El Cortez Hotel and Casino

3 stars
View map of 600 E. Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
585 reviews
fun in vegas

I had a great room and a great stay. My only concern as a long time Tez stayer is they named the... See full review

  • olde crow
  • Aug 14, 2015
Quick getaway

I like to visit Fremont St when visiting Las Vegas. This is an old casino but walking distance (1... See full review

  • David
  • Aug 2, 2015

Experience the legendary nightlife capital of the western U.S. at one of its first hotspots. The El Cortez Hotel & Casino is part of Las Vegas lore in the original shopping, restaurant and casino district. Spacious private rooms sit 17 stories atop blackjack, keno, sports book and more. The El Cortez Hotel & Casino is a fun retro experience for couples and individuals looking for a 24/7 authentic, affordable Vegas stay. The downtown Fremont East District is out the front door and the Las Vegas Strip is just minutes away.

Rooms

Sleep up to four people comfortably with plenty of space. Rooms at the El Cortez Hotel & Casino come with one king or two queen beds as well as sofas and tables for lounging. Amenities include cable TVs, safe deposit boxes, hairdryers and refrigerators. Suites boast Jacuzzi bathtubs and some provide views of the Las Vegas Strip. High-speed wireless Internet access is available (fees apply). All rooms have electronic door locks. Accessible rooms are available upon request at the El Cortez Hotel & Casino.

Property features

The El Cortez Hotel & Casino recalls the golden Rat Pack days of Las Vegas with gambling halls in the Fremont East District. Find slot machines, gaming tables, roulette, live keno and a sports book. Enjoy the evening with a full prime rib and seafood dinner with an accompanying martini, or grab more casual fare at the 24-hour coffee shop cafe. The El Cortez lounge boasts a full bar and video poker. Room service also is available. Guests of the El Cortez Hotel & Casino have access to a fitness center inside the hotel.

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • Near the Fremont Street Experience in downtown Las Vegas
  • Meeting space
  • 24-hour cafe and room service
  • Free parking
Nearby attractions
  • Downtown/Fremont Street (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Cashman Field (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Las Vegas Convention Center (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • The Strip (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • UNLV (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Las Vegas Motor Speedway (13.7 mi/22 km)
  • Hoover Dam/Lake Mead (33.6 mi/54 km)
Business
  • Meeting space accommodates up to 100 people
Transportation
  • McCarran International Airport (6.3 mi/10.2 km)
  • Greyhound bus terminal (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
Policies
  • NOTE: Starting 1 February 2014, resort fee will be $8.95 daily plus tax. Resort fee includes Wi-Fi in rooms, free local phone calls, complimentary access to fitness center, free parking and two bottles of water. 
  • At least one person in the room must be 21 years of age.
  • Either a credit or debit card is required upon registration. The El Cortez does NOT accept cash deposit.
  • This hotel requires, upon check-in, a refundable US$ 50 credit card deposit or US$40 debit card deposit per night, up to a maximum of US$120.
  • The hotel has a 7-night maximum stay during a calendar month.  Any additional nights will incur a $25.00 per day charge plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

El Cortez Hotel and Casino Rooms

Tower Room
Spacious and beautifully decorated, these rooms provide either a mountain or a strip view. This room comes standard with one king bed or two queens, as well as a sitting area with sofa and tables. Comfortable private bath with separate vanity area. All Tower rooms are 100% nonsmoking rooms.
Pavilion Room
Spacious and beautifully decorated this room comes standard with two queen beds. Comfortable private bath with separate vanity area as well. This is the only section of the hotel that currently offers some smoking rooms.
Vintage Room
Vintage rooms have one queen bed and have been converted to nonsmoking only. There is no elevator access to these rooms. (Stairway access only.)
Jacuzzi Suite
Bedroom with king sized bed, separate living room, Jacuzzi tub, private bath, two televisions and a refrigerator.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Casino
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Hotel Map

36.1691 -115.1386
Area served
Las Vegas, NV
Nearby airports
McCarran International Airport
Area description
Located near Fremont Street Experience gambling mall, Las Vegas Strip, Las Vegas Speedway, Cashman Field, Lake Mead, Mt. Charleston, Red Rock, Thomas and Mack Center and University of Las Vegas.

