$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

3 stars
744 Calle Mejia, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
98 reviews
Sena Wedding

the hotel was very accommodating to my needs. I was very appreciative of all they did for us. The... See full review

  • garciasnmel
  • Jun 24, 2013
Nice place

For the price it was average. It is a nice comfortable hotel in a good location. There is a shuttle... See full review

  • flipper66
  • Oct 6, 2014
Overlook downtown Santa Fe from hills near Opera house

The Lodge at Santa Fe is a filled with rich character and stunning views, perched in the Sangre de Cristo foothills. This inviting retreat is operated by a native U.S. hotelier who uses exquisite craftwork to carry the Anasazi heritage throughout the property. The Lodge at Santa Fe is home to a restaurant, chapel and seasonal entertainment. A scenic lounge patio overlooks the adobe roofs of historic Santa Fe below.

Highlights
  • Intimate 40-seat wedding chapel showcases New Mexican artistry
  • Free shuttle to Historic Santa Fe Plaza
  • Live Flamenco Entertainment throughout the year on select days
  • Pets welcome (fees apply)
  • Rooms feature Southwestern decor, original artwork, photography
Location

The Lodge at Santa Fe is one mile north of the historic Santa Fe Plaza, in the foothills of the Sangre de Cristo mountains. It is one of the closest hotels to the Santa Fe Opera and en route to Taos, NM.

For GPS directions, use 744 Calle Mejia Santa Fe, NM 87501.

Rooms

The two-story Lodge at Santa Fe has 127 rooms and 25 suites adorned with original New Mexico photography and southwest textile designs. Standard amenities include free Wi-Fi, newspapers and in-room coffee. Suites have refrigerators and microwaves, and some suites offer sleeper sofas, Jacuzzi tubs, kiva fireplaces and balconies.

Features

The Lodge at Santa Fe offers free parking, on-site laundry and concierge service. Spread out under the colorful New Mexico sky on cushioned lounge chairs at the large seasonal outdoor pool and hot tub courtyard or on the inviting grassy lawn. There's also a romantic vibe in the air - the hotel has an intimate wedding chapel.

Dining

When you travel to Santa Fe, be prepared for an exciting array of dining choices. From New Mexico's own southwest flavors to traditional American favorites, you'll find every cuisine under the sun in Santa Fe.

Transportation
  • New Mexico Rail Runner Express Santa Fe depot (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Santa Fe Municipal Airport (11 mi/17.7 km)
  • Albuquerque International Sunport airport (66.5 mi/107 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle service available
Attractions
  • Santa Fe Plaza National Historic Landmark/Downtown (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Santa Fe Opera (10.2 mi/16.4 km)
  • Santa Fe Ski Area (16.4 mi/26.5 km)
  • Los Alamos, NM (34.5 mi/55.5 km)
  • Taos, NM (69 mi/111 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting-ready suites
  • 7,000 square feet of conference space
  • Faxing and photocopying services (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Notice: The swimming pool will be closed for the season on 30 September 2013.
  • Heritage Hotels and Resorts has a corporate policy that requires the minimum age of a guest checking in to be 21 years of age. A major provision is that we allow Military Active Duty to check in with Military ID at the age of 18.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts Rooms

Traditional King bedded Rooms
These spacious guestrooms are furnished with one king-sized bed. Enjoy the stunning original art and photographs that complement the room, as well as handcrafted furniture. Includes work desk, sitting area, cable TV, complimentary wireless internet access, original artwork, coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, room service (seasonal), opening windows and Southwestern decor and furnishings.
Traditional Double Rooms
These spacious guestrooms are furnished with two double-sized beds. Enjoy the stunning original art and photographs that complement the room, as well as handcrafted furniture. Includes work desk, sitting area, cable TV, complimentary wireless internet access, original artwork, coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, room service (seasonal) and Southwestern decor and furnishings.
Junior Suite, 1 King Bed
Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels are offered for your entertainment. Request an in-room massage. A coffee/tea maker is provided. Bathroom amenities include complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer. Air conditioning, a desk, and a separate sitting area are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
Junior Suite, 2 Double Beds
Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels are offered for your entertainment. Request an in-room massage. A coffee/tea maker is provided. Bathroom amenities include complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer. Air conditioning, a desk, and a separate sitting area are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
Mini Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofabed
Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels are offered for your entertainment. Request an in-room massage. A coffee/tea maker is provided. Bathroom amenities include complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer. Air conditioning, a desk, and a separate sitting area are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
Kiva Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofabed
This room overlooks the courtyard. Complimentary wired and wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels are offered for your entertainment. Request an in-room massage. A coffee/tea maker is provided. Bathroom amenities include complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer. Air conditioning, a desk, and a separate sitting area are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Santa Fe Flexible Meeting Space

