$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 10, 2014 Check-out: Dec 11, 2014

La Fonda Hotel

4 stars
100 E. San Francisco, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
82 reviews
La Fonda

Staff: Extremely friendly, courteous and helpful. I would recommend La Fonda to anyone visiting... See full review

  • The other Joyce
  • Aug 16, 2014
Great hotel, amazing food - highly recommend

We stayed here for 3 days, and the only disappointment was the ocassaional rain that kept us out of... See full review

  • TwoBrooklynites
  • Jul 19, 2014
Stay at the vibrant landmark hotel on historic Santa Fe plaza

La Fonda Hotel is a Santa Fe classic. This downtown hotel has firmly held its place in the heart of the city for nearly a century. Treat companions to a New Mexico experience steeped in authentic southwestern atmosphere. Guest rooms are custom decorated in traditional pueblo revival style. Don't miss sunset on the rooftop bar, the highest in the city.

Highlights
  • One of the oldest hotel locations in America
  • 100 percent non-smoking
  • Pets OK (fees apply)
  • Restaurant and two bars
  • Heated swimming pool and full-service spa
Rooms

La Fonda Hotel offers varied room types to suit the many guests that come through its storied doors. Tile murals, original artwork, hand-painted furniture and kiva fireplaces offer authentic touches throughout all 170 rooms and suites. Standard amenities include Egyptian cotton linens, pillow-top Serta Dynasty beds, free Wi-Fi, terry robes, and coffee-makers. Refrigerators and balcony rooms are available.

Features

The La Fonda Hotel was established in 1922 and was a lodging site for traders long before that. Many visitors to Santa Fe pay a visit just to soak in the lore. Guests have access to an exclusive year-round heated swimming pool, hot tub and fitness center. Classic aromatherapy massage treatments are available at the modern full-service spa. Additional guest amenities include concierge services, babysitting and laundry services. Covered parking is on-site (fees apply).

Dining

La Fonda dining ranges from casual to elegant starting with a popular pastry shop and lunch buffet. Catch sunset over the adobe rooftops with 100 percent agave tequila margaritas from the seasonal open-air rooftop bar. The airy La Plazuela patio restaurant is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Arrive hungry for fresh guacamole and Filet y Enchiladas. Room service is available. 

Transportation
  • New Mexico Rail Runner Express Santa Fe depot (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Santa Fe Municipal Airport (10.5 mi/16.8 km)
  • Albuquerque International Sunport airport (67 mi/107 km)
Attractions
  • Santa Fe Plaza National Historic Landmark/Downtown (Adjacent)
  • Santa Fe Ski Area (15 mi/25 km)
  • Albuquerque, NM (63.8 mi/103 km)
  • Taos, NM (70 mi/113 km)
Business
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center
  • Over 14,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting spaces and private suites added in modern renovations
  • Event planning staff
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Policies and fees
Room renovation is nearly completed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

35.687 -105.9381
Area served
Historic Santa Fe, Los Alamos, Albuquerque and Taos.
Nearby airports
ABQ International
Area description
Shopping, Pueblo's, Dining, Historic Plaza and skiing

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Fonda Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

La Fonda Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Completely Renovated Fall of 2013. Larger with king bed, sitting room sofa bed, free high-speed wireless coffee maker.
Traditional Double/Double
Completely Renovated Fall of 2013. Guest room with two double beds, SW style, free high-speed wireless, robes and coffee maker.
Traditional King
Completely Renovated Fall of 2013. Traditional guest room with one king size bed, SW style, free high speed wireless, robes, coffee maker.
One Bedroom Suite
Completely Renovated Fall of 2013. Suite with king bed, separate living room sofa bed, free high-speed wireless coffee maker.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Bell Tower Bar
The 5th floor Bell Tower Bar is open from late spring through early fall for cocktails and great sunset views.
La Plazuela
Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. La Plazuela, a beautiful enclosed courtyard restaurant featuring an award-winning culinary team and interesting, contemporary Nuevo Latino cuisine as well as New Mexican favorites.
La Fiesta Lounge
La Fiesta Lounge, adjacent to La Plazuela, offers a New Mexican lunch buffet daily as well as snacks and live entertainment nightly.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
La Fonda offer eight meeting rooms with over more that 14,000 square feet of meeting space. La Fonda's experienced sales and conference services staff help select the setting, style, floor plan and atmosphere to suit your needs. We work hard to provide the service that is essential to the success of every event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (82)

Ratings and reviews for La Fonda Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 82
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Original Buddha
Business
San Francisco
Nov 13, 2014

Great place to stay in Santa Fe

La Fonda is a great place in Santa Fe! Rooms are clean and very nice, staff was very friendly, facilities are beautiful and the restaurant serves a very nice breakfast. The histrory of the place is interesting and fits in perfectly with the history of Santa Fe. All of this in a location that cannot be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TwoBrooklynites
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 19, 2014

