$93 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 17, 2014 Check-out: Nov 20, 2014

Desert Rose Resort

3 stars
5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89122
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
183 reviews
Best stay in Vegas EVER!!!!

I have been going to Vegas for the past 16 years for a trade show and always stayed in Casino... See full review

  • murphbmx
  • Sep 13, 2014
Fantastic Weekend

Our stay was outstanding and the staff at the Desert Rose Resort made all the more enjoyable. Thank... See full review

  • The Powell Clan
  • Feb 24, 2014
Just off the Strip, this all-suites resort feels worlds away
Looking for a more relaxed, family-friendly resort near the Las Vegas Strip? Try the well-hidden Desert Rose Resort, where pleasant, cheerful suites feature a modern twist on Southwest earth tones. Within a nicely landscaped property, amenities at Desert Rose include a heated swimming pool, hot tub, poolside BBQ area, fitness center and laundry facilities. Enjoy an on-site concierge to help with restaurant reservations, show tickets, and tours.
Highlights
  • Year-round pool deck complete with BBQ area
  • All-suite, family-friendly resort includes full kitchens in every room
  • Close to McCarran Airport
Location
The Desert Rose Resort is about one block east of the Las Vegas Strip, near the Tropicana resort.
Rooms
Spacious one-bedroom suites at 650 square feet each feature a king-sized pillow top bed, fully equipped kitchen with granite countertops and a coffee-maker, living room with sleeper sofa, plasma TV, CD player, dining area and balcony. The 900-square foot, two-bedroom suites at Desert Rose Resort offer one king and one queen bed with two bathrooms. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access, local calls and newspaper are also available at Desert Rose.
Transportation
  • McCarran International Airport (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Deuce Bus stops on the Strip
Attractions
  • The Lion Habitat at MGM Grand (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Shark Reef at Mandalay Bay (0.6 mi/0.97 km)
  • New York New York Roller Coaster (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Bali Hai Golf Club (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Fountains of Bellagio (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • "Welcome To Fabulous Las Vegas" sign (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Business

  • Meeting and event space available for up to 120 people.

Hotel Map

36.0984 -115.1671
Area served
Las Vegas Nevada, Hoover Dam, Henderson, Green Valley
Nearby airports
Las Vegas McCarren International Airport-1.5 miles
Area description
South Strip: One block east of Las Vegas Boulevard, off of Tropicana

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Desert Rose Resort also booked these hotels.

Desert Rose Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
650 square feet, beautifully decorated with one king bed in one room and a queen bed in another. Triple sheeted with premium bedding, in room movies and games, safe, full kitchens with pots and pans, coffee maker, iron/iron board, and hair dryer.
Two Bedroom Suite
900 square feet, beautifully decorated with one king bed in one room and a queen bed in another. Triple sheeted with premium bedding, in room movies and games, safe, full kitchens with pots and pans, coffee maker, iron/iron board, and hair dryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Hooters Casino Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Mob Attraction Las Vegas: 0.2 mi
  • Tropicana Las Vegas: 0.3 mi
  • Canterbury Wedding Chapel: 0.3 mi
  • MGM Grand Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • M&M's World: 0.4 mi
  • Coney Island Emporium: 0.4 mi
  • Sundance Helicopters: 0.4 mi
  • Marina Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Excalibur Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Eiffel Tower Replica: 0.5 mi
  • New York Hotel Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Luxor Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Mandalay Bay: 0.6 mi
  • Wedding Chapel at Monte Carlo: 0.7 mi
  • Hooters Casino Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Mob Attraction Las Vegas: 0.2 mi
  • Tropicana Las Vegas: 0.3 mi
  • Canterbury Wedding Chapel: 0.3 mi
  • MGM Grand Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • M&M's World: 0.4 mi
  • Coney Island Emporium: 0.4 mi
  • Sundance Helicopters: 0.4 mi
  • Marina Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Excalibur Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Eiffel Tower Replica: 0.5 mi
  • New York Hotel Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Luxor Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Mandalay Bay: 0.6 mi
  • Wedding Chapel at Monte Carlo: 0.7 mi
  • Lance Burton Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Monte Carlo Resort and Casino: 0.7 mi
  • PH Live at Planet Hollywood Resort and Casino: 0.8 mi
  • Aria Resort and Casino: 0.8 mi
  • Crystals at CityCenter: 0.8 mi
  • Shark Reef at Mandalay Bay: 0.8 mi
  • Miracle Mile: 0.9 mi
  • Planet Hollywood Resort and Casino: 0.9 mi
  • Flashlight: 0.9 mi
  • Wild Wild West Gambling Hall & Hotel: 1 mi
  • Ellis Island Casino & Brewery: 1 mi
  • Hard Rock Hotel and Casino: 1 mi
  • Paris Las Vegas: 1 mi
  • The Cosmopolitan Resort & Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Bally's Las Vegas: 1.1 mi
  • Bellagio: 1.2 mi
  • Michael Gaughan Airport Slots: 1.2 mi
  • Bill's Gamblin' Hall and Saloon: 1.2 mi
  • Flamingo Las Vegas: 1.2 mi
  • Tuscany Suites and Casino: 1.3 mi
  • Omnimax Theater: 1.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Park Speedway (Jockey Club): 1.3 mi
  • Terrible's Hotel and Casino: 1.4 mi
  • Magic and Movie Hall of Fame: 1.4 mi
  • Cox Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Paradise: 1.4 mi
  • Harrah's Las Vegas: 1.4 mi
  • Imperial Palace: 1.4 mi
  • The Quad Resort and Casino: 1.4 mi
  • Caesars Palace: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (183)

