$18 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

El Cortez Hotel and Casino

3 stars
View map of 600 E. Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
585 out of 585
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Strv4exclnce
Couples
Atlanta
May 5, 2014

One of the best

Love staying at this hotel....front desk gets a little discombobulated when it's busy......told me one minute a room was available, planned around it, then 8 minutes later they've been sold out for a week.....but everything else is great.....would recommend every time....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

.25 cent Roulette....only place in town. ...awesome

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom709
Single
Crete, Nebraska
May 5, 2014

Best value downtown

Compared to hotels like the D and 4 Queens, this hotel has larger more comfortable rooms, and it's much quieter. The location is just two blocks from those hotels (and the Fremont St Experience), so it's an easy walk to most anywhere downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

In my opinion, the California has the best casino downtown.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Erin478909
Friends
Downtown Las Vegas
Apr 28, 2014

Good place to stay

Great hotel if your on a budget! The room was big and clean and a good location for downtown!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mike Leisure Traveler
Single
Washington
Apr 24, 2014

OK place to stay in downtown Vegas

Overall my stay was ok. I stayed in a vintage room, which is just up some stairs from the casino area. Given this, smoke came upstairs and would drift into my room. There was also a good deal of noise, not really from the casino but from outside and above/around my room. The room itself was reasonably comfortable and had what I would want within a hotel room. The room wasn't the most clean, with some dust build up, old snack foods in the chair, and it seems the air filter was not especially clean, which I believe caused some allergy issues for me. The location is good, just a couple minute walk from the Fremont Street Experience area, and the area and hotel felt reasonably safe and secure. There used to be no resort fee but a charge for Internet, and this changed to a resort fee with Internet included. Compared to my past stays, the Internet service was terrible-it was not possible to connect on many occassions when I wanted to catch up on some email or search for places to visit in Vegas. The interaction with staff was limited but positive, although check-in took some time due to front desk computer issues. There was also a random $5 charge to my credit card after I left, which has not been accounted for or explained after I contacted the hotel to find out about this. The on-site dining options were good and convenient. Overall, I have had better experiences at the El Cortez and at other places I have stayed in Vegas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
out of names
Couples
everett, wa
Apr 24, 2014

not what i expected

the hotel as a whole was good, the cafe was very good, the slot machines were a joke lost alot and for supposedy being the "loosiest slots in vegas" was a big dissapointment...i wasn't expecting a jackpot or some huge win but i didnt expect having to play machines that just didnt pay anything a 100 bucks would be gone in a matter of minutes and thats playing 40 cent to 80 cent bets not max, so i thought that was kinda miss leading to advertise that statement about being the loosiest, also in the 4 nights we were there did not see anyone win anything worth getting excited over. Fremont Street has its sights to see and entertainment just be forwarned about the amount of homeless they re everywhere. there is always someone trying to get you to buy this or that even after you say no thanks, there was two dudes one painted silver and one gold took a pic of them and the silver dude came after my girlfriend yelling really really! i told him to back off and he pointed to a can that said pics for tips okay well to me that means you tip them if you take a pic with them so becareful because these freaks can be agressive. also went to huntridge park to lay out and get some sun they need to rename it to homeless park there was bodies laying all over but they didnt bother anyone. went to gold and silver pawn shop "pawn stars" didnt see chum or pops or the rest of em the place didnt look anything like it does on tv its very narrow and small but still cool got to go in and look, the container park is pretty nice but expensive boutique shops they have live music and good place to kick back and relax, went to a show with a ticket that we were suppose to only have to pay 5 bucks for but when we get there they said that all those were filled and we would now have to pay 16 bucks, which to me was BS its just a way to get people there so they can get more money out of them, i could go on but will stop. Overall though it was an okay vacation not something i think i would want to do again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

the cafe was very good the food and the prices and the staff.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John John 33
Couples
San Diego
Apr 22, 2014

Nice Place

Stayed in a Tower room. The room was very large. The bed was comfy. The bathroom was a bit dated, but clean. A flat screen TV was in the room. The staff at check in and rewards desk were friendly. Casino was a bit old looking, but had all the essentials. Overall, great value for the price. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ala L
Couples
San Jose, California
Apr 17, 2014

Value for money

This deal is really value for money. El Cortez is very near to Fremont Historical Street, the downtown area. If you book through on-line, you can get free drink, $5 discount from meal, $5 for slot and more....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very near to Fremont Historical Street, it is very good for entertainment and night life

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tinky2
Couples
Wilmington, De
Apr 14, 2014

First Vegas Trip

We came for a wedding and were a little concerned when the bride picked the El Cortez because the on line reviews were so variable. People either loved it or hated it. Our experience was pretty good. We stayed in the tower on the 6th floor. We found the staff very helpful, the room was clean and quiet and the food in the Cafe was a good value. The casino definitely smells like smoke or like smoke covered by a bad floral air freshener. We are not gamblers so we spent as little time there as possible. Surprisingly the cafe didn't smell like smoke. The parking was free for hotel guests and the security was great. We loved being able to easily walk to the Freemont Street Experience. The "party" there was definitely happening!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Freemont St Experience - An adult "Disney" street parade. Instead of getting a picture with Snow White or Mickey. Your can create a Chippendale fantasy shot!

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pat d
Single
glasgow uk
Apr 6, 2014

BUGSYS HOIUSE

have stayed at the el cortez a couple of times and on each occasion have thoroughly enjoyed my stay.the tower rooms are first class and the cortez café vserves up excellent food at a reasonable price.Love the sports book there and the staff are soo friendly am planning to go back to vegas within the next few months and will be staying at el cortez

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
olde crow
Couples
oxford, oh
Apr 3, 2014

Loving the TEZ

Booked the cheapest room and the check in staff upgraded me to a huge tower room. I love the TEZ!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top