$93 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Desert Rose Resort

3 stars
5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89122
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
181 reviews
Fantastic Weekend

Our stay was outstanding and the staff at the Desert Rose Resort made all the more enjoyable. Thank... See full review

  • The Powell Clan
  • Feb 24, 2014
GREAT VALUE

OUR STAY AT THE DESERT ROSE WAS ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL. THE BREAKFAST BUFFET WAS GREAT A DIFFERENT... See full review

  • DON AND PAULA
  • Mar 4, 2013
Just off the Strip, this all-suites resort feels worlds away
Looking for a more relaxed, family-friendly resort near the Las Vegas Strip? Try the well-hidden Desert Rose Resort, where pleasant, cheerful suites feature a modern twist on Southwest earth tones. Within a nicely landscaped property, amenities at Desert Rose include a heated swimming pool, hot tub, poolside BBQ area, fitness center and laundry facilities. Enjoy an on-site concierge to help with restaurant reservations, show tickets, and tours.
Highlights
  • Year-round pool deck complete with BBQ area
  • All-suite, family-friendly resort includes full kitchens in every room
  • Close to McCarran Airport
Location
The Desert Rose Resort is about one block east of the Las Vegas Strip, near the Tropicana resort.
Rooms
Spacious one-bedroom suites at 650 square feet each feature a king-sized pillow top bed, fully equipped kitchen with granite countertops and a coffee-maker, living room with sleeper sofa, plasma TV, CD player, dining area and balcony. The 900-square foot, two-bedroom suites at Desert Rose Resort offer one king and one queen bed with two bathrooms. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access, local calls and newspaper are also available at Desert Rose.
Transportation
  • McCarran International Airport (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Deuce Bus stops on the Strip
Attractions
  • The Lion Habitat at MGM Grand (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Shark Reef at Mandalay Bay (0.6 mi/0.97 km)
  • New York New York Roller Coaster (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Bali Hai Golf Club (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Fountains of Bellagio (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • "Welcome To Fabulous Las Vegas" sign (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Business

  • Meeting and event space available for up to 120 people.

Hotel Map

36.0984 -115.1671
Area served
Las Vegas Nevada, Hoover Dam, Henderson, Green Valley
Nearby airports
Las Vegas McCarren International Airport-1.5 miles
Area description
South Strip: One block east of Las Vegas Boulevard, off of Tropicana

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Desert Rose Resort also booked these hotels.

Desert Rose Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
650 square feet, beautifully decorated with one king bed in one room and a queen bed in another. Triple sheeted with premium bedding, in room movies and games, safe, full kitchens with pots and pans, coffee maker, iron/iron board, and hair dryer.
Two Bedroom Suite
900 square feet, beautifully decorated with one king bed in one room and a queen bed in another. Triple sheeted with premium bedding, in room movies and games, safe, full kitchens with pots and pans, coffee maker, iron/iron board, and hair dryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Hooters Casino Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Mob Attraction Las Vegas: 0.2 mi
  • Tropicana Las Vegas: 0.3 mi
  • Canterbury Wedding Chapel: 0.3 mi
  • MGM Grand Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • M&M's World: 0.4 mi
  • Coney Island Emporium: 0.4 mi
  • Sundance Helicopters: 0.4 mi
  • Marina Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Excalibur Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Eiffel Tower Replica: 0.5 mi
  • New York Hotel Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Luxor Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Mandalay Bay: 0.6 mi
  • Wedding Chapel at Monte Carlo: 0.7 mi
  • Hooters Casino Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Mob Attraction Las Vegas: 0.2 mi
  • Tropicana Las Vegas: 0.3 mi
  • Canterbury Wedding Chapel: 0.3 mi
  • MGM Grand Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • M&M's World: 0.4 mi
  • Coney Island Emporium: 0.4 mi
  • Sundance Helicopters: 0.4 mi
  • Marina Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Excalibur Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Eiffel Tower Replica: 0.5 mi
  • New York Hotel Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Luxor Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Mandalay Bay: 0.6 mi
  • Wedding Chapel at Monte Carlo: 0.7 mi
  • Lance Burton Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Monte Carlo Resort and Casino: 0.7 mi
  • PH Live at Planet Hollywood Resort and Casino: 0.8 mi
  • Aria Resort and Casino: 0.8 mi
  • Crystals at CityCenter: 0.8 mi
  • Shark Reef at Mandalay Bay: 0.8 mi
  • Miracle Mile: 0.9 mi
  • Planet Hollywood Resort and Casino: 0.9 mi
  • Flashlight: 0.9 mi
  • Wild Wild West Gambling Hall & Hotel: 1 mi
  • Ellis Island Casino & Brewery: 1 mi
  • Hard Rock Hotel and Casino: 1 mi
  • Paris Las Vegas: 1 mi
  • The Cosmopolitan Resort & Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Bally's Las Vegas: 1.1 mi
  • Bellagio: 1.2 mi
  • Michael Gaughan Airport Slots: 1.2 mi
  • Bill's Gamblin' Hall and Saloon: 1.2 mi
  • Flamingo Las Vegas: 1.2 mi
  • Tuscany Suites and Casino: 1.3 mi
  • Omnimax Theater: 1.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Park Speedway (Jockey Club): 1.3 mi
  • Terrible's Hotel and Casino: 1.4 mi
  • Magic and Movie Hall of Fame: 1.4 mi
  • Cox Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Paradise: 1.4 mi
  • Harrah's Las Vegas: 1.4 mi
  • Imperial Palace: 1.4 mi
  • The Quad Resort and Casino: 1.4 mi
  • Caesars Palace: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (181)

Ratings and reviews for Desert Rose Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.8

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Princeton, MN
May 4, 2009

A great begining...