Nearby points of interest

  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.1 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.1 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.2 mi
  • The Western: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.1 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.1 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.2 mi
  • The Western: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.4 mi
  • California Club: 0.4 mi
  • La Bayou: 0.4 mi
  • Lewis Avenue Pedestrian Corridor: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 0.5 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 0.5 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Neon Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Elvis Chapel: 0.7 mi
  • Las Vegas City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lied Discovery Children's Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Las Vegas–Clark County Library District: 0.8 mi
  • Huntridge Theater: 0.8 mi
  • The Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Old Las Vegas Mormon Fort State Historic Park: 0.8 mi
  • Desert Inn Massage & Spa: 0.9 mi
  • Cashman Field Center: 0.9 mi
  • Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health: 0.9 mi
  • Cashman Field: 0.9 mi
  • Cowtown Guitars: 1 mi
  • Viva Las Vegas Wedding Chapel: 1 mi
  • Little Chapel of the Flowers: 1.5 mi
  • Bonanza Gift Shop: 1.7 mi
  • Jerry's Nugget: 1.7 mi
  • Stratosphere Las Vegas: 1.7 mi
  • Sahara Hotel and Casino: 1.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting and banquet facilities available to accommodate functions of up to 100 guests.

Dining

Cafe Cortez
Enjoy something delicious at Cafe Cortez. With a wide variety of breakfast, lunch, and dinner specialties served in generous portions, Cafe Cortez is your place to enjoy a great meal in a classic and comfortable setting. Cafe Cortez kitchen will have limited hours of operation on Sunday through Thursday from 10:30 PM to 7:00 AM. Serving a limited menu of Breakfast items, Salads, Deli Platters, Pastries, Cakes and Pies. Enjoy our complete menu 24 hours Friday and Saturday.
New Restaurants
Subway

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (585)

Ratings and reviews for El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
585 out of 585
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nickgog
Business
Denver
Aug 23, 2014

Great Place!

Initially I was a little hesitant to stay at a hotel which is not on the strip. However, since two of my team members were already staying at the El Cortez, I decided to do the same for the sake of convenience. I stayed at "The Cabana Suites" which are across the street from the main building. I was pleasantly surprised to see very upscale looking, clean, elegant rooms, that had a very contemporary decor. The bathroom was big, clean, and had a large glass shower cubicle. I was told by my colleagues, that the rooms at the Cabana were way better than the rooms at the main El Cortez building. The hotel even had a free shuttle to the airport, which was great. Overall, I could not have asked for anything more for a fancy room that only cost me about $25/night (average)!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to the Fremont Street Experience!

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nickybob
Couples
Arizona
Aug 22, 2014

Solid, reliable cheap choice in downtown

We've been at El Cortez 4 times now in the last year; always a clean, reliable place to be. Nice location, close enough to Freemont St and very near Container Park. Some noise on some evenings, but it must be far less than those casinos directly on Freemont. My only complaint: the wifi is horrible. So slow as to be unusable for anything but very limited web browsing or email. This was true for the whole three days we were there. I ended up just streaming from my phone, which was much quicker. I wouldn't have a complaint about this, other than that the Wifi is basically the only thing you get for the now-standard Vegas "resort fee". On the other hand, the "Fun Book" they give does have good value. For reserving online for 2 nights or more, my wife and I each got one. Each has $5 dining ticket (gets you the Jackie's burger special, free), $5 BJ match play, $5 Craps match, and $5 free slot play. Add all that up, and you're at about $35 in value between the wife and I. All and all, a great deal in downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Container Park--a newer attraction, and nice way to spend an hour or two, in chairs, listening to live music away from the frenetic, loud energy of Freemont.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
berrylatte
Couples
las vegas, nv
Aug 21, 2014

