$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

Desert Rose Resort

3 stars
View map of 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89122

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Desert Rose Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
186 out of 186
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.8

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Penny Slot Lover
Torrance, CA
Oct 10, 2012

Great for families

I've stayed here before and enjoyed it, so we booked with them again. The continental breakfasts are delicious and Starbucks coffee is available 24/7 in the lobby. The pool is clean and the staff is very friendly. Location is good. Not too far from the strip. This time I was a little disapointed with the cleanliness of the carpet. My daughter just turned 1 and is crawling. Of course I couldn't hold her for 24 hours a day so I had to set her down. After 2 min of crawling her hands, feet and knees were black from the carpet. We immediately gave her a bath and never set her back down. I know hotel carpets are not clean, but this was beyond dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

You can save a lot of money by taking advantage of the kitchen and buying drinks and snacks. There was a Target not too far and a few grocery stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno, NV
Mar 3, 2009

Great Place

We have stayed here about half a dozen times and have never been disappointed. It is a very nice FULLY furnished one bedroom condo. But you still have daily cleaning service, in-room coffee and safe, etc., all the amenities a usual hotel room has. Pool area is small but nice. Breakfast has diminished over the years but at least it's accurately described as continental and is still okay. There are actually four identical buldings so if you're traveling with others just ask them to put you in the same building and floor when you make the reservation and they will probably accomodate you as they did for us. Great, GREAT location. It is just off the Strip. A three minute walk and you're inside the MGM. If you don't need to stay right in a casino but still want to be close to the action, and also have a full kitchen, this is a great alternative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Rosemary's Restaurant on Sahara Blvd. is a terrific place with outstanding food and moneysaving specials.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pueblo
Dec 27, 2008

Great get-away

We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath, 3 TVs, kitchen and living room on third floor over Christmas. Rooms have partial outside walkways and are in groups so not a problem with noise from neibhors. Saved a fortune by eating in by bringing back a few items from breakfast bar and purchasing our own food from Albertsons and Walmart close by. It was nice to serve up holiday fare instead of eating at restaurants and relaxing after day out gambling and watching shows. Unfortunately, it was quite cold so unheated pool and even hot tub was not welcoming. Would definitely stay again if bringing family for several days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

There is long term contruction on hwy to downtown, too. Marriage is Murder (dinner mistery) at the 4 Queens was lots of fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
USA
Dec 22, 2008

Very comfortable

Great place to stay in Vegas, nice escape from the casino rush. Very comfortable rooms with all the comforts of home. Building is a little dated but clean. It was nice to have a full kitchen to use. Large flat panel tv's in the living room and bedroom were very nice. Easy access to the strip. I did rent a car, and that made getting around town very easy ( use koval rd. to avoid the strip traffic jams ). I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix
Nov 25, 2008

Very Family friendly - Great Value, Great Location

The hotel is just one block off the strip and was very family friendly. The suites were very comfortable with a fully functional kitchen (dishes, glassware, coffee maker, cooking range, microwave and everything). Two TVs one in the bedroom and one in the living room. High speed internet is available, but at $9.99 a day. Housekeeping came daily and was very good. Full continental breakfast daily with Ham, eggs, bread, cornflakes, milk, juice, coffee, doughnuts and danishes. Manager's special from Mon-Thu gives you free drinks and snacks. I went with my wife and 20 month old kid and this hotel had the perfect family atmosphere. Would definitely stay here again. If you plan to cook (even for a meal a day) this is the best place and saves you a lot of money from the strip restaurants. The kitchens have posters on where the nearby grocery stores are!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to save some bucks in dining, use the food courts available in some hotels (Luxor, Ceasers Palace, Venetian).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 1, 2008

Quietness from the strip

The room was great. It was a mini appartment with a full kitchen and all the things needed in it. The bedroom was seprerate from the living room with a TV in each. The little balcony had a nice little eating area for breakfast. I would go back any time. It was a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk to the monorail.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lafayette
Oct 19, 2008

Great business amenities

The location was very good I liked the fact that the bathroom was separate from the vanity area and there was a sink with a long counter and there was adequate space for hanging clothes

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 27, 2008

great place to stay

The Desert Rose was a very comfortable place to stay. Very quiet. Rooms were large and very clean. Resort had every accomodation a person would need, from fully equipped kitchen to clean well maintained pool area. Pool was cold but refreshing on a 98 degree day. Strip to Las Vegas was only a block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Apex
Sep 15, 2008

Great location and value!

We stayed at the Desert Rose Resort for a long weekend in early September. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. The hotel was clean and newly renovated. The staff was courteous. The only problem we had was incomplete maid service on the second day. The kitchen allowed us to save on meals. Parking was convenient. The location was excellent, just off the strip and 5 minutes from McCarren airport. I would recommend this hotel and will stay here in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Quincy, MA
Sep 7, 2008

Clean, friendly and great location

This was our first visit to the Desert Rose and it won't be our last. We have stayed at many Las Vegas strip hotels and been happy but the Desert Rose was cozy and friendly, clean and just a quick walk from the strip. We had a three room suite with a fully equipped kitchen, a huge master bedroom with some of the nicest linens I have ever seen in a hotel. And most important it was clean, clean, clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The continental breakfast was great...it was really a full breakfast with eggs, ham, cereal, and the BEST bread! Tables on the patio near the pool added to a relaxing and delicous breakfast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis
Aug 22, 2008

My review of Desert Rose Resort

The suites were absolutely beautiful and is was close enough to the strip to enjoy but far enough away to get away from the strip. We did not rent a car, walked almost everywhere. The hotel had happy hour everynight from 5-7 with free beer, wine, soda, munchies, and entertainment every other night. The concierge team were highly knowledgable and helpful. When we arrived, check-in time was four pm, we got the at 9:30 am and wanted to know if we could leave our bags. They did better than that, they let us check in 6 hours early! What a relief! The suite had a nice kitchen, full size appliances and fully stocked with cookwear. The only mar in our stay was a real push to buy timeshare to the tune of over $24000. No way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top