$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 22, 2015 Check-out: Mar 24, 2015

La Fonda Hotel

4 stars
View map of 100 E. San Francisco, Santa Fe, NM 87501

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
86 reviews
Beautiful place to stay

The location couldn't be better -- right at the town center. The hotel is full characters. Room... See full review

  • Ziying S.
  • Feb 9, 2015
Perfect Stay!!

Hotel is FANTASTIC. Love the historic hotel and the town square. Lots of places to walk and... See full review

  • Averyclaire
  • Feb 4, 2015
Stay at the vibrant landmark hotel on historic Santa Fe plaza

La Fonda Hotel is a Santa Fe classic. This downtown hotel has firmly held its place in the heart of the city for nearly a century. Treat companions to a New Mexico experience steeped in authentic southwestern atmosphere. Guest rooms are custom decorated in traditional pueblo revival style. Don't miss sunset on the rooftop bar, the highest in the city.

Highlights
  • One of the oldest hotel locations in America
  • 100 percent non-smoking
  • Pets OK (fees apply)
  • Restaurant and two bars
  • Heated swimming pool and full-service spa
Rooms

La Fonda Hotel offers varied room types to suit the many guests that come through its storied doors. Tile murals, original artwork, hand-painted furniture and kiva fireplaces offer authentic touches throughout all 170 rooms and suites. Standard amenities include Egyptian cotton linens, pillow-top Serta Dynasty beds, free Wi-Fi, terry robes, and coffee-makers. Refrigerators and balcony rooms are available.

Features

The La Fonda Hotel was established in 1922 and was a lodging site for traders long before that. Many visitors to Santa Fe pay a visit just to soak in the lore. Guests have access to an exclusive year-round heated swimming pool, hot tub and fitness center. Classic aromatherapy massage treatments are available at the modern full-service spa. Additional guest amenities include concierge services, babysitting and laundry services. Covered parking is on-site (fees apply).

Dining

La Fonda dining ranges from casual to elegant starting with a popular pastry shop and lunch buffet. Catch sunset over the adobe rooftops with 100 percent agave tequila margaritas from the seasonal open-air rooftop bar. The airy La Plazuela patio restaurant is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Arrive hungry for fresh guacamole and Filet y Enchiladas. Room service is available. 

Transportation
  • New Mexico Rail Runner Express Santa Fe depot (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Santa Fe Municipal Airport (10.5 mi/16.8 km)
  • Albuquerque International Sunport airport (67 mi/107 km)
Attractions
  • Santa Fe Plaza National Historic Landmark/Downtown (Adjacent)
  • Santa Fe Ski Area (15 mi/25 km)
  • Albuquerque, NM (63.8 mi/103 km)
  • Taos, NM (70 mi/113 km)
Business
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center
  • Over 14,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting spaces and private suites added in modern renovations
  • Event planning staff
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Policies and fees
Room renovation is nearly completed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Fonda Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

La Fonda Hotel Rooms

Traditional King
Completely Renovated Fall of 2013. Traditional guest room with one king size bed, SW style, free high speed wireless, robes, coffee maker.
One Bedroom Suite
Completely Renovated Fall of 2013. Suite with king bed, separate living room sofa bed, free high-speed wireless coffee maker.
Deluxe Room
Completely Renovated Fall of 2013. Larger with king bed, sitting room sofa bed, free high-speed wireless coffee maker.
Traditional Double/Double
Completely Renovated Fall of 2013. Guest room with two double beds, SW style, free high-speed wireless, robes and coffee maker.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
La Fonda offer eight meeting rooms with over more that 14,000 square feet of meeting space. La Fonda's experienced sales and conference services staff help select the setting, style, floor plan and atmosphere to suit your needs. We work hard to provide the service that is essential to the success of every event.

Dining

La Plazuela
Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. La Plazuela, a beautiful enclosed courtyard restaurant featuring an award-winning culinary team and interesting, contemporary Nuevo Latino cuisine as well as New Mexican favorites.
La Fiesta Lounge
La Fiesta Lounge, adjacent to La Plazuela, offers a New Mexican lunch buffet daily as well as snacks and live entertainment nightly.
Bell Tower Bar
The 5th floor Bell Tower Bar is open from late spring through early fall for cocktails and great sunset views.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for La Fonda Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meeko
Business
Fairfax VA
Aug 30, 2011

La Fonda

Nice old hotel great location, ac was a little weak. Excellent Restaurant and French Creperie on the hotel grounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The Bell Tower had an excellent view of Santa Fe. the cocktails weren't too bad either.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lucille
Business
Frisco, CO, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Great hotel with a lot of character

This is the place to stay in Santa Fe! Wonderful building, old, but well maintained. The location is very convenient, right at the plaza. All of the employees were very friendly and helpful. The food was very good at breakfast and the restaurant was spacious and inviting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

There is not much night life around the plaza except in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nomad
Business
Eugene, OR
Aug 17, 2011

Just what I needed.

I needed a one night stay in downtown Santa fe before heading back home after a full week at nearby Ghost Ranch. I got a great online price for La Fonda. Sadly, I was placed down the hall from folks with dogs. Several rooms echoed with the lonesome barks of canines when their owners when out for dinner. They eventually stopped and I was able to embrace the full night's sleep that I needed so badly. That isn't the hotel's fault so I won't make that part of my assessment of quality thought it did impact my stay a bit. Staff was wonderful. Having restaurants and shops right in this self contained world is amazing. Room smelled strange...like feet? I sprayed peppermint hand sanitizer all over and that seemed to help. This was a first floor room Otherwise...the bed was super comfy and the experience was enjoyable. the pool is lovely as wel. I would stay here again most definitely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arvada, CO
Aug 11, 2011

Great Location

The room was very nice but on the small side. The beds and bedding were outstanding. My sister and I come each year to shop and go to the opera. The location was excellent for both pursuits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Boca had great sangria and paella.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
salt lake city
Aug 8, 2011

summer in santa fe

excellent service, good food, perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

go to the opera while you are visiting

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missouri City, TX
Jun 29, 2011

oldie but goodie

Pros: Decent size room for an old hotel, and well-equipped. Cons: Bathroom was small and tub had a very high stepover. Overall, excellent location, historic property in a great town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boulder, Colorado
Jun 28, 2011

Fantastic Santa Fe experience.

Woderful location on the plaza. Convient parking-easy in and out. Small,but very comfortable rooms. Staff was very hospitable. Could not have asked for a better experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver,CO
May 31, 2011

La Fonda

My mom and I traveled to Santa Fe for Memorial weekend just to get away. Our stay at La Fonda was just what we needed. The people were super friendly and the location is awesome. The food was really good and the atmosphere was perfect. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud! It was an excellent experience staying there! We plan to go back next year!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food in the lounge is superb!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Berkeley, CA
May 30, 2011

Noisy Room

We were given a room that was at the base of the elevators and on the street. Rm 106.Seriously?? The hotel was NOT full and I think they were just discriminating against [...]customers. I think it was the worst room in the hotel soundwise...Nice location of the hotel though and drinks on the roof were wonderful...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bay area
May 28, 2011

[...]

I booked a deluxe king room at La Fonda [...]. [...]...when we arrived they gave us a very small motel type room with a very small bathroom....it was not what the hotel website said about a "deluxe king"...i asked if they had another room as i wasn't happy....they upgraded us to a "deluxe" king lovely huge room with huge bath.....after that all was well....[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

lovely restaurant all open with beautiful paintings...fun bar with music every night

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top