$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2014 Check-out: Jul 17, 2014

The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

3 stars
744 Calle Mejia, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
141 reviews
Sena Wedding

the hotel was very accommodating to my needs. I was very appreciative of all they did for us. The... See full review

  • garciasnmel
  • Jun 24, 2013
Spacious, well-kept, convenient, great value.

This was my second time at The Lodge. It is on St. Francis perhaps 1 mile or a 20 min. walk from... See full review

  • mph4
  • Jul 1, 2014
Overlook downtown Santa Fe from hills near Opera house

The Lodge at Santa Fe is a filled with rich character and stunning views, perched in the Sangre de Cristo foothills. This inviting retreat is operated by a native U.S. hotelier who uses exquisite craftwork to carry the Anasazi heritage throughout the property. The Lodge at Santa Fe is home to a restaurant, chapel and seasonal entertainment. A scenic lounge patio overlooks the adobe roofs of historic Santa Fe below.

Highlights
  • Intimate 40-seat wedding chapel showcases New Mexican artistry
  • Free shuttle to Historic Santa Fe Plaza
  • Live Flamenco Entertainment throughout the year on select days
  • Pets welcome (fees apply)
  • Rooms feature Southwestern decor, original artwork, photography
Location

The Lodge at Santa Fe is one mile north of the historic Santa Fe Plaza, in the foothills of the Sangre de Cristo mountains. It is one of the closest hotels to the Santa Fe Opera and en route to Taos, NM.

For GPS directions, use 744 Calle Mejia Santa Fe, NM 87501.

Rooms

The two-story Lodge at Santa Fe has 127 rooms and 25 suites adorned with original New Mexico photography and southwest textile designs. Standard amenities include free Wi-Fi, newspapers and in-room coffee. Suites have refrigerators and microwaves, and some suites offer sleeper sofas, Jacuzzi tubs, kiva fireplaces and balconies.

Features

The Lodge at Santa Fe offers free parking, on-site laundry and concierge service. Spread out under the colorful New Mexico sky on cushioned lounge chairs at the large seasonal outdoor pool and hot tub courtyard or on the inviting grassy lawn. There's also a romantic vibe in the air - the hotel has an intimate wedding chapel.

Dining

When you travel to Santa Fe, be prepared for an exciting array of dining choices. From New Mexico's own southwest flavors to traditional American favorites, you'll find every cuisine under the sun in Santa Fe.

Transportation
  • New Mexico Rail Runner Express Santa Fe depot (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Santa Fe Municipal Airport (11 mi/17.7 km)
  • Albuquerque International Sunport airport (66.5 mi/107 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle service available
Attractions
  • Santa Fe Plaza National Historic Landmark/Downtown (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Santa Fe Opera (10.2 mi/16.4 km)
  • Santa Fe Ski Area (16.4 mi/26.5 km)
  • Los Alamos, NM (34.5 mi/55.5 km)
  • Taos, NM (69 mi/111 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting-ready suites
  • 7,000 square feet of conference space
  • Faxing and photocopying services (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Notice: The swimming pool will be closed for the season on 30 September 2013.
  • Heritage Hotels and Resorts has a corporate policy that requires the minimum age of a guest checking in to be 21 years of age. A major provision is that we allow Military Active Duty to check in with Military ID at the age of 18.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

35.6988 -105.9543
Area served
Santa Fe
Nearby airports
Santa Fe County Municipal Airport
Area description
One mile north of the historic Santa Fe Plaza

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts Rooms

Traditional King bedded Rooms
These spacious guestrooms are furnished with one king-sized bed. Enjoy the stunning original art and photographs that complement the room, as well as handcrafted furniture. Includes work desk, sitting area, cable TV, complimentary wireless internet access, original artwork, coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, room service (seasonal), opening windows and Southwestern decor and furnishings.
Traditional Double Rooms
These spacious guestrooms are furnished with two double-sized beds. Enjoy the stunning original art and photographs that complement the room, as well as handcrafted furniture. Includes work desk, sitting area, cable TV, complimentary wireless internet access, original artwork, coffee and tea maker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, room service (seasonal) and Southwestern decor and furnishings.
Junior Suite, 1 King Bed
Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels are offered for your entertainment. Request an in-room massage. A coffee/tea maker is provided. Bathroom amenities include complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer. Air conditioning, a desk, and a separate sitting area are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
Junior Suite, 2 Double Beds
Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels are offered for your entertainment. Request an in-room massage. A coffee/tea maker is provided. Bathroom amenities include complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer. Air conditioning, a desk, and a separate sitting area are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
Mini Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofabed
Complimentary wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels are offered for your entertainment. Request an in-room massage. A coffee/tea maker is provided. Bathroom amenities include complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer. Air conditioning, a desk, and a separate sitting area are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.
Kiva Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofabed
This room overlooks the courtyard. Complimentary wired and wireless Internet access keeps you connected, and premium TV channels are offered for your entertainment. Request an in-room massage. A coffee/tea maker is provided. Bathroom amenities include complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer. Air conditioning, a desk, and a separate sitting area are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

