$18 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 13, 2015 Check-out: Jan 16, 2015

El Cortez Hotel and Casino

3 stars
600 E. Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
605 reviews
Clean, quiet and perfect location

Right at the beginning of Fremont St, El Cortez offers great gaming and quiet, clean and affordable... See full review

  • CCandcw
  • Nov 30, 2014
Good value

The room was fine. Friendly staff. Restaurant was great value. Looking forward to next trip here. See full review

  • frank46
  • Nov 25, 2014
Downtown Las Vegas hotel and casino is a throwback to the Rat Pack days

Experience the legendary nightlife capital of the western U.S. at one of its first hotspots. The El Cortez Hotel & Casino is part of Las Vegas lore in the original shopping, restaurant and casino district. Spacious private rooms sit 17 stories atop blackjack, keno, sports book and more. The El Cortez Hotel & Casino is a fun retro experience for couples and individuals looking for a 24/7 authentic, affordable Vegas stay. The downtown Fremont East District is out the front door and the Las Vegas Strip is just minutes away.

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • Near the Fremont Street Experience in downtown Las Vegas
  • Meeting space
  • 24-hour cafe and room service
  • Free parking
Rooms

Sleep up to four people comfortably with plenty of space. Rooms at the El Cortez Hotel & Casino come with one king or two queen beds as well as sofas and tables for lounging. Amenities include cable TVs, safe deposit boxes, hairdryers and refrigerators. Suites boast Jacuzzi bathtubs and some provide views of the Las Vegas Strip. High-speed wireless Internet access is available (fees apply). All rooms have electronic door locks. Accessible rooms are available upon request at the El Cortez Hotel & Casino.

Features

The El Cortez Hotel & Casino recalls the golden Rat Pack days of Las Vegas with gambling halls in the Fremont East District. Find slot machines, gaming tables, roulette, live keno and a sports book. Enjoy the evening with a full prime rib and seafood dinner with an accompanying martini, or grab more casual fare at the 24-hour coffee shop cafe. The El Cortez lounge boasts a full bar and video poker. Room service also is available. Guests of the El Cortez Hotel & Casino have access to a fitness center inside the hotel.

Transportation
  • McCarran International Airport (6.3 mi/10.2 km)
  • Greyhound bus terminal (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown/Fremont Street (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Cashman Field (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Las Vegas Convention Center (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • The Strip (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • UNLV (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Las Vegas Motor Speedway (13.7 mi/22 km)
  • Hoover Dam/Lake Mead (33.6 mi/54 km)
Business
  • Meeting space accommodates up to 100 people
Policies and Fees
  • NOTE: Starting 1 February 2014, resort fee will be $8.95 daily plus tax. Resort fee includes Wi-Fi in rooms, free local phone calls, complimentary access to fitness center, free parking and two bottles of water. 
  • At least one person in the room must be 21 years of age.
  • Either a credit or debit card is required upon registration. The El Cortez does NOT accept cash deposit.
  • This hotel requires, upon check-in, a refundable US$ 50 credit card deposit or US$40 debit card deposit per night, up to a maximum of US$120.
  • The hotel has a 7-night maximum stay during a calendar month.  Any additional nights will incur a $25.00 per day charge plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Cortez Hotel and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