Ratings and reviews for Desert Rose Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.8

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Powell Clan
Business
Glendora, California
Feb 24, 2014

Fantastic Weekend

Our stay was outstanding and the staff at the Desert Rose Resort made all the more enjoyable. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
USA
Dec 22, 2008

Very comfortable

Great place to stay in Vegas, nice escape from the casino rush. Very comfortable rooms with all the comforts of home. Building is a little dated but clean. It was nice to have a full kitchen to use. Large flat panel tv's in the living room and bedroom were very nice. Easy access to the strip. I did rent a car, and that made getting around town very easy ( use koval rd. to avoid the strip traffic jams ). I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rusty B.
Business
Albany, LA
May 19, 2009

Amazingly affortable, great location!

For a non-gaming facility, the Desert Rose will deliver everything to meet your expectations. Did not partake in the daily cocktail reception or the continental breakfast. But other guest that I spoke to said it was exceptional. As compared to Caesars on a previous trip, I prefer the Desert Rose because of its conveince to parking, condo stlye amenities ie: the full kitchen, dining and living room. Security was a big plus with the gated entrance to the property. The Desert Rose will be the choice of stay on future visits !!! A+

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Located just a block east of Las Vegas Blvd, the Desert Rose is within walking distance of many of the local attractions offered by the other resorts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vancouver Loves Vegas
Business
Vancouver, BC
Jul 5, 2009

Best Place to Stay to Relax in Vegas

This was me and my wife's third time to Vegas, and was definitely the best trip yet. Having stayed both downtown and on the strip before, this was by far the best place for we wanted: to spend time on the strip seeing everything but to also relax away from the chaos in a nice place. The best parts about the Desert Rose are its suite rooms with great kitchen, living room, and patio; its complimentary breakfast; and its close proximity to the strip. Finally a room near the strip that you actually enjoy spending time in (assuming you also can't afford the penthouse at the bellagio). Its a 5 minute walk to MGM and 10 minutes to NY NY (Tropicana/Excalibur are 5-10 minutes away too). The KEY to the whole thing though is USING THE MONORAIL. Its behind MGM, 5 minutes away, and is the best way to travel in Vegas BY FAR. With it you can get anywhere you want in a few minutes without waiting on the bus or in a taxi or walking for hours. (Just be sure to get a 1 day or 3 day pass). When we come back, we will 100% stay here every time, whether just us, with friends or with kids. The rooms are really nice, the pool is good, its very clean, staff are very friendly, and they provide complimentary Starbucks coffee all day long!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Monorail, monorail, monorail. Vegas' best kept secret IF you have easy, close access to it. We tried it before and it wasn't very helpful because we were staying downtown and had to bus to get to it. However, if you're staying on or near the strip (or at Desert Rose) take advantage of it. Walking the strip just wears you down because everything looks closer than actually ever is and the Deuce is painfully slow since so many people get on and off every half block that it feels like forever to get from one end to the other. Monorail! Get a 1 day ($13 for 24 hours) or 3 day ($28 for 72 hours) pass.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yuma, AZ
Jul 25, 2009

