$93 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Desert Rose Resort

3 stars
5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89122
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
188 reviews
A nice surprise

Reservation staff really great & helpful. Room was a surprise. Found this online & it turned out to... See full review

  • Hot in Vegas
  • Jun 7, 2014
Fantastic Weekend

Our stay was outstanding and the staff at the Desert Rose Resort made all the more enjoyable. Thank... See full review

  • The Powell Clan
  • Feb 24, 2014
Just off the Strip, this all-suites resort feels worlds away
Looking for a more relaxed, family-friendly resort near the Las Vegas Strip? Try the well-hidden Desert Rose Resort, where pleasant, cheerful suites feature a modern twist on Southwest earth tones. Within a nicely landscaped property, amenities at Desert Rose include a heated swimming pool, hot tub, poolside BBQ area, fitness center and laundry facilities. Enjoy an on-site concierge to help with restaurant reservations, show tickets, and tours.
Highlights
  • Year-round pool deck complete with BBQ area
  • All-suite, family-friendly resort includes full kitchens in every room
  • Close to McCarran Airport
Location
The Desert Rose Resort is about one block east of the Las Vegas Strip, near the Tropicana resort.
Rooms
Spacious one-bedroom suites at 650 square feet each feature a king-sized pillow top bed, fully equipped kitchen with granite countertops and a coffee-maker, living room with sleeper sofa, plasma TV, CD player, dining area and balcony. The 900-square foot, two-bedroom suites at Desert Rose Resort offer one king and one queen bed with two bathrooms. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access, local calls and newspaper are also available at Desert Rose.
Transportation
  • McCarran International Airport (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Deuce Bus stops on the Strip
Attractions
  • The Lion Habitat at MGM Grand (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Shark Reef at Mandalay Bay (0.6 mi/0.97 km)
  • New York New York Roller Coaster (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Bali Hai Golf Club (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Fountains of Bellagio (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • "Welcome To Fabulous Las Vegas" sign (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Business

  • Meeting and event space available for up to 120 people.

Hotel Map

36.0984 -115.1671
Area served
Las Vegas Nevada, Hoover Dam, Henderson, Green Valley
Nearby airports
Las Vegas McCarren International Airport-1.5 miles
Area description
South Strip: One block east of Las Vegas Boulevard, off of Tropicana

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Desert Rose Resort also booked these hotels.

Desert Rose Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
650 square feet, beautifully decorated with one king bed in one room and a queen bed in another. Triple sheeted with premium bedding, in room movies and games, safe, full kitchens with pots and pans, coffee maker, iron/iron board, and hair dryer.
Two Bedroom Suite
900 square feet, beautifully decorated with one king bed in one room and a queen bed in another. Triple sheeted with premium bedding, in room movies and games, safe, full kitchens with pots and pans, coffee maker, iron/iron board, and hair dryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Hooters Casino Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Mob Attraction Las Vegas: 0.2 mi
  • Tropicana Las Vegas: 0.3 mi
  • Canterbury Wedding Chapel: 0.3 mi
  • MGM Grand Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • M&M's World: 0.4 mi
  • Coney Island Emporium: 0.4 mi
  • Sundance Helicopters: 0.4 mi
  • Marina Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Excalibur Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Eiffel Tower Replica: 0.5 mi
  • New York Hotel Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Luxor Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Mandalay Bay: 0.6 mi
  • Wedding Chapel at Monte Carlo: 0.7 mi
  • Hooters Casino Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Mob Attraction Las Vegas: 0.2 mi
  • Tropicana Las Vegas: 0.3 mi
  • Canterbury Wedding Chapel: 0.3 mi
  • MGM Grand Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • M&M's World: 0.4 mi
  • Coney Island Emporium: 0.4 mi
  • Sundance Helicopters: 0.4 mi
  • Marina Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Excalibur Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Eiffel Tower Replica: 0.5 mi
  • New York Hotel Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Luxor Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Mandalay Bay: 0.6 mi
  • Wedding Chapel at Monte Carlo: 0.7 mi
  • Lance Burton Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Monte Carlo Resort and Casino: 0.7 mi
  • PH Live at Planet Hollywood Resort and Casino: 0.8 mi
  • Aria Resort and Casino: 0.8 mi
  • Crystals at CityCenter: 0.8 mi
  • Shark Reef at Mandalay Bay: 0.8 mi
  • Miracle Mile: 0.9 mi
  • Planet Hollywood Resort and Casino: 0.9 mi
  • Flashlight: 0.9 mi
  • Wild Wild West Gambling Hall & Hotel: 1 mi
  • Ellis Island Casino & Brewery: 1 mi
  • Hard Rock Hotel and Casino: 1 mi
  • Paris Las Vegas: 1 mi
  • The Cosmopolitan Resort & Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Bally's Las Vegas: 1.1 mi
  • Bellagio: 1.2 mi
  • Michael Gaughan Airport Slots: 1.2 mi
  • Bill's Gamblin' Hall and Saloon: 1.2 mi
  • Flamingo Las Vegas: 1.2 mi
  • Tuscany Suites and Casino: 1.3 mi
  • Omnimax Theater: 1.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Park Speedway (Jockey Club): 1.3 mi
  • Terrible's Hotel and Casino: 1.4 mi
  • Magic and Movie Hall of Fame: 1.4 mi
  • Cox Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Paradise: 1.4 mi
  • Harrah's Las Vegas: 1.4 mi
  • Imperial Palace: 1.4 mi
  • The Quad Resort and Casino: 1.4 mi
  • Caesars Palace: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (188)

