$93 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Desert Rose Resort

3 stars
5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89122
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
181 reviews
Fantastic Weekend

Our stay was outstanding and the staff at the Desert Rose Resort made all the more enjoyable. Thank... See full review

  • The Powell Clan
  • Feb 24, 2014
GREAT VALUE

OUR STAY AT THE DESERT ROSE WAS ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL. THE BREAKFAST BUFFET WAS GREAT A DIFFERENT... See full review

  • DON AND PAULA
  • Mar 4, 2013
Just off the Strip, this all-suites resort feels worlds away
Looking for a more relaxed, family-friendly resort near the Las Vegas Strip? Try the well-hidden Desert Rose Resort, where pleasant, cheerful suites feature a modern twist on Southwest earth tones. Within a nicely landscaped property, amenities at Desert Rose include a heated swimming pool, hot tub, poolside BBQ area, fitness center and laundry facilities. Enjoy an on-site concierge to help with restaurant reservations, show tickets, and tours.
Highlights
  • Year-round pool deck complete with BBQ area
  • All-suite, family-friendly resort includes full kitchens in every room
  • Close to McCarran Airport
Location
The Desert Rose Resort is about one block east of the Las Vegas Strip, near the Tropicana resort.
Rooms
Spacious one-bedroom suites at 650 square feet each feature a king-sized pillow top bed, fully equipped kitchen with granite countertops and a coffee-maker, living room with sleeper sofa, plasma TV, CD player, dining area and balcony. The 900-square foot, two-bedroom suites at Desert Rose Resort offer one king and one queen bed with two bathrooms. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access, local calls and newspaper are also available at Desert Rose.
Transportation
  • McCarran International Airport (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Deuce Bus stops on the Strip
Attractions
  • The Lion Habitat at MGM Grand (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Shark Reef at Mandalay Bay (0.6 mi/0.97 km)
  • New York New York Roller Coaster (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Bali Hai Golf Club (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Fountains of Bellagio (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • "Welcome To Fabulous Las Vegas" sign (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Business

  • Meeting and event space available for up to 120 people.

Hotel Map

36.0984 -115.1671
Area served
Las Vegas Nevada, Hoover Dam, Henderson, Green Valley
Nearby airports
Las Vegas McCarren International Airport-1.5 miles
Area description
South Strip: One block east of Las Vegas Boulevard, off of Tropicana

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Desert Rose Resort also booked these hotels.

Desert Rose Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
650 square feet, beautifully decorated with one king bed in one room and a queen bed in another. Triple sheeted with premium bedding, in room movies and games, safe, full kitchens with pots and pans, coffee maker, iron/iron board, and hair dryer.
Two Bedroom Suite
900 square feet, beautifully decorated with one king bed in one room and a queen bed in another. Triple sheeted with premium bedding, in room movies and games, safe, full kitchens with pots and pans, coffee maker, iron/iron board, and hair dryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Hooters Casino Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Mob Attraction Las Vegas: 0.2 mi
  • Tropicana Las Vegas: 0.3 mi
  • Canterbury Wedding Chapel: 0.3 mi
  • MGM Grand Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • M&M's World: 0.4 mi
  • Coney Island Emporium: 0.4 mi
  • Sundance Helicopters: 0.4 mi
  • Marina Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Excalibur Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Eiffel Tower Replica: 0.5 mi
  • New York Hotel Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Luxor Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Mandalay Bay: 0.6 mi
  • Wedding Chapel at Monte Carlo: 0.7 mi
  • Hooters Casino Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Mob Attraction Las Vegas: 0.2 mi
  • Tropicana Las Vegas: 0.3 mi
  • Canterbury Wedding Chapel: 0.3 mi
  • MGM Grand Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • M&M's World: 0.4 mi
  • Coney Island Emporium: 0.4 mi
  • Sundance Helicopters: 0.4 mi
  • Marina Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Excalibur Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Eiffel Tower Replica: 0.5 mi
  • New York Hotel Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Luxor Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Mandalay Bay: 0.6 mi
  • Wedding Chapel at Monte Carlo: 0.7 mi
  • Lance Burton Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Monte Carlo Resort and Casino: 0.7 mi
  • PH Live at Planet Hollywood Resort and Casino: 0.8 mi
  • Aria Resort and Casino: 0.8 mi
  • Crystals at CityCenter: 0.8 mi
  • Shark Reef at Mandalay Bay: 0.8 mi
  • Miracle Mile: 0.9 mi
  • Planet Hollywood Resort and Casino: 0.9 mi
  • Flashlight: 0.9 mi
  • Wild Wild West Gambling Hall & Hotel: 1 mi
  • Ellis Island Casino & Brewery: 1 mi
  • Hard Rock Hotel and Casino: 1 mi
  • Paris Las Vegas: 1 mi
  • The Cosmopolitan Resort & Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Bally's Las Vegas: 1.1 mi
  • Bellagio: 1.2 mi
  • Michael Gaughan Airport Slots: 1.2 mi
  • Bill's Gamblin' Hall and Saloon: 1.2 mi
  • Flamingo Las Vegas: 1.2 mi
  • Tuscany Suites and Casino: 1.3 mi
  • Omnimax Theater: 1.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Park Speedway (Jockey Club): 1.3 mi
  • Terrible's Hotel and Casino: 1.4 mi
  • Magic and Movie Hall of Fame: 1.4 mi
  • Cox Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Paradise: 1.4 mi
  • Harrah's Las Vegas: 1.4 mi
  • Imperial Palace: 1.4 mi
  • The Quad Resort and Casino: 1.4 mi
  • Caesars Palace: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (181)

