$105 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 13, 2015

Desert Rose Resort

3 stars
5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89122
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
185 reviews
Good overall stay

We did not know what to expect when we arrived at desert rose but I must say we were very pleased.... See full review

  • scruffy
  • Dec 3, 2014
Best stay in Vegas EVER!!!!

I have been going to Vegas for the past 16 years for a trade show and always stayed in Casino... See full review

  • murphbmx
  • Sep 13, 2014
Just off the Strip, this all-suites resort feels worlds away
Looking for a more relaxed, family-friendly resort near the Las Vegas Strip? Try the well-hidden Desert Rose Resort, where pleasant, cheerful suites feature a modern twist on Southwest earth tones. Within a nicely landscaped property, amenities at Desert Rose include a heated swimming pool, hot tub, poolside BBQ area, fitness center and laundry facilities. Enjoy an on-site concierge to help with restaurant reservations, show tickets, and tours.
Highlights
  • Year-round pool deck complete with BBQ area
  • All-suite, family-friendly resort includes full kitchens in every room
  • Close to McCarran Airport
Location
The Desert Rose Resort is about one block east of the Las Vegas Strip, near the Tropicana resort.
Rooms
Spacious one-bedroom suites at 650 square feet each feature a king-sized pillow top bed, fully equipped kitchen with granite countertops and a coffee-maker, living room with sleeper sofa, plasma TV, CD player, dining area and balcony. The 900-square foot, two-bedroom suites at Desert Rose Resort offer one king and one queen bed with two bathrooms. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access, local calls and newspaper are also available at Desert Rose.
Transportation
  • McCarran International Airport (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Deuce Bus stops on the Strip
Attractions
  • The Lion Habitat at MGM Grand (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Shark Reef at Mandalay Bay (0.6 mi/0.97 km)
  • New York New York Roller Coaster (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Bali Hai Golf Club (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Fountains of Bellagio (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • "Welcome To Fabulous Las Vegas" sign (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Business

  • Meeting and event space available for up to 120 people.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Desert Rose Resort also booked these hotels.

Desert Rose Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
650 square feet, beautifully decorated with one king bed in one room and a queen bed in another. Triple sheeted with premium bedding, in room movies and games, safe, full kitchens with pots and pans, coffee maker, iron/iron board, and hair dryer.
Two Bedroom Suite
900 square feet, beautifully decorated with one king bed in one room and a queen bed in another. Triple sheeted with premium bedding, in room movies and games, safe, full kitchens with pots and pans, coffee maker, iron/iron board, and hair dryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Hooters Casino Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Mob Attraction Las Vegas: 0.2 mi
  • Tropicana Las Vegas: 0.3 mi
  • Canterbury Wedding Chapel: 0.3 mi
  • MGM Grand Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • M&M's World: 0.4 mi
  • Coney Island Emporium: 0.4 mi
  • Sundance Helicopters: 0.4 mi
  • Marina Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Excalibur Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Eiffel Tower Replica: 0.5 mi
  • New York Hotel Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Luxor Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Mandalay Bay: 0.6 mi
  • Wedding Chapel at Monte Carlo: 0.7 mi
  • Hooters Casino Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Mob Attraction Las Vegas: 0.2 mi
  • Tropicana Las Vegas: 0.3 mi
  • Canterbury Wedding Chapel: 0.3 mi
  • MGM Grand Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • M&M's World: 0.4 mi
  • Coney Island Emporium: 0.4 mi
  • Sundance Helicopters: 0.4 mi
  • Marina Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Excalibur Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Eiffel Tower Replica: 0.5 mi
  • New York Hotel Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Luxor Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Mandalay Bay: 0.6 mi
  • Wedding Chapel at Monte Carlo: 0.7 mi
  • Lance Burton Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Monte Carlo Resort and Casino: 0.7 mi
  • PH Live at Planet Hollywood Resort and Casino: 0.8 mi
  • Aria Resort and Casino: 0.8 mi
  • Crystals at CityCenter: 0.8 mi
  • Shark Reef at Mandalay Bay: 0.8 mi
  • Miracle Mile: 0.9 mi
  • Planet Hollywood Resort and Casino: 0.9 mi
  • Flashlight: 0.9 mi
  • Wild Wild West Gambling Hall & Hotel: 1 mi
  • Ellis Island Casino & Brewery: 1 mi
  • Hard Rock Hotel and Casino: 1 mi
  • Paris Las Vegas: 1 mi
  • The Cosmopolitan Resort & Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Bally's Las Vegas: 1.1 mi
  • Bellagio: 1.2 mi
  • Michael Gaughan Airport Slots: 1.2 mi
  • Bill's Gamblin' Hall and Saloon: 1.2 mi
  • Flamingo Las Vegas: 1.2 mi
  • Tuscany Suites and Casino: 1.3 mi
  • Omnimax Theater: 1.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Park Speedway (Jockey Club): 1.3 mi
  • Terrible's Hotel and Casino: 1.4 mi
  • Magic and Movie Hall of Fame: 1.4 mi
  • Cox Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Paradise: 1.4 mi
  • Harrah's Las Vegas: 1.4 mi
  • Imperial Palace: 1.4 mi
  • The Quad Resort and Casino: 1.4 mi
  • Caesars Palace: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (185)

