$21 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 9, 2015 Check-out: Mar 11, 2015

El Cortez Hotel and Casino

3 stars
View map of 600 E. Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
623 reviews
Great way to do Vegas!

Old Las Vegas is crazy fun and this hotel is a great place to stay for the money. They even have... See full review

  • Phemma
  • Feb 23, 2015
Random vega trip

The hotel was just what we needed,convenient location to just walk around very nice a quiet to get... See full review

  • Eric E.
  • Jan 27, 2015
Downtown Las Vegas hotel and casino is a throwback to the Rat Pack days

Experience the legendary nightlife capital of the western U.S. at one of its first hotspots. The El Cortez Hotel & Casino is part of Las Vegas lore in the original shopping, restaurant and casino district. Spacious private rooms sit 17 stories atop blackjack, keno, sports book and more. The El Cortez Hotel & Casino is a fun retro experience for couples and individuals looking for a 24/7 authentic, affordable Vegas stay. The downtown Fremont East District is out the front door and the Las Vegas Strip is just minutes away.

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • Near the Fremont Street Experience in downtown Las Vegas
  • Meeting space
  • 24-hour cafe and room service
  • Free parking
Rooms

Sleep up to four people comfortably with plenty of space. Rooms at the El Cortez Hotel & Casino come with one king or two queen beds as well as sofas and tables for lounging. Amenities include cable TVs, safe deposit boxes, hairdryers and refrigerators. Suites boast Jacuzzi bathtubs and some provide views of the Las Vegas Strip. High-speed wireless Internet access is available (fees apply). All rooms have electronic door locks. Accessible rooms are available upon request at the El Cortez Hotel & Casino.

Features

The El Cortez Hotel & Casino recalls the golden Rat Pack days of Las Vegas with gambling halls in the Fremont East District. Find slot machines, gaming tables, roulette, live keno and a sports book. Enjoy the evening with a full prime rib and seafood dinner with an accompanying martini, or grab more casual fare at the 24-hour coffee shop cafe. The El Cortez lounge boasts a full bar and video poker. Room service also is available. Guests of the El Cortez Hotel & Casino have access to a fitness center inside the hotel.

Transportation
  • McCarran International Airport (6.3 mi/10.2 km)
  • Greyhound bus terminal (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown/Fremont Street (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Cashman Field (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Las Vegas Convention Center (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • The Strip (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • UNLV (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Las Vegas Motor Speedway (13.7 mi/22 km)
  • Hoover Dam/Lake Mead (33.6 mi/54 km)
Business
  • Meeting space accommodates up to 100 people
Policies and Fees
  • NOTE: Starting 1 February 2014, resort fee will be $8.95 daily plus tax. Resort fee includes Wi-Fi in rooms, free local phone calls, complimentary access to fitness center, free parking and two bottles of water. 
  • At least one person in the room must be 21 years of age.
  • Either a credit or debit card is required upon registration. The El Cortez does NOT accept cash deposit.
  • This hotel requires, upon check-in, a refundable US$ 50 credit card deposit or US$40 debit card deposit per night, up to a maximum of US$120.
  • The hotel has a 7-night maximum stay during a calendar month.  Any additional nights will incur a $25.00 per day charge plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Cortez Hotel and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

El Cortez Hotel and Casino Rooms

Tower Room
Spacious and beautifully decorated, these rooms provide either a mountain or a strip view. This room comes standard with one king bed or two queens, as well as a sitting area with sofa and tables. Comfortable private bath with separate vanity area. All Tower rooms are 100% nonsmoking rooms.
Pavilion Room
Spacious and beautifully decorated this room comes standard with two queen beds. Comfortable private bath with separate vanity area as well. This is the only section of the hotel that currently offers some smoking rooms.
Vintage Room
Vintage rooms have one queen bed and have been converted to nonsmoking only. There is no elevator access to these rooms. (Stairway access only.)
Jacuzzi Suite
Bedroom with king sized bed, separate living room, Jacuzzi tub, private bath, two televisions and a refrigerator.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Casino
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.1 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.1 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.2 mi
  • The Western: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.1 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.1 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.2 mi
  • The Western: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.4 mi
  • California Club: 0.4 mi
  • La Bayou: 0.4 mi
  • Lewis Avenue Pedestrian Corridor: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 0.5 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 0.5 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Neon Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Elvis Chapel: 0.7 mi
  • Las Vegas City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lied Discovery Children's Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Las Vegas–Clark County Library District: 0.8 mi
  • Huntridge Theater: 0.8 mi
  • The Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Old Las Vegas Mormon Fort State Historic Park: 0.8 mi
  • Desert Inn Massage & Spa: 0.9 mi
  • Cashman Field Center: 0.9 mi
  • Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health: 0.9 mi
  • Cashman Field: 0.9 mi
  • Cowtown Guitars: 1 mi
  • Viva Las Vegas Wedding Chapel: 1 mi
  • Little Chapel of the Flowers: 1.5 mi
  • Bonanza Gift Shop: 1.7 mi
  • Jerry's Nugget: 1.7 mi
  • Stratosphere Las Vegas: 1.7 mi
  • Sahara Hotel and Casino: 1.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting and banquet facilities available to accommodate functions of up to 100 guests.

