$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

Desert Rose Resort

3 stars
View map of 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89122

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
186 reviews
Great Family Trip

I spent a good time with my family .Having the kitchen fully stocked made everything even better.... See full review

  • Kyung C.
  • Mar 4, 2015
Good overall stay

We did not know what to expect when we arrived at desert rose but I must say we were very pleased.... See full review

  • scruffy
  • Dec 3, 2014
Just off the Strip, this all-suites resort feels worlds away
Looking for a more relaxed, family-friendly resort near the Las Vegas Strip? Try the well-hidden Desert Rose Resort, where pleasant, cheerful suites feature a modern twist on Southwest earth tones. Within a nicely landscaped property, amenities at Desert Rose include a heated swimming pool, hot tub, poolside BBQ area, fitness center and laundry facilities. Enjoy an on-site concierge to help with restaurant reservations, show tickets, and tours.
Highlights
  • Year-round pool deck complete with BBQ area
  • All-suite, family-friendly resort includes full kitchens in every room
  • Close to McCarran Airport
Location
The Desert Rose Resort is about one block east of the Las Vegas Strip, near the Tropicana resort.
Rooms
Spacious one-bedroom suites at 650 square feet each feature a king-sized pillow top bed, fully equipped kitchen with granite countertops and a coffee-maker, living room with sleeper sofa, plasma TV, CD player, dining area and balcony. The 900-square foot, two-bedroom suites at Desert Rose Resort offer one king and one queen bed with two bathrooms. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access, local calls and newspaper are also available at Desert Rose.
Transportation
  • McCarran International Airport (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Deuce Bus stops on the Strip
Attractions
  • The Lion Habitat at MGM Grand (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Shark Reef at Mandalay Bay (0.6 mi/0.97 km)
  • New York New York Roller Coaster (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Bali Hai Golf Club (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Fountains of Bellagio (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • "Welcome To Fabulous Las Vegas" sign (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Business

  • Meeting and event space available for up to 120 people.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Desert Rose Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Desert Rose Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
650 square feet, beautifully decorated with one king bed in one room and a queen bed in another. Triple sheeted with premium bedding, in room movies and games, safe, full kitchens with pots and pans, coffee maker, iron/iron board, and hair dryer.
Two Bedroom Suite
900 square feet, beautifully decorated with one king bed in one room and a queen bed in another. Triple sheeted with premium bedding, in room movies and games, safe, full kitchens with pots and pans, coffee maker, iron/iron board, and hair dryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Hooters Casino Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Mob Attraction Las Vegas: 0.2 mi
  • Tropicana Las Vegas: 0.3 mi
  • Canterbury Wedding Chapel: 0.3 mi
  • MGM Grand Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • M&M's World: 0.4 mi
  • Coney Island Emporium: 0.4 mi
  • Sundance Helicopters: 0.4 mi
  • Marina Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Excalibur Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Eiffel Tower Replica: 0.5 mi
  • New York Hotel Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Luxor Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Mandalay Bay: 0.6 mi
  • Wedding Chapel at Monte Carlo: 0.7 mi
  • Hooters Casino Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Mob Attraction Las Vegas: 0.2 mi
  • Tropicana Las Vegas: 0.3 mi
  • Canterbury Wedding Chapel: 0.3 mi
  • MGM Grand Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • M&M's World: 0.4 mi
  • Coney Island Emporium: 0.4 mi
  • Sundance Helicopters: 0.4 mi
  • Marina Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Excalibur Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Eiffel Tower Replica: 0.5 mi
  • New York Hotel Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Luxor Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Mandalay Bay: 0.6 mi
  • Wedding Chapel at Monte Carlo: 0.7 mi
  • Lance Burton Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Monte Carlo Resort and Casino: 0.7 mi
  • PH Live at Planet Hollywood Resort and Casino: 0.8 mi
  • Aria Resort and Casino: 0.8 mi
  • Crystals at CityCenter: 0.8 mi
  • Shark Reef at Mandalay Bay: 0.8 mi
  • Miracle Mile: 0.9 mi
  • Planet Hollywood Resort and Casino: 0.9 mi
  • Flashlight: 0.9 mi
  • Wild Wild West Gambling Hall & Hotel: 1 mi
  • Ellis Island Casino & Brewery: 1 mi
  • Hard Rock Hotel and Casino: 1 mi
  • Paris Las Vegas: 1 mi
  • The Cosmopolitan Resort & Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Bally's Las Vegas: 1.1 mi
  • Bellagio: 1.2 mi
  • Michael Gaughan Airport Slots: 1.2 mi
  • Bill's Gamblin' Hall and Saloon: 1.2 mi
  • Flamingo Las Vegas: 1.2 mi
  • Tuscany Suites and Casino: 1.3 mi
  • Omnimax Theater: 1.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Park Speedway (Jockey Club): 1.3 mi
  • Terrible's Hotel and Casino: 1.4 mi
  • Magic and Movie Hall of Fame: 1.4 mi
  • Cox Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Paradise: 1.4 mi
  • Harrah's Las Vegas: 1.4 mi
  • Imperial Palace: 1.4 mi
  • The Quad Resort and Casino: 1.4 mi
  • Caesars Palace: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Desert Rose Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
186 out of 186
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.8

