$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

3 stars
744 Calle Mejia, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
96 reviews
Sena Wedding

the hotel was very accommodating to my needs. I was very appreciative of all they did for us. The... See full review

  • garciasnmel
  • Jun 24, 2013
Good value

Good value overall. Convenient location. Cleaning staff had missed a used washrag that we found in... See full review

  • Everyday Travelor
  • Aug 11, 2014
Overlook downtown Santa Fe from hills near Opera house

The Lodge at Santa Fe is a filled with rich character and stunning views, perched in the Sangre de Cristo foothills. This inviting retreat is operated by a native U.S. hotelier who uses exquisite craftwork to carry the Anasazi heritage throughout the property. The Lodge at Santa Fe is home to a restaurant, chapel and seasonal entertainment. A scenic lounge patio overlooks the adobe roofs of historic Santa Fe below.

Highlights
  • Intimate 40-seat wedding chapel showcases New Mexican artistry
  • Free shuttle to Historic Santa Fe Plaza
  • Live Flamenco Entertainment throughout the year on select days
  • Pets welcome (fees apply)
  • Rooms feature Southwestern decor, original artwork, photography
Location

The Lodge at Santa Fe is one mile north of the historic Santa Fe Plaza, in the foothills of the Sangre de Cristo mountains. It is one of the closest hotels to the Santa Fe Opera and en route to Taos, NM.

For GPS directions, use 744 Calle Mejia Santa Fe, NM 87501.

Rooms

The two-story Lodge at Santa Fe has 127 rooms and 25 suites adorned with original New Mexico photography and southwest textile designs. Standard amenities include free Wi-Fi, newspapers and in-room coffee. Suites have refrigerators and microwaves, and some suites offer sleeper sofas, Jacuzzi tubs, kiva fireplaces and balconies.

Features

The Lodge at Santa Fe offers free parking, on-site laundry and concierge service. Spread out under the colorful New Mexico sky on cushioned lounge chairs at the large seasonal outdoor pool and hot tub courtyard or on the inviting grassy lawn. There's also a romantic vibe in the air - the hotel has an intimate wedding chapel.

Dining

When you travel to Santa Fe, be prepared for an exciting array of dining choices. From New Mexico's own southwest flavors to traditional American favorites, you'll find every cuisine under the sun in Santa Fe.

Transportation
  • New Mexico Rail Runner Express Santa Fe depot (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Santa Fe Municipal Airport (11 mi/17.7 km)
  • Albuquerque International Sunport airport (66.5 mi/107 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle service available
Attractions
  • Santa Fe Plaza National Historic Landmark/Downtown (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Santa Fe Opera (10.2 mi/16.4 km)
  • Santa Fe Ski Area (16.4 mi/26.5 km)
  • Los Alamos, NM (34.5 mi/55.5 km)
  • Taos, NM (69 mi/111 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting-ready suites
  • 7,000 square feet of conference space
  • Faxing and photocopying services (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Notice: The swimming pool will be closed for the season on 30 September 2013.
  • Heritage Hotels and Resorts has a corporate policy that requires the minimum age of a guest checking in to be 21 years of age. A major provision is that we allow Military Active Duty to check in with Military ID at the age of 18.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

35.6988 -105.9543
Area served
Santa Fe
Nearby airports
Santa Fe County Municipal Airport
Area description
One mile north of the historic Santa Fe Plaza

