$15 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

El Cortez Hotel and Casino

3 stars
View map of 600 E. Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
641 out of 641
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John 4949
Sacramento, CA
Aug 11, 2012

Pleasantly Surprised

The room was magnificent. It was clean, did not smell of smoke, I walked barefoot on the carpet and room service was outstanding. A steal at the price I paid..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Fremont Experience is right up the street, lots of entertainment and fun for all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gxiberolrijuiojhe
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 25, 2014

Smoky, Great Location

The El Cortez appears to be the smokiest casino in Las Vegas. The smoke also can be smelt in the non-smoking rooms in the Hotel. But the price is very affordable and the location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

All of major casinos in downtown Las Vegas are within three blocks walk. The buses to the Las Vegas Strip are within two blocks of the El Cortez. Great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alicatrt
Business
Tucson, Arizona
Jul 21, 2014

Pleasantly Surprised

I'm born & raised in Vegas. I wanted to get a room that was closer to my mother-in-law who we were visiting, so I chose the El Cortez on Fremont street. The hotels on Fremont are older, so I was a bit worried about staying here. Wow, what a nice surprise the hotel room was very nice & exceeded my expectations. There isn't one bad thing I can say about the room. The price wasn't bad either. The workers at the reservation desk & Cafe Cortez were friendly. Of course if your staying on Fremont you have to go to the Fremont Experience, what a blast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The new party place in Vegas. Not good place to bring children under 18.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shan111
Business
corvallis
Jul 20, 2014

Okay for nice trip

The room was clean but had a slight mothball smell. I would stay again if I was on a budget

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hajon Photografix
Business
L.V.
Jul 19, 2014

Cabana Suites

Nice overnight stay at this hotel. The Cabana Suites are located in a separate building across the street from the main hotel/casino. Rooms are a little small, but decorated in what I call a " Miami Vice" color scheme. Little bit of a sketchy area, but okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Deanoelko
Business
Las Vegas
Jul 19, 2014

horrible check in

The staff at the front desk are rude and incompetent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Firewriter
Business
Cheboygan, Mi
Jul 17, 2014

Fun downtown

For me a good value a little south of the crowded Fremont street action. A great show with Elvis and the Kareoke singers. A great horse parlor and fun slots

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Coaltal
Business
Chicago
Jul 15, 2014

El Cortez Hotel

Great location near Fremont St. Hotel is dated but a bargain. If you just need a decent place to lay your head and don't care about glitz...this is the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kenoff
Business
fort lauderdaLE
Jul 12, 2014

deal

I was upgraded to a suite for my 4 day stay at no extra charge!! and the rate I paid was very low to begin with!- the room actuallly ,suite was vintage and was easy access from the lobby -I would do it all over again if I can

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

main street station buffet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nholb
Business
san diego, ca
Jul 8, 2014

30th Stay

I normally love this hotel, but not this time! Was given a handicapped?? room and it stunk! Staff who fixed remote was the rudest I've ever encountered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Endobird
Business
Saint Louis, MO
Jul 8, 2014

Perfect location for Fremont Experience

I thought the location of this hotel is perfect for enjoying Fremont and all it has to offer. The table limits are perfect for the El Cortez. Everything is very reasonable. My couple problems I had were that the check-in process was incredibly slow, even with 3 people checking people in. Also, the dealers weren't friendly. They seemed they were burnt out. I work in a casino as a floor supervisor and after seeing the way some of these dealers dealt and handled customers, I would have made sure these issues would have been addressed. Apart from those two situations, everything was great. You're maybe a mile walk from Pawn Stars. About 2 miles from the Stratosphere. And 3 from Circus Circus. If you're looking for a cheap ways to shave $ off your trip, look to stay at the El Cortez.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Heart Attack Grill!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top