$18 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

El Cortez Hotel and Casino

3 stars
View map of 600 E. Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
585 out of 585
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mike supet
Single
denver, co
Jan 26, 2014

enot bad for the money...

Lets just say that they advertirse as the oldest casino invegas. Maybe so - and so what.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreens

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Firewriter
Single
Cheboygan, Mi
Jan 26, 2014

El Cortez

Good for a sigle person. A fun bar with good entertainment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nnjii
Family
beaumont, ca
Jan 24, 2014

not good for family

They charge for refrigerators. Toilet wasn't working. Loud noise from the room. Not a safe feeling. We had tochecked out right away because it was so ununcomfortable...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beattyplb
Couples
beatty nv
Jan 23, 2014

great value

the area around the casino has really changed for the better in the past years - unlike years ago you can walk around outside with no fear - now for the rooms i was impressed after reading the reviews of how bad they were but found them more than sufficient for my needs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

container park is located near and they have activities for the kids

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
paulmal
Single
chicago
Jan 22, 2014

Great value

Everything is clean and functioning. Despite not updating anything in 20 years. No resort fees (which is changing) . Just a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alaska Adventurer
Couples
Clinton Township, MI
Jan 20, 2014

Freemont Street Experience

We had stayed 3 nights down on the strip and for the same price per night we had 2 small double beds here (instead of a king for a couple), really LOUD music that played until 3 in the morning from a neighboring bar, and people yelling and banging on the doors at all hours. We had to have our key card remade 3 different times and my husband's never worked. On the plus side, the parking garage was included in the price and was convenient and there was a small coffee maker in the room. I would not stay here again--we got little to no sleep either night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Public transportation via the bus was $8 for 24 hours--very convenient and once we had seen the Freemont Street Experience the first evening, we used it to go back and forth to the strip, which is where everything was that we wanted to see--shopping, shows and good restaurants.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the pepper
Family
vegas
Jan 10, 2014

great layover

great layover place nice stakk easy going atmosphere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dreameralways
Couples
los angeles
Jan 2, 2014

This place is Ok. don't expect too much

It is near to fremont street, so you hang around and come back to hotel whenever you want. for the price the place is ok. this is old casino. what you pay what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frank05261073Elpaso
Single
El Paso
Dec 28, 2013

Great Place

I stayed in the vintage rooms. They were nice and clean. They're over 70 or 80 years old. They been remodeled. One little minus was not having a desk. They had most of the cable channels. They had coffee in the room, gave me a coupon book with goodies. Casino itself is a little old like from the 80's or early 90s. The staff was great and friendly. The casino is near the Fremont experience. Over all good value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Magic man 44
Business
Las Vegas
Dec 24, 2013

Perfect situation

Perfect location for my business needs. Perfect views. Excellent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Room service is nice!

Back to menu Return to top