$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 22, 2015 Check-out: Mar 25, 2015

La Fonda Hotel

4 stars
View map of 100 E. San Francisco, Santa Fe, NM 87501

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
86 reviews
Beautiful place to stay

The location couldn't be better -- right at the town center. The hotel is full characters. Room... See full review

  • Ziying S.
  • Feb 9, 2015
Perfect Stay!!

Hotel is FANTASTIC. Love the historic hotel and the town square. Lots of places to walk and... See full review

  • Averyclaire
  • Feb 4, 2015
Stay at the vibrant landmark hotel on historic Santa Fe plaza

La Fonda Hotel is a Santa Fe classic. This downtown hotel has firmly held its place in the heart of the city for nearly a century. Treat companions to a New Mexico experience steeped in authentic southwestern atmosphere. Guest rooms are custom decorated in traditional pueblo revival style. Don't miss sunset on the rooftop bar, the highest in the city.

Highlights
  • One of the oldest hotel locations in America
  • 100 percent non-smoking
  • Pets OK (fees apply)
  • Restaurant and two bars
  • Heated swimming pool and full-service spa
Rooms

La Fonda Hotel offers varied room types to suit the many guests that come through its storied doors. Tile murals, original artwork, hand-painted furniture and kiva fireplaces offer authentic touches throughout all 170 rooms and suites. Standard amenities include Egyptian cotton linens, pillow-top Serta Dynasty beds, free Wi-Fi, terry robes, and coffee-makers. Refrigerators and balcony rooms are available.

Features

The La Fonda Hotel was established in 1922 and was a lodging site for traders long before that. Many visitors to Santa Fe pay a visit just to soak in the lore. Guests have access to an exclusive year-round heated swimming pool, hot tub and fitness center. Classic aromatherapy massage treatments are available at the modern full-service spa. Additional guest amenities include concierge services, babysitting and laundry services. Covered parking is on-site (fees apply).

Dining

La Fonda dining ranges from casual to elegant starting with a popular pastry shop and lunch buffet. Catch sunset over the adobe rooftops with 100 percent agave tequila margaritas from the seasonal open-air rooftop bar. The airy La Plazuela patio restaurant is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Arrive hungry for fresh guacamole and Filet y Enchiladas. Room service is available. 

Transportation
  • New Mexico Rail Runner Express Santa Fe depot (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Santa Fe Municipal Airport (10.5 mi/16.8 km)
  • Albuquerque International Sunport airport (67 mi/107 km)
Attractions
  • Santa Fe Plaza National Historic Landmark/Downtown (Adjacent)
  • Santa Fe Ski Area (15 mi/25 km)
  • Albuquerque, NM (63.8 mi/103 km)
  • Taos, NM (70 mi/113 km)
Business
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center
  • Over 14,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting spaces and private suites added in modern renovations
  • Event planning staff
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Policies and fees
Room renovation is nearly completed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Fonda Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

La Fonda Hotel Rooms

Traditional King
Completely Renovated Fall of 2013. Traditional guest room with one king size bed, SW style, free high speed wireless, robes, coffee maker.
One Bedroom Suite
Completely Renovated Fall of 2013. Suite with king bed, separate living room sofa bed, free high-speed wireless coffee maker.
Deluxe Room
Completely Renovated Fall of 2013. Larger with king bed, sitting room sofa bed, free high-speed wireless coffee maker.
Traditional Double/Double
Completely Renovated Fall of 2013. Guest room with two double beds, SW style, free high-speed wireless, robes and coffee maker.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Plazuela
Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. La Plazuela, a beautiful enclosed courtyard restaurant featuring an award-winning culinary team and interesting, contemporary Nuevo Latino cuisine as well as New Mexican favorites.
La Fiesta Lounge
La Fiesta Lounge, adjacent to La Plazuela, offers a New Mexican lunch buffet daily as well as snacks and live entertainment nightly.
Bell Tower Bar
The 5th floor Bell Tower Bar is open from late spring through early fall for cocktails and great sunset views.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
La Fonda offer eight meeting rooms with over more that 14,000 square feet of meeting space. La Fonda's experienced sales and conference services staff help select the setting, style, floor plan and atmosphere to suit your needs. We work hard to provide the service that is essential to the success of every event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for La Fonda Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 86
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ziying S.
Business
Rockville
Feb 9, 2015

Beautiful place to stay

The location couldn't be better -- right at the town center. The hotel is full characters. Room decoration is charming. Strongly recommend it to anyone traveling to Santa Fe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elisia.
Business
Amarilllo
Jan 12, 2015

great Hotel!

