$21 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 15, 2015 Check-out: Apr 16, 2015

El Cortez Hotel and Casino

3 stars
View map of 600 E. Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
624 out of 624
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ronbo 57
Business
Barstow, California
Jun 12, 2010

Great Place and Cheap Price

The hotel was great. I love the price as well. I'm a construction worker from California and have to stay weekly in Las Vegas until my job is completed. I couldn't complain about anything that the hotel had to offer. The only problem was that on my first night of stay at the El Cortez, I got up to go to work and there happened to be a dead body in the parking garage. Very interesting to come across that but as the hotel itself it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
skeehc
Business
nevada
Jun 11, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

It's a great hotel if your on a budget. The room for the pavillion are older, opt to stay in the new cabana suites, much nicer. The steakhouse is great for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Jun 9, 2010

great value

great for the budget traveler

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ttran
Business
Dayton, Ohio
Jun 7, 2010

pretty good las vegas vacation

Go to Las Vegas for sightseeing, gamble and taste good local cuisines. The front desk staff does not seem to know the hotel well to answer simple questions: which restaurant open 24 hours, when gift shop open/close, is there Internet connection at the Hotel (they do have it) even know the staff said there is none. Hotel is quiet for people who want to gamble without alot of noise. Good and knowledge and friendly casino staff. Foods are good and prices are reasonable. There are a lot of locals and serious gamblers hang around in the hotel and not a lot of tourists. Security staff are friendly and everywhere. Need a bellman or concierge at least 8 hours at or near the front desk. I could never find a bellman when I need one and even the front desk staff do not know where the bellman is half of the time. Restrooms are great but clean enough, you pay for what you get. I give it 3 stars out of 5 stars for the restrooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Reasonable rates, room clean, near Fremont street, other hotels downtown and close to the bus stop to go on to the Strip or to the outlet mall. Be careful walking to Fremont Street or downtown in general, there seem to be a lot more homeless folks and undesirables in 2010. Although, most of the time they do not bother you and cops are strategically located. Lastly, local cuisines near the hotel and on Fremont street are some of the best: Uncle Joe's pizza and subs, Cuba and Mexican restaurant (opposite of the hotel).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Corona, Ca.
Jun 6, 2010

Away for the weekend

For the price I thought the hotel was great. We paid $54 for 2 nights in a two queen size bed room. The hotel added for free a fun book which offered $5 complimentary gambling, $5 complimentary food, a free drink of any sort and other great things. I thought that was awesome. I'm not a gambler and I used the certificates and had a blast. I would definitly go there again. The rooms are very neat and clean and updated. I enjoyed my stay and was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The strip wasn't very far. It's located south of this hotel. It doesn't take long to drive to the center from this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix AZ
May 26, 2010

Ok hotel

Overall ok nice rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Fremont experince close by, dinning entertainment very short walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New G-Ma
Business
Bakersfield, CA
May 9, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

We've been to Las Vegas multiple times and really enjoy the city. This trip we wanted to experience Fremont Street. This hotel was right there! Our room was clean and quiet. The security to get to our rooms made us more comfortable to stay in this part of town. The staff was friendly and helpful. My only complaint was the room could use a small refrigerator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Fremont Experience is fantastic!! Vegas has lots to offer, besides gambling.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
May 8, 2010

This hotel does not charge hidden fees

Overall everything is quite good, except the shower tub clogged which is still unresolved after 3 days of file complaint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MIRIAM HAPPY MOM
Business
POMPANO, FLA.
Apr 29, 2010

GOOD PLACE FOR THE PRICE

I WOLD LIKE WHEN I COME BACK HAVE A BIGGER ROOM, WHITH OUT LIQUIN IN LAVATOY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Mexico
Apr 27, 2010

Vegas April 2010

Good price in a hotel that takes you back to old Las Vegas. A block from Fremont St.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top