$93 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Desert Rose Resort

3 stars
5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89122
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
313 reviews
Fantastic Weekend

Our stay was outstanding and the staff at the Desert Rose Resort made all the more enjoyable. Thank... See full review

  • The Powell Clan
  • Feb 24, 2014
GREAT VALUE

OUR STAY AT THE DESERT ROSE WAS ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL. THE BREAKFAST BUFFET WAS GREAT A DIFFERENT... See full review

  • DON AND PAULA
  • Mar 4, 2013
Just off the Strip, this all-suites resort feels worlds away
Looking for a more relaxed, family-friendly resort near the Las Vegas Strip? Try the well-hidden Desert Rose Resort, where pleasant, cheerful suites feature a modern twist on Southwest earth tones. Within a nicely landscaped property, amenities at Desert Rose include a heated swimming pool, hot tub, poolside BBQ area, fitness center and laundry facilities. Enjoy an on-site concierge to help with restaurant reservations, show tickets, and tours.
Highlights
  • Year-round pool deck complete with BBQ area
  • All-suite, family-friendly resort includes full kitchens in every room
  • Close to McCarran Airport
Location
The Desert Rose Resort is about one block east of the Las Vegas Strip, near the Tropicana resort.
Rooms
Spacious one-bedroom suites at 650 square feet each feature a king-sized pillow top bed, fully equipped kitchen with granite countertops and a coffee-maker, living room with sleeper sofa, plasma TV, CD player, dining area and balcony. The 900-square foot, two-bedroom suites at Desert Rose Resort offer one king and one queen bed with two bathrooms. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access, local calls and newspaper are also available at Desert Rose.
Transportation
  • McCarran International Airport (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Deuce Bus stops on the Strip
Attractions
  • The Lion Habitat at MGM Grand (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Shark Reef at Mandalay Bay (0.6 mi/0.97 km)
  • New York New York Roller Coaster (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Bali Hai Golf Club (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Fountains of Bellagio (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • "Welcome To Fabulous Las Vegas" sign (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Business

  • Meeting and event space available for up to 120 people.

Hotel Map

36.0984 -115.1671
Area served
Las Vegas Nevada, Hoover Dam, Henderson, Green Valley
Nearby airports
Las Vegas McCarren International Airport-1.5 miles
Area description
South Strip: One block east of Las Vegas Boulevard, off of Tropicana

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Desert Rose Resort also booked these hotels.

Desert Rose Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
650 square feet, beautifully decorated with one king bed in one room and a queen bed in another. Triple sheeted with premium bedding, in room movies and games, safe, full kitchens with pots and pans, coffee maker, iron/iron board, and hair dryer.
Two Bedroom Suite
900 square feet, beautifully decorated with one king bed in one room and a queen bed in another. Triple sheeted with premium bedding, in room movies and games, safe, full kitchens with pots and pans, coffee maker, iron/iron board, and hair dryer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Hooters Casino Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Mob Attraction Las Vegas: 0.2 mi
  • Tropicana Las Vegas: 0.3 mi
  • Canterbury Wedding Chapel: 0.3 mi
  • MGM Grand Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • M&M's World: 0.4 mi
  • Coney Island Emporium: 0.4 mi
  • Sundance Helicopters: 0.4 mi
  • Marina Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Excalibur Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Eiffel Tower Replica: 0.5 mi
  • New York Hotel Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Luxor Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Mandalay Bay: 0.6 mi
  • Wedding Chapel at Monte Carlo: 0.7 mi
  • Hooters Casino Hotel: 0.1 mi
  • Mob Attraction Las Vegas: 0.2 mi
  • Tropicana Las Vegas: 0.3 mi
  • Canterbury Wedding Chapel: 0.3 mi
  • MGM Grand Las Vegas: 0.4 mi
  • M&M's World: 0.4 mi
  • Coney Island Emporium: 0.4 mi
  • Sundance Helicopters: 0.4 mi
  • Marina Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Excalibur Hotel and Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Eiffel Tower Replica: 0.5 mi
  • New York Hotel Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Luxor Casino: 0.5 mi
  • Mandalay Bay: 0.6 mi
  • Wedding Chapel at Monte Carlo: 0.7 mi
  • Lance Burton Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Monte Carlo Resort and Casino: 0.7 mi
  • PH Live at Planet Hollywood Resort and Casino: 0.8 mi
  • Aria Resort and Casino: 0.8 mi
  • Crystals at CityCenter: 0.8 mi
  • Shark Reef at Mandalay Bay: 0.8 mi
  • Miracle Mile: 0.9 mi
  • Planet Hollywood Resort and Casino: 0.9 mi
  • Flashlight: 0.9 mi
  • Wild Wild West Gambling Hall & Hotel: 1 mi
  • Ellis Island Casino & Brewery: 1 mi
  • Hard Rock Hotel and Casino: 1 mi
  • Paris Las Vegas: 1 mi
  • The Cosmopolitan Resort & Casino: 1.1 mi
  • Bally's Las Vegas: 1.1 mi
  • Bellagio: 1.2 mi
  • Michael Gaughan Airport Slots: 1.2 mi
  • Bill's Gamblin' Hall and Saloon: 1.2 mi
  • Flamingo Las Vegas: 1.2 mi
  • Tuscany Suites and Casino: 1.3 mi
  • Omnimax Theater: 1.3 mi
  • Las Vegas Park Speedway (Jockey Club): 1.3 mi
  • Terrible's Hotel and Casino: 1.4 mi
  • Magic and Movie Hall of Fame: 1.4 mi
  • Cox Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Paradise: 1.4 mi
  • Harrah's Las Vegas: 1.4 mi
  • Imperial Palace: 1.4 mi
  • The Quad Resort and Casino: 1.4 mi
  • Caesars Palace: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (313)

