$18 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 25, 2015 Check-out: Jan 28, 2015

El Cortez Hotel and Casino

3 stars
600 E. Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
615 reviews
downtown location

Area still a little sketchy for walking back late night from fremont street. Loved container park!!... See full review

  • susan h.
  • Jan 21, 2015
Fifth time staying

If you like old town and Freemont St this hotel is one block away. The rooms were clean and nicely... See full review

  • Case King
  • Jan 18, 2015
Downtown Las Vegas hotel and casino is a throwback to the Rat Pack days

Experience the legendary nightlife capital of the western U.S. at one of its first hotspots. The El Cortez Hotel & Casino is part of Las Vegas lore in the original shopping, restaurant and casino district. Spacious private rooms sit 17 stories atop blackjack, keno, sports book and more. The El Cortez Hotel & Casino is a fun retro experience for couples and individuals looking for a 24/7 authentic, affordable Vegas stay. The downtown Fremont East District is out the front door and the Las Vegas Strip is just minutes away.

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • Near the Fremont Street Experience in downtown Las Vegas
  • Meeting space
  • 24-hour cafe and room service
  • Free parking
Rooms

Sleep up to four people comfortably with plenty of space. Rooms at the El Cortez Hotel & Casino come with one king or two queen beds as well as sofas and tables for lounging. Amenities include cable TVs, safe deposit boxes, hairdryers and refrigerators. Suites boast Jacuzzi bathtubs and some provide views of the Las Vegas Strip. High-speed wireless Internet access is available (fees apply). All rooms have electronic door locks. Accessible rooms are available upon request at the El Cortez Hotel & Casino.

Features

The El Cortez Hotel & Casino recalls the golden Rat Pack days of Las Vegas with gambling halls in the Fremont East District. Find slot machines, gaming tables, roulette, live keno and a sports book. Enjoy the evening with a full prime rib and seafood dinner with an accompanying martini, or grab more casual fare at the 24-hour coffee shop cafe. The El Cortez lounge boasts a full bar and video poker. Room service also is available. Guests of the El Cortez Hotel & Casino have access to a fitness center inside the hotel.

Transportation
  • McCarran International Airport (6.3 mi/10.2 km)
  • Greyhound bus terminal (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown/Fremont Street (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Cashman Field (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Las Vegas Convention Center (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • The Strip (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • UNLV (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Las Vegas Motor Speedway (13.7 mi/22 km)
  • Hoover Dam/Lake Mead (33.6 mi/54 km)
Business
  • Meeting space accommodates up to 100 people
Policies and Fees
  • NOTE: Starting 1 February 2014, resort fee will be $8.95 daily plus tax. Resort fee includes Wi-Fi in rooms, free local phone calls, complimentary access to fitness center, free parking and two bottles of water. 
  • At least one person in the room must be 21 years of age.
  • Either a credit or debit card is required upon registration. The El Cortez does NOT accept cash deposit.
  • This hotel requires, upon check-in, a refundable US$ 50 credit card deposit or US$40 debit card deposit per night, up to a maximum of US$120.
  • The hotel has a 7-night maximum stay during a calendar month.  Any additional nights will incur a $25.00 per day charge plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Cortez Hotel and Casino also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

