$93 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 16, 2014 Check-out: Jul 18, 2014

Desert Rose Resort

3 stars
5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89122
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
313 reviews
Fantastic Weekend

Our stay was outstanding and the staff at the Desert Rose Resort made all the more enjoyable. Thank... See full review

  • The Powell Clan
  • Feb 24, 2014
GREAT VALUE

OUR STAY AT THE DESERT ROSE WAS ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL. THE BREAKFAST BUFFET WAS GREAT A DIFFERENT... See full review

  • DON AND PAULA
  • Mar 4, 2013
Just off the Strip, this all-suites resort feels worlds away
Looking for a more relaxed, family-friendly resort near the Las Vegas Strip? Try the well-hidden Desert Rose Resort, where pleasant, cheerful suites feature a modern twist on Southwest earth tones. Within a nicely landscaped property, amenities at Desert Rose include a heated swimming pool, hot tub, poolside BBQ area, fitness center and laundry facilities. Enjoy an on-site concierge to help with restaurant reservations, show tickets, and tours.
Highlights
  • Year-round pool deck complete with BBQ area
  • All-suite, family-friendly resort includes full kitchens in every room
  • Close to McCarran Airport
Location
The Desert Rose Resort is about one block east of the Las Vegas Strip, near the Tropicana resort.
Rooms
Spacious one-bedroom suites at 650 square feet each feature a king-sized pillow top bed, fully equipped kitchen with granite countertops and a coffee-maker, living room with sleeper sofa, plasma TV, CD player, dining area and balcony. The 900-square foot, two-bedroom suites at Desert Rose Resort offer one king and one queen bed with two bathrooms. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access, local calls and newspaper are also available at Desert Rose.
Transportation
  • McCarran International Airport (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Deuce Bus stops on the Strip
Attractions
  • The Lion Habitat at MGM Grand (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Shark Reef at Mandalay Bay (0.6 mi/0.97 km)
  • New York New York Roller Coaster (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Bali Hai Golf Club (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Fountains of Bellagio (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • "Welcome To Fabulous Las Vegas" sign (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Business

  • Meeting and event space available for up to 120 people.

Hotel Map

36.0984 -115.1671
Area served
Las Vegas Nevada, Hoover Dam, Henderson, Green Valley
Nearby airports
Las Vegas McCarren International Airport-1.5 miles
Area description
South Strip: One block east of Las Vegas Boulevard, off of Tropicana

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Desert Rose Resort also booked these hotels.

Desert Rose Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
650 square feet, beautifully decorated with one king bed in one room and a queen bed in another. Triple sheeted with premium bedding, in room movies and games, safe, full kitchens with pots and pans, coffee maker, iron/iron board, and hair dryer.
Two Bedroom Suite
900 square feet, beautifully decorated with one king bed in one room and a queen bed in another. Triple sheeted with premium bedding, in room movies and games, safe, full kitchens with pots and pans, coffee maker, iron/iron board, and hair dryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Hooters Casino Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Mob Attraction Las Vegas: 0.2 mi
  • Tropicana Las Vegas: 0.3 mi
  • Canterbury Wedding Chapel: 0.3 mi
  • MGM Grand Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • M&M's World: 0.4 mi
  • Coney Island Emporium: 0.4 mi
  • Sundance Helicopters: 0.4 mi
  • Marina Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Excalibur Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Eiffel Tower Replica: 0.5 mi
  • New York Hotel Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Luxor Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Mandalay Bay: 0.6 mi
  • Wedding Chapel at Monte Carlo: 0.7 mi
  • Hooters Casino Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Mob Attraction Las Vegas: 0.2 mi
  • Tropicana Las Vegas: 0.3 mi
  • Canterbury Wedding Chapel: 0.3 mi
  • MGM Grand Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • M&M's World: 0.4 mi
  • Coney Island Emporium: 0.4 mi
  • Sundance Helicopters: 0.4 mi
  • Marina Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Excalibur Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Eiffel Tower Replica: 0.5 mi
  • New York Hotel Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Luxor Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Mandalay Bay: 0.6 mi
  • Wedding Chapel at Monte Carlo: 0.7 mi
  • Lance Burton Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Monte Carlo Resort and Casino: 0.7 mi
  • PH Live at Planet Hollywood Resort and Casino: 0.8 mi
  • Aria Resort and Casino: 0.8 mi
  • Crystals at CityCenter: 0.8 mi
  • Shark Reef at Mandalay Bay: 0.8 mi
  • Miracle Mile: 0.9 mi
  • Planet Hollywood Resort and Casino: 0.9 mi
  • Flashlight: 0.9 mi
  • Wild Wild West Gambling Hall & Hotel: 1 mi
  • Ellis Island Casino & Brewery: 1 mi
  • Hard Rock Hotel and Casino: 1 mi
  • Paris Las Vegas: 1 mi
  • The Cosmopolitan Resort & Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Bally's Las Vegas: 1.1 mi
  • Bellagio: 1.2 mi
  • Michael Gaughan Airport Slots: 1.2 mi
  • Bill's Gamblin' Hall and Saloon: 1.2 mi
  • Flamingo Las Vegas: 1.2 mi
  • Tuscany Suites and Casino: 1.3 mi
  • Omnimax Theater: 1.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Park Speedway (Jockey Club): 1.3 mi
  • Terrible's Hotel and Casino: 1.4 mi
  • Magic and Movie Hall of Fame: 1.4 mi
  • Cox Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Paradise: 1.4 mi
  • Harrah's Las Vegas: 1.4 mi
  • Imperial Palace: 1.4 mi
  • The Quad Resort and Casino: 1.4 mi
  • Caesars Palace: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (313)