Great Vegas Trip

I truely recommend this Hotel, I hate the long lines, traffic, confusion of getting checked into one of the "Big Hotel/Casinos" while in Vegas.The check in here was 3 min in and out. The rooms were very clean, modern, with nice little luxuries. You never know what type of condition and maint there are in some business/longer stay hotels...The linnens were Fluffy and comfy, dishes etc were like brand new, dishwasher ran great, the maid service was quick, quiet and efficient. As a matter of fact, I never heard them out in the halls, when I walked past them in the halls they nearly jumped out of my way to give my family room to pass...always left several extra towels under the sink etc...it's the little things that make the difference. I will say, I was not happy with my first room. It was advertised with a balcony, but only had a window with a view of three HUGE A/C units, Im not joking only 2 ft from the window and was NOISY. The front desk staff was more than happy to change to a different room with a balcony. That it did have, but with a view of a 4story building...about 4 ft away...better than the first by all means, but not what I expected. Now there were plenty of rooms with view balconys, but in my opinion they were reserved for the "Time share owners" There was a time share event going while I was there...Which is something I just may look into. The breakfast was fair, happy hour was good, the pool was much smaller than looks online and a bit crowded, but all in all a nice trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jossie
Business
milwaukee wi
Aug 13, 2009

summer vegas trip

this hotel is great! large rooms and great pool! very clean and very comortable beds short walk to the strip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

fashion show mall and caesars palace forum shops

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rosario
Business
Waukegan, IL
Sep 9, 2009

Family Vacation

Excellent!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Franklin, WI
Feb 23, 2010

Excellent location and value

This condo was excellent. We stayed in the 2 bed- room unit and found everything clean and newer. The staff was also very friendly. It was right down the block from MGM and easy walking to the strip. It is a great place to stay with kids...very quiet without the slot machines. The only bad thing I could say is the breakfast. It is a basic continental breakfast...toast, cereal, coffee and juice. Some days there was also yogurt, hard boiled eggs or fruit(it was hit or miss). We would definitely stay here again. A very good value for size and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss the light show at Fremont street. It is very cool and free. Just park at the Golden Nugget and have your ticket validated at the cashier inside for free parking. The shows are only at night starting about 8pm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
2nd Time Las Vegas Traveler
Business
Kalamazoo, MI
May 12, 2010

The Quiet, The Relaxing, The Friendly

Our stay at the Desert Rose was meant to be just a place to sleep at night. We were traveling with our adult son-in-law and daughter, It was there first trip to Las Vegas. We didn't get the chance to enjoy the fully benefits of this time share condo complex. However the staff was exceptional. We arrived at 2:15AM in the morning. The desk clerk cheerfully registered us, contacted the grounds security to meet us at the parking area near our room, and walked us out the door and directed us around to the unit our room was in. As several of the entrances to the parking areas are secured at night, the guard met us as the entrance to the parking area with flashlight in hand. The Continental breakfast was simple and limited but varied each day. There was Starbuck's coffee for my coffee afficianado son. The pool area was fairly large and most inviting and many guests availed themselves relaxing there. The property's location is just off the southern end of the Strip near the MGM Grand, the Luxor, and the Mandalay Bay resorts among others. It was also within a short half block walk to a Catholic church. The rooms were very clean and tasteful and had a full kitchen and utensils. Most rooms had balconies. Ours was a ground floor unit that opened to a central secluded courtyard. We would gladly stay at the Desert Rose again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

There is a RTA transit kiosk near the MGM Grand. The bus passes for 1 day to one week are a relative bargain, as you may ride the various buses as often as you like. Most visitors like us travel mostly up and down the Strip. The buses run every 10-15 minutes most of the day, and all night but at longer intervals. There is a large parking garage that is free at Planet Hollywood with easy access to "Miracle Mile Shops."

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Knoxville, TN
May 30, 2010

Fantastic property

wonderful, easy to find location near the strip and the airport. Complimentary Starbuck's coffee a plus! Friendly, helpful staff. Very clean and well kept property. Lots of security onsite. Enjoyed being away from the casinos. Some noise, was primarily because we had an outside corner unit (2BR, 2 BA). Workout facility needed an update.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to see the Beatles "LOVE" at the Mirage - a Cirque du Soille production. Excellent! Also the Tournament of Kings show at the Excalibur was very good - concierge has discount tickets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top