Ratings and reviews for Desert Rose Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
313 out of 313
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.8

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
First Time Vegas Visitors
Phoenixville, PA
Jun 10, 2010

Great hotel and a great price

This was a great retreat only half a block from the Las Vegas Blvd. We enjoyed the walking distance to MGM, Luxor, etc. and the monorail, while staying at a very quiet hotel with ample space in the room and at the pool for a much smaller number of guests than at the large casinos. The staff was extremely accommodating and made our first Las Vegas vacation a very memorable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a 24h ticket for the Monorail if you want to check out different attractions/casinos along the strip. The MGM station of the Monorail is less than 10 minutes walking distance from Desert Rose Resort.

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elaine and Jim
Washington, D.C.
Jun 9, 2010

Diamond in the Rough...

Loved the layout of the hotel which meant that anyroom was a minute from the pool. Outdoor breezeways instead of dark hallways is what we wanted and got. Every employee greeted us with a smile and hello. Awesome location yet hidden from the crowds of the strip. Pool was never overly crowded, but that could be just this time since it is a little on the small side. Happy Hours Mon-Thurs was an unexpected surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel next door had an awesome "Prince" tribute show that was fairly inexpensive.

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elaine and Jim
Washington, D.C.
Jun 9, 2010

Diamond in the Rough...

Loved the layout of the hotel which meant that anyroom was a minute from the pool. Outdoor breezeways instead of dark hallways is what we wanted and got. Every employee greeted us with a smile and hello. Awesome location yet hidden from the crowds of the strip. Pool was never overly crowded, but that could be just this time since it is a little on the small side. Happy Hours Mon-Thurs was an unexpected surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel next door had an awesome "Prince" tribute show that was fairly inexpensive.

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linda N
Ft Myers Fl
Jun 7, 2010

Great location for price

Just a short walk to busy strip. We did several day trips from here. This was our first trip to Las Vegas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linda N
Ft Myers Fl
Jun 7, 2010

Great location for price

Just a short walk to busy strip. We did several day trips from here. This was our first trip to Las Vegas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Adam Ramirez
San Antonio
Jun 2, 2010

Awesome!

Hotel? Nope, This is a apartment, very nice, big rooms, 3 tv's, a huge couch, 2 nice bedrooms, about a 5 minute walk from all the action, we will be back, very soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Adam Ramirez
San Antonio
Jun 2, 2010

Awesome!

Hotel? Nope, This is a apartment, very nice, big rooms, 3 tv's, a huge couch, 2 nice bedrooms, about a 5 minute walk from all the action, we will be back, very soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Knoxville, TN
May 30, 2010

Fantastic property

wonderful, easy to find location near the strip and the airport. Complimentary Starbuck's coffee a plus! Friendly, helpful staff. Very clean and well kept property. Lots of security onsite. Enjoyed being away from the casinos. Some noise, was primarily because we had an outside corner unit (2BR, 2 BA). Workout facility needed an update.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to see the Beatles "LOVE" at the Mirage - a Cirque du Soille production. Excellent! Also the Tournament of Kings show at the Excalibur was very good - concierge has discount tickets.

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JT Honolulu
Honolulu, Hawaii
May 29, 2010

Home again in Las Vegas ( :

We often stay at the Desert Rose when going on Vacation. Love the feeling of having a private apartment right on the strip. It feels like you have a vacation Home instead of staying in a cold hotel room or(box) they all seem the same to me. Desert Rose is small and nothing like the mega resorts- therefore you get more special treatment and feel more at home. It is an older style resort-and does have wear and tear,but to us that is part of the charm and feeling of comfort. Sitting in a sterile new enviroment with slick minimalistic furniture doesnt feel comfortable to us. So the well worn Desert Rose is perfect- like wearing an old pair of shoes. It fits us. We swam in the heated pool and made some delicious meals in the cool little kitchens. We went over to see our concert at Mandalay Bay IHOP is close by for breakfasts- and there is just so much to do our trip is always over in a blink. We sleep so well in the huge beds when we need down time to recharge. Love you Desert Rose! ( :

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Tropicana Blvd- has awalmart for all drugstore and other needs- cheaper and a one stop shopping place.

Review of Desert Rose Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JT Honolulu
Honolulu, Hawaii
May 29, 2010

Home again in Las Vegas ( :

We often stay at the Desert Rose when going on Vacation. Love the feeling of having a private apartment right on the strip. It feels like you have a vacation Home instead of staying in a cold hotel room or(box) they all seem the same to me. Desert Rose is small and nothing like the mega resorts- therefore you get more special treatment and feel more at home. It is an older style resort-and does have wear and tear,but to us that is part of the charm and feeling of comfort. Sitting in a sterile new enviroment with slick minimalistic furniture doesnt feel comfortable to us. So the well worn Desert Rose is perfect- like wearing an old pair of shoes. It fits us. We swam in the heated pool and made some delicious meals in the cool little kitchens. We went over to see our concert at Mandalay Bay IHOP is close by for breakfasts- and there is just so much to do our trip is always over in a blink. We sleep so well in the huge beds when we need down time to recharge. Love you Desert Rose! ( :

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Tropicana Blvd- has awalmart for all drugstore and other needs- cheaper and a one stop shopping place.

Back to menu Return to top