$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 21, 2014 Check-out: Oct 22, 2014

Villas de Santa Fe - A Diamond Resorts International Destination

3 stars
400 Griffin St, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
144 reviews
Home away from home

Great service and great rooms. Very comfortable condo living and close walk to downtown. Would... See full review

  • Supertramp71
  • Oct 18, 2014
Ideal choice

This was our first trip to Santa Fe and the Villas helped make this a great visit. Staff was... See full review

  • Jim at the lake
  • Oct 4, 2014
Convenient shuttle and in-room kitchen make Santa Fe hotel a good value

Villas De Santa Fe is a three-story hotel located in a quiet residential area near downtown Santa Fe, New Mexico. Highlights include an outdoor pool and free shuttle service to exciting cultural sights such as the historic plaza five blocks south. With standard motel essentials on hand, kitchenettes in every room and complimentary transportation, visitors without a car will find Villas De Santa Fe an easy and affordable option.

Highlights
  • 2 blocks to convention center and 5 blocks to downtown historic plaza
  • Complimentary shuttle service around town
  • Free parking
  • Complimentary coffee and juice 
  • Heated outdoor pool
Rooms

All units at Villas De Santa Fe are one-bedroom kitchen suites. These 528 square-foot rooms have sofa sleepers in the living area to accommodate 4. Gas fireplaces and balconies are optional. Enjoy the convenience of preparing meals in a fully-equipped kitchenette with microwave, blender, coffee-maker, cookware, dishwasher, refrigerator and stovetop. Wireless Internet access is available (fees apply). ADA compliant rooms can be requested. Housekeeping service is limited. All units at Villas De Santa Fe are non-smoking.

Features

Complimentary coffee and juice is available 24 hours a day in the Villas De Santa Fe lobby. Relax at the outdoor pool (heated seasonally). Also find two hot tubs, an on-site fitness center, game room with pool table and a barbecue picnic area with gas grills. Additional services at this hotel include a 24-hour front desk with safe deposit boxes and a guest laundry facility. Walk to the Santa Fe convention center and nearby restaurants.

Transportation
  • New Mexico Rail Runner Express Santa Fe depot (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Santa Fe Municipal Airport (10 mi/16.2 km)
  • Albuquerque International Sunport airport (66 mi/106 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle around town available
Attractions
  • Santa Fe Convention Center (2 blocks)
  • Santa Fe Plaza National Historic Landmark/Downtown (0.5 mi/800 m)
  • Santa Fe University of Art and Design (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Santa Fe Ski Area (15.8 mi/25.4 km)
  • Taos, NM (70.2 mi/113 km)
Business
  • Faxing and photocopying services (fees apply)
  • Wireless Internet access is available (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • ALL of our resorts will require a major credit card ONLY deposit for all guests. No cash or debit cards allowed.
  • The deposit will be $100.00 USD and shall be returned when the rooms have been inspected and no damage has been done or items are not missing. If there is damage or items missing the guest will be charged.
  • Please note that this property does not have daily maid service.
  • No pets allowed.
  • Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

35.6924 -105.9429
Area served
Santa Fe, NM
Nearby airports
Albuquerque International Sunport
Area description
Villas De Santa Fe is located approximately 65 miles from the Albuquerque International Sunport and five blocks from the historic Santa Fe Plaza.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villas de Santa Fe - A Diamond Resorts International Destination also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Villas de Santa Fe - A Diamond Resorts International Destination Rooms

One bedroom deluxe includes free parking
Suite features living/dining area and kitchenette, separate bedroom with king bed or double beds, fold-out couch in living room, gas fireplace, TV with remote, direct dial phone. Some units have a balcony or patio. Please note - all rooms are non-smoking.
One bedroom standard includes free parking
Suite features living/dining area and kitchenette, separate bedroom with king bed or double beds, fold-out couch in living room, TV with remote, direct dial phone. Some units have balcony or patio. Please note that all rooms are non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant / Dining Information
Restaurants Nearby- Ore House - Steaks 5 Blocks North Bagel Mania - Sandwiches 2 Blocks North Diegos - New Mexican 2 Blocks East

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (144)

Ratings and reviews for Villas de Santa Fe - A Diamond Resorts International Destination

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villas de Santa Fe - A Diamond Resorts International Destination

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
OKC, OK
Aug 8, 2011

DO NOT STAY HERE!

