$17 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

El Cortez Hotel and Casino

3 stars
View map of 600 E. Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
585 out of 585
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pianoman8574
Business
northridge ca.
Oct 27, 2012

el cortez hotel and casino

i was impressed, i got my card key out and inserted in to the elevator: pressed #5 and away i went, i opened the door and i got a blast from the fairly new furniture that was in my room. it was better than the D hotel, the shower was the only draw back as i was taken a shower the water changed by itself. first it was hot then it was cold. it needs to be fixed. the drain mechism was also not working. it came out and then it drained. overall i had a plesant 3 nights there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

du pars at the end of the street by the plaza, inside the golden gate hotel and casino.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SteveinElkhart
Business
Elkhart, Indiana
Jul 28, 2014

Room was spacious and clean

El Cortez is an old hotel. The Casino was old style, Plenty of Stale cigerette smoke. But the No Smoking Room in the "Tower" was spacious and clean. The AC worked great in the 115 degree heat. Bathroom was small. Overall it was a good value, it was one of the cheapest hotels at the time I was visiting (Working Trade Show) It is about a block away from the Freemont "Downtown" area where there are plenty of resturants and touist items.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Binions had a very good prime rib for $8.95

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hoopcoach
Business
Michigan
Jul 28, 2014

Decent

El Cortez was decent. Good for the price. Ok location if you like Fremont Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mocha74
Couples
elk grove, ca
Jul 25, 2014

first time in vegas

Very clean, valet was great too, inexpensive...great ppl all over

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The strip was awesome

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gxiberolrijuiojhe
Single
Austin, TX
Jul 25, 2014

Smoky, Great Location

The El Cortez appears to be the smokiest casino in Las Vegas. The smoke also can be smelt in the non-smoking rooms in the Hotel. But the price is very affordable and the location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

All of major casinos in downtown Las Vegas are within three blocks walk. The buses to the Las Vegas Strip are within two blocks of the El Cortez. Great location.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alicatrt
Couples
Tucson, Arizona
Jul 21, 2014

Pleasantly Surprised

I'm born & raised in Vegas. I wanted to get a room that was closer to my mother-in-law who we were visiting, so I chose the El Cortez on Fremont street. The hotels on Fremont are older, so I was a bit worried about staying here. Wow, what a nice surprise the hotel room was very nice & exceeded my expectations. There isn't one bad thing I can say about the room. The price wasn't bad either. The workers at the reservation desk & Cafe Cortez were friendly. Of course if your staying on Fremont you have to go to the Fremont Experience, what a blast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The new party place in Vegas. Not good place to bring children under 18.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shan111
Couples
corvallis
Jul 20, 2014

Okay for nice trip

The room was clean but had a slight mothball smell. I would stay again if I was on a budget

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hajon Photografix
Business
L.V.
Jul 19, 2014

Cabana Suites

Nice overnight stay at this hotel. The Cabana Suites are located in a separate building across the street from the main hotel/casino. Rooms are a little small, but decorated in what I call a " Miami Vice" color scheme. Little bit of a sketchy area, but okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Deanoelko
Friends
Las Vegas
Jul 19, 2014

horrible check in

The staff at the front desk are rude and incompetent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Firewriter
Single
Cheboygan, Mi
Jul 17, 2014

Fun downtown

For me a good value a little south of the crowded Fremont street action. A great show with Elvis and the Kareoke singers. A great horse parlor and fun slots

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Coaltal
Couples
Chicago
Jul 15, 2014

El Cortez Hotel

Great location near Fremont St. Hotel is dated but a bargain. If you just need a decent place to lay your head and don't care about glitz...this is the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top