$16 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

El Cortez Hotel and Casino

3 stars
600 E. Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
848 reviews
Okay for nice trip

The room was clean but had a slight mothball smell. I would stay again if I was on a budget See full review

  • shan111
  • Jul 20, 2014
Wedding Anniversary

We had a room on the 14th floor with a view of the strip,witch is fantastic at night. The room was... See full review

  • manron
  • Jun 29, 2014
Downtown Las Vegas hotel and casino is a throwback to the Rat Pack days

Experience the legendary nightlife capital of the western U.S. at one of its first hotspots. The El Cortez Hotel & Casino is part of Las Vegas lore in the original shopping, restaurant and casino district. Spacious private rooms sit 17 stories atop blackjack, keno, sports book and more. The El Cortez Hotel & Casino is a fun retro experience for couples and individuals looking for a 24/7 authentic, affordable Vegas stay. The downtown Fremont East District is out the front door and the Las Vegas Strip is just minutes away.

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • Near the Fremont Street Experience in downtown Las Vegas
  • Meeting space
  • Steakhouse, 24-hour cafe and room service
  • Free parking
Rooms

Sleep up to four people comfortably with plenty of space. Rooms at the El Cortez Hotel & Casino come with one king or two queen beds as well as sofas and tables for lounging. Amenities include cable TVs, safe deposit boxes, hairdryers and refrigerators. Suites boast Jacuzzi bathtubs and some provide views of the Las Vegas Strip. High-speed wireless Internet access is available (fees apply). All rooms have electronic door locks. Accessible rooms are available upon request at the El Cortez Hotel & Casino.

Features

The El Cortez Hotel & Casino recalls the golden Rat Pack days of Las Vegas with gambling halls and steakhouse fare in the Fremont East District. Find slot machines, gaming tables, roulette, live keno and a sports book. Enjoy the evening with a full prime rib and seafood dinner with an accompanying martini, or grab more casual fare at the 24-hour coffee shop café. The El Cortez lounge boasts a full bar and video poker. Room service also is available. Guests of the El Cortez Hotel & Casino have access to a fitness center inside the hotel.

Transportation
  • McCarran International Airport (6.3 mi/10.2 km)
  • Greyhound bus terminal (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown/Fremont Street (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Cashman Field (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Las Vegas Convention Center (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • The Strip (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • UNLV (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Las Vegas Motor Speedway (13.7 mi/22 km)
  • Hoover Dam/Lake Mead (33.6 mi/54 km)
Business
  • Meeting space accommodates up to 100 people
Policies and Fees
  • NOTE: Starting 1 February 2014, resort fee will be $8.95 daily plus tax. Resort fee includes Wi-Fi in rooms, free local phone calls, complimentary access to fitness center, free parking, a complimentary bottle of wine (two glasses if a single) upon purchase of dinner for two in the Flame Steakhouse, free entry into the daily slot tournament, and two bottles of water. 
  • At least one person in the room must be 21 years of age.
  • Either a credit or debit card is required upon registration. The El Cortez does NOT accept cash deposit.
  • This hotel requires, upon check-in, a refundable US$ 50 credit card deposit or US$40 debit card deposit per night, up to a maximum of US$120.
  • The hotel has a 7-night maximum stay during a calendar month.  Any additional nights will incur a $25.00 per day charge plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.1691 -115.1386
Area served
Las Vegas, NV
Nearby airports
McCarran International Airport
Area description
Located near Fremont Street Experience gambling mall, Las Vegas Strip, Las Vegas Speedway, Cashman Field, Lake Mead, Mt. Charleston, Red Rock, Thomas and Mack Center and University of Las Vegas.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Cortez Hotel and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

