$19 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

El Cortez Hotel and Casino

3 stars
View map of 600 E. Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
693 out of 693
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John 4949
Sacramento, CA
Aug 11, 2012

Pleasantly Surprised

The room was magnificent. It was clean, did not smell of smoke, I walked barefoot on the carpet and room service was outstanding. A steal at the price I paid..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Fremont Experience is right up the street, lots of entertainment and fun for all.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hajon Photografix
Business
L.V.
Jul 19, 2014

Cabana Suites

Nice overnight stay at this hotel. The Cabana Suites are located in a separate building across the street from the main hotel/casino. Rooms are a little small, but decorated in what I call a " Miami Vice" color scheme. Little bit of a sketchy area, but okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Deanoelko
Business
Las Vegas
Jul 19, 2014

horrible check in

The staff at the front desk are rude and incompetent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Firewriter
Business
Cheboygan, Mi
Jul 17, 2014

Fun downtown

For me a good value a little south of the crowded Fremont street action. A great show with Elvis and the Kareoke singers. A great horse parlor and fun slots

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Coaltal
Business
Chicago
Jul 15, 2014

El Cortez Hotel

Great location near Fremont St. Hotel is dated but a bargain. If you just need a decent place to lay your head and don't care about glitz...this is the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike Tre
Business
Lawrence, Kansas
Jul 13, 2014

Place to sleep

Needed a place to sleep. Got a vintage room for an average of $8 a night after cheap tickets cash from my flight, 20% summer promo, and an additional 20% cheap tickets coupon. Can't complain for that price. Not sure if I would book at full price unless it's for the new rooms across the street in te newly built building for the El Cortez.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kenoff
Business
fort lauderdaLE
Jul 12, 2014

deal

I was upgraded to a suite for my 4 day stay at no extra charge!! and the rate I paid was very low to begin with!- the room actuallly ,suite was vintage and was easy access from the lobby -I would do it all over again if I can

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

main street station buffet

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fastest1
Business
Arizona
Jul 11, 2014

4 generations

Was great having no problems checking into room everything was close by my room was great had no problem having my find the hotel had everything in the room from extra blankets,hair dryer to coffee maker. I will always return to stay here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nholb
Business
san diego, ca
Jul 8, 2014

30th Stay

I normally love this hotel, but not this time! Was given a handicapped?? room and it stunk! Staff who fixed remote was the rudest I've ever encountered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Endobird
Business
Saint Louis, MO
Jul 8, 2014

Perfect location for Fremont Experience

I thought the location of this hotel is perfect for enjoying Fremont and all it has to offer. The table limits are perfect for the El Cortez. Everything is very reasonable. My couple problems I had were that the check-in process was incredibly slow, even with 3 people checking people in. Also, the dealers weren't friendly. They seemed they were burnt out. I work in a casino as a floor supervisor and after seeing the way some of these dealers dealt and handled customers, I would have made sure these issues would have been addressed. Apart from those two situations, everything was great. You're maybe a mile walk from Pawn Stars. About 2 miles from the Stratosphere. And 3 from Circus Circus. If you're looking for a cheap ways to shave $ off your trip, look to stay at the El Cortez.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Heart Attack Grill!

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chancluda34B
Business
Las Cruces, Nm
Jul 6, 2014

4th of July

Can beat their price for a holiday getaway! Best part, one can step right out into Freemont Experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Excellent prices, good food, no need to exhaust yourself looking for FOOD. It will be pretty pricey everywhere.

Back to menu Return to top