$18 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

El Cortez Hotel and Casino

3 stars
View map of 600 E. Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
580 out of 580
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mmishelle
Business
los angeles , ca
Jun 14, 2014

finally over

Check in was a headache .... Arrived at 10 did not get my room key Until 3pm. Valet was extremely rude sign posted read valet and hotel check in yet the guy demanded me to move my car. Then he sped off in someone else's car. (Exact reason I dont do valet they dont respect your car) hotel staff were not friendly except one person very nice lady. Room was not clean no covers or towels... I heard many great things about this hotel but i guess i came on there bad day and i probably wont come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown / fremont st.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lovetotravel12
Business
Charleston
Jun 10, 2014

Love this place

I have nothing but good things to say. I asked to be moved to a lower priced room because I like the location of it better. The staff was great, the room was great. The location of the hotel is good. Fremont street is expanding. El Cortez used to be outside the range of things on Fremont, but not so much anymore. I will return. Look, if you are going and want a very fancy room with a gorgeous view of the Las Vegas strip at night, then this probably isn't for you. If you are there to party in the downtown area and have a lot to see within walking distance, I'd recommend this every time. Evelyn at the front desk is awesome too.......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you play Blackjack, try the video game in the El Cortez, It has $1.00 minimums, allows you to surrender and is easy to follow. If you like to play but don't like a $5.00 table or are inexperienced and want to play at a slower speed, try the video.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alex1944
Business
Thailand
Jun 9, 2014

Great

its the first time for me to stayed at El Cortez. every thing OK. It convinience to take can a bus transit to go around the city any time I needs it. If I have a chance to be in Las Vegas I,ll stay thier again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joennalyn
Business
las vegas, nv
Jun 8, 2014

anniversary

This place is great. I highly recommend staying here and with the price it is worth it. Its walking distance to the ceremony strip and the rooms are comfortable. Staff not as friendly but other than that, the place was a good choice and very Affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Book online

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joennalyn
Business
las vegas, nv
Jun 7, 2014

anniversary

I enjoy booking this hotel. The value is affordable and worth it. It's an older hotel so it's not the same as the hotels on the strip but it's worth staying there. The staffs aren't as friendly but above the flaws I would recommend staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alex1944
Business
Thailand
Jun 7, 2014

So So

good location, easy to take bus to the destination as needs. Only wait long time (more than one hour} to .take shatle bus to the Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pburger4
Business
las Vegas
Jun 4, 2014

Nice Vegas experience on the cheap.

Rooms were much roomier than expected. I really like what they are doing with downtown, you have a ton of options (bars/restaurants) all within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

eat off of Carson? was pretty good

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OC Surfer
Business
The OC
Jun 3, 2014

Good parking

I prefer the Cortez since the parking is close to the Hotel. Unlike so many others its quick from your car to room. Reasonable odds at the casino.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

good parking and often easy.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tadpole1
Business
Ft worthTexas
Jun 2, 2014

Freemount Street

Rooms were very large and was a very good value for just the guys. I would not take a hot date here. Casino odds were very good with low min.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Freemount Street is just a block away.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Casino Cam
Business
Dallas Texas
Jun 2, 2014

An Old School Gem Downtown

I've stayed at the El Cortez multiple times now and they never let me down. Their prices during the week are insanely good, and still a great value on the weekends as well. Overall I like the room better than every 3 star hotel I've had up on or by the strip and better than some 4 stars. The only rooms I can rank ahead of it is the obvious like Bellagio, Venetian, Aria, Caesars, Wynn ect (of the ones ive stayed in). The rooms are really spacious and very clean and comfy. They have updated yet very classic furnishings. I've only stayed in the Tower Rooms, and also a Tower Suite, but I hear the Vintage, Pavilion, and Cabana Suites are all very good too. For the Casino, it has very good min max ratio tables. I love the $5 min Baccarat there. Great video poker odds payouts. And for those that like cheap min roullette you can go with .25 chips and $5 min stakes. I have to mention their Cafe. Cafe Cortez never let me down with great food for great prices. The Jackie Burger with chips and a Beer for $5 is a steal. The East Side of downtown just outside has some really cool and trendy bars and pubs now too. I'll be back to the Cortez anytime I can. You can see why all the old timer locals still go there because they take care of their players. Jackie Gaughn was one of Las Vegas's pioneers and owned the Cortez for 50 years I believe. He sold it to his longtime partner's family and they are doing a great job of continuing his way of taking care of their players and keeping an old school vibe, all while updating things to attract new travelers. Love the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Cafe Cortez won't let you down with any of their food selections. Surprisingly great food in this little cafe. And player comps are generous and you will likely eat free :)

Back to menu Return to top