$105 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 13, 2015

Desert Rose Resort

3 stars
5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89122
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
185 reviews
Good overall stay

We did not know what to expect when we arrived at desert rose but I must say we were very pleased.... See full review

  • scruffy
  • Dec 3, 2014
Best stay in Vegas EVER!!!!

I have been going to Vegas for the past 16 years for a trade show and always stayed in Casino... See full review

  • murphbmx
  • Sep 13, 2014
Just off the Strip, this all-suites resort feels worlds away
Looking for a more relaxed, family-friendly resort near the Las Vegas Strip? Try the well-hidden Desert Rose Resort, where pleasant, cheerful suites feature a modern twist on Southwest earth tones. Within a nicely landscaped property, amenities at Desert Rose include a heated swimming pool, hot tub, poolside BBQ area, fitness center and laundry facilities. Enjoy an on-site concierge to help with restaurant reservations, show tickets, and tours.
Highlights
  • Year-round pool deck complete with BBQ area
  • All-suite, family-friendly resort includes full kitchens in every room
  • Close to McCarran Airport
Location
The Desert Rose Resort is about one block east of the Las Vegas Strip, near the Tropicana resort.
Rooms
Spacious one-bedroom suites at 650 square feet each feature a king-sized pillow top bed, fully equipped kitchen with granite countertops and a coffee-maker, living room with sleeper sofa, plasma TV, CD player, dining area and balcony. The 900-square foot, two-bedroom suites at Desert Rose Resort offer one king and one queen bed with two bathrooms. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access, local calls and newspaper are also available at Desert Rose.
Transportation
  • McCarran International Airport (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Deuce Bus stops on the Strip
Attractions
  • The Lion Habitat at MGM Grand (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Shark Reef at Mandalay Bay (0.6 mi/0.97 km)
  • New York New York Roller Coaster (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Bali Hai Golf Club (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Fountains of Bellagio (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • "Welcome To Fabulous Las Vegas" sign (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Business

  • Meeting and event space available for up to 120 people.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Desert Rose Resort also booked these hotels.

Desert Rose Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
650 square feet, beautifully decorated with one king bed in one room and a queen bed in another. Triple sheeted with premium bedding, in room movies and games, safe, full kitchens with pots and pans, coffee maker, iron/iron board, and hair dryer.
Two Bedroom Suite
900 square feet, beautifully decorated with one king bed in one room and a queen bed in another. Triple sheeted with premium bedding, in room movies and games, safe, full kitchens with pots and pans, coffee maker, iron/iron board, and hair dryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Hooters Casino Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Mob Attraction Las Vegas: 0.2 mi
  • Tropicana Las Vegas: 0.3 mi
  • Canterbury Wedding Chapel: 0.3 mi
  • MGM Grand Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • M&M's World: 0.4 mi
  • Coney Island Emporium: 0.4 mi
  • Sundance Helicopters: 0.4 mi
  • Marina Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Excalibur Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Eiffel Tower Replica: 0.5 mi
  • New York Hotel Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Luxor Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Mandalay Bay: 0.6 mi
  • Wedding Chapel at Monte Carlo: 0.7 mi
  • Hooters Casino Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Mob Attraction Las Vegas: 0.2 mi
  • Tropicana Las Vegas: 0.3 mi
  • Canterbury Wedding Chapel: 0.3 mi
  • MGM Grand Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • M&M's World: 0.4 mi
  • Coney Island Emporium: 0.4 mi
  • Sundance Helicopters: 0.4 mi
  • Marina Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Excalibur Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Eiffel Tower Replica: 0.5 mi
  • New York Hotel Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Luxor Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Mandalay Bay: 0.6 mi
  • Wedding Chapel at Monte Carlo: 0.7 mi
  • Lance Burton Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Monte Carlo Resort and Casino: 0.7 mi
  • PH Live at Planet Hollywood Resort and Casino: 0.8 mi
  • Aria Resort and Casino: 0.8 mi
  • Crystals at CityCenter: 0.8 mi
  • Shark Reef at Mandalay Bay: 0.8 mi
  • Miracle Mile: 0.9 mi
  • Planet Hollywood Resort and Casino: 0.9 mi
  • Flashlight: 0.9 mi
  • Wild Wild West Gambling Hall & Hotel: 1 mi
  • Ellis Island Casino & Brewery: 1 mi
  • Hard Rock Hotel and Casino: 1 mi
  • Paris Las Vegas: 1 mi
  • The Cosmopolitan Resort & Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Bally's Las Vegas: 1.1 mi
  • Bellagio: 1.2 mi
  • Michael Gaughan Airport Slots: 1.2 mi
  • Bill's Gamblin' Hall and Saloon: 1.2 mi
  • Flamingo Las Vegas: 1.2 mi
  • Tuscany Suites and Casino: 1.3 mi
  • Omnimax Theater: 1.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Park Speedway (Jockey Club): 1.3 mi
  • Terrible's Hotel and Casino: 1.4 mi
  • Magic and Movie Hall of Fame: 1.4 mi
  • Cox Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Paradise: 1.4 mi
  • Harrah's Las Vegas: 1.4 mi
  • Imperial Palace: 1.4 mi
  • The Quad Resort and Casino: 1.4 mi
  • Caesars Palace: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (185)

Ratings and reviews for Desert Rose Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
185 out of 185
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.8

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, Tennessee
Nov 11, 2009

"WoW!!!, We will come back".