Wonderful time in Santa Fe!! The Hotel is at the best part of town. Very comfortable and clean rooms. A little expensive, but was worth. During the day walk around the cute city and shops. At night the convenience to go to the bar at the hotel to have fun with live music and cold beer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlohaCiao
Business
Southern California & Texas
Mar 21, 2012

Family reunion

We enjoyed our stay at the historic La Fonda. the colors are so warm and inviting. The lobby fireplaces were very inviting. Our 2 rooms were large, but on different floors. One room had connecting doors on both sides and all the rooms were occupied. Thus it was not quiet when the guests were in their rooms, especially those with young children (maybe this could be fixed with having an insulation strip on the bottom of the connecting doors). But it was so nice to be able to walk outside to the Plaza and the shops to stroll around. Brought back family memories. We also used the fitness center, too. And had several delicious hearty meals in the restaurants. Neutrogena bath products were large sizes! Thanks for offering the complimentary bottled waters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Atocha
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Mar 16, 2012

Excellent Santa Fe experience!

I have visited Santa Fe a number of times in the past, but have never stayed at the La Fonda. Excellent location to all that the Plaza has to offer, great drinks and snacks at the bar in the evening, and surprisingly comfortable beds made our stay fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I always eat at The Shed when I'm in Santa Fe. The NM food is delicious, but the hot fudge sundae at the end is a little treat you can't get anywhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arvada, CO
Aug 11, 2011

Great Location

The room was very nice but on the small side. The beds and bedding were outstanding. My sister and I come each year to shop and go to the opera. The location was excellent for both pursuits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Boca had great sangria and paella.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver,CO
May 31, 2011

La Fonda

My mom and I traveled to Santa Fe for Memorial weekend just to get away. Our stay at La Fonda was just what we needed. The people were super friendly and the location is awesome. The food was really good and the atmosphere was perfect. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud! It was an excellent experience staying there! We plan to go back next year!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food in the lounge is superb!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado Springs, Co
May 26, 2011

Wonderful old hotel

The hotel is right in the heart of the action. It is conveniently located on the square where there are great restaurants and shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Casa Sena-great place!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Salvage Artist
Business
Gettysburg, PA
May 14, 2011

Charming old fashioned hotel

When we checked in to our room, we discovered that someone had been smoking in it. We called the desk and in a short time a comparable room was found and we were moved to it. The staff could not have been more accommodating. The shops were lovely and the food out of this World. Only drawback - one concierge did not know his stuff - steered us wrong twice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the flea market near the opera house for good buys on artist made jewelry. It seems to be where the shops downtown get their wares.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mendocino county CA
Jan 10, 2011

Classic on the square

Excellent hotel, beautifully kept up with interesting furnishings, artwork and antiques. Prime location on the square, easy access to all downtown venues. Parking extra but reasonable. Hotel restaurant a big expensive disappointment, slow service and mediocre food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

museums and galleries very interesting and diverse.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Matti Korialta
Business
Arizona
Nov 28, 2010

RATES VARY DRAMATICALLY

WHEN WE CHECKED IN, THE RATES VARIED IN PRICE FROM 99.00/NIGHT TO 170.00/NIGHT FOR THE 2 ROOMS WE CHECKED IN. [...], WHO IS THE HEAD OF RESERVATION LEFT 2 RUDE MESSAGES ON OUR ROOM TELEPHONE SAYING SHE WULD NOT HONOR OUR RATE. FINALLY A FRONT DESK MANAGER TOOK CARE OF US HOWEVER WE STILL FELT VERY UNCOMFORTABLE WALING BY THE FRONT DESK. WE ARE REPEAT GUESTS AND WOULD NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN AFTER THIS EXPERIENCE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Pasquale offers an amazing breakfast and dinner. Need to make reservation at least 24 hours in advance for dinner. Coyote Cafe is delicious with a great wine list.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top