$18 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

El Cortez Hotel and Casino

3 stars
View map of 600 E. Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
585 out of 585
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.2

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kenoff
Single
fort lauderdaLE
Jul 12, 2014

deal

I was upgraded to a suite for my 4 day stay at no extra charge!! and the rate I paid was very low to begin with!- the room actuallly ,suite was vintage and was easy access from the lobby -I would do it all over again if I can

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

main street station buffet

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nholb
Couples
san diego, ca
Jul 8, 2014

30th Stay

I normally love this hotel, but not this time! Was given a handicapped?? room and it stunk! Staff who fixed remote was the rudest I've ever encountered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Endobird
Couples
Saint Louis, MO
Jul 8, 2014

Perfect location for Fremont Experience

I thought the location of this hotel is perfect for enjoying Fremont and all it has to offer. The table limits are perfect for the El Cortez. Everything is very reasonable. My couple problems I had were that the check-in process was incredibly slow, even with 3 people checking people in. Also, the dealers weren't friendly. They seemed they were burnt out. I work in a casino as a floor supervisor and after seeing the way some of these dealers dealt and handled customers, I would have made sure these issues would have been addressed. Apart from those two situations, everything was great. You're maybe a mile walk from Pawn Stars. About 2 miles from the Stratosphere. And 3 from Circus Circus. If you're looking for a cheap ways to shave $ off your trip, look to stay at the El Cortez.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Heart Attack Grill!

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chancluda34B
Friends
Las Cruces, Nm
Jul 6, 2014

4th of July

Can beat their price for a holiday getaway! Best part, one can step right out into Freemont Experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

Excellent prices, good food, no need to exhaust yourself looking for FOOD. It will be pretty pricey everywhere.

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TheTravlr
Business
Seattle
Jul 4, 2014

NOT THAT GREAT

IF CHEAP IS WHAT YOU ARE GOING FOR, YOU WILL FIND IT HERE. THIS PLACE IS BORDERLINE CREEPY. I JUST SAW A LADY PLAYING THE SLOTS IN HER PAJAMAS. LOVE IT

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Picho23
Friends
Guadalajara, Mexico
Jul 1, 2014

Great Downtown experience

Las Vegas downtown was a totally different experience than the Strip, and El Cortez was a key ingredient for that. Playing with real coins, old-style, has its own charm. And its walking distance to all downtown attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jimi Joseph
Business
Long Beach, CA
Jun 30, 2014

don't judge by the cover

More than worth the price one of the more comfortable beds I slept in on the road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
manron
Couples
Deming,NM
Jun 29, 2014

Wedding Anniversary

We had a room on the 14th floor with a view of the strip,witch is fantastic at night. The room was large,and the chairs were big enough for a big person like me to sit in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Klondike Mike
Family
Texas
Jun 27, 2014

Great Stay

Everything was perfect.would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of El Cortez Hotel and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Baeln
Friends
Denver
Jun 25, 2014

Good for a cheap stay

We spent very little on this room and got much more in some ways than other rooms in vegas. Coffee machine, complementary waters, and fridge in the room were key. Comfy beds, clean room, dark curtains, good A/C. However, the wireless internet was spotty at best, which was annoying, and the minimum cost to use and print something from their internet kiosk was $2.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top