Ratings and reviews for Desert Rose Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
313 out of 313
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.8

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
May 18, 2010

Great place to stay!

The resort was a perfect location just off the strip but within walking distance of everything! The staff was amazing and very friendly from check-in to check-out! The continental breakfast was great every morning as well! Had a great stay and a great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mad Onion located next door had great food for great prices! Prime Rib dinner served 24/7 for $9.95 and a great breakfast buffet as well!

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
May 18, 2010

Great place to stay!

The resort was a perfect location just off the strip but within walking distance of everything! The staff was amazing and very friendly from check-in to check-out! The continental breakfast was great every morning as well! Had a great stay and a great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mad Onion located next door had great food for great prices! Prime Rib dinner served 24/7 for $9.95 and a great breakfast buffet as well!

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
2nd Time Las Vegas Traveler
Kalamazoo, MI
May 12, 2010

The Quiet, The Relaxing, The Friendly

Our stay at the Desert Rose was meant to be just a place to sleep at night. We were traveling with our adult son-in-law and daughter, It was there first trip to Las Vegas. We didn't get the chance to enjoy the fully benefits of this time share condo complex. However the staff was exceptional. We arrived at 2:15AM in the morning. The desk clerk cheerfully registered us, contacted the grounds security to meet us at the parking area near our room, and walked us out the door and directed us around to the unit our room was in. As several of the entrances to the parking areas are secured at night, the guard met us as the entrance to the parking area with flashlight in hand. The Continental breakfast was simple and limited but varied each day. There was Starbuck's coffee for my coffee afficianado son. The pool area was fairly large and most inviting and many guests availed themselves relaxing there. The property's location is just off the southern end of the Strip near the MGM Grand, the Luxor, and the Mandalay Bay resorts among others. It was also within a short half block walk to a Catholic church. The rooms were very clean and tasteful and had a full kitchen and utensils. Most rooms had balconies. Ours was a ground floor unit that opened to a central secluded courtyard. We would gladly stay at the Desert Rose again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

There is a RTA transit kiosk near the MGM Grand. The bus passes for 1 day to one week are a relative bargain, as you may ride the various buses as often as you like. Most visitors like us travel mostly up and down the Strip. The buses run every 10-15 minutes most of the day, and all night but at longer intervals. There is a large parking garage that is free at Planet Hollywood with easy access to "Miracle Mile Shops."

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neat Freak
Social Circle, GA.
May 6, 2010

Great Stay

Very friendly service, great housekeeping and nice rooms for a older hotel. Hotel staff was always on the move keeping everything clean and stocked. This is the first place I have ever stayed that I actually felt that the sheets & blankets for the pull out were actually new,clean sheets. The only draw back for me was the 1 very small restroom & vanity area that had no door to seperate it from the actual sleeping area. This hotel is also in a great location. If you are bringing kids this is a great hotel...no big casino to drag the kids through. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hollywood, CA
May 5, 2010

I love this place!