Ratings and reviews for Desert Rose Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
188 out of 188
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.8

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pueblo
Dec 27, 2008

Great get-away

We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath, 3 TVs, kitchen and living room on third floor over Christmas. Rooms have partial outside walkways and are in groups so not a problem with noise from neibhors. Saved a fortune by eating in by bringing back a few items from breakfast bar and purchasing our own food from Albertsons and Walmart close by. It was nice to serve up holiday fare instead of eating at restaurants and relaxing after day out gambling and watching shows. Unfortunately, it was quite cold so unheated pool and even hot tub was not welcoming. Would definitely stay again if bringing family for several days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

There is long term contruction on hwy to downtown, too. Marriage is Murder (dinner mistery) at the 4 Queens was lots of fun.

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
USA
Dec 22, 2008

Very comfortable

Great place to stay in Vegas, nice escape from the casino rush. Very comfortable rooms with all the comforts of home. Building is a little dated but clean. It was nice to have a full kitchen to use. Large flat panel tv's in the living room and bedroom were very nice. Easy access to the strip. I did rent a car, and that made getting around town very easy ( use koval rd. to avoid the strip traffic jams ). I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix
Nov 25, 2008

Very Family friendly - Great Value, Great Location

The hotel is just one block off the strip and was very family friendly. The suites were very comfortable with a fully functional kitchen (dishes, glassware, coffee maker, cooking range, microwave and everything). Two TVs one in the bedroom and one in the living room. High speed internet is available, but at $9.99 a day. Housekeeping came daily and was very good. Full continental breakfast daily with Ham, eggs, bread, cornflakes, milk, juice, coffee, doughnuts and danishes. Manager's special from Mon-Thu gives you free drinks and snacks. I went with my wife and 20 month old kid and this hotel had the perfect family atmosphere. Would definitely stay here again. If you plan to cook (even for a meal a day) this is the best place and saves you a lot of money from the strip restaurants. The kitchens have posters on where the nearby grocery stores are!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to save some bucks in dining, use the food courts available in some hotels (Luxor, Ceasers Palace, Venetian).

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Nov 1, 2008

Quietness from the strip

The room was great. It was a mini appartment with a full kitchen and all the things needed in it. The bedroom was seprerate from the living room with a TV in each. The little balcony had a nice little eating area for breakfast. I would go back any time. It was a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk to the monorail.

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lafayette
Oct 19, 2008

Great business amenities

The location was very good I liked the fact that the bathroom was separate from the vanity area and there was a sink with a long counter and there was adequate space for hanging clothes

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 27, 2008

great place to stay

The Desert Rose was a very comfortable place to stay. Very quiet. Rooms were large and very clean. Resort had every accomodation a person would need, from fully equipped kitchen to clean well maintained pool area. Pool was cold but refreshing on a 98 degree day. Strip to Las Vegas was only a block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Apex
Sep 15, 2008

Great location and value!

We stayed at the Desert Rose Resort for a long weekend in early September. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. The hotel was clean and newly renovated. The staff was courteous. The only problem we had was incomplete maid service on the second day. The kitchen allowed us to save on meals. Parking was convenient. The location was excellent, just off the strip and 5 minutes from McCarren airport. I would recommend this hotel and will stay here in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Quincy, MA
Sep 7, 2008

Clean, friendly and great location

This was our first visit to the Desert Rose and it won't be our last. We have stayed at many Las Vegas strip hotels and been happy but the Desert Rose was cozy and friendly, clean and just a quick walk from the strip. We had a three room suite with a fully equipped kitchen, a huge master bedroom with some of the nicest linens I have ever seen in a hotel. And most important it was clean, clean, clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The continental breakfast was great...it was really a full breakfast with eggs, ham, cereal, and the BEST bread! Tables on the patio near the pool added to a relaxing and delicous breakfast!

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis
Aug 22, 2008

My review of Desert Rose Resort

The suites were absolutely beautiful and is was close enough to the strip to enjoy but far enough away to get away from the strip. We did not rent a car, walked almost everywhere. The hotel had happy hour everynight from 5-7 with free beer, wine, soda, munchies, and entertainment every other night. The concierge team were highly knowledgable and helpful. When we arrived, check-in time was four pm, we got the at 9:30 am and wanted to know if we could leave our bags. They did better than that, they let us check in 6 hours early! What a relief! The suite had a nice kitchen, full size appliances and fully stocked with cookwear. The only mar in our stay was a real push to buy timeshare to the tune of over $24000. No way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 6, 2008

alternative to casino

Since I am an occasional gambler, mainly in Las Vegas to visit my son; not staying in a casino hotel was fine for me. I enjoyed the room (more like a small apartment) especially the kitchen with full size appliances, dishes, glassware etc allowing for meal preparation or just having beverages available. There was a separate bedroom w/king size bed and a closet, nice decor,toilet and shower separate from but next to a long counter and sink. This is a nice place for families as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

casinos, the Las Vegas strip (one end of it)

Back to menu Return to top

Change search