El Cortez Hotel and Casino Rooms

Tower Room
Spacious and beautifully decorated, these rooms provide either a mountain or a strip view. This room comes standard with one king bed or two queens, as well as a sitting area with sofa and tables. Comfortable private bath with separate vanity area. All Tower rooms are 100% nonsmoking rooms.
Pavilion Room
Spacious and beautifully decorated this room comes standard with two queen beds. Comfortable private bath with separate vanity area as well. This is the only section of the hotel that currently offers some smoking rooms.
Vintage Room
Vintage rooms have one queen bed and have been converted to nonsmoking only. There is no elevator access to these rooms. (Stairway access only.)
Jacuzzi Suite
Bedroom with king sized bed, separate living room, Jacuzzi tub, private bath, two televisions and a refrigerator.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Casino
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.1 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.1 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.2 mi
  • The Western: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Burlesque Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • El Cortez: 0.1 mi
  • The D Las Vegas: 0.1 mi
  • Neonopolis: 0.1 mi
  • Gold Spike Hotel and Casino: 0.2 mi
  • Southern Nevada Museum of Fine Art: 0.2 mi
  • The Western: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Hotel and Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Four Queens Hotel & Casino: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Museum of Organized Crime and Law Enforcement: 0.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Post Office and Courthouse: 0.3 mi
  • Fremont Street Experience: 0.3 mi
  • Binion's Gambling Hall and Hotel: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Nugget Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • Las Vegas Little Theater: 0.4 mi
  • California Club: 0.4 mi
  • La Bayou: 0.4 mi
  • Lewis Avenue Pedestrian Corridor: 0.4 mi
  • Golden Gate Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Plaza Hotel & Casino: 0.5 mi
  • California Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Mermaids Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Main Street Station Hotel and Casino and Brewery: 0.5 mi
  • Las Vegas Club Hotel & Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Neon Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Elvis Chapel: 0.7 mi
  • Las Vegas City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Symphony Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lied Discovery Children's Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Las Vegas–Clark County Library District: 0.8 mi
  • Huntridge Theater: 0.8 mi
  • The Smith Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Old Las Vegas Mormon Fort State Historic Park: 0.8 mi
  • Desert Inn Massage & Spa: 0.9 mi
  • Cashman Field Center: 0.9 mi
  • Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health: 0.9 mi
  • Cashman Field: 0.9 mi
  • Cowtown Guitars: 1 mi
  • Viva Las Vegas Wedding Chapel: 1 mi
  • Little Chapel of the Flowers: 1.5 mi
  • Bonanza Gift Shop: 1.7 mi
  • Jerry's Nugget: 1.7 mi
  • Stratosphere Las Vegas: 1.7 mi
  • Sahara Hotel and Casino: 1.9 mi

Dining

Cafe Cortez
Enjoy something delicious at Cafe Cortez. With a wide variety of breakfast, lunch, and dinner specialties served in generous portions, Cafe Cortez is your place to enjoy a great meal in a classic and comfortable setting. Cafe Cortez kitchen will have limited hours of operation on Sunday through Thursday from 10:30 PM to 7:00 AM. Serving a limited menu of Breakfast items, Salads, Deli Platters, Pastries, Cakes and Pies. Enjoy our complete menu 24 hours Friday and Saturday.
New Restaurants
Subway

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting and banquet facilities available to accommodate functions of up to 100 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (615)

Ratings and reviews for El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
615 out of 615
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pianoman8574
Business
northridge ca.
Oct 27, 2012

el cortez hotel and casino

i was impressed, i got my card key out and inserted in to the elevator: pressed #5 and away i went, i opened the door and i got a blast from the fairly new furniture that was in my room. it was better than the D hotel, the shower was the only draw back as i was taken a shower the water changed by itself. first it was hot then it was cold. it needs to be fixed. the drain mechism was also not working. it came out and then it drained. overall i had a plesant 3 nights there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

du pars at the end of the street by the plaza, inside the golden gate hotel and casino.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
im1madman
Business
stagecoach, nv.
Feb 6, 2014

Unhappy experience

First....they charge your credit card...not swipe it and hold it till check-out, and you do'nt get the deposit taken off the card for a week, even though they tell you "only two days". Second...I failed to pack my charging cord, and an ear ring, and when I called two days later, was told nothing was left in my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
acep
Business
San Jose
Feb 5, 2014