Gardunos of Mexico Restaurant
Nobody serves up Mexico like Gardunos. Experience authentic Mexican cuisine featuring some of the state's favorite dishes and world-class margaritas. The Lodge at Santa Fe hosts the only Santa Fe location of Gardunos, a beloved local chain. Stop in for our famous table side guacamole, fajitas, tacos, salads and more. Gardunos open 7 days a week.
Our Hilltop Bar
Every weekend evening, relax in the Lodge at Santa Fe's entertaining bar. Sit outside on the balcony with its spectacular sunset views of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains, or find a cozy corner indoors. Cocktails, beer, wine, and non-alcoholic beverages are on the menu. There's also a scrumptious selection of food including appetizers, burgers, and salads. The Lodge at Santa Fe Bar is open daily at 5 p.m.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Santa Fe Flexible Meeting Space

Our hotel's meeting space is comprised of 9,000 square feet, indoors and out. You'll find several flexible floor plans from our airy, elegant ballroom, to the intimate breakout rooms. All of our facilities are warm and inviting, and the decor takes inspiration from our surrounding Southwest heritage. The Lodge at Santa Fe staff of professionals is on hand to help you pull off a successful Santa Fe event. We are happy to put together catering menus and technical help, from white boards and markers to complimentary Wi-Fi and audiovisual equipment. You'll find our corporate packages offer a whole array of services and amenities for a successful and fun Santa Fe event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (141)

Ratings and reviews for The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jedgar
Redlands, CA
Oct 28, 2012

Excellent Experience!

My fiance and I stayed here one night during a cross country road trip. We were very impressive by the beautiful decor, excellent service, and clean/comfortable reviews. We have to drive a short distance to the downtown Santa Fe, but staying here was definitely worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Planetwide
Dec 27, 2010

In a world of its own

The hotel was lovely, quiet and peaceful. It is on a hiull with a scenic view of the city and surrounding mountains and feels like a retreat. The room was in the Santa Fe style and the price was amazing considering how nice this place is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Dec 27, 2010

Great Hotel, Great Price!

This hotel is really cute. The lobby was beautiful and was decorated for the holidays. Our room was clean, comfortable and had nice decor. The staff was very friendly. We did not try the restaurant. The only thing that was a little disappointing was the pool was not open (we were there in December).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The drive (on the scenic route) to Taos is worth it!

Review of The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mountain Woman
Silver City, New Mexico
Nov 29, 2010

Never Again

The carpets in the room was very dirty, the bathroom was horrible. The granite on the top of the sink was in browns and terra cotta'a and some of the holes had been filled with white calking. The tile floor next to the tub was growing mold and the tub itself was brown and slippery. Went to the store and bought tub cleaner and let it sit the rinsed it out and it took the slick out of the tub. It took them until 2-2:30 both days to clean the room and the second day i was because I called at 1 and went to the dest at 2:30 to get it done. It was sometime around 3 when it was done on Saturday. Maid was mad at me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mountain Woman
Silver City, New Mexico
Nov 29, 2010

Never Again

The carpets in the room was very dirty, the bathroom was horrible. The granite on the top of the sink was in browns and terra cotta'a and some of the holes had been filled with white calking. The tile floor next to the tub was growing mold and the tub itself was brown and slippery. Went to the store and bought tub cleaner and let it sit the rinsed it out and it took the slick out of the tub. It took them until 2-2:30 both days to clean the room and the second day i was because I called at 1 and went to the dest at 2:30 to get it done. It was sometime around 3 when it was done on Saturday. Maid was mad at me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Healthy Living
Glendale, Arizona
Oct 29, 2010

