$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

La Fonda Hotel

4 stars
100 E. San Francisco, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
82 reviews
La Fonda

Staff: Extremely friendly, courteous and helpful. I would recommend La Fonda to anyone visiting... See full review

  • The other Joyce
  • Aug 16, 2014
Great hotel, amazing food - highly recommend

We stayed here for 3 days, and the only disappointment was the ocassaional rain that kept us out of... See full review

  • TwoBrooklynites
  • Jul 19, 2014
Stay at the vibrant landmark hotel on historic Santa Fe plaza

La Fonda Hotel is a Santa Fe classic. This downtown hotel has firmly held its place in the heart of the city for nearly a century. Treat companions to a New Mexico experience steeped in authentic southwestern atmosphere. Guest rooms are custom decorated in traditional pueblo revival style. Don't miss sunset on the rooftop bar, the highest in the city.

Highlights
  • One of the oldest hotel locations in America
  • 100 percent non-smoking
  • Pets OK (fees apply)
  • Restaurant and two bars
  • Heated swimming pool and full-service spa
Rooms

La Fonda Hotel offers varied room types to suit the many guests that come through its storied doors. Tile murals, original artwork, hand-painted furniture and kiva fireplaces offer authentic touches throughout all 170 rooms and suites. Standard amenities include Egyptian cotton linens, pillow-top Serta Dynasty beds, free Wi-Fi, terry robes, and coffee-makers. Refrigerators and balcony rooms are available.

Features

The La Fonda Hotel was established in 1922 and was a lodging site for traders long before that. Many visitors to Santa Fe pay a visit just to soak in the lore. Guests have access to an exclusive year-round heated swimming pool, hot tub and fitness center. Classic aromatherapy massage treatments are available at the modern full-service spa. Additional guest amenities include concierge services, babysitting and laundry services. Covered parking is on-site (fees apply).

Dining

La Fonda dining ranges from casual to elegant starting with a popular pastry shop and lunch buffet. Catch sunset over the adobe rooftops with 100 percent agave tequila margaritas from the seasonal open-air rooftop bar. The airy La Plazuela patio restaurant is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Arrive hungry for fresh guacamole and Filet y Enchiladas. Room service is available. 

Transportation
  • New Mexico Rail Runner Express Santa Fe depot (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Santa Fe Municipal Airport (10.5 mi/16.8 km)
  • Albuquerque International Sunport airport (67 mi/107 km)
Attractions
  • Santa Fe Plaza National Historic Landmark/Downtown (Adjacent)
  • Santa Fe Ski Area (15 mi/25 km)
  • Albuquerque, NM (63.8 mi/103 km)
  • Taos, NM (70 mi/113 km)
Business
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center
  • Over 14,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting spaces and private suites added in modern renovations
  • Event planning staff
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Policies and fees
Room renovation is nearly completed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Fonda Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

La Fonda Hotel Rooms

Traditional King
Completely Renovated Fall of 2013. Traditional guest room with one king size bed, SW style, free high speed wireless, robes, coffee maker.
One Bedroom Suite
Completely Renovated Fall of 2013. Suite with king bed, separate living room sofa bed, free high-speed wireless coffee maker.
Deluxe Room
Completely Renovated Fall of 2013. Larger with king bed, sitting room sofa bed, free high-speed wireless coffee maker.
Traditional Double/Double
Completely Renovated Fall of 2013. Guest room with two double beds, SW style, free high-speed wireless, robes and coffee maker.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
La Fonda offer eight meeting rooms with over more that 14,000 square feet of meeting space. La Fonda's experienced sales and conference services staff help select the setting, style, floor plan and atmosphere to suit your needs. We work hard to provide the service that is essential to the success of every event.

Dining

La Plazuela
Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. La Plazuela, a beautiful enclosed courtyard restaurant featuring an award-winning culinary team and interesting, contemporary Nuevo Latino cuisine as well as New Mexican favorites.
La Fiesta Lounge
La Fiesta Lounge, adjacent to La Plazuela, offers a New Mexican lunch buffet daily as well as snacks and live entertainment nightly.
Bell Tower Bar
The 5th floor Bell Tower Bar is open from late spring through early fall for cocktails and great sunset views.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (82)

Ratings and reviews for La Fonda Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sedona, AZ
May 18, 2011

Wonderful place to stay

This historic hotel is loaded with charm, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and the location couldn't be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

The best clothing and shoes in Santa Fe are right downstairs---Street Feet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Salvage Artist
Business
Gettysburg, PA
May 14, 2011

Charming old fashioned hotel

When we checked in to our room, we discovered that someone had been smoking in it. We called the desk and in a short time a comparable room was found and we were moved to it. The staff could not have been more accommodating. The shops were lovely and the food out of this World. Only drawback - one concierge did not know his stuff - steered us wrong twice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the flea market near the opera house for good buys on artist made jewelry. It seems to be where the shops downtown get their wares.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chandler, Az
May 9, 2011

Discovering Santa Fe

We rode motorcycles and were greeted in the parking garage with a safe spot to park and bottles of water......Welcome to La Fonda..said the bell man. It was only the beginning of wonderful service. The room had so much charm and was comfortable to accommodate any traveler. We never had a bad meal from the bar to the restaurant. This included breakfast, appetizers-cocktails to dinner in the main room. The location is perfect adjacent to the historical plaza we found ourselves close to everything downtown. Of course for us using La Fonda as a base to ride out of worked out well. See Sandia Peaks or Taos.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