We enjoyed the continental breakfast and the pool. Our room was wonderful with full kitchen. It is a lot of walking if you don't have a vehicle to get any place else. We had problems with our air conditioning 2 nights and it took a while to get it fixed. We wanted to extend our stay by 1 night and the price was 3 times higher, so we left. Unfortunately, we left late and were charge a large late fee. The front desk was not very friendly or willing to negotiate the late fee. Did not get much help from staff on finding things to do. The cleaning staff was most helpful with that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Plan on buying food and cooking at hotel. We found the food to be somewhat expensive for a family. Take advantage of the continental breakfast.

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ottawa, Ontario
May 2, 2009

Excellent value!

The location was terrific - easy and safe walk to the Strip. The Manager's Reception was entertaining and a great opportunity to hear other travellers' comments. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The rooms were comfortable and quiet. We would definitely book here on our return visit to Vegas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Half-price tickets are available on the day of performances at several locations on the Strip and worth checking out.

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Aspen, CO
Apr 23, 2009

Great place at a geat price

We got a really great deal ($45/night) for a 1-bedroom, but were a bit concerned since we hadn't been to Vegas before. We were very pleased with our accomodations, friendly staff, and the great location just off the strip. I would highly recommend to anyone traveling to Vegas - the free breakfast was icing on the cake!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, Florida
Apr 22, 2009

Great Location

I enjoyed my stay. The check-in was very smooth. The staff was very professional and friendly. I would definetly stay there again. We walked the Strip. We watched the Dancing Waters at the Bellagio. We dine out. It was the most affordable vacation I have taken in awhile. Highly recommended to anyone vsiiting the Las Vegas, NV. area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Huntingdon Pa.
Mar 4, 2009

Great place to stay in Vegas

This is the second time we have stayed at the Desert Rose and we have really enjoyed it both times. It is so nice to have a refrigerator and stove to keep drinks and leftovers. The fact that the bedroom has a door and a tv is wonderful for us as I am a morning person and my husband likes to stay up late and sleep in. We also like to watch different tv shows so this is a great place for us. we will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Reno, NV
Mar 3, 2009

Great Place

We have stayed here about half a dozen times and have never been disappointed. It is a very nice FULLY furnished one bedroom condo. But you still have daily cleaning service, in-room coffee and safe, etc., all the amenities a usual hotel room has. Pool area is small but nice. Breakfast has diminished over the years but at least it's accurately described as continental and is still okay. There are actually four identical buldings so if you're traveling with others just ask them to put you in the same building and floor when you make the reservation and they will probably accomodate you as they did for us. Great, GREAT location. It is just off the Strip. A three minute walk and you're inside the MGM. If you don't need to stay right in a casino but still want to be close to the action, and also have a full kitchen, this is a great alternative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Rosemary's Restaurant on Sahara Blvd. is a terrific place with outstanding food and moneysaving specials.

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pueblo
Dec 27, 2008

Great get-away

We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath, 3 TVs, kitchen and living room on third floor over Christmas. Rooms have partial outside walkways and are in groups so not a problem with noise from neibhors. Saved a fortune by eating in by bringing back a few items from breakfast bar and purchasing our own food from Albertsons and Walmart close by. It was nice to serve up holiday fare instead of eating at restaurants and relaxing after day out gambling and watching shows. Unfortunately, it was quite cold so unheated pool and even hot tub was not welcoming. Would definitely stay again if bringing family for several days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

There is long term contruction on hwy to downtown, too. Marriage is Murder (dinner mistery) at the 4 Queens was lots of fun.

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
USA
Dec 22, 2008

Very comfortable

Great place to stay in Vegas, nice escape from the casino rush. Very comfortable rooms with all the comforts of home. Building is a little dated but clean. It was nice to have a full kitchen to use. Large flat panel tv's in the living room and bedroom were very nice. Easy access to the strip. I did rent a car, and that made getting around town very easy ( use koval rd. to avoid the strip traffic jams ). I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix
Nov 25, 2008

Very Family friendly - Great Value, Great Location

The hotel is just one block off the strip and was very family friendly. The suites were very comfortable with a fully functional kitchen (dishes, glassware, coffee maker, cooking range, microwave and everything). Two TVs one in the bedroom and one in the living room. High speed internet is available, but at $9.99 a day. Housekeeping came daily and was very good. Full continental breakfast daily with Ham, eggs, bread, cornflakes, milk, juice, coffee, doughnuts and danishes. Manager's special from Mon-Thu gives you free drinks and snacks. I went with my wife and 20 month old kid and this hotel had the perfect family atmosphere. Would definitely stay here again. If you plan to cook (even for a meal a day) this is the best place and saves you a lot of money from the strip restaurants. The kitchens have posters on where the nearby grocery stores are!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to save some bucks in dining, use the food courts available in some hotels (Luxor, Ceasers Palace, Venetian).

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Nov 1, 2008

Quietness from the strip

The room was great. It was a mini appartment with a full kitchen and all the things needed in it. The bedroom was seprerate from the living room with a TV in each. The little balcony had a nice little eating area for breakfast. I would go back any time. It was a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk to the monorail.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search