$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 10, 2014 Check-out: Dec 11, 2014

La Fonda Hotel

4 stars
100 E. San Francisco, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
82 reviews
La Fonda

Staff: Extremely friendly, courteous and helpful. I would recommend La Fonda to anyone visiting... See full review

  • The other Joyce
  • Aug 16, 2014
Great hotel, amazing food - highly recommend

We stayed here for 3 days, and the only disappointment was the ocassaional rain that kept us out of... See full review

  • TwoBrooklynites
  • Jul 19, 2014
Stay at the vibrant landmark hotel on historic Santa Fe plaza

La Fonda Hotel is a Santa Fe classic. This downtown hotel has firmly held its place in the heart of the city for nearly a century. Treat companions to a New Mexico experience steeped in authentic southwestern atmosphere. Guest rooms are custom decorated in traditional pueblo revival style. Don't miss sunset on the rooftop bar, the highest in the city.

Highlights
  • One of the oldest hotel locations in America
  • 100 percent non-smoking
  • Pets OK (fees apply)
  • Restaurant and two bars
  • Heated swimming pool and full-service spa
Rooms

La Fonda Hotel offers varied room types to suit the many guests that come through its storied doors. Tile murals, original artwork, hand-painted furniture and kiva fireplaces offer authentic touches throughout all 170 rooms and suites. Standard amenities include Egyptian cotton linens, pillow-top Serta Dynasty beds, free Wi-Fi, terry robes, and coffee-makers. Refrigerators and balcony rooms are available.

Features

The La Fonda Hotel was established in 1922 and was a lodging site for traders long before that. Many visitors to Santa Fe pay a visit just to soak in the lore. Guests have access to an exclusive year-round heated swimming pool, hot tub and fitness center. Classic aromatherapy massage treatments are available at the modern full-service spa. Additional guest amenities include concierge services, babysitting and laundry services. Covered parking is on-site (fees apply).

Dining

La Fonda dining ranges from casual to elegant starting with a popular pastry shop and lunch buffet. Catch sunset over the adobe rooftops with 100 percent agave tequila margaritas from the seasonal open-air rooftop bar. The airy La Plazuela patio restaurant is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Arrive hungry for fresh guacamole and Filet y Enchiladas. Room service is available. 

Transportation
  • New Mexico Rail Runner Express Santa Fe depot (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Santa Fe Municipal Airport (10.5 mi/16.8 km)
  • Albuquerque International Sunport airport (67 mi/107 km)
Attractions
  • Santa Fe Plaza National Historic Landmark/Downtown (Adjacent)
  • Santa Fe Ski Area (15 mi/25 km)
  • Albuquerque, NM (63.8 mi/103 km)
  • Taos, NM (70 mi/113 km)
Business
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center
  • Over 14,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting spaces and private suites added in modern renovations
  • Event planning staff
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Policies and fees
Room renovation is nearly completed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Fonda Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

La Fonda Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Completely Renovated Fall of 2013. Larger with king bed, sitting room sofa bed, free high-speed wireless coffee maker.
Traditional Double/Double
Completely Renovated Fall of 2013. Guest room with two double beds, SW style, free high-speed wireless, robes and coffee maker.
Traditional King
Completely Renovated Fall of 2013. Traditional guest room with one king size bed, SW style, free high speed wireless, robes, coffee maker.
One Bedroom Suite
Completely Renovated Fall of 2013. Suite with king bed, separate living room sofa bed, free high-speed wireless coffee maker.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Bell Tower Bar
The 5th floor Bell Tower Bar is open from late spring through early fall for cocktails and great sunset views.
La Plazuela
Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. La Plazuela, a beautiful enclosed courtyard restaurant featuring an award-winning culinary team and interesting, contemporary Nuevo Latino cuisine as well as New Mexican favorites.
La Fiesta Lounge
La Fiesta Lounge, adjacent to La Plazuela, offers a New Mexican lunch buffet daily as well as snacks and live entertainment nightly.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
La Fonda offer eight meeting rooms with over more that 14,000 square feet of meeting space. La Fonda's experienced sales and conference services staff help select the setting, style, floor plan and atmosphere to suit your needs. We work hard to provide the service that is essential to the success of every event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (82)

Ratings and reviews for La Fonda Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nick2
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Like staying at a cheap, old Rest Home.