While the meals are just a little pricey the hotel is very accommodating in quality for your dollar. Highly recommend the Filet and enchilada plate!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pearl, Mississippi
May 4, 2011

La Fonda hotel in Santa Fe

Saw the sites and had a splendid time. Hotel and Santa Fe were both very pleasant. The city caters to tourists and it shows. A 100% satisfaction. The airport is small but very quaint. The history was most interesting and the food absolutely perfect. A+ all the way around. Even the plane rides were nice and relaxing. Mike

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
laxlb7
Business
Maryland
Apr 28, 2011

Nice hotel, except for a few things

La Fonda hotel is located right in the downtown area of Santa Fe on the plaza. It is in a great location and within walking distance to museums, galleries, shops and restaurants. Their restaurant was also fabulous for breakfast and dinner. However; upon check in, we were handed a typed letter stating that on one of the nights we would be staying, there would be a power outage for electrical work and we would have no electricity from 10 pm- 8 am the next morning. The staff at the front desk said, "But it's really no big deal since you will be sleeping most of the time." I thought it was a big deal since the room would be pitch black if you needed to use the bathroom during the night, and we still had to pay full price for the room. Since it was a scheduled outage, I also think the hotel should have given us advanced notice of this outage so that we could prepare. We had to go to the local convenience store to purchase flashlights! I accepted this because I did not want it to ruin our trip. Then when we went to spend our first night in the room, our sheets had multiple holes in them (almost like little mouse chews) and stains. I also booked a room with a queen size bed, and our bed was full size- not comfortable for two tall people! I told the front desk about our sheets and they did replace them promptly. The night of the power outage, everything did go off at 10 pm, but instead of coming back on at 8am, it was off until around 10am. The staff had random flashlights or electric lanterns near some of the stairways, but it was still pretty dark inside the hotel. Overall it was a nice hotel that had great location, shops and restaurant with friendly wait staff. I just wish the bed and sheets were better and that we were told ahead of time about the power outage and given some sort of compensation for it. It seems ridiculous to pay full price for a room when you are not receiving electricity!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 12, 2011

Good location, food, facilities

I really enjoyed the facilities - hot tube, swimming pool and fitness center. The hotel interior is fantastic, the food is very good and there was live music every night. However, there was no personal approach to its clients - I was asking for information about the trips, happenings, etc. Did not receive any helpful advices. Internet was more helpful than the hotel staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tux
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 9, 2011

A Beautiful Old Hotel

The location of hotel makes it worth a premium price. I walked to everything that I wanted to see: museums, restaurants, the Santa Fe Playhouse, and churches were all within a few minutes walk. The hotel is old but well-kept up, and my room had beautiful hand-painted SW decorations on the dresser, nightstand, and headboard. There was plenty of hot water and a flat-panel TV. Staff was friendly and helpful, and the restaurant had great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Pink Adobe restaurant has the best Mexican food that I've ever eaten! If you can only go to one restaurant, go to this one.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Apr 6, 2011

Great Location

I wanted to visit Santa Fe for one night and wanted to be in the center. La Fonda was an ideal choice. The hotel is right in the middle, and everything I could want to see was in walking distance. The hotel staff was pleasant, and there was turndown service at night. Great value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bead lady
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 15, 2011

Great location, good value

The hotel is located next to the main plaza. I stayed 6 nights without a car and didn't need one because everything was close enough to walk to. I had 4 days of business in the area and if I had more time available could have gone more places without needing a car. Wonderful historical hotel, great buffet lunch at a great price in the lounge, resturant is great, and French morning to 5pm resturant was outstanding. Everytime I go to Santa Fe this is the place I stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Mar 14, 2011

Worst Hotel Stay Ever

I have used [...]many times and normally hotels treat me with the courtesy and respect of someone who pays directly. However, La Fonda clearly reserves unrentable rooms for its [...]customers.My room was located fewer than fifty feet from the Stiha room. A party had been booked that night with a live band and loud music played continuously from 6:00 PM to 11:30 PM. After that, guests stood in the corridor and discussed the best way to get to the elevator. And after that, the cleanup clew talked and banged until 1:30 AM. I called the front desk to complain and was told that there was nothing they could do. The noise was so bad that I couldn't even concentrate enough to read my book and it completely drowned out the sound of my television. Needless to say, I got very little sleep. Furthermore, the room was located by a network of pipes, which besides being unsightly sent out vibrations so extreme that my entire desk chair and laptop shook with the force. Loud noise seems to be the norm at La Fonda. When I went to soak in the hot tub, a hotel worker turned on music at a decibel that completely ruined my quiet enjoyment. An unpleasant surprise as well, though it wouldn't be a deal breaker, was learning that the hotel charged $13.00 for me to park my car overnight. Since they only charge $15.00 for day visitors, it seems that parking would be greatly reduced or waived for hotel visitors. Certainly the hotel was charming and the staff was friendly, but I can't respect a place that deliberately gives me a reduced quality room for a reduced rate. The hotel was half empty, they were aware that the party was booked, they were aware that other people had complained in that situation, and yet they didn't offer to give me another room or any sort of compensation. Do yourself a favor and find a different Plaza hotel. No guest deserves to be treated that way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top