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts Rooms

Traditional King bedded Rooms
These spacious guestrooms are furnished with one king-sized bed. Enjoy the stunning original art and photographs that complement the room, as well as handcrafted furniture. Includes work desk, sitting area, cable TV, complimentary wireless internet access, original artwork, coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, room service (seasonal), opening windows and Southwestern decor and furnishings.
Traditional Double Rooms
These spacious guestrooms are furnished with two double-sized beds. Enjoy the stunning original art and photographs that complement the room, as well as handcrafted furniture. Includes work desk, sitting area, cable TV, complimentary wireless internet access, original artwork, coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, room service (seasonal) and Southwestern decor and furnishings.
Junior Suite, 1 King Bed
Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels are offered for your entertainment. Request an in-room massage. A coffee/tea maker is provided. Bathroom amenities include complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer. Air conditioning, a desk, and a separate sitting area are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
Junior Suite, 2 Double Beds
Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels are offered for your entertainment. Request an in-room massage. A coffee/tea maker is provided. Bathroom amenities include complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer. Air conditioning, a desk, and a separate sitting area are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
Mini Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofabed
Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels are offered for your entertainment. Request an in-room massage. A coffee/tea maker is provided. Bathroom amenities include complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer. Air conditioning, a desk, and a separate sitting area are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
Kiva Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofabed
This room overlooks the courtyard. Complimentary wired and wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels are offered for your entertainment. Request an in-room massage. A coffee/tea maker is provided. Bathroom amenities include complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer. Air conditioning, a desk, and a separate sitting area are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

Gardunos of Mexico Restaurant
Nobody serves up Mexico like Gardunos. Experience authentic Mexican cuisine featuring some of the state's favorite dishes and world-class margaritas. The Lodge at Santa Fe hosts the only Santa Fe location of Gardunos, a beloved local chain. Stop in for our famous table side guacamole, fajitas, tacos, salads and more. Gardunos open 7 days a week.
Our Hilltop Bar
Every weekend evening, relax in the Lodge at Santa Fe's entertaining bar. Sit outside on the balcony with its spectacular sunset views of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains, or find a cozy corner indoors. Cocktails, beer, wine, and non-alcoholic beverages are on the menu. There's also a scrumptious selection of food including appetizers, burgers, and salads. The Lodge at Santa Fe Bar is open daily at 5 p.m.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Santa Fe Flexible Meeting Space

Our hotel's meeting space is comprised of 9,000 square feet, indoors and out. You'll find several flexible floor plans from our airy, elegant ballroom, to the intimate breakout rooms. All of our facilities are warm and inviting, and the decor takes inspiration from our surrounding Southwest heritage. The Lodge at Santa Fe staff of professionals is on hand to help you pull off a successful Santa Fe event. We are happy to put together catering menus and technical help, from white boards and markers to complimentary Wi-Fi and audiovisual equipment. You'll find our corporate packages offer a whole array of services and amenities for a successful and fun Santa Fe event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (96)

Ratings and reviews for The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 30, 2007

This hotel was not clean, ...

This hotel was not clean, comfortable or in relatively good condition! The carpeting all over the halls and in the room was old, worn and shabby. My room was not very clean. The tub/shower had not been washed or properly cleaned. While there was a rolled up bath mat and new soap wrapped in celophane on the edge of the tub, the tub had chunks of dirt in it! The faucet in the bathroom was working defectively and got stuck on either very cold or scalding water temperatures. I scalded my hand more than once before the management had maintainence repair the faucet. It had to be fixed, but that was only possible on the day after I arrived. The shower came out as a mere trickle and made it difficult to wash my hair and bathe properly. Then I was not able to utilize my shower after a long day of travel before an evening event I was due at by 7PM! The hotel management was unable to get housekeeping to clean the room in a timely manner so that I could utilize my shower. They were unable to change my room because the hotel was full. I was offered the opportunity to shower in the assistant manager's room; an offer made with good intentions but nonetheless not appropriate being made from a young man to a woman travelling alone! The pool area was not well kept up. The pool color was a strange green, indicating that algae had been growing in it. There were no pool towels at the pool for guests. The equipment in the supposed fitness center, which was a guest room converted to a supposed fitness center, was broken! I never even went up to the restaurant in the hotel because after dark it apparently became a nightly disco lounge which brought unsavory characters to the location. There was all kinds of noise, there were some unsavory-looking characters and oodles of smoke and noise all around later at night. To me this hotel was one big rip off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

One had to cross a super highway to get to anything. It was truly necessary to have a car to safely get to anything in town, including food, gas, shopping, sight-seeing, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stev-o
Austin, TX
Jan 3, 2011

Got burned!