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
aunty mary
Business
uk
Nov 3, 2010

do not hand over credit card

stayed here in september 2010, no complaints with the hotel only if a little dated, but when i got home i was contacted by my credit card company, over £2000 of withdrawals on my card, the only time i have used my card was in the desert rose resort as a deposit on the room as i had paid for the room before i arrived. i have contacted the hotel by phone and email and no one has been back in contact, be warned do not hand over your credit card, the manamengent have know since june they have had a problem going off other websites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Perth, Australia
May 18, 2009

Desert it at all costs!

We booked into the Desert Rose for 4 nights from 18 April 2009 based on its reviews, proximity to the strip, kitchen and price. We were advised upon arrival at 9.40pm (I had emailed twice in advance advising of this) that the hotel had had a major plumbing problem that morning and many rooms were out of service and we would have to go to the Bluegreen resort 'just around the corner' for the night. Interestingly we phoned from LA airport at 6.30pm just before our flight to check someone would be there when we arrived and no one mentioned anything then. Suspecting a rat, but too tired to keep arguing (following a 21 hour flight the day before from our home with a 7 and 9 year old in tow), we hopped in the taxi paid for by the hotel and off it drove and drove and drove. When we asked where we were going the taxi driver (bless this gorgeous man) pointed to some far away lights and indicated that the hotel was about half an hour walk from the strip past a huge and dangerous vacant lot. So he took us back to the Desert Rose. We said we were happy to shift to another hotel but it had to be equal or better (ie with 2 young children strip proximity was paramount). Nup, they couldn't do it. Their denial of my request to see the rooms with the plumbing problems confirmed what I suspected. After an hour of arguing - they picked the wrong jetlagged woman on the wrong night and I was ready to set up the lobby as our hotel room and put the kids to sleep on the couches – abracadabra there was suddenly a room available. Amazing. So when they try this low life trick on you I hope this story helps. Obviously we looked like total suckers – ie we paid a non-refundable rate in advance and being a busy weekend could there have been better offers on the table? My advice to the hotel – lift your game in the choice of front desk managers – I doubt that the guy working on the night of the 18 April was what any hotel would want representing them. You can do far better than this. The room was nice, but we didn't use the kitchen as we couldn't figure out where a grocery store was (we didn't have a car) and didn't want to go near the front desk to ask during our stay. Vegas was great and the West Rim was fabulous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The West Rim was fabulous for children. Not too far away and a great day out. We took a tour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midwest
Jan 24, 2010

Desert Rose Stay

Upon arrival the room we had reserved and confirmed was no longer available. Instead of having a 2 bedroom suite they put us in 2 separate rooms on the same floor. Requested they just make it one room and reduce our charge (since there were only 3 travelers) but they stated it was booked through [...] so they couldn't refund. I had booked the room 8 months earlier and confirmed it 2 days before we left. They stated they overbooked the resort. We had to move rooms mid vacation. Restocking and cleaning of rooms was never done unless we asked. Otherwise the rooms were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Proud Indian
Business
DALLAS
Aug 22, 2012

Review

Internet connection was very slow. The Quality of Breakfast very poor. Needs Improvement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FrequentVegasTraveler
Business
St. Paul, MN
Dec 20, 2012

Could be great if...

