$117 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

Desert Rose Resort

3 stars
View map of 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89122

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Desert Rose Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
206 out of 206
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.8

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rusty B.
Business
Albany, LA
May 19, 2009

Amazingly affortable, great location!

For a non-gaming facility, the Desert Rose will deliver everything to meet your expectations. Did not partake in the daily cocktail reception or the continental breakfast. But other guest that I spoke to said it was exceptional. As compared to Caesars on a previous trip, I prefer the Desert Rose because of its conveince to parking, condo stlye amenities ie: the full kitchen, dining and living room. Security was a big plus with the gated entrance to the property. The Desert Rose will be the choice of stay on future visits !!! A+

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Located just a block east of Las Vegas Blvd, the Desert Rose is within walking distance of many of the local attractions offered by the other resorts.

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rusty B.
Business
Albany, LA
May 19, 2009

Amazingly affortable, great location!

For a non-gaming facility, the Desert Rose will deliver everything to meet your expectations. Did not partake in the daily cocktail reception or the continental breakfast. But other guest that I spoke to said it was exceptional. As compared to Caesars on a previous trip, I prefer the Desert Rose because of its conveince to parking, condo stlye amenities ie: the full kitchen, dining and living room. Security was a big plus with the gated entrance to the property. The Desert Rose will be the choice of stay on future visits !!! A+

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Located just a block east of Las Vegas Blvd, the Desert Rose is within walking distance of many of the local attractions offered by the other resorts.

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bay Area ca.
May 18, 2009

Best off strip getaway

Came for work . Place was like home . Real nice staff . Nice to be away from the bling of the strip! Very clean and quiet . Will be back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Theres a Vons grocery store down tropicana drive a couple of lights . With the full kitchens you can save a ton in vegas even eating breakfast in !

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Perth, Australia
May 18, 2009

Desert it at all costs!

We booked into the Desert Rose for 4 nights from 18 April 2009 based on its reviews, proximity to the strip, kitchen and price. We were advised upon arrival at 9.40pm (I had emailed twice in advance advising of this) that the hotel had had a major plumbing problem that morning and many rooms were out of service and we would have to go to the Bluegreen resort 'just around the corner' for the night. Interestingly we phoned from LA airport at 6.30pm just before our flight to check someone would be there when we arrived and no one mentioned anything then. Suspecting a rat, but too tired to keep arguing (following a 21 hour flight the day before from our home with a 7 and 9 year old in tow), we hopped in the taxi paid for by the hotel and off it drove and drove and drove. When we asked where we were going the taxi driver (bless this gorgeous man) pointed to some far away lights and indicated that the hotel was about half an hour walk from the strip past a huge and dangerous vacant lot. So he took us back to the Desert Rose. We said we were happy to shift to another hotel but it had to be equal or better (ie with 2 young children strip proximity was paramount). Nup, they couldn't do it. Their denial of my request to see the rooms with the plumbing problems confirmed what I suspected. After an hour of arguing - they picked the wrong jetlagged woman on the wrong night and I was ready to set up the lobby as our hotel room and put the kids to sleep on the couches – abracadabra there was suddenly a room available. Amazing. So when they try this low life trick on you I hope this story helps. Obviously we looked like total suckers – ie we paid a non-refundable rate in advance and being a busy weekend could there have been better offers on the table? My advice to the hotel – lift your game in the choice of front desk managers – I doubt that the guy working on the night of the 18 April was what any hotel would want representing them. You can do far better than this. The room was nice, but we didn't use the kitchen as we couldn't figure out where a grocery store was (we didn't have a car) and didn't want to go near the front desk to ask during our stay. Vegas was great and the West Rim was fabulous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The West Rim was fabulous for children. Not too far away and a great day out. We took a tour.

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travel trip
Business
Victoria B.C. Canada
May 17, 2009

Has it all

Great location,you are best to have a car. Breakfast, and happy hour. Rooms have kitchen and bedroom as well as living room.Will stay at Desert Rose next time in Las Vagas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car,and see surrounding Vagas area.

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mobile, AL
May 16, 2009

Above my expectations.

The Desert Rose has a great location. The deal from Orbitz ($45/night) was unreal. They had a breakfast every morning and free beer, wine and a snack every afternoon. The hotel isn't real large so you don't have to walk a mile to get from one end to the other. This is the only place I will stay now when I go to Vegas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Bootleg Canyon Zip line. It's $150 per person, but it's worth it.

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fordep
Business
Ukraine
May 14, 2009

Very good hotel

It is one of the best hotels I have ever been.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great hotel for the price close to Strip.

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dy
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
May 12, 2009

Everything For a Fabulous Getaway

We arrived for a graduation at the University Nevada Las Vegas (UNLV) and stayed four days. We really enjoyed our stay at the Desert Rose. The staff was accomodating and friendly. They changed our ground floor room to an upper floor upon check-in, which made a nice difference. It was quieter, more relaxing, and secure. One of the great things about a suite is, the large kitchen with all its ammenities. It made eating in easy and enjoyable. In the morning you can always opt for the complimentary breakfast as well. It simple but surprisingly a very delicious way to fill up before you begin the day. Easy access from the airport, to the strip and freeway entrances made this an ideal location, as well as only blocks to UNLV. There's free parking, so you can pull up to your building and have an easy access to your room, through locked gated entries, easy! We will definitely plan to stay at the Desert Rose on our next trip to Las Vegas. The rooms were clean and bed comfortable, although, the only down side was the carpet was quite dirty. No worries, just bring along house slippers next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Musashi Japanese Restaurant. Fantastic teppan yaki and sushi. Reasonable price. Filling portions. Sushi is discounted late night.

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, Fl
May 11, 2009

Excellent

Great place to stay in Las Vegas if you want to be away from the noise of the Strip. Great value and nice complimentary breakfast. Hotel is located 3 blocks from the strip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vegas Queen
Business
Augusta, GA
May 10, 2009

Excellent Resort

Very convenient and quiet. Has full kitchen (which we did not use, other than the coffee maker), nice eating and living area. Beds extremely comfortable, large tub, make up area could be a little bigger but definitely sufficient. Unlike other condos we have stayed at, Desert Rose has maid service every day. A continental breakfast is offered daily with bagels, muffins, cereals and coffee. Monday - Friday a beer and wine is offered in the lobby, we did not attend this function as we are busy doing other things. Overall, I would definitely stay here again and would recommend Desert Rose to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ellis Island has a wonderful steak & egg breakfast for 3.99 (11 pm - 6 am) or 4.99 after 6 am. They also have a steak dinner for 5.99 that includes salad, baked potato and veggies. Also, recommend renting a car, although there are several casinos withing walking distance.

Back to menu Return to top