$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 30, 2014

Hotel La Fonda de Taos

2 stars
108 South Plaza, Taos, NM 87571
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
14 reviews
La Fonda

Great location right on the plaza. Beautiful old hotel with great staff. See full review

  • BABSMB
  • Jul 28, 2014
Retirement trip

Room is small, but comfortable. On the Plaza Thursday concert was great. See full review

  • Roger l.
  • Aug 18, 2014
Historical boutique hotel located on the famous Taos Plaza. Authentic Southwestern ambience with modern amenities.

Hotel Map

36.4069 -105.5742
Nearby airports
Airport Information Not available, (TSM), 5.00, MI;
Area description
Rural

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel La Fonda de Taos also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Hotel La Fonda de Taos Rooms

King Suite
Bedroom King/ Living Room Queen Sofa
Plaza Penthouse
1200 sq/ft apartment/king bedroom/queen sofa/kitchen/living room.
Standard King
King bed with luxurious linens
Standard Queen
Queen bed with luxurious linens

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Phone service
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Night club
Golf
Solarium
Boating
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Skeet shooting
Cross country skiing
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Blackboard
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Fire place
Sofa bed
Sitting area
Shower
Dining guide
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub
Lunch

Dining

Restaurant
Walking to Bent Street Cafe/Grahams Grill/Doc Martins/Alley Cantina/Eskes Brewpub/Michaels Kitchen

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (14)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 14
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Duluth, MN
Jun 13, 2011

fabulous

Went to Taos for a weekend getaway. LaFonda was the perfect base for exploring Taos and definitely added to our experience. The room was small (which felt cozy and comfortable), clean, and kinda kitschy (in a good way). Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Bed was just right for a good sleep. If you want antiseptic, anonymous, designer surroundings with up-to-the-second amenities, go to some big-name business chain in Des Moines. If you want a classy, comfortable stay in an artsy mountain town, choose LaFonda.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

One of the best meals we've ever had -- La Meze. It's a little way out of town, but hotel staff directed us and it's worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Carlsbad
Sep 28, 2008

Superb location, helpful staff

Situated in the heart of Taos (in the Paza itself!) one couldn't ask for a better location. The room was on the small side, but comfortable and tastefully decorated. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BABSMB
St Paul MN
Jul 28, 2014

La Fonda

Great location right on the plaza. Beautiful old hotel with great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Oct 19, 2009

Great location, Great price

We loved this hotel, including the D. H. Lawrence paintings! Service was excellent (one of the people at the front desk gave us a private tour of there exhibit owned by the owners of the hotel.) The room was small but very comfortable, and much larger than the rooms our friends had at another hotel for far more money. Being right on the plaza was very convenient (everyone else there for the wedding, and staying at different locations all came to the Plaza, and we just kept bumping into them as we came and went from our hotel!) I recommend this hotel very highly. There is a very good restaurant, right in the lobby. The only down side was that the restaurant was a bit pricey!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Graham's Grill was GREAT

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mistimo
Minden La
Feb 18, 2013

Awesome hotel!

The staff couldn't have been any nicer! Hotel had A lot of history and charm! Would def consider staying There again. Frank was awesome! The Coffe shop inside the hotel was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 17, 2007

My review of Hotel La Fonda de Taos

The city was great, and the hotel staff were wonderful. The rooms were a bit small for the price, but clean and comfortable. The hotel is centrally located and the D.H. Lawerence exhabits was magnificant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

1. Shopping is VERY close to the hotel! Rocky Mountain Chocalate factory right next door. 2. Dining close, in hotel and in the square. If you have transportation, Michael's diner on the main street is excellent. 3. Casino close and small, museums close, atmosphere excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nana Vall
Guymon, OK
Sep 26, 2012

Historic Taos travel

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. If browsing the plaza and walking to pubs and eateries is your focus, La Fonda works perfectly. I wanted the quintessential Taos experience and was not disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Sep 29, 2009

Enjoyed our stay

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Our room overlooked the plaza and we enjoyed the view. There is no outside patio or outside seating. A coffee shop next to the hotel gave us free coffee. The room was clean and well taken care of. The room was small but well furnished and functional. The staff gave us free bottled water as they were concerned about how out of town guests adapt to the dry climate. Hotel owners appeared to try to incorporate local art into the room and the towel rack and the possibly hand made door numbers. Overall it was pleasant hotel with friendly staff and a historic place to stay as it has been refurbished. There has been care given to this hotel. We would return to this hotel if we visit Taos again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of shopping right outside the hotel. There are cafes and restaurants within walking distance. Very convenient location. The hotel also has a restaurant but we did not eat there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mary201
Denver
Jul 4, 2014

Great location

Nice hotel,great location and very friendly staff. Room was fine clean and comfortable. We would go back and stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MaeBRight
ABQ, NM
Jan 28, 2013

Historic Inn right on the plaza

The real deal, a beautiful old hotel that has been well-maintained. Our room was pretty crowded, not meant for the larger beds of today.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search