and was really a great place to eat. the cafe has the very best food around and a great meal for so little money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

you have to eat at the cafe. it was the best breakfast in town. only a very short walk to freemont street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vijay
Business
USA
May 30, 2007

Very family friendly

This is one of the best value for money hotel in Vegas. One can get a 3-4 star hotel facilities in a very reasonable price. Though its towards the end of the strip(Vegas Blvd), but its not that far. If you are going to Vegas for the first time then let me tell you one thing, Strip is just about 2 miles long, so it hardly makes any difference which part of it you are staying. All in all I enjoyed staying in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The strip where all the hotels are which you wouldnt want to miss is just about half a mile.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 2, 2007

Great for the money

We stayed Friday,Saturday,Sunday and Monday. We were so happy with the |El Cortez that we went back that weekend of October 7th and stayed that Sunday and Monday night again. We stayed in three different rooms in three different locations and they were all great. However we really enjoyed the Tower room. The location was great to see the strip and the light show without going far. Just a few blocks. I would stay again. All the rooms had nice furniture and were very roomy The Tower room has a sitting area also. Adequate space for hanging clothes in all the rooms and they all provided suitcase stands.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The downtown strip was just a short walk down the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Erric
Business
Dayton, OH
Dec 3, 2007

Very Comfortable and friendly

The El Cortez was very comfortable, the room seemed much larger than most with a desk area and a seperat couch with view of downtown. I liked the fact that the bathroom was separate from the vanity area and there was a sink with a long counter and there was adequate space for hanging clothes and they provided two suitcase stands. The location was very good -- it was vert easy to manuver throughout downtown Las Vegas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The casino downstairs was very inexpensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Apr 26, 2007

Nice casino layout, friendly bartenders, friendly dealers at the tables

Very nicely surprised. Had read previous reviews stating this hotel was a bit smokey and needing better air circulation. While my wife and I were there, the hotel was in the process of replacing all the carpet on the main floor which removed nearly all of the old smoke smell from the that level. By the time we checked out, three days later, you couldn't tell if someone had been smoking or not! Very friendly staff for the most part. Did run into one, I say one, old foggie at the customer service desk but, he was the only pimple on the place. Our room was clean and comfortable. I am looking forward to staying at the El Cortez again and very soon! Nice decor, very original.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Fremont Street Experience is a short walk from the hotel, approximately two blocks. Lots to do, lots of dining options and loads of entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 21, 2008

Old school Las Vegas

The El Cortez is a great value for the dollar. The single deck blackjack is still full pay and combine this with the royal match side bet makes this game one of the best if not the best to be found in Las Vegas today!We stayed in the tower queen room. The room is well maintained and well furnished. This casinio and hotel is not geared for a family vacation but for adults.The gaming is overall better here than on freemont. The atmosphere is that of the stepping back in time to the early 1960's. Do Not worry about it being too smokey in the casino both myself and my daughter are nonsmokers and had no problem what so ever.We stayed her for 5 nights and would recomend it to others highly. Your best bet is to rent a car during your stay for easy acesss to the strip or any where else you might want to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Freemont experience

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top