Our hotel's meeting space is comprised of 9,000 square feet, indoors and out. You'll find several flexible floor plans from our airy, elegant ballroom, to the intimate breakout rooms. All of our facilities are warm and inviting, and the decor takes inspiration from our surrounding Southwest heritage. The Lodge at Santa Fe staff of professionals is on hand to help you pull off a successful Santa Fe event. We are happy to put together catering menus and technical help, from white boards and markers to complimentary Wi-Fi and audiovisual equipment. You'll find our corporate packages offer a whole array of services and amenities for a successful and fun Santa Fe event.

Dining

Gardunos of Mexico Restaurant
Nobody serves up Mexico like Gardunos. Experience authentic Mexican cuisine featuring some of the state's favorite dishes and world-class margaritas. The Lodge at Santa Fe hosts the only Santa Fe location of Gardunos, a beloved local chain. Stop in for our famous table side guacamole, fajitas, tacos, salads and more. Gardunos open 7 days a week.
Our Hilltop Bar
Every weekend evening, relax in the Lodge at Santa Fe's entertaining bar. Sit outside on the balcony with its spectacular sunset views of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains, or find a cozy corner indoors. Cocktails, beer, wine, and non-alcoholic beverages are on the menu. There's also a scrumptious selection of food including appetizers, burgers, and salads. The Lodge at Santa Fe Bar is open daily at 5 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 98
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jon from MASS
Business
Boston
Apr 7, 2013

needs updating...

The hotel is tired; and needs updating; clearly a two stair hotel. Bar furniture is torn, rooms are very dark, shower is tiny, and I mean tiny. Hotel looks ok from outside but once inside, the dress is off the pig.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat breakfast or lunch at the Plaza Cafe. OMG great food, friendly staff and wonderful food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Mar 22, 2011

Disappointing

I have traveled (and lived in) New Mexico for over 20 years. The hotel was not very clean, no wireless in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Healthy Living
Business
Glendale, Arizona
Oct 29, 2010

Very nice place, could use improvement

This is a lovely place, high on a hill with a gorgeous view of the mountains. Even though I stayed on the first floor (of two levels), the walls seemed thicker than at other places so the room was quiet. The Lodge balances rustic charm with comfort. Advantage: the Lodge provides free shuttle service to the Plaza. The Plaza is the charming downtown area of Santa Fe with all the quaint boutiques and artsy-craftsy shops. It can be difficult to find parking, so the shuttle service is a blessing. (Note: I did not use the service because I went to the Plaza on my way out of Santa Fe.) The disadvantages: I was there on a Wednesday night and the restaurant wasn't open! Plus, there were no extra blankets in the room (this is at the end of October) and I had to call the front desk several times because no one picked up. The guy at the desk explained that they did not expect the place to be so busy, so they were short on staff. There should always be extra blankets in the room, especially when the temperatures get into the 20s. Other reviewers have cited the disrepair of the rooms. In my room, some metal at the top of the lampshade was broken (this did not affect the functionality of the lamp, however); the bathroom tub spout emitted water when the shower was on; and the hinge on the cabinet housing the TV was broken. The only real cause for alarm was the TV cabinet, because if you tried to close the sliding doors they could have fallen off and someone could have seriously gotten hurt. To the staff's credit, I reported the disrepair in the room and the man at the desk (this was his third month on the job) was very concerned and wrote everything down in detail. He said that management does want to know if things aren't working--and that even though the staff checks rooms to see what works and what doesn't, there's a difference between turning on the TV (to make sure it works) and opening cabinet doors. So, they rely on guests to report breakage. I would stay here again. However, I wouldn't want to pay full price, not as long as things aren't in tip-top shape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The restaurant wasn't open the week night I was there. I never heard of a restaurant in a hotel/motel not being open! I arrived late at night and didn't feel like driving in the dark to an eatery. There's a service that will pick up your food from a choice of many local restaurants and deliver it to you--for a fee. But I didn't want to use the service, because all ordering goes through them; and if you're allergic or on a special diet, it's difficult to rely on a third party to get the order right. It was a real disadvantage not to have an open restaurant in the Lodge! So if you have special needs regarding food, before you book your reservation make sure to ask if the restaurant will be open when you're there! This was a huge disadvantage.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big GE
Business
Big D
Mar 13, 2012