Ratings and reviews for Desert Rose Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 185
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4
Value:
4.7

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teh JC
Business
Washington
Nov 21, 2011

Modern Unpretentious Hotel Room

Enough appliances in room to call it a condo. Staff was very friendly, funny and professional. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mandala Bay Buffet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY City
Oct 3, 2010

Desert oasis

The Desert Rose is one of those nice apartment-styled hotels (think Homewood Suites). It's a great value ($<100/night for a suite) in a decent location in Vegas. It is right behind the H**ters hotel on the south end of the Strip, very close to the airport. There's free WiFi, parking, an ok continental breakfast, and a nice pool. The hotel offers concierge services to help with ticket bookings, etc. but the hours are not as extensive as the big casinos. The rooms are nice, very comfy, roomy, with a full kitchen, balcony, and nice bathrooms. The TVs are not HD and the channels are a little limited, if that matters to you. Similarly, this is not a casino, so there are no nightclubs, restaurants, or gambling venues here. It's a great place for a family in Vegas, but there will be some driving / walking since it's not on the Strip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The cheapest gas is usually at the Arco am/pm on the Strip and Reno.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Apr 12, 2010

Moldy Smell

The hotel is a timeshare place. Have had great stays here below but the room they gave me this time reeked of mold. It caused my allergies to act up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sturgeon Bay, WI
Mar 2, 2010

Escape to the Desert Rose Resort

I came to Las Vegas this past week for the Nextel races out at the Las Vegas motor Speedway. I perfer to stay in the luxury apartment style resorts over the price 1 room hotels. I have a much better time and can better accomendate my needs. The resort room was perfect. The entire room was cleaned spotlessly upon my arrival and no smell of smoke from cigarettes or cigars that I have found in other pricy hotels. The landscape was awesome, very well planned out and cozy enough to make you want to sit outside with a drink and relax. The bed in the room was so comfortable I had a hard time getting up in the mornings. I was alittle leary once seeing I had a 1st floor apartment, thinking of peeping toms or burglars, but the place was totally secure and after the 1st nite them fears faded away. We had no problems and I will be back!! I Enjoyed my Vacation!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

This resort was located within a mile of the Airport so you will hear planes. The Resort was well designed and most of the aircraft noise is blocked out by buildings and trees. The resort is located off of Tropicana Blvd, right behind Hoooters and across the Bld from MGM. You are will with-in walking distance of Tropicana and Las Vegas Blvd. Less than a mile away. You name the Gambling Casino and you could probably see it from walking around the resort compelx. This place was quite and cozy and perfect for someone looking for a getaway with the family. It would give you the edge you need over the other hotels. To start with a clean fully furnished Kitchen. Stove, Icebox, Microwave, Dishwasher, and so on.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jossie
Business
milwaukee wi
Aug 13, 2009

summer vegas trip

this hotel is great! large rooms and great pool! very clean and very comortable beds short walk to the strip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

fashion show mall and caesars palace forum shops

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
USA
Dec 22, 2008

Very comfortable

Great place to stay in Vegas, nice escape from the casino rush. Very comfortable rooms with all the comforts of home. Building is a little dated but clean. It was nice to have a full kitchen to use. Large flat panel tv's in the living room and bedroom were very nice. Easy access to the strip. I did rent a car, and that made getting around town very easy ( use koval rd. to avoid the strip traffic jams ). I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 6, 2008

alternative to casino

Since I am an occasional gambler, mainly in Las Vegas to visit my son; not staying in a casino hotel was fine for me. I enjoyed the room (more like a small apartment) especially the kitchen with full size appliances, dishes, glassware etc allowing for meal preparation or just having beverages available. There was a separate bedroom w/king size bed and a closet, nice decor,toilet and shower separate from but next to a long counter and sink. This is a nice place for families as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

casinos, the Las Vegas strip (one end of it)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top