We booked a Kiva Suite online through [...]. We arrived at 3:30 to check in, they had our reservation booked as a standard room [which would not work since they was three of us].We were told to have a seat, and after 15 min the manager came to us with an offer to stay at a sister hotel.Not having much choice, we accepted. We did not like Plaza Real, it was a 2 star at best, the carpet was very worn & dirty we did not walk barefoot in the room.The sofa was very uncomfortable and very outdated and sofabed horible, our daughter could feel the springs and frame!Then today, we noticed our credit card has been charged over $900, three times what we had prepaid on the original booking!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

take shuttle

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy camper (felt like camping)
New Braunfels, Texas
Aug 10, 2009

Less than stellar.

1. The hotel promised an upgrade (at a price) over the phone, then tried to renege on it. 2. Cleaning service was never complete before 6PM. 3. We had to beg for towels, never got the washcloths. 4. Linens and towels were threadbare and at least one towel was ripped and frayed. 5. Our room (separate from the main hotel) was dingy. 6. AC failed to cool the room. 7. Pool was dirty, then out of service while they tried to shock it clean. 8. Hot tub was cold the one day we really needed it. I would highly recommend a chain hotel or even a motel 6, at least you would know what you're getting into.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Maria's off of Cerrillos has the best ribs and chile relleno I've ever had (and I've had a lot of both over the years)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Oct 13, 2010

Nightmare in Santa Fe

We waited almost 2 hours for the room to be ready and we were one of many. The room smeeled of smoke as the smoke detector was disconnected. The lamp shade and light missing in the bathroom. Holes on the bedcover and a foreign object on the blanket. The staff was inefficient and not friendly except for the maintenience guy who repaired our room. Beds were fair at best.I would never stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Not really that short and away from the shopping district acroos from the Veterans Cemetery.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Another Unhappy Visitor
Oakland, California
Aug 20, 2013

Not good...

too far from town; staff that, despite being well-intentioned, were clearly poorly trained; halls that smelled slightly funky; inaccessible second floor rooms; and dicey cleanliness all made for a not good experience. This was a forced choice for a late reservation. We won't be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
disappointed Sheri
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Sep 9, 2012

stinky and moldy

bathroom tile grout is moldy, room smelled like dog urine. old tv with really bad snowy picture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Droot
Cleveland, OH
Jun 6, 2013

Not bad but would not stay here again because......

Advertised continental breakfast (on Internet) was no longer available, according to desk clerk. Very disappointed. False advertising? Left room at 0930, returned 1830 and room was not made up yet. We had left the card on the pillow that indicated "make the beds and replace towels." We had brought our dinner back with us so we had to eat in the lobby while the hotel scurried to make up the room. Skimpy supplies. Had to ask for more soap and toilet paper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jan Auntie CO
Denver, Colorado
Jun 23, 2014

bad ; p

Staff nice and friendly but as for hotel, its a good location but hot tub was broken, the swimming pool was filthy and slimy green. They definitely need new mattresses, you could feel the springs on your body and was awakened by the bonging of the mattress springs, very uncomfortable and the linens are very old. The bathroom tub, would have liked to soak in tub but tub stopper was stripped out. No mini fridge in room but they could bring one up to your room at a cost of $10 daily. Overall very rundown hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Jul 20, 2009

Super Location, not so super service

We have stayed at this hotel numerous times. Since our last visit, the beds and linens have been upgraded, however, the level of customer service has decreased. We attempted to check in at 2:15 PM and were very rudely informed that check in was at 3:00 PM. No effort was made to see if there were any rooms available, just a staunch "no". Not sure we will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rocketgirl970
Dgo. CO
Jul 29, 2012

Two star is generous

Drop this to a two star. Stains on sheets. Towels scratchy. Hot tub closed. No remote for Tv. I will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search