El Cortez Hotel and Casino Rooms

Tower Room
Spacious and beautifully decorated, these rooms provide either a mountain or a strip view. This room comes standard with one king bed or two queens, as well as a sitting area with sofa and tables. Comfortable private bath with separate vanity area. All Tower rooms are 100% nonsmoking rooms.
Pavilion Room
Spacious and beautifully decorated this room comes standard with two queen beds. Comfortable private bath with separate vanity area as well. This is the only section of the hotel that currently offers some smoking rooms.
Vintage Room
Vintage rooms have one queen bed and have been converted to nonsmoking only. There is no elevator access to these rooms. (Stairway access only.)
Jacuzzi Suite
Bedroom with king sized bed, separate living room, Jacuzzi tub, private bath, two televisions and a refrigerator.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Casino
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.1 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.1 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.2 mi
  • The Western: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.1 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.1 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.2 mi
  • The Western: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.4 mi
  • California Club: 0.4 mi
  • La Bayou: 0.4 mi
  • Lewis Avenue Pedestrian Corridor: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 0.5 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 0.5 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Neon Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Elvis Chapel: 0.7 mi
  • Las Vegas City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lied Discovery Children's Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Las Vegas–Clark County Library District: 0.8 mi
  • Huntridge Theater: 0.8 mi
  • The Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Old Las Vegas Mormon Fort State Historic Park: 0.8 mi
  • Desert Inn Massage & Spa: 0.9 mi
  • Cashman Field Center: 0.9 mi
  • Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health: 0.9 mi
  • Cashman Field: 0.9 mi
  • Cowtown Guitars: 1 mi
  • Viva Las Vegas Wedding Chapel: 1 mi
  • Little Chapel of the Flowers: 1.5 mi
  • Bonanza Gift Shop: 1.7 mi
  • Jerry's Nugget: 1.7 mi
  • Stratosphere Las Vegas: 1.7 mi
  • Sahara Hotel and Casino: 1.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting and banquet facilities available to accommodate functions of up to 100 guests.

Dining

Cafe Cortez
Enjoy something delicious at Cafe Cortez. With a wide variety of breakfast, lunch, and dinner specialties served in generous portions, Cafe Cortez is your place to enjoy a great meal in a classic and comfortable setting. Cafe Cortez kitchen will have limited hours of operation on Sunday through Thursday from 10:30 PM to 7:00 AM. Serving a limited menu of Breakfast items, Salads, Deli Platters, Pastries, Cakes and Pies. Enjoy our complete menu 24 hours Friday and Saturday.
The Flame Steakhouse
The Flame's ambient lighting and live piano music provide a comfortable atmosphere in this classic setting offering the finest Prime Rib and New York steaks along with a variety of beef, chicken, and seafood entrees. The Flame's wine list will entice the oenophile with variety and pricing. The Flame is open from 5:00 PM to 10:00 PM Wednesday thru Sunday.
New Restaurants
Subwa

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (848)

Ratings and reviews for El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
848 out of 848
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
Aug 4, 2010

Great Value

The room I booked for $30 was the size of a junior suite at most hotels. It was clean and my girlfriend and I were very comfortable. The only negative was that you could really hear anyone in the hallway loud and clear but our proximity to the elevator may have had something to do with that. Overall I would highly recommend staying at El Cortez but make sure to book a Tower room, as it isn't much more in price than the standard rooms but made a world of difference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Firefly at the Plaza Hotel has great food, great atmosphere and a great view!

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
Aug 4, 2010

Great Value

The room I booked for $30 was the size of a junior suite at most hotels. It was clean and my girlfriend and I were very comfortable. The only negative was that you could really hear anyone in the hallway loud and clear but our proximity to the elevator may have had something to do with that. Overall I would highly recommend staying at El Cortez but make sure to book a Tower room, as it isn't much more in price than the standard rooms but made a world of difference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Firefly at the Plaza Hotel has great food, great atmosphere and a great view!

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Teda
Palmdale, CA
Aug 1, 2010

The good, the bad and the really ugly.

We went on tours, walked downtown and went out to dinner. We have stayed at this hotel before and it was a good experience but this is the first time we stayed in a vintage room and it was horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
RIVERSIDE,CA
Aug 1, 2010

NO ROOM AT THE INN,[...]