El Cortez Hotel and Casino Rooms

Tower Room
Spacious and beautifully decorated, these rooms provide either a mountain or a strip view. This room comes standard with one king bed or two queens, as well as a sitting area with sofa and tables. Comfortable private bath with separate vanity area. All Tower rooms are 100% nonsmoking rooms.
Pavilion Room
Spacious and beautifully decorated this room comes standard with two queen beds. Comfortable private bath with separate vanity area as well. This is the only section of the hotel that currently offers some smoking rooms.
Vintage Room
Vintage rooms have one queen bed and have been converted to nonsmoking only. There is no elevator access to these rooms. (Stairway access only.)
Jacuzzi Suite
Bedroom with king sized bed, separate living room, Jacuzzi tub, private bath, two televisions and a refrigerator.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Casino
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.1 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.1 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.2 mi
  • The Western: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.1 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.1 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.2 mi
  • The Western: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.4 mi
  • California Club: 0.4 mi
  • La Bayou: 0.4 mi
  • Lewis Avenue Pedestrian Corridor: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 0.5 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 0.5 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Neon Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Elvis Chapel: 0.7 mi
  • Las Vegas City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lied Discovery Children's Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Las Vegas–Clark County Library District: 0.8 mi
  • Huntridge Theater: 0.8 mi
  • The Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Old Las Vegas Mormon Fort State Historic Park: 0.8 mi
  • Desert Inn Massage & Spa: 0.9 mi
  • Cashman Field Center: 0.9 mi
  • Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health: 0.9 mi
  • Cashman Field: 0.9 mi
  • Cowtown Guitars: 1 mi
  • Viva Las Vegas Wedding Chapel: 1 mi
  • Little Chapel of the Flowers: 1.5 mi
  • Bonanza Gift Shop: 1.7 mi
  • Jerry's Nugget: 1.7 mi
  • Stratosphere Las Vegas: 1.7 mi
  • Sahara Hotel and Casino: 1.9 mi

Dining

Cafe Cortez
Enjoy something delicious at Cafe Cortez. With a wide variety of breakfast, lunch, and dinner specialties served in generous portions, Cafe Cortez is your place to enjoy a great meal in a classic and comfortable setting. Cafe Cortez kitchen will have limited hours of operation on Sunday through Thursday from 10:30 PM to 7:00 AM. Serving a limited menu of Breakfast items, Salads, Deli Platters, Pastries, Cakes and Pies. Enjoy our complete menu 24 hours Friday and Saturday.
New Restaurants
Subway

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting and banquet facilities available to accommodate functions of up to 100 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (605)

Ratings and reviews for El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
605 out of 605
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John 4949
Sacramento, CA
Aug 11, 2012

Pleasantly Surprised

The room was magnificent. It was clean, did not smell of smoke, I walked barefoot on the carpet and room service was outstanding. A steal at the price I paid..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Fremont Experience is right up the street, lots of entertainment and fun for all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Phemma
Business
Brooklyn, NY
May 6, 2014

Great for a fun time!

This hotel was great! It is located only a block away from the Fremont Street Experience which is like a big block party on the weekend. It's also across the street from the new Container Park which is fun for the whole family. We actually like downtown a lot more than the strip! It is exciting, artistic and really fun without adding the obnoxious people who sometimes pepper the strip. It is also not too far from the strip itself, so you can still make it there. The room was clean and comfortable. It was non-smoking which was really important to me. Everyone is friendly and efficient. If you get a chance have a bite at the coffee shop there and enjoy karaoke at the lounge on the weekend! We would definitely return to this place again and strongly recommend it to anyone who wants a classic Vegas feel. One more thing, they have a free shuttle to the airport which we didn't use but it seems important to include!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Banger Brewery on Fremont Street for some great microbrews!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
D. Rumary
Business
Phoenix, AZ
May 6, 2014

Would not Stay Again

The entire stay was very disappointing, upon check in our rooms were different than what we choose on the hotel site, we tried talking to the Staff and we were told that the site lies and it is not there problem, we asked to speak to a manager and were told repeatedly that no managers were available to come back later. There were things broken in our room that were never fixed. We were charged in addition to the charges that we were told by the hotel site. the staff was very unfriendly throughout, we would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Strv4exclnce
Business
Atlanta
May 5, 2014

One of the best

Love staying at this hotel....front desk gets a little discombobulated when it's busy......told me one minute a room was available, planned around it, then 8 minutes later they've been sold out for a week.....but everything else is great.....would recommend every time....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

.25 cent Roulette....only place in town. ...awesome

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom709
Business
Crete, Nebraska
May 5, 2014

