$21 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 15, 2015 Check-out: Apr 16, 2015

El Cortez Hotel and Casino

3 stars
View map of 600 E. Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
624 out of 624
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alex1944
Business
Thailand
Jun 7, 2014

So So

good location, easy to take bus to the destination as needs. Only wait long time (more than one hour} to .take shatle bus to the Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pburger4
Business
las Vegas
Jun 4, 2014

Nice Vegas experience on the cheap.

Rooms were much roomier than expected. I really like what they are doing with downtown, you have a ton of options (bars/restaurants) all within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

eat off of Carson? was pretty good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OC Surfer
Business
The OC
Jun 3, 2014

Good parking

I prefer the Cortez since the parking is close to the Hotel. Unlike so many others its quick from your car to room. Reasonable odds at the casino.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

good parking and often easy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tadpole1
Business
Ft worthTexas
Jun 2, 2014

Freemount Street

Rooms were very large and was a very good value for just the guys. I would not take a hot date here. Casino odds were very good with low min.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Freemount Street is just a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Casino Cam
Business
Dallas Texas
Jun 2, 2014

An Old School Gem Downtown

I've stayed at the El Cortez multiple times now and they never let me down. Their prices during the week are insanely good, and still a great value on the weekends as well. Overall I like the room better than every 3 star hotel I've had up on or by the strip and better than some 4 stars. The only rooms I can rank ahead of it is the obvious like Bellagio, Venetian, Aria, Caesars, Wynn ect (of the ones ive stayed in). The rooms are really spacious and very clean and comfy. They have updated yet very classic furnishings. I've only stayed in the Tower Rooms, and also a Tower Suite, but I hear the Vintage, Pavilion, and Cabana Suites are all very good too. For the Casino, it has very good min max ratio tables. I love the $5 min Baccarat there. Great video poker odds payouts. And for those that like cheap min roullette you can go with .25 chips and $5 min stakes. I have to mention their Cafe. Cafe Cortez never let me down with great food for great prices. The Jackie Burger with chips and a Beer for $5 is a steal. The East Side of downtown just outside has some really cool and trendy bars and pubs now too. I'll be back to the Cortez anytime I can. You can see why all the old timer locals still go there because they take care of their players. Jackie Gaughn was one of Las Vegas's pioneers and owned the Cortez for 50 years I believe. He sold it to his longtime partner's family and they are doing a great job of continuing his way of taking care of their players and keeping an old school vibe, all while updating things to attract new travelers. Love the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Cafe Cortez won't let you down with any of their food selections. Surprisingly great food in this little cafe. And player comps are generous and you will likely eat free :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spider0215
Business
St Louis
May 31, 2014

will probably never stay at a different hotel when I go to Vegas

staff was extremely friendly and accommodating was very happy to see that was mainly older people working there. my room was upgraded from a vintage room to a tower room which was lovely location: was fantastic food was fantastic can't say enough about this hotel one complaint and my only complaint is if they going to charge a resort fee they need to make sure that their wifi is up to par

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Head south 13
Business
Washington State
May 20, 2014

Good Downtown hotel

El Cortez is a casino hotel,great for gamblers,located a few blocks from the Fremont Street Experience- a definite must see when in Las Vegas. The overall experience was good. We stayed in the "Vintage rooms",only has stair access,we were told 18 steps,actually it's 30. Only complaints are the entire casino and hotel hallways and elevators reek of decades of cigarette smoke,and the noise in the room from both outside and the hotel lounge singers was annoying at times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alissa and freddy
Business
Apple valley, ca
May 10, 2014

Much needed getaway

My room was way bigger then I expected and way cleaner then I expected I didn't pay much for my weekend stay and I figured well you get what you pay for but I stayed in the tower rooms and I sure got more than what I paid for!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Phemma
Business
Brooklyn, NY
May 6, 2014

Great for a fun time!

This hotel was great! It is located only a block away from the Fremont Street Experience which is like a big block party on the weekend. It's also across the street from the new Container Park which is fun for the whole family. We actually like downtown a lot more than the strip! It is exciting, artistic and really fun without adding the obnoxious people who sometimes pepper the strip. It is also not too far from the strip itself, so you can still make it there. The room was clean and comfortable. It was non-smoking which was really important to me. Everyone is friendly and efficient. If you get a chance have a bite at the coffee shop there and enjoy karaoke at the lounge on the weekend! We would definitely return to this place again and strongly recommend it to anyone who wants a classic Vegas feel. One more thing, they have a free shuttle to the airport which we didn't use but it seems important to include!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Banger Brewery on Fremont Street for some great microbrews!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
D. Rumary
Business
Phoenix, AZ
May 6, 2014

Would not Stay Again

The entire stay was very disappointing, upon check in our rooms were different than what we choose on the hotel site, we tried talking to the Staff and we were told that the site lies and it is not there problem, we asked to speak to a manager and were told repeatedly that no managers were available to come back later. There were things broken in our room that were never fixed. We were charged in addition to the charges that we were told by the hotel site. the staff was very unfriendly throughout, we would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top