AFTER DRIVING 12 HOURS FROM MONTANA AND HAVING ALL OUR LUGGAGE UNLOADED FROM OUR VEHICLE AND STANDING IN LINE FOR 30 MINUTES TO CHECK IN, WE FIND OUT THE HOTEL IS OVER BOOKED, [...] WE ARE OFFERED A STAY AT THE SUPER 8 MOTEL ACROSS THE STREET(IF I WANTED TO STAY AT SUPUER 8 I WOULD HAVE BOOKED SUPER 8)[...] DECIDED TO JUST FINISH THE VACATION 2 DAYS EARLY AND DRIVE 3 PLUS HOURS HOME. AS WE DROVE SOUTH ON THE STRIP TO HEAD OUT OF TOWN (7:30 PM) A SIGN ON THE MANDALAY BAY MARQUE SHOWED ROOMS AVAILIBLE, SO WE CHECKED. $189 A NIGHT AND WE WERE IN. ENJOYED THE LAST 2 DAYS OF OUR TRIP AND MADE IT HOME SAFELY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

CHECK ALL ACCOMENDATIONS WITH THE HOTEL BEFORE ARRIVING AND MAKE SURE THEY HAVE ROOMS.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
RIVERSIDE,CA
Aug 1, 2010

NO ROOM AT THE INN,[...]

AFTER DRIVING 12 HOURS FROM MONTANA AND HAVING ALL OUR LUGGAGE UNLOADED FROM OUR VEHICLE AND STANDING IN LINE FOR 30 MINUTES TO CHECK IN, WE FIND OUT THE HOTEL IS OVER BOOKED, [...] WE ARE OFFERED A STAY AT THE SUPER 8 MOTEL ACROSS THE STREET(IF I WANTED TO STAY AT SUPUER 8 I WOULD HAVE BOOKED SUPER 8)[...] DECIDED TO JUST FINISH THE VACATION 2 DAYS EARLY AND DRIVE 3 PLUS HOURS HOME. AS WE DROVE SOUTH ON THE STRIP TO HEAD OUT OF TOWN (7:30 PM) A SIGN ON THE MANDALAY BAY MARQUE SHOWED ROOMS AVAILIBLE, SO WE CHECKED. $189 A NIGHT AND WE WERE IN. ENJOYED THE LAST 2 DAYS OF OUR TRIP AND MADE IT HOME SAFELY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

CHECK ALL ACCOMENDATIONS WITH THE HOTEL BEFORE ARRIVING AND MAKE SURE THEY HAVE ROOMS.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Teda
Palmdale, CA
Aug 1, 2010

The good, the bad and the really ugly.

We went on tours, walked downtown and went out to dinner. We have stayed at this hotel before and it was a good experience but this is the first time we stayed in a vintage room and it was horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ohio smith
kent, ohio
Jul 30, 2010

good location

the hotel staff are very good. the maids do a very good job. most rooms are good. some minor problems(tub may not drain well), but taken care of rapidly. 1 major problem: if you have a vehicle needing a lot of height in the garages, there are only a few spaces. and the mickey mouse guards let compact cars park there. i caught one guard parking there!some guards are lazy sloths.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

freemont street experience

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fremont fanatic
Eugene,OR
Jul 29, 2010

Fremont Fanatic

The Tower rooms are larger and as nice as any in Vegas.For what it is worth, there are more security guards in and on the property than cocktail waitressess. There is no pool, but the room rate more than makes up for it. Highly recommend !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the Cafe food -- try sharing the fajitas -two cannot finish and the Rib Eye steak -- is the absolute finest ever.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nevada
Jul 29, 2010

Terrible

Staff screwed up repeatedly and blamed the customers for it. Did not compensate for damages. They try to make you pay double by charging you during check-in and when you check-out. Keep your lawyer on speed dial!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fremont fanatic
Eugene,OR
Jul 29, 2010

Fremont Fanatic

The Tower rooms are larger and as nice as any in Vegas.For what it is worth, there are more security guards in and on the property than cocktail waitressess. There is no pool, but the room rate more than makes up for it. Highly recommend !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the Cafe food -- try sharing the fajitas -two cannot finish and the Rib Eye steak -- is the absolute finest ever.

Back to menu Return to top