Best value downtown

Compared to hotels like the D and 4 Queens, this hotel has larger more comfortable rooms, and it's much quieter. The location is just two blocks from those hotels (and the Fremont St Experience), so it's an easy walk to most anywhere downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

In my opinion, the California has the best casino downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Erin478909
Business
Downtown Las Vegas
Apr 28, 2014

Good place to stay

Great hotel if your on a budget! The room was big and clean and a good location for downtown!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mike Leisure Traveler
Business
Washington
Apr 24, 2014

OK place to stay in downtown Vegas

Overall my stay was ok. I stayed in a vintage room, which is just up some stairs from the casino area. Given this, smoke came upstairs and would drift into my room. There was also a good deal of noise, not really from the casino but from outside and above/around my room. The room itself was reasonably comfortable and had what I would want within a hotel room. The room wasn't the most clean, with some dust build up, old snack foods in the chair, and it seems the air filter was not especially clean, which I believe caused some allergy issues for me. The location is good, just a couple minute walk from the Fremont Street Experience area, and the area and hotel felt reasonably safe and secure. There used to be no resort fee but a charge for Internet, and this changed to a resort fee with Internet included. Compared to my past stays, the Internet service was terrible-it was not possible to connect on many occassions when I wanted to catch up on some email or search for places to visit in Vegas. The interaction with staff was limited but positive, although check-in took some time due to front desk computer issues. There was also a random $5 charge to my credit card after I left, which has not been accounted for or explained after I contacted the hotel to find out about this. The on-site dining options were good and convenient. Overall, I have had better experiences at the El Cortez and at other places I have stayed in Vegas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
out of names
Business
everett, wa
Apr 24, 2014

not what i expected

the hotel as a whole was good, the cafe was very good, the slot machines were a joke lost alot and for supposedy being the "loosiest slots in vegas" was a big dissapointment...i wasn't expecting a jackpot or some huge win but i didnt expect having to play machines that just didnt pay anything a 100 bucks would be gone in a matter of minutes and thats playing 40 cent to 80 cent bets not max, so i thought that was kinda miss leading to advertise that statement about being the loosiest, also in the 4 nights we were there did not see anyone win anything worth getting excited over. Fremont Street has its sights to see and entertainment just be forwarned about the amount of homeless they re everywhere. there is always someone trying to get you to buy this or that even after you say no thanks, there was two dudes one painted silver and one gold took a pic of them and the silver dude came after my girlfriend yelling really really! i told him to back off and he pointed to a can that said pics for tips okay well to me that means you tip them if you take a pic with them so becareful because these freaks can be agressive. also went to huntridge park to lay out and get some sun they need to rename it to homeless park there was bodies laying all over but they didnt bother anyone. went to gold and silver pawn shop "pawn stars" didnt see chum or pops or the rest of em the place didnt look anything like it does on tv its very narrow and small but still cool got to go in and look, the container park is pretty nice but expensive boutique shops they have live music and good place to kick back and relax, went to a show with a ticket that we were suppose to only have to pay 5 bucks for but when we get there they said that all those were filled and we would now have to pay 16 bucks, which to me was BS its just a way to get people there so they can get more money out of them, i could go on but will stop. Overall though it was an okay vacation not something i think i would want to do again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

the cafe was very good the food and the prices and the staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First time ever
Business
North carolina
Apr 24, 2014

First time ever

I enjoyed my stay the room was okay I really like the security that was on the floors

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Fremont experience

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John John 33
Business
San Diego
Apr 22, 2014

Nice Place

Stayed in a Tower room. The room was very large. The bed was comfy. The bathroom was a bit dated, but clean. A flat screen TV was in the room. The staff at check in and rewards desk were friendly. Casino was a bit old looking, but had all the essentials. Overall, great value for the price. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ala L
Business
San Jose, California
Apr 17, 2014

Value for money

This deal is really value for money. El Cortez is very near to Fremont Historical Street, the downtown area. If you book through on-line, you can get free drink, $5 discount from meal, $5 for slot and more....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very near to Fremont Historical Street, it is very good for entertainment and night life

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top