I had stayed in this hotel last year for two nights with my family and we liked it, so when my daughter needed to attend a week long class through her university, I drove her and we both stayed here again, but this time for nine days, and the experience was very different. First of all, our room was dirty, I had maintenance in the room for a broken pipe under a sink twice, we were not given ANY cleaning service, and during three days of our stay, they were jackhammering outside our window repairing the spa which of course was closed to us and upon complaining they told me [...] and that there was a sign posted in the front receiption which is across the street from our room and after traveling 10 hours to arrive it was not brought to our attention. The refrigator came off and on making a loud noice. They offer coffee, tea and orange juice in the morning to their guests, but you have to walk across the street and into the main reception area to get this if you are located in any of the rooms there. The elevators in the building that we were staying in were quite scary to me because they would not always function properly. The one morning that I did go across the street for coffee for both of us, the front receptionists just watched as I struggled to carry two coffees, my entry key and purse; not getting up to help me by opening the door or anything; just sat and watched me struggle; no gentlemen here. We had called ahead and told them that we would not be able to arrive until just before midnight, but had to wait outside for a while until a man finally came to let us in. There is no restaurant at this property and you have to walk approximately seven to eight blocks to eat in one in Santa Fe. You can cook in your room and bring food in, but if you stay for any length of time, you will not want to cook in your room. You might as well stay at home and in regards to this hotel, I wish that we had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Allow yourself enough time to catch their automobile shuttle to go into Santa Fe Plaza district.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villas de Santa Fe - A Diamond Resorts International Destination

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle WA.
Mar 30, 2010

Under Construction!!

Lets just say I was far from happy waking up to construction in the room next to us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villas de Santa Fe - A Diamond Resorts International Destination

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Angry with Diamond Prop
Business
Enicinitas CA
Sep 16, 2011

DO NOT RECOMMEND

AVOID ALL DIAMOND PROPERTIES - POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE AND INFLEXIBLE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villas de Santa Fe - A Diamond Resorts International Destination

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Englewood, CO
Aug 1, 2008

Nice room, but with problems.

Overall, we enjoyed the stay. However, the problems that we had were: Noisy room - by the exit door, by the stairs, there was a water pump that came on everytime someone used water nearby, we could hear the family in the next room in their normal conversations. Guess that we expected more for the price in the way of amenities. No maid service - only after reading the brochure after check in, we understood that there was no housekeeping service unless you paid an extra $35 per week. It was OK, but there are some other great places in SF that are better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Plaza

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villas de Santa Fe - A Diamond Resorts International Destination

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
AZ
Apr 26, 2010

Disappointed

Great service at check in and friendly. However when I requested a late checkout (only 45 minutes) they said no. My husband and I were doing a duathlon that morning and would not get back in time for the scheduled 11am checkout. We desperately wanted a few minutes to shower before heading out for our 6 hr drive back home. I explained this. It wasn't like I needed a late checkout cause I was out partying the night before. When I pressed, they said they were booked and could charge me a half night (for 45 minutes!?) extra. I asked if he could check with the manager? Unfortunately, he could not make that decision? He later called me and said he could not get a hold of his manager, but he went ahead and authorized a 45 minute late checkout. I asked him if he was going to charge me extra? He said "no" and I asked again just to make sure. I thanked him, but he just hung up on me. The next morning around 11:15 the manager actually called our room to say he was going to charge $75 for the extra 45 minutes! We did not authorize that charge. When confronted face to face, he was reserved and tried to make us feel we were in the wrong for his employee authorizing a mere 45 minute late checkout. He went on to say that we got such a good deal with [...] for a room that is typically $XXX/night. Now the truth! We were treated differently the moment they realized we paid thru [...] for significantly less than their advertised rate. That is not my fault if they are unhappy with rates charged by [...]. Don't they know everyone shops for hotel rates online?! That was one of the worst customer service experiences I've ever had. Obviously the employees take their management style cues from their manager and it showed. He was just awful and told us to have a terrible day. He never offered to have the heated conversation away from other guests. I replied I did not think this was an unreasonable request? (is it?). Do not patronize this hotel unless you want a super sweet hot tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villas de Santa Fe - A Diamond Resorts International Destination

