$17 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

El Cortez Hotel and Casino

3 stars
View map of 600 E. Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
580 out of 580
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grandma Janica
Business
New Westminster, BC, Canada
Aug 5, 2014

El Cortez great for quiet getaway

I love this hotel & stay quite often. Take the Westcliffe bus. There is nothing spectacular but it's clean, fairly priced, has an onsite restaurant for meals & snacks, a lounge with Karaoke & singers, & a good location, a block off the Fremont Experience. There's a Walgreens closeby for last minute items or to buy a jug of water, some bandaids, or mixer for my duty free rum (Malibu.) I love that theres a coffee maker in the room & if you ask, you can get extra coffee. I need help with getting out of the bath so I get an accessible room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Fremont Experience

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marty beep beep
Business
Anaheim
Aug 2, 2014

Love it

We had an amazing time the staff guy was awsome the room had air conditioning i love it there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Lynn
Business
Lancaster, TX
Jul 31, 2014

Getaway 2015

Beautiful place Downtown to get away. Nice staff, very knowledgeable and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food and low prices.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Lynn
Business
Lancaster, TX
Jul 30, 2014

Nice place to get away

Very nice and comfortable, away from most of the hustle and bustle. Very knowledgeable and friendly staff. Had a great time, thanks. Lynn Pollard

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Not expensive at all.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveler Thomas
Business
San Diego, California
Jul 29, 2014

Cheap, and you get what you pay for.

The location of this hotel, while not exactly close to the strip, is downtown and right next to the Fremont shopping experience area. The freeway is also very close by, and the strip is a short drive away. The hotel has a couple of parking structures, one across the street and one connected to the hotel. The parking structure connected to the hotel has an attendant on duty and you must show your room key in order to enter the lot (or tell them you need to check in). The "Vintage Rooms" (which this review applies to only) have no elevator, so if you book one of these, be prepared to haul your luggage up multiple flights of stairs. The AC's thermostat in my room didn't seem to be working, so it was either on or off. However, I was able to find a good balance by turning on the AC and cracking open the window and letting some hot air in. It should be noted that the window opens inward towards to room, and in my room, the outward-facing portion was covered in a thick layer of dust, which I cleaned with one of the hotel's towels. The shower in the bathroom of the room I stayed at, when set to a comfortable temperature, emitted a shrieking sound reminiscent of a kettle boiling. The shower drain drained very slowly, so I was usually standing in an inch or two of water while taking a shower. The toilet paper is 1/4 ply, I think. The provided coffee (which comes in "pods", essentially a giant tea bag), was dreadful. There is a 7-11 within walking distance that has instant coffee, however. The complementary drinking water provided was about two cups' worth, and the water available for purchase in the rooms is hugely overpriced, so I highly advise bringing your own water. The walls are quite thin and the floor creaks, so be prepared to hear people talking and walking outside your room. The demographics of the casino and hotel was overwhelmingly elderly individuals. As far as food goes, the cafe (Cafe Cortez) is decent (diner-quality) and cheap. The Flame Steakhouse is a bit pricey, but is superb (and also unfortunately closing down at the end of August 2014). The WiFi at the hotel was atrocious (the worst I've ever experienced at a hotel), and I ended up using my cell phone to obtain internet access when needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Imperial Health Spa is a great spa that's close by, and a Groupon coupon is currently available that gives 40-48% off.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SteveinElkhart
Business
Elkhart, Indiana
Jul 28, 2014

Room was spacious and clean

El Cortez is an old hotel. The Casino was old style, Plenty of Stale cigerette smoke. But the No Smoking Room in the "Tower" was spacious and clean. The AC worked great in the 115 degree heat. Bathroom was small. Overall it was a good value, it was one of the cheapest hotels at the time I was visiting (Working Trade Show) It is about a block away from the Freemont "Downtown" area where there are plenty of resturants and touist items.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Binions had a very good prime rib for $8.95

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hoopcoach
Business
Michigan
Jul 28, 2014

Decent

El Cortez was decent. Good for the price. Ok location if you like Fremont Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mocha74
Business
elk grove, ca
Jul 25, 2014

first time in vegas

Very clean, valet was great too, inexpensive...great ppl all over

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The strip was awesome

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gxiberolrijuiojhe
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 25, 2014

Smoky, Great Location

The El Cortez appears to be the smokiest casino in Las Vegas. The smoke also can be smelt in the non-smoking rooms in the Hotel. But the price is very affordable and the location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

All of major casinos in downtown Las Vegas are within three blocks walk. The buses to the Las Vegas Strip are within two blocks of the El Cortez. Great location.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alicatrt
Business
Tucson, Arizona
Jul 21, 2014

Pleasantly Surprised

I'm born & raised in Vegas. I wanted to get a room that was closer to my mother-in-law who we were visiting, so I chose the El Cortez on Fremont street. The hotels on Fremont are older, so I was a bit worried about staying here. Wow, what a nice surprise the hotel room was very nice & exceeded my expectations. There isn't one bad thing I can say about the room. The price wasn't bad either. The workers at the reservation desk & Cafe Cortez were friendly. Of course if your staying on Fremont you have to go to the Fremont Experience, what a blast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The new party place in Vegas. Not good place to bring children under 18.

Back to menu Return to top