We love this resort! Pros: Great value price, Great location, Friendly staff, Free happy hour, Free Wi-Fi, Clean and Big room, Good bed mattress, Short distance from parking to room, Deep beth tub. Cons: Noise from upstair guest, Traffic noise from Reno ave.,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The room has a full size kitchen, so you can cook meal and save money!

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hollywood, CA
May 5, 2010

I love this place!

We love this resort! Pros: Great value price, Great location, Friendly staff, Free happy hour, Free Wi-Fi, Clean and Big room, Good bed mattress, Short distance from parking to room, Deep beth tub. Cons: Noise from upstair guest, Traffic noise from Reno ave.,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The room has a full size kitchen, so you can cook meal and save money!

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Samuelsmom
Business
York, PA
May 2, 2010

Good for families

The stay started off horribly. Even though my reservation was prepaid, the hotel wanted to charge my credit card $100 for incidentals which would be removed on checkout. I explained that I had very little cash and did not carry any high limit cards with me. The hotel manager embarrassed me in front of everyone telling me this was their policy, despite the fact that I explained repeatedly that I was on a very tight budget, I had no credit card which could be used, and had a PREPAID reservation-- After several minutes he finally said that he would make an exception, and turn off the ability to charge movies or make toll phone calls. After he repeated this several times, I finally lost it, telling him how much he was embarrassing me and that I was able to understand the concepts without him repeating them over and over. It was just a nightmare. The suite itself was roomy. the furnishings were looking a bit worn and while not dirty, did not look bright and clean. There was no view from the balcony. The pool looked nice. The continental breakfast was ok-- toast, hard boiled eggs, fruit, cereals, juice, and coffee. With the notable exception of check-in the staff was pleasant and friendly. The hotel was noticeably lacking amenities such as a restaurant, spa, gift shop, etc. I would compare this place to an extended stay hotel much more than a "resort." There was free wi-fi which was very convenient. All in all the stay was ok. If you plan to do a lot of sightseeing, than this place would be fine. If you are looking for a "resort" atmosphere than I would not choose this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are tons of places to eat. I found a little "hole in the wall" Chinese restaurant called "Food Express Chinese Restaurant" on Decatur St. which had amazing food. It is where locals seem to go-- I was the only non-asian in the place!

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Samuelsmom
Business
York, PA
May 2, 2010

Good for families

The stay started off horribly. Even though my reservation was prepaid, the hotel wanted to charge my credit card $100 for incidentals which would be removed on checkout. I explained that I had very little cash and did not carry any high limit cards with me. The hotel manager embarrassed me in front of everyone telling me this was their policy, despite the fact that I explained repeatedly that I was on a very tight budget, I had no credit card which could be used, and had a PREPAID reservation-- After several minutes he finally said that he would make an exception, and turn off the ability to charge movies or make toll phone calls. After he repeated this several times, I finally lost it, telling him how much he was embarrassing me and that I was able to understand the concepts without him repeating them over and over. It was just a nightmare. The suite itself was roomy. the furnishings were looking a bit worn and while not dirty, did not look bright and clean. There was no view from the balcony. The pool looked nice. The continental breakfast was ok-- toast, hard boiled eggs, fruit, cereals, juice, and coffee. With the notable exception of check-in the staff was pleasant and friendly. The hotel was noticeably lacking amenities such as a restaurant, spa, gift shop, etc. I would compare this place to an extended stay hotel much more than a "resort." There was free wi-fi which was very convenient. All in all the stay was ok. If you plan to do a lot of sightseeing, than this place would be fine. If you are looking for a "resort" atmosphere than I would not choose this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are tons of places to eat. I found a little "hole in the wall" Chinese restaurant called "Food Express Chinese Restaurant" on Decatur St. which had amazing food. It is where locals seem to go-- I was the only non-asian in the place!

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tucson, AZ
Apr 28, 2010

nice and quiet suite close to the strip

full kitchen, quiet, and clean provide a rare restful place compared with typical Casino hotel rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It's only a 5 minutes walk to MGM

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tucson, AZ
Apr 28, 2010

nice and quiet suite close to the strip

full kitchen, quiet, and clean provide a rare restful place compared with typical Casino hotel rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It's only a 5 minutes walk to MGM

Back to menu Return to top