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 21, 2008

So-so Honeymoon

For our honeymoon, my new husband and I decided to hit up Santa Fe. Sure, it wasn't like the beaches that most people go to, but since our relationship wasn't very typical, we didn't think that we needed a typical honeymoon either. We arrived at about 1am at the Villas de Santa Fe. And we were tired. The night check-in guy went through all the details of checking us in, and told us to move our car to a particular lot, handed us a parking pass place-holder (until we could come back in the morning and get a real pass) and sent us on our way. It wasn't until later that I realized that we weren't going to get any housekeeping services...I don't think I caught that in his spiel. We get up to the second floor, oohing and ahhing over the nicely appointed room (two huge flat-screen LCD televisions? Oh! what a cute kitchenette!). The Husband opens the fridge to find that there are three yogurts and a half-eaten sandwich left over from the previous guests. (I guess since I picked the hotel, he got to pick up on all the faults. Men.) The night manager assures us that the real manager could help us in the morning. Okay, we'll go to sleep. Get some breakfast in the morning and talk to the manager. We'll get a parking pass and some maps of the area. The next morning, the manager was absolutely unapologetic. She shouldn't have promised you that. He shrugged by way of explanation. Um...so that's it then? He shrugged again and smiled dismissively. Well, I still need a parking pass... He informed me that the concierge could get that for me -- he would be in at 12:30, it was now 9:30am, and that my car would probably be fine until then. Probably. Meanwhile The Husband is looking for something that resembles breakfast. He finds coffee and orange juice...and a tray of tasty looking mini-muffins. I begin to explain the situation to him and he picks up the muffin and prepares to take a bite. Excuse me, are you here for a tour? a very efficient lady asks me from behind the concierge's very efficient looking desk. Because those muffins are for people going on the tour. The Husband had already chomped down. Pha-wy he mumbles, mouth half full of mini-muffin. She turns away. From that point on, we didn't expect great service, and we didn't seek it out. There was absolutely nothing that any of the staff did -- other than keeping up the hotel, I suppose, and handing us our keys -- that made us feel welcome. We found our own maps. We made our own reservations. We explored the town on our own. We DID enjoy the room (once we'd put the beds together...he he he...) and the awesome hot tub behind our suite and we also really enjoyed the convenient downtown location. All in all, we had a fabulous time in Santa Fe, despite initial hotel issues. The room was really nice (that's the only reason we stayed) as were the amenities. However, would I stay here again? Probably not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Get a car...and a gps system...and drive! There is much to see and do in Santa Fe, but there is so much to discover in Northern New Mexico. Bandelier National Monument, Taos Pueblo, and Los Alamos are just a few of the places that we enjoyed making excursions too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villas de Santa Fe - A Diamond Resorts International Destination

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Berthoud, CO
Jul 5, 2009

Not much service.

Apparently, daily maid service was extra. Our particular rate did not include maid service and we were unaware of this until the end of day two when we read one of many documents we received from the hotel. By this time, I didn't even bother with the extra charge. I have never had this happen to me at a hotel. Maybe because we usually stay at the Loretto in Santa Fe. We just thought having the kitchenette would be great with the kids. It was, however; we will be going back to the Loretto in the future. I like service on vacation! There were many light bulbs out in our room and we had to go to the front desk and get light bulbs ourselves and when we asked for more hangers, we were told we would have to ask the following day for them because housekeeping was closed. This didn't help me when putting clothes away. I took a shower and the drain was plugged (disgusting!). My husband (a plumber) had to fix it with his tools. Not a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a wonderful flea market on St. Francis by the Opera. It has many local artists that sell their wares slightly cheaper than in town on the plaza. It's open Friday, Saturday and Sunday.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villas de Santa Fe - A Diamond Resorts International Destination

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Goldsboro, NC
Apr 23, 2010

old and unfriendly

If you like hotels that have dirty carpet, old smell with crumbling sidwalks and balcony with very unfriendly people, loud noises during normal use from rooms above, you will love this hotel. Additionally it was a real problem getting luggage from the parking lot through a mase of doors, elevator to room with no help available. Enjoy the great things about Santa Fe by staying elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villas de Santa Fe - A Diamond Resorts International Destination

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DAK73
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 6, 2012

Comfortable home away from home

We stayed at this hotel while attending a family wedding in Santa Fe. The rooms were comfortable, the fully-stocked kitchen was great and the kids loved the pool. The area immediately around the hotel is nothing special, but it is a very short walk to "downtown" Santa Fe and a small shopping center (Starbucks!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villas de Santa Fe - A Diamond Resorts International Destination

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ksbikr
Business
Wichita, KS
Jun 30, 2013

Good location on edge of Historic District

Rooms were clean and staff very friendly. Pool needed cleaning. If you stay more than one night there is no daily room cleaning. Towel replacement is by request. Better price per night here than rooms in the historic district. Walking is close to most attractions or a hotel shuttle is available. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top