Very old and tired hotel/casino

Even though the room was nonsmoking, the whole place smelled of smoke. It was so bad that I stayed with friends for 2 of the 3 nights that I was there. The room was decent enough, especially for the price, but the smoke was overpowering and terrible. The air conditioning and heat weren't working after certain hours so it was extremely uncomfortable during the winter. If you want to hang around downtown LV, then the hotel is in the right spot but it is an otherwise unattractive location. Definitely NOT recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RVA Shelly
Business
Richmond, Virginia
Feb 2, 2014

Another trip to vegas

I have made 10 trips to vegas in the last 8 years. The last 3 times I have stayed at the El Cortez. It is a friendly, comfortable home base for me. It is not the Wynn or the Mandalay Bay. It is also not $200 or more per night. Most of the time in life, we get what we pay for. I spend very little time in the room. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel is fairly old, but it has been kept up nicely. The vintage rooms are fairly small. If you need a big room, book a tower room. They are much bigger. They also cost more. The Downtown area is a little seedy. You may see homeless people and whatnot. The Freemont street experience is 2 blocks away. It is a wide open spot. There are many more people "entertaining" and hawking stuff then there used to be. At times it boarders on a Freakshow. But, again, this is Vegas. All things considered, I prefer Downtown to the strip, I like the Cortez just fine, and I will probably stay there again. My recommendation to anyone is this: Don't pay $35 a night and expect a 5 star lavish hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The 24 coffee shop is a throw back to a different time. Good service and great breakfast food. Use the $5 coupon they give you and you can eat a good breakfast for practically free.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Reyes11
Business
indy
Jan 31, 2014

Vegas trip

Eou get what you pay for lol. Room was noisy, old, the AC required for a tech to climb in the ceiling and change it from heat to AC. He then said dont get it to cold in here because I'll have to come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RPM3
Business
Cleveland OH
Jan 30, 2014

El Cortez Las Vegas never again!!!!!!!

Guests in rooms facing south and west must tolerate incredible noise levels on the weekends are loud enough to shake the room. Keys do not work. Must do something with smoke eaters to remove the stench and blue fog from smoke. Light over vanity did not work. Tub does not drain. After shower water was six inches deep. Given coupon receipt but to redeem needed to go to other side of the hotel. Refused to give coupon booklet without ID. On return told I must join their casino program in order to get discount coupons. Not told this at either the front desk or the first trip to redeem the coupon. Unable to breath in casino so why would I want to do that? Now need to get all garments dry cleaned they smell so foul. Attitudes just like the casinos stunk. Never ever will stay there again. Property moved from first room next night after complaining to the front desk.. Assured I would be put in a room on the north side of the property but when I returned later that night found myself still on the south side because the "house was full" with tremendous noise level again. Funny how in the morning they assigned me to a room on the North side but that changed during the day. Keys did not function here either as they should. It was such an unpleasant experience I would not suggest it to an enemy even. Property refused to adjust or credit the bill. Manager not available when I reached out several times. Went to Vegas to work not play. No rest for weary here. Travel consolidator did apply a fifty dollar credit toward a future reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DealerJoe
Business
Bakersfield
Jan 27, 2014

Clean room

I love this hotel, the rooms are always clean, for the price, it's the best

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the resturant, it good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mike supet
Business
denver, co
Jan 26, 2014

enot bad for the money...

Lets just say that they advertirse as the oldest casino invegas. Maybe so - and so what.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreens

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Firewriter
Business
Cheboygan, Mi
Jan 26, 2014

El Cortez

Good for a sigle person. A fun bar with good entertainment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nnjii
Business
beaumont, ca
Jan 24, 2014

not good for family

They charge for refrigerators. Toilet wasn't working. Loud noise from the room. Not a safe feeling. We had tochecked out right away because it was so ununcomfortable...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beattyplb
Business
beatty nv
Jan 23, 2014

great value

the area around the casino has really changed for the better in the past years - unlike years ago you can walk around outside with no fear - now for the rooms i was impressed after reading the reviews of how bad they were but found them more than sufficient for my needs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

container park is located near and they have activities for the kids

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top