Dining

Cafe Cortez
Enjoy something delicious at Cafe Cortez. With a wide variety of breakfast, lunch, and dinner specialties served in generous portions, Cafe Cortez is your place to enjoy a great meal in a classic and comfortable setting. Cafe Cortez kitchen will have limited hours of operation on Sunday through Thursday from 10:30 PM to 7:00 AM. Serving a limited menu of Breakfast items, Salads, Deli Platters, Pastries, Cakes and Pies. Enjoy our complete menu 24 hours Friday and Saturday.
New Restaurants
Subway

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (623)

Ratings and reviews for El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
623 out of 623
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento CA
Jul 15, 2010

Cheap, no big complaints here

I would recommend this place to friends, you can't beat how cheap It was for four nights. We had a tower room on the 15th floor we had the best view and even a personal patio. Yhe bathrooms are a bit dated so I only showered. It's true check in can be slow and the bar tenders are rude and really strict on making sure you bet 3 to get those free drinks but all in all it's on the corner from the freemont experience and I felt safe for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrbigboss
Business
Williams, AZ
Jul 15, 2010

Great for the Money

Since the remodel, the rooms are great, especially the central AC. It could have had a mini fridge. Only 3 drawbacks were we requested a smoking room and got nonsmoking, there was no elevator to the room we stayed in, was only 1 floor up, but with luggage was a bear, and when checking in we had to have a $50 holding fee on our debit card until we checked out. This can take 2 weeks to get funds back on the card and nowhere did it state this charge. Besides that it was a great location, quiet rooms and a very comfortable casino.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Freemont experience is only a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fremont fanatic
Business
Eugene, OR
Jul 13, 2010

Best Value in Vegas

WOW !! From check in to Check out was awesome! When we first looked at our room -- WoW, what a deal ! The hotel is totally remodeled, clean, safe, quiet --probably the best value in Vegas.Close to Fremont Street Experience, great strip views, nice people and the feeling of safety was every where. We ate at Tony Romas one night and our waiter said the best steaks in town are at the El Cortez- He was correct ! We will return and most definitely tell all our friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Porterhouse steak was one of the best I ever enjoyed. The fajitas, is a meal for two. The Cafe Cortez was one of the best dining in Vegas. Trust me, we tried out a dozen different places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange county, CA
Jul 13, 2010

Good Value !

I have been staying here for years. Like the location and the parking is easy access and a short walk to your room. Other downtown hotels have a "hike" from your car to room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Taking a risk
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 13, 2010

Would do it over again.

The room was very clean. Staff was friendly. However, the rooms next door to the left and right had visitors who were smoking (hemp). The smell kept us up and we didn't feel safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Check the room location and the neighboring guest.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Falls Church, VA
Jul 12, 2010

Charge for every little thing

good location - nice that they had a shuttle back to the airport. However, the charge for the internet was way too high - $12.00 a day is ridiculous. They would have gotten more of my money in the casino if I did not have to go away from the hotel for a couple of hours a day to do work without paying an exhorbitant charge for internet. And, I got sick the last couple of days. Went and bought jello - the restaurant would not give me a spoon - even a plastic one (and I had eaten in the restaurant for several meals). Then, I left my phone charge in the room and discovered it was gone after i had left. They found it but they were going to charge me a minimum of $20.00 to mail it to me - that's excessive. I was even willing to send them the postage-paid envelope. I will probably stay elsewhere next time (other two times I stayed in Vegas I had free wireless).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corona, Ca
Jul 11, 2010

Stay in Vegas for 4th of July 2010

The hotel is great for the price. This was my second time staying there within a month. The first time I was there I needed a room to attend a funeral and this time I choose to stay for the 4th of July. The rooms are nice and the beds are comfortable. The a/c's work wonderfully. I love that they give you a funbook which gives you $5 toward food, $5 toward gambling ( that was great for me to play and learn because I don't gamble), a free drink amongst other cool things in the book. I would stay at the hotel again if I it came down to it. The hotel is ok. Though I would say a lot of smoking and the smell is throughout the hotel. But I could deal with that for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tempe, AZ
Jul 11, 2010

Meh

The hotel was pretty decent. but you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TJ Bound
Business
San Diego, Ca
Jul 11, 2010

I'm Pretty Tired. I'm Going Home Now.

The 4th of July weekend was a blast. I did the usual stuff like watch the fireworks and had BBQ plus saw the fountains at the Bellagio, the free concerts and Viva Vision shows on Fremont Street plus celebrated our freedom with tens of thousands of my fellow Americans and friends from around the world. A clean and comfortable room was available at the El Cortez at a great rate which freed up holiday cash so I could do more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

At Flamingo and Eastern there is a buffet called Buffet@Asia. Lunch is $9 drinks included. I like it maybe you will too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marana, ARizona
Jul 11, 2010

El Cortez Review

I stayed on the 5th floor (Pavillion section). The view of Las Vegas was great. The room was clean. There was no way to adjust the A/C and the room was somewhat cool but not as cool as I desire. The door to the room was metal and made a loud sound when opened and shut. My neighbor room guests kept opening their doors in the late evening hours and this woke me up many time. Otherwise the experience was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Freemont street experience is excellent after 8 p.m.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top