As expected!

Being familiar with this hotel it was as expected. I did receive extra coffee from the front desk as requested with no problem. Everything here is good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Have the number 5 at The Shed. Outstanding!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Planetwide
Dec 27, 2010

In a world of its own

The hotel was lovely, quiet and peaceful. It is on a hiull with a scenic view of the city and surrounding mountains and feels like a retreat. The room was in the Santa Fe style and the price was amazing considering how nice this place is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma
Aug 5, 2010

Good location, good stay

This trip, I used the room only to sleep, change, etc and spent the day and evenings shopping, sight seeing or attending the opera.For the price, it was just fine, less expensive than some of the chains much further out away from town. The location was easy to reach, and had good access from the highway. Overall the room was quiet; the coffee maker worked; the shower had good water pressure; the towels and toiletries were fine. Housekeeping showed up at 8 a.m., but I hadn't put up the do not disturb sign; so I can't really complain there. They were very nice and came back exactly when I asked them to as I was getting out for the day. I found a coffee stirrer they had missed when I got back, but overall the room was clean, the towels and toiletries replaced, the coffee maker cleaned, etc. With the dark carpet and lamps, the room was a bit dark--housekeeping (missing a red coffee stirrer on a red section of the carpet is understandable if they were just vacuuming-- but I prefer darker rooms unless I need to work. This is an older hotel that has been refurbished, but the room I had was fine, nothing fancy, but very serviceable and larger than one I paid much more far at another, very famous, Santa Fe hotel last year. My one suggestion to the hotel would be to get new mattresses. Although I slept fine, the mattresses were old and I could hear the springs in them. I didn't use the shuttle to the plaza, but the people who did seemed to have no complaints. I didn't eat at the hotel, but there are many places to eat in Santa Fe, so it wasn't too important to me. If had had eaten there, it would have been for breakfast. I would stay there again, especially for the opera and general sight seeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take at least a small map of Santa Fe with you if you are driving or walking. There are lots of dead end, one way streets, streets that change names, and the older areas around the plaza are not a grid pattern. I spent a lot of time looking for places that I could have saved by having a good map.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
StephanieN
Business
Montreal
Aug 6, 2014

Charming hotel

Great value for the price - the rooms are unique, spacious and lovely, the lobby is beautiful and the staff were so helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
flipper66
Business
Redlands, Ca
Oct 6, 2014

Nice place

For the price it was average. It is a nice comfortable hotel in a good location. There is a shuttle from the hotel to the downtown, which is nice when you go out drinking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to eat at the Blue corn cafe it is what Santa Fe food is all about!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston,TX
May 13, 2011

Great stay

Great hotel! Clean,friendly,comfortable bed and quiet. The only thing missing was my wife, can't wait to return to Santa Fe with her.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hiking and camping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kakisu
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 14, 2011

I'd stay here again.

Very nice place, friendly and courteous staff. Comfortable rooms with plenty of towels, nice pool and Starbucks coffee in the room! They also offer shuttle service to the plaza. I'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Front desk clerk told me about the Flamenco Theater Group that was performing there (at the hotel). I enjoyed it as much or more than the opera I attended the previous night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top