Very nice place, could use improvement

This is a lovely place, high on a hill with a gorgeous view of the mountains. Even though I stayed on the first floor (of two levels), the walls seemed thicker than at other places so the room was quiet. The Lodge balances rustic charm with comfort. Advantage: the Lodge provides free shuttle service to the Plaza. The Plaza is the charming downtown area of Santa Fe with all the quaint boutiques and artsy-craftsy shops. It can be difficult to find parking, so the shuttle service is a blessing. (Note: I did not use the service because I went to the Plaza on my way out of Santa Fe.) The disadvantages: I was there on a Wednesday night and the restaurant wasn't open! Plus, there were no extra blankets in the room (this is at the end of October) and I had to call the front desk several times because no one picked up. The guy at the desk explained that they did not expect the place to be so busy, so they were short on staff. There should always be extra blankets in the room, especially when the temperatures get into the 20s. Other reviewers have cited the disrepair of the rooms. In my room, some metal at the top of the lampshade was broken (this did not affect the functionality of the lamp, however); the bathroom tub spout emitted water when the shower was on; and the hinge on the cabinet housing the TV was broken. The only real cause for alarm was the TV cabinet, because if you tried to close the sliding doors they could have fallen off and someone could have seriously gotten hurt. To the staff's credit, I reported the disrepair in the room and the man at the desk (this was his third month on the job) was very concerned and wrote everything down in detail. He said that management does want to know if things aren't working--and that even though the staff checks rooms to see what works and what doesn't, there's a difference between turning on the TV (to make sure it works) and opening cabinet doors. So, they rely on guests to report breakage. I would stay here again. However, I wouldn't want to pay full price, not as long as things aren't in tip-top shape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The restaurant wasn't open the week night I was there. I never heard of a restaurant in a hotel/motel not being open! I arrived late at night and didn't feel like driving in the dark to an eatery. There's a service that will pick up your food from a choice of many local restaurants and deliver it to you--for a fee. But I didn't want to use the service, because all ordering goes through them; and if you're allergic or on a special diet, it's difficult to rely on a third party to get the order right. It was a real disadvantage not to have an open restaurant in the Lodge! So if you have special needs regarding food, before you book your reservation make sure to ask if the restaurant will be open when you're there! This was a huge disadvantage.

Review of The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colorado
Oct 20, 2010

Fabulous and Affordable

We were so thrilled by this hotel - it exceeded our expectations all while being super affordable. We got a great deal [...] (buy 2 nights, get one free) and it was great. The room was clean and cute. There was barely anyone at the hotel, but we never waited more than 10 seconds for anyone at the front desk. The view from the front is gorgeous and the chile cheese fries in the bar were amazing. This is the best place to stay on a budget in Santa Fe without sacrificing comfort and an interesting hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure you stop by the Ten Thousand Waves Spa. It was one of the most incredible experiences of my life!

Review of The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colorado
Oct 20, 2010

Fabulous and Affordable

We were so thrilled by this hotel - it exceeded our expectations all while being super affordable. We got a great deal [...] (buy 2 nights, get one free) and it was great. The room was clean and cute. There was barely anyone at the hotel, but we never waited more than 10 seconds for anyone at the front desk. The view from the front is gorgeous and the chile cheese fries in the bar were amazing. This is the best place to stay on a budget in Santa Fe without sacrificing comfort and an interesting hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure you stop by the Ten Thousand Waves Spa. It was one of the most incredible experiences of my life!

Review of The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bayfield, CO
Oct 19, 2010

The Ugly

Our room looked nice and clean at first glance. However, it was evident that the commode was not properly cleaned and sanitized. We stayed two nights. The room was not cleaned after the first night. The beds were not made and the wastebaskets were not emptied. The only thing done was that the wet towels were picked up but they were not replaced with fresh towels. There was a coffeemaker and coffee, but not a carafe. Needless to say, we'll never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bayfield, CO
Oct 19, 2010

The Ugly

Our room looked nice and clean at first glance. However, it was evident that the commode was not properly cleaned and sanitized. We stayed two nights. The room was not cleaned after the first night. The beds were not made and the wastebaskets were not emptied. The only thing done was that the wet towels were picked up but they were not replaced with fresh towels. There was a coffeemaker and coffee, but not a carafe. Needless to say, we'll never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Lodge at Santa Fe - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Puyallup, WA
Oct 17, 2010

Hotel for Santa Fe

The room that I was in did not have a refrigerator and microwave - the staff was wonderful in bringing one to our room that same day. The staff was extraordinary. It was also great having a free shuttle to take us to town. Room was clean, staff great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Free shuttle to sites.

Back to menu Return to top