Staff was very courteous and even afforded us one of the newly "renovated" rooms. The location is fantastic as it's only a couple of blocks from the strip. This place could be a location where travelers want to come back to with every visit to Las Vegas if the hotel upgraded a couple of things without cutting costs and just making it look good, and made sure that the rooms were totally cleaned once in a while. Cleanliness - We were told our residence had new carpet installed and it looked as if it was new (very nice) - however, our socks turned black from walking on it. I am assuming the carpet was never really cleaned after it was installed. The shower heads need to be cleaned - calcium formation on heads and looked old and dirty but still had great pressure (tons of water coming out). Seems like they don't clean this type of stuff very often at all. We had a "new" flat screen TV in our living room but a tube TV in the bedroom - most others still had the old tube TV in the living room as well. The "new" flat screen already had an entire column of pixels out so it was a little distracting. Channel selection was very poor. They say they will be upgrading to cox in the future. The couch was new and was very nice. Beds - oh the beds - One thing that hotels, resorts, etc. need to have is nice comfortable beds with comfortable pillows. If you think about it, most of the time spent in a hotel room is in the bed sleeping. If you cannot get comfortable in the beds to get a good night sleep chances are you will not stay there again. The bottom line - they have the advantage of being a residence vs. being just a room as well as being in a much better location over other residences in the area (right off of the strip). The staff is great (very understanding and helpful). IF they made sure the rooms were actually clean and if they upgraded certain amenities (especially the beds and TVs), this place would have no trouble filling the rooms (residences). For the current prices I guess its worth staying at the Desert Rose but I would pay more if they upgraded these amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a great dining experience check out the scene at New York New York. Great food and great prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cisr
Business
hawley, pa
Sep 29, 2013

Adequate hotel very close to MGM and NY-NY

The hotel was adequate, they don't clean your room or change your sheets even though we were there 8 nights. We're not messy so it was ok I wonder if we stayed 2 weeks if we would have had to sleep on the same sheets. They only take care of their members rooms. They do change towells and give you toiletries if you need them. Daily breakfast was a plus and pretty good. The pool was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Apr 12, 2010

Moldy Smell

The hotel is a timeshare place. Have had great stays here below but the room they gave me this time reeked of mold. It caused my allergies to act up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 18, 2009

Can't expect much for $40 a day...

Pros: Suite Room with Kitchen, Good for a family looking to save money, comfy enough Cons: Bugs in our first room, Bugs right before we checked out in our new room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

My family and I ended going to the Red Rock Canyon. This was better then expected took some nice pictures but it was relaxing to get away from the busy city for a day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Samuelsmom
Business
York, PA
May 2, 2010

Good for families

The stay started off horribly. Even though my reservation was prepaid, the hotel wanted to charge my credit card $100 for incidentals which would be removed on checkout. I explained that I had very little cash and did not carry any high limit cards with me. The hotel manager embarrassed me in front of everyone telling me this was their policy, despite the fact that I explained repeatedly that I was on a very tight budget, I had no credit card which could be used, and had a PREPAID reservation-- After several minutes he finally said that he would make an exception, and turn off the ability to charge movies or make toll phone calls. After he repeated this several times, I finally lost it, telling him how much he was embarrassing me and that I was able to understand the concepts without him repeating them over and over. It was just a nightmare. The suite itself was roomy. the furnishings were looking a bit worn and while not dirty, did not look bright and clean. There was no view from the balcony. The pool looked nice. The continental breakfast was ok-- toast, hard boiled eggs, fruit, cereals, juice, and coffee. With the notable exception of check-in the staff was pleasant and friendly. The hotel was noticeably lacking amenities such as a restaurant, spa, gift shop, etc. I would compare this place to an extended stay hotel much more than a "resort." There was free wi-fi which was very convenient. All in all the stay was ok. If you plan to do a lot of sightseeing, than this place would be fine. If you are looking for a "resort" atmosphere than I would not choose this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are tons of places to eat. I found a little "hole in the wall" Chinese restaurant called "Food Express Chinese Restaurant" on Decatur St. which had amazing food. It is where locals seem to go-- I was the only non-asian in the place!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ohio Ed
Business
Holland, Ohio
Oct 3, 2009

The Good, Bad and Ugly

We booked a smoking room and when we got there, we were surprised to find the whole hotel is now "non-smoking". [...], a supervisor got on the line, called the hotel and the problem was resolved in 25 minutes as we booked a smoking room, it showed plainly that we did.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Driving & Construction... OMG... they are putting in new sewers right now and the city sure smell like it. Every road is tore up, the GPS unit went crazy... and you sure don't wish to walk up and down the strip, the smell is nauseating. Renting a car is a joke unless you plan day trips. Right now, with all the construction, driving is a joke. Cones of Death everywhere!!! We went to Fire Canyon just 1 hour west of LV and it was fantastic. The road backs takes you to the Hoover Dam and Lake Mead. I HIGHLY recommend doing that (take lunch with you, there are roadside BBQ'S in the park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top