One of the worst rooms I ever stayed in. Furniture was old and cheap, bathrooms out-dated and the room smelled bad, like they were trying to cover up a noxious odor with an overpowering fruity scent. The bathroom door would not close. And the room was rather small for the price. This could be a really nice hotel. The location on the plaza is great, and it does have a certain charm, but it needs a total update. Spend your money elsewhere until they spend some of theirs and redo this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveler21
Business
Tucson
Aug 31, 2011

Worst Customer Service and Dirty Room

First, I was not able to speak with anyone when I tried to call multiple times until I figured out that you have to get creative in pushing the number for the concierge, not the front desk. La Fonda double charged my credit card when I did not authorize them to do so and I had to call in and deal with that. The night manager told me that he would fire the lady who caused the problem, at my request (I did not request this). I have called back 5 times and nobody had addressed my issue and responded to me. I have another message in with them today, the secretary for the Executive Office is not responding to me or having anyone make sure this is heard. I could not believe a place like this would treat us in this way. It my opinion, this is a very terrible and low class way to handle issues. Maybe they are a bit overconfident in that people will stay there no matter what... The room was actually terrible and a waste of money in my opinion, good thing I got it for a reduced rate of $160/night during high season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Mar 14, 2011

Worst Hotel Stay Ever

I have used [...]many times and normally hotels treat me with the courtesy and respect of someone who pays directly. However, La Fonda clearly reserves unrentable rooms for its [...]customers.My room was located fewer than fifty feet from the Stiha room. A party had been booked that night with a live band and loud music played continuously from 6:00 PM to 11:30 PM. After that, guests stood in the corridor and discussed the best way to get to the elevator. And after that, the cleanup clew talked and banged until 1:30 AM. I called the front desk to complain and was told that there was nothing they could do. The noise was so bad that I couldn't even concentrate enough to read my book and it completely drowned out the sound of my television. Needless to say, I got very little sleep. Furthermore, the room was located by a network of pipes, which besides being unsightly sent out vibrations so extreme that my entire desk chair and laptop shook with the force. Loud noise seems to be the norm at La Fonda. When I went to soak in the hot tub, a hotel worker turned on music at a decibel that completely ruined my quiet enjoyment. An unpleasant surprise as well, though it wouldn't be a deal breaker, was learning that the hotel charged $13.00 for me to park my car overnight. Since they only charge $15.00 for day visitors, it seems that parking would be greatly reduced or waived for hotel visitors. Certainly the hotel was charming and the staff was friendly, but I can't respect a place that deliberately gives me a reduced quality room for a reduced rate. The hotel was half empty, they were aware that the party was booked, they were aware that other people had complained in that situation, and yet they didn't offer to give me another room or any sort of compensation. Do yourself a favor and find a different Plaza hotel. No guest deserves to be treated that way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
el paso tx
Sep 14, 2009

Really Bad

small rooms, small bathrooms, small gym. Restaurant never opened.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque,NM
Sep 28, 2009

good and bad

Great hotel , very unfriendly clerks. They will not allow a one hour late check out for a guest in a wheel chair. We will not stay their again. We live in New Mexico and you have many option to stay in great hotels in Santa Fe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Dec 23, 2010

Christmas Get-a-way

This was a gift to our son and daughter-in-law for Christmas but when they arrived at the La Fonda they said they had no record of the reservation and told our son he would have to pay for the room and then get the money back from [...]. How embarrassing for our guests...My son presented the La Fonda with the print out of the reservation but the La Fonda still told him he would have to pay. The La Fonda finally found the reservation..... Very unhappy with them....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Berkeley, CA
May 30, 2011

Noisy Room

We were given a room that was at the base of the elevators and on the street. Rm 106.Seriously?? The hotel was NOT full and I think they were just discriminating against [...]customers. I think it was the worst room in the hotel soundwise...Nice location of the hotel though and drinks on the roof were wonderful...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chicago girl 05
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 10, 2014

Great location lacking a warm ambiance

We stayed here for a quick weekend trip to Santa Fe. Overall, the hotel was fine (i.e. the rooms were clean and comfortable) and the location was great. However, it lacked some of the cozy Santa Fe charm that I was hoping for. The concierge Rebecca was great and made some amazing reccomendations for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Matti Korialta
Business
Arizona
Nov 28, 2010

RATES VARY DRAMATICALLY

WHEN WE CHECKED IN, THE RATES VARIED IN PRICE FROM 99.00/NIGHT TO 170.00/NIGHT FOR THE 2 ROOMS WE CHECKED IN. [...], WHO IS THE HEAD OF RESERVATION LEFT 2 RUDE MESSAGES ON OUR ROOM TELEPHONE SAYING SHE WULD NOT HONOR OUR RATE. FINALLY A FRONT DESK MANAGER TOOK CARE OF US HOWEVER WE STILL FELT VERY UNCOMFORTABLE WALING BY THE FRONT DESK. WE ARE REPEAT GUESTS AND WOULD NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN AFTER THIS EXPERIENCE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Pasquale offers an amazing breakfast and dinner. Need to make reservation at least 24 hours in advance for dinner. Coyote Cafe is delicious with a great wine list.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Loves Santa Fe
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Mar 31, 2012

Location fabulous but...

Front desk staff needs some training in customer service and knowledge about the hotel. Pictures on website are extremely misleading as to size of units. We paid extra for a "suite" that was really the same size as a rather smallish hotel room anywhere else. I would rate this hotel as 3 star rather than 4 star. The 4 star rating would be for the location. Onsite less expensive restaurant is not that great, service below standard. And more expensive than other better restaurants in Santa Fe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top