Average

Had an okay stay. The room was clean. Prices were reasonable for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lee N.
Family
El Paso, Tx
Aug 11, 2014

Nice tower rooms

The tower rooms are very nice and comfortable. I prefer this hotel over other downtown hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Casino Buffets are the best bet for a family.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
paperboy42190
Single
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 8, 2014

Great hotel

Price is good and the room was very clean, enjoyed the stay very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grandma Janica
Single
New Westminster, BC, Canada
Aug 5, 2014

El Cortez great for quiet getaway

I love this hotel & stay quite often. Take the Westcliffe bus. There is nothing spectacular but it's clean, fairly priced, has an onsite restaurant for meals & snacks, a lounge with Karaoke & singers, & a good location, a block off the Fremont Experience. There's a Walgreens closeby for last minute items or to buy a jug of water, some bandaids, or mixer for my duty free rum (Malibu.) I love that theres a coffee maker in the room & if you ask, you can get extra coffee. I need help with getting out of the bath so I get an accessible room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Fremont Experience

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marty beep beep
Couples
Anaheim
Aug 2, 2014

Love it

We had an amazing time the staff guy was awsome the room had air conditioning i love it there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Lynn
Business
Lancaster, TX
Jul 31, 2014

Getaway 2015

Beautiful place Downtown to get away. Nice staff, very knowledgeable and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food and low prices.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Lynn
Business
Lancaster, TX
Jul 30, 2014

Nice place to get away

Very nice and comfortable, away from most of the hustle and bustle. Very knowledgeable and friendly staff. Had a great time, thanks. Lynn Pollard

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Not expensive at all.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveler Thomas
Single
San Diego, California
Jul 29, 2014

Cheap, and you get what you pay for.

The location of this hotel, while not exactly close to the strip, is downtown and right next to the Fremont shopping experience area. The freeway is also very close by, and the strip is a short drive away. The hotel has a couple of parking structures, one across the street and one connected to the hotel. The parking structure connected to the hotel has an attendant on duty and you must show your room key in order to enter the lot (or tell them you need to check in). The "Vintage Rooms" (which this review applies to only) have no elevator, so if you book one of these, be prepared to haul your luggage up multiple flights of stairs. The AC's thermostat in my room didn't seem to be working, so it was either on or off. However, I was able to find a good balance by turning on the AC and cracking open the window and letting some hot air in. It should be noted that the window opens inward towards to room, and in my room, the outward-facing portion was covered in a thick layer of dust, which I cleaned with one of the hotel's towels. The shower in the bathroom of the room I stayed at, when set to a comfortable temperature, emitted a shrieking sound reminiscent of a kettle boiling. The shower drain drained very slowly, so I was usually standing in an inch or two of water while taking a shower. The toilet paper is 1/4 ply, I think. The provided coffee (which comes in "pods", essentially a giant tea bag), was dreadful. There is a 7-11 within walking distance that has instant coffee, however. The complementary drinking water provided was about two cups' worth, and the water available for purchase in the rooms is hugely overpriced, so I highly advise bringing your own water. The walls are quite thin and the floor creaks, so be prepared to hear people talking and walking outside your room. The demographics of the casino and hotel was overwhelmingly elderly individuals. As far as food goes, the cafe (Cafe Cortez) is decent (diner-quality) and cheap. The Flame Steakhouse is a bit pricey, but is superb (and also unfortunately closing down at the end of August 2014). The WiFi at the hotel was atrocious (the worst I've ever experienced at a hotel), and I ended up using my cell phone to obtain internet access when needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Imperial Health Spa is a great spa that's close by, and a Groupon coupon is currently available that gives 40-48% off.

Back to menu Return to top