$15 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

El Cortez Hotel and Casino

3 stars
View map of 600 E. Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
688 out of 688
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sao Paulo (Brazil)
Sep 24, 2010

Good Choice

A good hotel with good prices,I recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 21, 2010

the good and bad.

For the most part the hotel was nice. I booked through [...]a smoking room and when I showed up to the hotel; they told me they had no smoking rooms available. I booked this room two weeks or so in advance; i was a bit upset that the hotel could not take that into consideration and accomodate my reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Freemont...u must to go Mermaids!...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mattbarnaby
Business
NH
Sep 12, 2010

Could have been better.

I stay at the EC frequently so I guess you can get some low notes. This rooms bathroom although very clean smelled of body odor and the previous guests filled out evaluation form (including name, address and email address was still on the vanity top.The safes' battery also died while I was there rendering it unusable but was promptly fixed.Rather than change rooms after already being unpacked I just bought a can of air spray at Walgreens, which was a good idea since the odor returned my whole stay (2 Days)but single guys can put up with minor inconveniences when the price is right (under $20 per night for a tower room. I booked a night for the following week after this so I will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you drink a lot of water buy a 12 pack or more at Walgreens for about 25 cents per bottle versus $2 in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 2, 2010

Bad at first, then we were upgraded

The staff was rude and they kept switching us rooms but in the end, we ended up at the Cabana suites

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Fremont street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
L.A.
Aug 31, 2010

"UNBEATABLE"

CLEAN AND FRIENDLY STAFF

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OJS 69
Business
Spring Hill,FL
Aug 31, 2010

GREAT VALUE

Only 2 blocks to the Fremont Street Experience. It's not ritzy. Rather old. But clean & friendly. Excellent for those on a budget

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

$350 for RT air & room for 7 days.Thanks El Cortez & Orbitz

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
koyanaasqatsi
Business
Surrey, BC
Aug 30, 2010

Great location; clean

Just spent one night there while waiting for a flight. The hallways looked a little run-down, but appearances are so often deceptive. Very security-conscious and super-clean rooms. Only downside for me was no pool, but you can't have everything! Unbeatable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

'The Fremont Experience, a block away.It has a lot: shopping, food/drink. entertainment, people-watching,...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Aug 30, 2010

Value

I travel to Las Vegas a lot for business and I decided to include a couple of days in Las Vegas for my family vacation. Las Vegas is not really the place for a family vacation. The "What happens in Vegas stays in Vegas "campaigns prove that…enough said. As far as downtown Vegas goes the surrounding area is kind of rough. The El Cortez hotel makes that up with a really nice and friendly staff. The hotel itself is clean and secure which is important if you are going to stay downtown. What was most important to me is that the staff recognized that I was traveling with my 11 year old daughter and was very accommodating to her needs. There really wasn't a game room or things really for children at the hotel but there is one thing that is important. You don't have people shoving less than appropriate fliers in your hand…and even your kid's hand every two seconds like you have on the strip. Vegas is the least kid friendly place I know. Fremont Street at least tries to keep it open to the possibility that you may have children with you. Overall we had a good couple of days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Fremont Street Experience

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
La Puente, California
Aug 28, 2010

Unbeatable price

We had a very nice experience. Clean hotel will stay there gain

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lakewood, CA
Aug 23, 2010

Not dissapointed at all!!

Enjoyed the stay at El Cortez. A nice place to stay and worth the money which is also a great deal since it's cheaper than most hotels. Second time staying at this hotel and not dissapointed one bit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top