$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 16, 2015 Check-out: Jun 19, 2015

Desert Rose Resort

3 stars
View map of 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89122

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Desert Rose Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
206 out of 206
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.8

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midwest
Jan 24, 2010

Desert Rose Stay

Upon arrival the room we had reserved and confirmed was no longer available. Instead of having a 2 bedroom suite they put us in 2 separate rooms on the same floor. Requested they just make it one room and reduce our charge (since there were only 3 travelers) but they stated it was booked through [...] so they couldn't refund. I had booked the room 8 months earlier and confirmed it 2 days before we left. They stated they overbooked the resort. We had to move rooms mid vacation. Restocking and cleaning of rooms was never done unless we asked. Otherwise the rooms were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MzLorelei
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Jan 5, 2010

Made New Years that much better!!

The front desk was helpful from room to directions. The room was clean and no smoke smell. The distance to the strip was within walking distance. We were 2 females staying alone and felt safe. I would recommend staying here to everyone. I WILL be coming back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Wear comfortable shoes!!! Only do heels if you are taking a cab to the club!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
medical traveler
Business
Upstate NY
Dec 16, 2009

Good value

The Desert Rose was very comfortable and a good value. The decor is not new but everything is clean and in working order. The location is convenient to the "Strip" but the facility is quiet and a good respite from all that is over the top in Las Vegas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The older casinos around Freemont Street are more fun, less overwhelming and a better value than the megoliths on the Strip, which are really just good for gawking at.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rexburg, ID
Dec 13, 2009

Fantastic Hotel

We have a booth in a trade show in Las Vegas every year. Last year we stayed at the Excalibur and it was horrible. I hated all the casino noise & smoke, the beds were hard only 3 channels on the tv. I felt like they just tried to suck your money at every turn and it wasn't good. So this year I decided, especially since we are there for 10 days that I had to find something better. This hotel is barely 1/2 block off the strip just east of Tropicana behind Whooters Casino. It was fast and easy to drive to Mandalay Bay (where our convention was). It was very quite, amazingly so, since we were so close to the strip.Several times we walked over to MGM Grand, and its a quick drive to the airport, so the location was good for us. I loved having a kitchen in our room. It had most basic things to cook with including dishes, coffee pot, toaster etc. We went to Walmart and bought groceries and made our own hot breakfasts each day. They do a continental breakfast in the very nice front lobby until 9. (which they promptly clean up so don't sleep in too long and be late). It was usually some kind of bread - toast, english muffin, bagels, a fruit- one day was mixed fruit chopped up another day was cottage cheese and canned peaches. Usually there was a big bowl of cold hard boiled eggs and of course cereal and milk. There were 3 or 4 kinds of juice or soda to choose from also. So not much, but definitely edible and they did change it up slightly from day to day. Definitely typical of a continental breakfast. I only wish they would have a hot buffet breakfast with eggs, sausage and waffles or something, but they probably don't because of the kitchens in the rooms. Anyway, we did use the kitchens at breakfast for the schedules we were on. It definitely saved us money as most casinos charge around $15 for their breakfast buffets and you can only eat at McDonald's so many days in a row. The closed off bedrooms with 2 tvs were a plus as we had someone else helping us at the show for a few days and we didn't have to rent him an extra room he slept in the living room on the hide-a-bed, which I hear wasn't real comfortable, but tolerable. The King size bed was good, not as good as my home bed, if they wanted to improve they would put in nicer beds with a good pillow top mattress, but it was pretty good. Staff was extremely friendly. Everything was clean, even maids in the hallways were polite and friendly. We used their Concierge and she was extremely helpful in navigating Vegas and helping us book tickets to shows. There are so many things going on, it can be real confusing. She spent a long time with us helping us sort it all out and was even able to print tickets to several of the shows right there and we didn't even have to go to the box office early to get them. This saved us a lot of time. I would definitely recommend them as everything including the price was fantastic. I know we got a bit lower price because we booked in advance and we had a long stay. We are staying there for sure next year when we go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to the Cirque du Sole show of La REV at the Wynn Casino. It was AMAZING!!! One of the best Cirque shows in Vegas. I have never seen anything like it. Worth every dime. We also saw Frank Caliendo at the Monte Carlo casino. We was a super comedian who did really good impersonations. We laughed a lot and he was very clean. Not any swearing! How refreshing. I would highly recommend either show.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dfh
Business
fl
Dec 7, 2009

Desert Rose

Great all around experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
norwalk,ca
Nov 23, 2009

unbeatable location for the price

i really liked the location nice rooms big size and free breakfast i would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montgomery, AL
Nov 17, 2009

DesertRose is truly a rose in the desert

The Desert Rose Resort was a beautiful and relaxing place to stay. The staff was very cheerful, attentive, friendly, helpful, and competent. I cannot say enough of how welcome they made me feel. I was in Vegas with friends to attend shows and see all of the sights of the city. Found that there is much walking involved in that! The suites at this resort were very comfortable and especially clean, so, after a long day of walking, it was a great place to unwind. The continental breakfast was as good as offerings at other hotels where I have stayed. They also have an afternoon reception a few days of the week. Another way to relax. This resort needs to be very proud of their staff, as they make The Desert Rose such a nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Put on your walking shoes! While The Desert Rose is just off of the strip, EVERYTHING in Vegas is a loooong walk! Carry a bottle of water along with you to avoid high priced water, although, there are a couple of drug stores located right on the strip where you can purchase water and snacks at a reasonable price. Check on-line for coupons and discounts for shows and purchase tickets on-line for the best deals. Not worth the time stopping at the tics for less places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ElCajon Stephanie
Business
El Cajon, CA
Nov 16, 2009

Great Location

The Desert Rose was a very nice place to stay. They are literally a short block from the MGM. The property was clean, and attractive, although for a gated "community" (I think this resort is a time share), we got a lot of flyers for food delivery services stuffed under our door. The staff was friendly, but at check in they stumbled over what step to take next,and almost forgot to give me a parking permit. Then at check out they tried to tell me I had a room that required payment at check out even though it was prepaid. I'm watching my account in case they try to bill me for the "balance due" they claimed I had. Overall, my husband and I would stay here again because the location was awesome, the room was like a home away from home (1 bedroom suite), and although the staff wasn't perfect, and other guests let in delivery drivers, I have no real complaints about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dan Marino's Restaurant located in the casino next door has very good food. The service is a bit slow, but very nice, and the food made it worth the wait. I ordered the prime rib dip, and got an actual chunk of prime rib on a ciabatta roll, very nice, and well priced!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JT Honolulu
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Nov 14, 2009

Your own apartment in Las Vegas

We love the Desert Rose and stay there often when in Vegas. It is an older resort (apartment complex) that has all that you could want while away from home. The only complaint we had was that room 2307 on 3rd level was directly under the air unit on roof and it was noisy so we asked to be relocated and moved the next day. Ask to stay on first or second floor if you stay here (ahead of time) at least by a month or so. While in Vegas we saw a Cirque show and Santana the Hotel is right behind Tropicana so we walked to the other hotels- MGM, NyNY, Excaliber. We also had a rental car to go pick up groceries Whole Foods . The full kitchen is really nice .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the WALMART on Tropicana- It has all you need

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, Tennessee
Nov 11, 2009

"WoW!!!, We will come back".

WoW!!!, Just WoW!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Las Vegas Outlet Center--Great!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top