Great hotel, amazing food - highly recommend

We stayed here for 3 days, and the only disappointment was the ocassaional rain that kept us out of the rooftop bar. The food at the hotel restaurant was excellent, as was the food and entertainment at the lounge. My husband and I are both foodies and agreed that the lunch buffet was some of the best food we'd had our entire trip. The hotel is windy and intricate, really interesting and furnished with original pieces of art - you can spend a day just walking around looking at all the retail showcases and the walls. And of course, there's the hot tub and pool, which were both great - not crowded, warm, and clean. I used the gym once or twice which was small but well maintained. The rooms were exactly what we were looking for - average in size, well maintained, fairly soundproof, and very comfortable - fresh bottles of water daily! Most of all, the location can not be better - La Fonda is smack in the middle of everything as far as Santa Fe's downtown eating and shopping attractions - excellent location. We will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mikepng
Business
El Paso, TX
Jun 24, 2014

Stay here!

This is an outstanding first class hotel. Service is first rate. The only reason it is not a 5 star is because our room was near the elevator and it was a weekend, so it was a bit noisy. The deluxe room is only a few dollars more and is very spacious and worth it. $15 for parking is not excessive given the convenience. The pool is nothing special and was overcrowded with rowdy kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Setter
Business
Florida
Jun 16, 2014

Nice quiet weekend

Enjoyable get away with husband, only problem was the early morning garbage pick up outside our window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Expensive shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Road Trip Godzilla
Business
Chicagoland
Jun 4, 2014

Terrific hotel with noisy bar

Probably would have granted 5 stars if not for the noise that came late night from the bar that features live music. Our room, while very nice and spacious, was located so that it was well within earshot of the events at that bar, which we did visit briefly on one of the nights of our stay. The hotel location couldn't be any better, the staff is friendly enough, and we were fortunate to have no trouble parking throughout our stay. The only other complaint besides it being a bit on the pricey side when compared to similar accommodations near, but not as close to, the plaza, is that the bathtub/shower required you to make a large step to get into and out of it, which could prove difficult for some.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Galisteo Bistro, just a few blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chicago girl 05
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 10, 2014

Great location lacking a warm ambiance

We stayed here for a quick weekend trip to Santa Fe. Overall, the hotel was fine (i.e. the rooms were clean and comfortable) and the location was great. However, it lacked some of the cozy Santa Fe charm that I was hoping for. The concierge Rebecca was great and made some amazing reccomendations for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PamBS
Business
Kansas City
Jan 6, 2014

La Fonda

Hotel remodel is vast improvement, although still lacks a decent exercise area. Not sure if you get a "lesser" room when not booking directly thru hotel. Although we had a nice suite, it was not as pictured on site and the view was overlooking trash bins, metal storage trailers. Made experience less than ideal since Santa Fe is such a lovely city to look at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Shed. An old favorite, but has lost it's appeal. It is no longer unique. You could be eating in any Mexican restaurant, yet there is always a very long wait ...probably based on it prior reputation. Food good but remodel left it less than having a special ambiance it used to have.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RAC3
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 3, 2013

Great Santa Fe Plaza Hotet

This historic hotel is set right in the heart of the historical downtown plaza area. Walking distance to many shops, restaurants, and bars. The architecture and design are classic Santa Fe. The standard room was cozy (small), but it was comfortable and had great southwest accents. My only complaint (and not on the part of the hotel) is that I wasn't told by the booking website I used that starts with O, that the hotel was undergoing renovations. I learned this only AFTER booking, when I went on the hotels website (yes, I should have looked at their website first anyway) and they had "renovations under way" on their homepage. Kudos to La Fonda for that! The first room had a window that was covered in plastic due to the construction, but the staff was accommodating and allowed us to change rooms. Overall, even with the construction, the experience was great and I would recommend it. Also note: the rate we got was reflective of the construction. (about $100 less than the travel guide published rates)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Vanessie is a great restaurant within walking distance. Amazing food and live music!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sydne
Business
NYC
Feb 6, 2013

great locale, charm, but in need of modern feel on way

La Fonda was in an amazing location, had a lovely lobby with fireplaces, good restaurant cordial staff and a quiet renovation underway that probably discounted our price and enhanced the overall value. Nonetheless, our older room and bath had touches of historic charm, but also faded, worn furnishings that will probably go by the wayside soon, as they should.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cindynico
Business
Colorado
Dec 9, 2012

Sightseeing Trip

Hotel has perfect location, one of the nicest restaurants and nice atmosphere...but can be noisy...We got 2 rooms and they were the first ones in the hallway, heard everyone heading to the pool and spa... good thing they closed at 9:00p.m. because it was noisy...These were the worst rooms to get, the front desk told us that.... we asked if we got them because we booked online, they said no, but makes you wonder....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel restaurant had some really great food and the atmosphere is nice.... definetly eat there again...Farmers market is really good and the art galleries are a must...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top