Ratings and reviews for Desert Rose Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 181
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.7

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OC traveler
Business
Orange County, CA
Feb 23, 2012

conference attendees

We had a group in for a conference and wanted a homey experience, instead of a hotel experience. This location was perfect for our group.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Traveler Male
Business
Ohio, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Better than expected, but not fantastic

I travel to Vegas at least once a year and usually stay at various hotels around town. This hotel offers a great variety of comfort, but lacks the it factor. Here is an example. Free Starbucks coffee, but their breakfast is always the same: a pork product, eggs, bread that you can toast and fruit. There is cereal and oatmeal to choose from too. The thing is, the quality is ok. Could it be better? Yes. For the cost, it's like a one tier less Residence Inn Las Vegas South (for those of you who know of this place). The bed was comfortable, the bath was hot and the room was overall clean. If you are looking for value, stay here. 4 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are going to a convention in Vegas, this might be a good place to stay. Caveat: there are no slot machines or gambling in this location. Take it for what it is worth, a room to relax.

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sara R K
Business
Ohio
Sep 19, 2011

Great comfortable suites

Very nice quiet place in Vegas! The pool is a bit small but the rooms were very comfortable and it was close walking to all kinds of places. We do recommend eatting at the Firefly, a great place for Tapas with fantastic food. THe breakfast was okay and happy hour was also a nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Samuelsmom
Business
York, PA
May 2, 2010

Good for families

The stay started off horribly. Even though my reservation was prepaid, the hotel wanted to charge my credit card $100 for incidentals which would be removed on checkout. I explained that I had very little cash and did not carry any high limit cards with me. The hotel manager embarrassed me in front of everyone telling me this was their policy, despite the fact that I explained repeatedly that I was on a very tight budget, I had no credit card which could be used, and had a PREPAID reservation-- After several minutes he finally said that he would make an exception, and turn off the ability to charge movies or make toll phone calls. After he repeated this several times, I finally lost it, telling him how much he was embarrassing me and that I was able to understand the concepts without him repeating them over and over. It was just a nightmare. The suite itself was roomy. the furnishings were looking a bit worn and while not dirty, did not look bright and clean. There was no view from the balcony. The pool looked nice. The continental breakfast was ok-- toast, hard boiled eggs, fruit, cereals, juice, and coffee. With the notable exception of check-in the staff was pleasant and friendly. The hotel was noticeably lacking amenities such as a restaurant, spa, gift shop, etc. I would compare this place to an extended stay hotel much more than a "resort." There was free wi-fi which was very convenient. All in all the stay was ok. If you plan to do a lot of sightseeing, than this place would be fine. If you are looking for a "resort" atmosphere than I would not choose this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are tons of places to eat. I found a little "hole in the wall" Chinese restaurant called "Food Express Chinese Restaurant" on Decatur St. which had amazing food. It is where locals seem to go-- I was the only non-asian in the place!

