$100 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 22, 2015

Desert Rose Resort

3 stars
View map of 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89122

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
186 reviews
Great Family Trip

I spent a good time with my family .Having the kitchen fully stocked made everything even better.... See full review

  • Kyung C.
  • Mar 4, 2015
Good overall stay

We did not know what to expect when we arrived at desert rose but I must say we were very pleased.... See full review

  • scruffy
  • Dec 3, 2014
Just off the Strip, this all-suites resort feels worlds away
Looking for a more relaxed, family-friendly resort near the Las Vegas Strip? Try the well-hidden Desert Rose Resort, where pleasant, cheerful suites feature a modern twist on Southwest earth tones. Within a nicely landscaped property, amenities at Desert Rose include a heated swimming pool, hot tub, poolside BBQ area, fitness center and laundry facilities. Enjoy an on-site concierge to help with restaurant reservations, show tickets, and tours.
Highlights
  • Year-round pool deck complete with BBQ area
  • All-suite, family-friendly resort includes full kitchens in every room
  • Close to McCarran Airport
Location
The Desert Rose Resort is about one block east of the Las Vegas Strip, near the Tropicana resort.
Rooms
Spacious one-bedroom suites at 650 square feet each feature a king-sized pillow top bed, fully equipped kitchen with granite countertops and a coffee-maker, living room with sleeper sofa, plasma TV, CD player, dining area and balcony. The 900-square foot, two-bedroom suites at Desert Rose Resort offer one king and one queen bed with two bathrooms. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access, local calls and newspaper are also available at Desert Rose.
Transportation
  • McCarran International Airport (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Deuce Bus stops on the Strip
Attractions
  • The Lion Habitat at MGM Grand (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Shark Reef at Mandalay Bay (0.6 mi/0.97 km)
  • New York New York Roller Coaster (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Bali Hai Golf Club (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Fountains of Bellagio (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • "Welcome To Fabulous Las Vegas" sign (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Business

  • Meeting and event space available for up to 120 people.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Desert Rose Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Desert Rose Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
650 square feet, beautifully decorated with one king bed in one room and a queen bed in another. Triple sheeted with premium bedding, in room movies and games, safe, full kitchens with pots and pans, coffee maker, iron/iron board, and hair dryer.
Two Bedroom Suite
900 square feet, beautifully decorated with one king bed in one room and a queen bed in another. Triple sheeted with premium bedding, in room movies and games, safe, full kitchens with pots and pans, coffee maker, iron/iron board, and hair dryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Hooters Casino Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Mob Attraction Las Vegas: 0.2 mi
  • Tropicana Las Vegas: 0.3 mi
  • Canterbury Wedding Chapel: 0.3 mi
  • MGM Grand Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • M&M's World: 0.4 mi
  • Coney Island Emporium: 0.4 mi
  • Sundance Helicopters: 0.4 mi
  • Marina Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Excalibur Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Eiffel Tower Replica: 0.5 mi
  • New York Hotel Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Luxor Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Mandalay Bay: 0.6 mi
  • Wedding Chapel at Monte Carlo: 0.7 mi
  • Hooters Casino Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Mob Attraction Las Vegas: 0.2 mi
  • Tropicana Las Vegas: 0.3 mi
  • Canterbury Wedding Chapel: 0.3 mi
  • MGM Grand Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • M&M's World: 0.4 mi
  • Coney Island Emporium: 0.4 mi
  • Sundance Helicopters: 0.4 mi
  • Marina Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Excalibur Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Eiffel Tower Replica: 0.5 mi
  • New York Hotel Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Luxor Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Mandalay Bay: 0.6 mi
  • Wedding Chapel at Monte Carlo: 0.7 mi
  • Lance Burton Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Monte Carlo Resort and Casino: 0.7 mi
  • PH Live at Planet Hollywood Resort and Casino: 0.8 mi
  • Aria Resort and Casino: 0.8 mi
  • Crystals at CityCenter: 0.8 mi
  • Shark Reef at Mandalay Bay: 0.8 mi
  • Miracle Mile: 0.9 mi
  • Planet Hollywood Resort and Casino: 0.9 mi
  • Flashlight: 0.9 mi
  • Wild Wild West Gambling Hall & Hotel: 1 mi
  • Ellis Island Casino & Brewery: 1 mi
  • Hard Rock Hotel and Casino: 1 mi
  • Paris Las Vegas: 1 mi
  • The Cosmopolitan Resort & Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Bally's Las Vegas: 1.1 mi
  • Bellagio: 1.2 mi
  • Michael Gaughan Airport Slots: 1.2 mi
  • Bill's Gamblin' Hall and Saloon: 1.2 mi
  • Flamingo Las Vegas: 1.2 mi
  • Tuscany Suites and Casino: 1.3 mi
  • Omnimax Theater: 1.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Park Speedway (Jockey Club): 1.3 mi
  • Terrible's Hotel and Casino: 1.4 mi
  • Magic and Movie Hall of Fame: 1.4 mi
  • Cox Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Paradise: 1.4 mi
  • Harrah's Las Vegas: 1.4 mi
  • Imperial Palace: 1.4 mi
  • The Quad Resort and Casino: 1.4 mi
  • Caesars Palace: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Desert Rose Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 186
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.8

