$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Hotel La Fonda de Taos

2 stars
View map of 108 South Plaza, Taos, NM 87571

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
19 reviews
Road trip

All was well when staying here. Cannot beat the location and room quality. Wonderful place!! See full review

  • Lan
  • Jul 17, 2015
Great two night stay

I had always wanted to stay at La Fonda since visiting Taos in the 60s and 70s. This was my chance... See full review

  • SB Suzi
  • Jun 30, 2015
Historical boutique hotel located on the famous Taos Plaza. Authentic Southwestern ambience with modern amenities.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel La Fonda de Taos also booked these hotels.

★★★
$98
3.8 / 5 13 reviews
★★
$99
3.6 / 5 17 reviews
★★★
$146
4.1 / 5 11 reviews
★★★
$62
3.2 / 5 82 reviews
★★
$44
3.3 / 5 23 reviews
★★★
$113
3.8 / 5 35 reviews
★★★★
$179
4.3 / 5 27 reviews

Hotel La Fonda de Taos Rooms

King Suite
Bedroom King/ Living Room Queen Sofa
Plaza Penthouse
1200 sq/ft apartment/king bedroom/queen sofa/kitchen/living room.
Standard King
King bed with luxurious linens
Standard Queen
Queen bed with luxurious linens

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Phone service
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Night club
Golf
Solarium
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Blackboard
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Fire place
Sofa bed
Sitting area
Shower
Dining guide
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub
Lunch

Dining

Restaurant
Walking to Bent Street Cafe/Grahams Grill/Doc Martins/Alley Cantina/Eskes Brewpub/Michaels Kitchen

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mistimo
Couples
Minden La
Feb 18, 2013

Awesome hotel!

The staff couldn't have been any nicer! Hotel had A lot of history and charm! Would def consider staying There again. Frank was awesome! The Coffe shop inside the hotel was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Jun 17, 2007

My review of Hotel La Fonda de Taos

The city was great, and the hotel staff were wonderful. The rooms were a bit small for the price, but clean and comfortable. The hotel is centrally located and the D.H. Lawerence exhabits was magnificant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

1. Shopping is VERY close to the hotel! Rocky Mountain Chocalate factory right next door. 2. Dining close, in hotel and in the square. If you have transportation, Michael's diner on the main street is excellent. 3. Casino close and small, museums close, atmosphere excellent.

Review of Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Duluth, MN
Jun 13, 2011

fabulous

Went to Taos for a weekend getaway. LaFonda was the perfect base for exploring Taos and definitely added to our experience. The room was small (which felt cozy and comfortable), clean, and kinda kitschy (in a good way). Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Bed was just right for a good sleep. If you want antiseptic, anonymous, designer surroundings with up-to-the-second amenities, go to some big-name business chain in Des Moines. If you want a classy, comfortable stay in an artsy mountain town, choose LaFonda.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

One of the best meals we've ever had -- La Meze. It's a little way out of town, but hotel staff directed us and it's worth it.

Review of Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Carlsbad
Sep 28, 2008

Superb location, helpful staff

Situated in the heart of Taos (in the Paza itself!) one couldn't ask for a better location. The room was on the small side, but comfortable and tastefully decorated. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Denver, CO
Oct 19, 2009

Great location, Great price

We loved this hotel, including the D. H. Lawrence paintings! Service was excellent (one of the people at the front desk gave us a private tour of there exhibit owned by the owners of the hotel.) The room was small but very comfortable, and much larger than the rooms our friends had at another hotel for far more money. Being right on the plaza was very convenient (everyone else there for the wedding, and staying at different locations all came to the Plaza, and we just kept bumping into them as we came and went from our hotel!) I recommend this hotel very highly. There is a very good restaurant, right in the lobby. The only down side was that the restaurant was a bit pricey!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Graham's Grill was GREAT

Review of Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BABSMB
Couples
St Paul MN
Jul 28, 2014

La Fonda

Great location right on the plaza. Beautiful old hotel with great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SB Suzi
Couples
N/A
Jun 30, 2015

Great two night stay

I had always wanted to stay at La Fonda since visiting Taos in the 60s and 70s. This was my chance and we thoroughly enjoyed the historic ambiance, the delightful room overlooking the Plaza, and the friendly staff. The coffee shop in the lobby serving Starbucks coffee was an added treat. We hope to stay here again when we return from the east coast this fall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lan
Single
N/A
Jul 17, 2015

Road trip

All was well when staying here. Cannot beat the location and room quality. Wonderful place!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nana Vall
Couples
Guymon, OK
Sep 26, 2012

Historic Taos travel

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. If browsing the plaza and walking to pubs and eateries is your focus, La Fonda works perfectly. I wanted the quintessential Taos experience and was not disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MaeBRight
Couples
ABQ, NM
Jan 28, 2013

Historic Inn right on the plaza

The real deal, a beautiful old hotel that has been well-maintained. Our room was pretty crowded, not meant for the larger beds of today.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top