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arbonne Pam
Business
Palmdale, CA
Mar 22, 2010

Great location, great price, great rooms

The suite was large, clean & quiet. It was within walking distance of the strip. Great place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rexburg, ID
Dec 13, 2009

Fantastic Hotel

We have a booth in a trade show in Las Vegas every year. Last year we stayed at the Excalibur and it was horrible. I hated all the casino noise & smoke, the beds were hard only 3 channels on the tv. I felt like they just tried to suck your money at every turn and it wasn't good. So this year I decided, especially since we are there for 10 days that I had to find something better. This hotel is barely 1/2 block off the strip just east of Tropicana behind Whooters Casino. It was fast and easy to drive to Mandalay Bay (where our convention was). It was very quite, amazingly so, since we were so close to the strip.Several times we walked over to MGM Grand, and its a quick drive to the airport, so the location was good for us. I loved having a kitchen in our room. It had most basic things to cook with including dishes, coffee pot, toaster etc. We went to Walmart and bought groceries and made our own hot breakfasts each day. They do a continental breakfast in the very nice front lobby until 9. (which they promptly clean up so don't sleep in too long and be late). It was usually some kind of bread - toast, english muffin, bagels, a fruit- one day was mixed fruit chopped up another day was cottage cheese and canned peaches. Usually there was a big bowl of cold hard boiled eggs and of course cereal and milk. There were 3 or 4 kinds of juice or soda to choose from also. So not much, but definitely edible and they did change it up slightly from day to day. Definitely typical of a continental breakfast. I only wish they would have a hot buffet breakfast with eggs, sausage and waffles or something, but they probably don't because of the kitchens in the rooms. Anyway, we did use the kitchens at breakfast for the schedules we were on. It definitely saved us money as most casinos charge around $15 for their breakfast buffets and you can only eat at McDonald's so many days in a row. The closed off bedrooms with 2 tvs were a plus as we had someone else helping us at the show for a few days and we didn't have to rent him an extra room he slept in the living room on the hide-a-bed, which I hear wasn't real comfortable, but tolerable. The King size bed was good, not as good as my home bed, if they wanted to improve they would put in nicer beds with a good pillow top mattress, but it was pretty good. Staff was extremely friendly. Everything was clean, even maids in the hallways were polite and friendly. We used their Concierge and she was extremely helpful in navigating Vegas and helping us book tickets to shows. There are so many things going on, it can be real confusing. She spent a long time with us helping us sort it all out and was even able to print tickets to several of the shows right there and we didn't even have to go to the box office early to get them. This saved us a lot of time. I would definitely recommend them as everything including the price was fantastic. I know we got a bit lower price because we booked in advance and we had a long stay. We are staying there for sure next year when we go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to the Cirque du Sole show of La REV at the Wynn Casino. It was AMAZING!!! One of the best Cirque shows in Vegas. I have never seen anything like it. Worth every dime. We also saw Frank Caliendo at the Monte Carlo casino. We was a super comedian who did really good impersonations. We laughed a lot and he was very clean. Not any swearing! How refreshing. I would highly recommend either show.

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dfh
Business
fl
Dec 7, 2009

Desert Rose

Great all around experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vicscissorhead
Business
Medford, Or
Jun 20, 2009

Great Vegas value!

The rooms were nicer than we expected. We had six women and with 2 bathrooms it was perfect for all of us. The pool was nice, nothing fancy. The evening drinks and munchies were a nice treat, as was the breakfast goodies. All in all a great value. Not really good for walking the strip, but very easy to get to everything if you have a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

It is definitely worth it to rent a car. You can get free parking almost every where, and with airport shuttles, taxis, and the monorail it can really add up. Just make sure you have a "DD"

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ojai, ca
Jun 4, 2009

Fantastic value & comfort

We loved our 5 night stay here. WE took a chance by paying in advance for 5 nights, but after researching and reading reviews it sounded like a good gamble. We were really pleased when we opened the door to our suite and found it to exceed our expectations. Liv. room with flat screen t.v, bedroom with nice bedding and way above average details. Granite counter tops in the bathroom & kitchen. Nicely equipped kitchen with everything you need to prepare your own meals(except food of course). We were in town for business, but we ate all of our meals in and were very happy. There are a couple of Trader Joe's in town for the best groceries. They do offer free breakfast(people were loading up on meat & bagels & Starbucks coffee. Also a "happy hour" with very limited offerings, but free wine & beer. We're not Vegas or nightlife peeps, so this was perfect for us, although the Strip is within walking distance if you choose. Quiet. No noise from other guests or the nearby airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you have a few extra hours and it's not the dead of summer, go to Red Rocks canyon for hiking or just drive the 13 mile park loop for amazing scenery. We took a hike the morning we left and would go back there in a minute. Really beautiful rock formations and several hikes to consider. The Park is about 20 miles for downtown out Charleston/159.

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis
May 24, 2009

Desert Rose Resort

Convenient location off the strip - nice courtyard and pool. Comfortable room with strong wi-fi signal. Small but very functional kitchen if you are making any meals yourself. Security is good and the watchman strolls the grounds and parking areas throughout the day/night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search