WoW!!!, Just WoW!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Las Vegas Outlet Center--Great!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison WI
Oct 22, 2009

No slots! Hooray!

This is a very nice place to stay. If you don't rent a car, the monorail can get you anywhere on the strip. Rooms are spacious and well appointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Red Rock Canyon is a great place to hike and bike. A wonderful alternative to the strip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jana Banana
Business
Louisville, KY
Oct 13, 2009

Nice hotel!

Enjoyed the pool and having a suite was nice. Breakfast was OK and more selections would have been nice. Overall, in nice condition. Requests were met promptly. This location was close to most entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Las Vegas Power Pass saved us money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diasspointed by Orbitz listing
Business
CT
Oct 6, 2009

Great Stay!

The Hotel is just off the strip. The rooms are spacious. The bathroom is a little tight. Everything was spotless. The bed was VERY comfortable. They serve free cocktails from 5-7pm Monday-Thursday and a free continental breakfast every day. Very nice stay and would go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Orleans has a great buffet deal $21.99 per person ALL day ALL you can eat. You can leave and return for breakfast, lunch & dinner. The food is delicious and its like 2 minute drive from the Desert Rose!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ohio Ed
Business
Holland, Ohio
Oct 3, 2009

The Good, Bad and Ugly

We booked a smoking room and when we got there, we were surprised to find the whole hotel is now "non-smoking". [...], a supervisor got on the line, called the hotel and the problem was resolved in 25 minutes as we booked a smoking room, it showed plainly that we did.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Driving & Construction... OMG... they are putting in new sewers right now and the city sure smell like it. Every road is tore up, the GPS unit went crazy... and you sure don't wish to walk up and down the strip, the smell is nauseating. Renting a car is a joke unless you plan day trips. Right now, with all the construction, driving is a joke. Cones of Death everywhere!!! We went to Fire Canyon just 1 hour west of LV and it was fantastic. The road backs takes you to the Hoover Dam and Lake Mead. I HIGHLY recommend doing that (take lunch with you, there are roadside BBQ'S in the park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rob5252
Business
Long Beach, CA
Sep 22, 2009

well priced and convenient resort

Conveniently located; very clean; very quiet. We stayed in a 2-bedroomed apartment, which was well appointed; very comfortable beds; enough space to provide 2 couples with enough privacy. I would most definitely return when next in Vegas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to Ellis Island for dinner in spite of reading mixed reviews. The food was above average - the $6.99 steak-dinner-special (not mentioned on the menu) was excellent value for money and really well executed. $1.50 brews are also great. Check it out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FLORIDA
Sep 21, 2009

FANTASTIC FAMILY GETAWAY

WE BOOKED THE HOTEL ON LINE AND IT'S THE BEST VALUE WE'VE EXPERIENCED IN OUR SEVERAL TRIPS TO LAS VEGAS. WE SPENT TIME WITH FRIENDS AND HAD THEM OVER TO OUR ROOM. THEY WERE VERY IMPRESSED WITH THE ACCOMODATIONS FOR THE PRICE. WE WOULD NOT HESITATE TO STAY AT THE DESERT ROSE ON OUR NEXT VISIT--WISH WE'D HAD MORE TIME FOR THIS STAY SINCE WE ENJOYED OUR ROOM AND THE STAFF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sierra Vista, AZ
Sep 13, 2009

Great for families!!

This is a great hotel for families, don't have to worry about walking through a smoke filled casino to get to your room! The pools are nice, breakfast and the manager's reception in the evening was a plus. Also free Wi-Fi, can't find that anywhere else in Vegas. Really was nice to have a full kitchen plus only a short walk to the strip!! Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Wal-Mart down the street, much cheaper to have snacks and drinks handy in the room than buy them on the strip!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rosario
Business
Waukegan, IL
Sep 9, 2009

Family Vacation

Excellent!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tomgwa
Business
Liverpool, U K
Sep 1, 2009

Really Good location for the price!

Taking everything into consideration, that is price , accommodation and hotel amenities, the only things letting this resort down are the small pool and the bland continental breakfasts. The breakfasts are adequate but lack variety especially when you are resident for more than a few days. We had a very good trip and I would certainly book this resort again. I should add that I found the staff more than helpful . That is all the staff from our room maid to the reception staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top