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
scruffy
Business
Cyprus
Dec 3, 2014

Good overall stay

We did not know what to expect when we arrived at desert rose but I must say we were very pleased. The staff were very helpful, the room was clean and the bed the most comfortable i've ever slept in. If we come back to Vegas its room 1314 for us. Thank you all. Mike and Tracy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cisr
Business
hawley, pa
Sep 29, 2013

Adequate hotel very close to MGM and NY-NY

The hotel was adequate, they don't clean your room or change your sheets even though we were there 8 nights. We're not messy so it was ok I wonder if we stayed 2 weeks if we would have had to sleep on the same sheets. They only take care of their members rooms. They do change towells and give you toiletries if you need them. Daily breakfast was a plus and pretty good. The pool was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
colin burns cowboy
Business
Casper Wy
Dec 28, 2012

great quite and relaxing

nice, friendly, nice appetizers and happy hour and nice light breakfast. all went well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FrequentVegasTraveler
Business
St. Paul, MN
Dec 20, 2012

Could be great if...

Staff was very courteous and even afforded us one of the newly "renovated" rooms. The location is fantastic as it's only a couple of blocks from the strip. This place could be a location where travelers want to come back to with every visit to Las Vegas if the hotel upgraded a couple of things without cutting costs and just making it look good, and made sure that the rooms were totally cleaned once in a while. Cleanliness - We were told our residence had new carpet installed and it looked as if it was new (very nice) - however, our socks turned black from walking on it. I am assuming the carpet was never really cleaned after it was installed. The shower heads need to be cleaned - calcium formation on heads and looked old and dirty but still had great pressure (tons of water coming out). Seems like they don't clean this type of stuff very often at all. We had a "new" flat screen TV in our living room but a tube TV in the bedroom - most others still had the old tube TV in the living room as well. The "new" flat screen already had an entire column of pixels out so it was a little distracting. Channel selection was very poor. They say they will be upgrading to cox in the future. The couch was new and was very nice. Beds - oh the beds - One thing that hotels, resorts, etc. need to have is nice comfortable beds with comfortable pillows. If you think about it, most of the time spent in a hotel room is in the bed sleeping. If you cannot get comfortable in the beds to get a good night sleep chances are you will not stay there again. The bottom line - they have the advantage of being a residence vs. being just a room as well as being in a much better location over other residences in the area (right off of the strip). The staff is great (very understanding and helpful). IF they made sure the rooms were actually clean and if they upgraded certain amenities (especially the beds and TVs), this place would have no trouble filling the rooms (residences). For the current prices I guess its worth staying at the Desert Rose but I would pay more if they upgraded these amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a great dining experience check out the scene at New York New York. Great food and great prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Clarners
Business
Indianapolis
Nov 24, 2012

A Gem off the strip!

Staff very attentive, great free breakfast and happy hour, the rooms are so spacious and comfy! This was my third time staying there, I would not stay anywhere else in Vegas. Close to everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Diablo's Cantina has great food!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vegas Veteran
Business
Surrey, BC
Oct 13, 2012

Tried and True - We Keep Going Back

My wife and I have stayed here five times and the reasons are value and comfort. The complimentary breakfast & starbucks coffee all day + the full kitchen and 1 bedroom suite means that after a late night out we can sleep in without scrambling to find a breakfast restaurant. Value this places really delivers as we make a habit of doing a small grocery stop and get snacks, extra breakfast supplies, lunch foods and drinks - meaning we eat well all day inexpensively and then splurge on nice dinners out. The location is solid, being a 5 minute walk to MGM and the monorail, the pool is sufficient, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Its also nice to not have a casino where you stay (since you'll be seeing plenty as is) and the rooms and buildings are very nice and in great condition. There's a reason its rated so high!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If travelling light, when cabbing from the airport, go first to the Vons on Tropicana and S Marlyand. Do a 15 minute shop for drinks, snacks, a few breakfast and lunch staples, and then call a 2nd cab for the final stretch to the hotel. Saves money on meals & drinks and saves a second cab trip for groceries!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vidette
Business
Fl
May 23, 2012

Reunion

This place exceeded my expectations. It's very clean and the staff are very attentive to our needs. Great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WJCouple
Business
Colorado, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Really nice,relaxing place to stay.

We have stayed here for several year's now. They are perfect for the whole family or just two people. the hotel is easy to get to & from. We feel very safe here. The staff are all very friendly & try to meet all your needs. The room's are very comfortable and very clean They offer a great breakfast with lot's of food to choose from. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the Tuscany for good food & good prices

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
colin burns cowboy
Business
Casper Wy
Dec 30, 2011

great way to stay in LV

very comfortable and enjoy the stay. we had a fun time at rodeo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ed11701
Business
Amityville, NY
Nov 25, 2011

Best Value in Vegas

The Desert Rose represents the best value in Vegas. Located close enough to walk to the Strip but far enough away not to be bothered by the hectic pace of Vegas. Great free breakfast and wine in the afternoon. The large sized rooms come with kitchens fully stocked with dishes, glasses and pots. If you want glitz stay on the Strip; if you want value stay at the Desert Rose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top