$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

La Fonda Hotel

4 stars
100 E. San Francisco, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
81 reviews
La Fonda

Staff: Extremely friendly, courteous and helpful. I would recommend La Fonda to anyone visiting... See full review

  • The other Joyce
  • Aug 16, 2014
Great hotel, amazing food - highly recommend

We stayed here for 3 days, and the only disappointment was the ocassaional rain that kept us out of... See full review

  • TwoBrooklynites
  • Jul 19, 2014
Stay at the vibrant landmark hotel on historic Santa Fe plaza

La Fonda Hotel is a Santa Fe classic. This downtown hotel has firmly held its place in the heart of the city for nearly a century. Treat companions to a New Mexico experience steeped in authentic southwestern atmosphere. Guest rooms are custom decorated in traditional pueblo revival style. Don't miss sunset on the rooftop bar, the highest in the city.

Highlights
  • One of the oldest hotel locations in America
  • 100 percent non-smoking
  • Pets OK (fees apply)
  • Restaurant and two bars
  • Heated swimming pool and full-service spa
Rooms

La Fonda Hotel offers varied room types to suit the many guests that come through its storied doors. Tile murals, original artwork, hand-painted furniture and kiva fireplaces offer authentic touches throughout all 170 rooms and suites. Standard amenities include Egyptian cotton linens, pillow-top Serta Dynasty beds, free Wi-Fi, terry robes, and coffee-makers. Refrigerators and balcony rooms are available.

Features

The La Fonda Hotel was established in 1922 and was a lodging site for traders long before that. Many visitors to Santa Fe pay a visit just to soak in the lore. Guests have access to an exclusive year-round heated swimming pool, hot tub and fitness center. Classic aromatherapy massage treatments are available at the modern full-service spa. Additional guest amenities include concierge services, babysitting and laundry services. Covered parking is on-site (fees apply).

Dining

La Fonda dining ranges from casual to elegant starting with a popular pastry shop and lunch buffet. Catch sunset over the adobe rooftops with 100 percent agave tequila margaritas from the seasonal open-air rooftop bar. The airy La Plazuela patio restaurant is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Arrive hungry for fresh guacamole and Filet y Enchiladas. Room service is available. 

Transportation
  • New Mexico Rail Runner Express Santa Fe depot (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Santa Fe Municipal Airport (10.5 mi/16.8 km)
  • Albuquerque International Sunport airport (67 mi/107 km)
Attractions
  • Santa Fe Plaza National Historic Landmark/Downtown (Adjacent)
  • Santa Fe Ski Area (15 mi/25 km)
  • Albuquerque, NM (63.8 mi/103 km)
  • Taos, NM (70 mi/113 km)
Business
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center
  • Over 14,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting spaces and private suites added in modern renovations
  • Event planning staff
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Policies and fees
Room renovation is nearly completed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

35.687 -105.9381
Area served
Historic Santa Fe, Los Alamos, Albuquerque and Taos.
Nearby airports
ABQ International
Area description
Shopping, Pueblo's, Dining, Historic Plaza and skiing

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Fonda Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

La Fonda Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Room
Completely Renovated Fall of 2013. Larger with king bed, sitting room sofa bed, free high-speed wireless coffee maker.
Traditional Double/Double
Completely Renovated Fall of 2013. Guest room with two double beds, SW style, free high-speed wireless, robes and coffee maker.
Traditional King
Completely Renovated Fall of 2013. Traditional guest room with one king size bed, SW style, free high speed wireless, robes, coffee maker.
One Bedroom Suite
Completely Renovated Fall of 2013. Suite with king bed, separate living room sofa bed, free high-speed wireless coffee maker.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
La Fonda offer eight meeting rooms with over more that 14,000 square feet of meeting space. La Fonda's experienced sales and conference services staff help select the setting, style, floor plan and atmosphere to suit your needs. We work hard to provide the service that is essential to the success of every event.

Dining

Bell Tower Bar
The 5th floor Bell Tower Bar is open from late spring through early fall for cocktails and great sunset views.
La Plazuela
Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. La Plazuela, a beautiful enclosed courtyard restaurant featuring an award-winning culinary team and interesting, contemporary Nuevo Latino cuisine as well as New Mexican favorites.
La Fiesta Lounge
La Fiesta Lounge, adjacent to La Plazuela, offers a New Mexican lunch buffet daily as well as snacks and live entertainment nightly.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for La Fonda Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geena
Business
Abq, NM
Nov 15, 2011

Girlie Get Away

Overall we had a great time! The rooms are kinda small and the beds are only doubles, so it wasn't as comfy in that sense, BUT it was only for a night. The hotel itself is a GREAT location, in the heart of the plaza, a great restaurant (food was a little cold from kitchen) but we returned it and it came back just right, the food was very tasty :0) I already paid online, but they DO charge a per-authorization fee that seems to be taking a while to clear, (it's been 3 days) I wish I had known about that upfront....in either case, I would return...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food within the plaza, a short walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nick2
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Like staying at a cheap, old Rest Home.

One of the worst rooms I ever stayed in. Furniture was old and cheap, bathrooms out-dated and the room smelled bad, like they were trying to cover up a noxious odor with an overpowering fruity scent. The bathroom door would not close. And the room was rather small for the price. This could be a really nice hotel. The location on the plaza is great, and it does have a certain charm, but it needs a total update. Spend your money elsewhere until they spend some of theirs and redo this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A K Dancer
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Sep 21, 2011

Good location in downtown Santa Fe

We stayed five nights here. Property itself is distinctive, an interesting combination of old and historic features. Location, just off the central plaza is ideal for museums, shops, and dining. Close to Canyon Rd. shopping area. Several years ago we'd eaten dinner in the main dining room and enjoyed it; this time the dinner we had was only so-so. Breakfasts we had this time were good. Room was not too quiet in the day because it was near admin offices. Bell-tower bar, a sky bar, was enjoyable. Parking spaces are tight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Tia Sofia cafe for local food/ambiance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveler21
Business
Tucson
Aug 31, 2011

Worst Customer Service and Dirty Room

First, I was not able to speak with anyone when I tried to call multiple times until I figured out that you have to get creative in pushing the number for the concierge, not the front desk. La Fonda double charged my credit card when I did not authorize them to do so and I had to call in and deal with that. The night manager told me that he would fire the lady who caused the problem, at my request (I did not request this). I have called back 5 times and nobody had addressed my issue and responded to me. I have another message in with them today, the secretary for the Executive Office is not responding to me or having anyone make sure this is heard. I could not believe a place like this would treat us in this way. It my opinion, this is a very terrible and low class way to handle issues. Maybe they are a bit overconfident in that people will stay there no matter what... The room was actually terrible and a waste of money in my opinion, good thing I got it for a reduced rate of $160/night during high season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CrimsonButtercup
Business
Durango, CO
Aug 31, 2011

Truly Authentic Experience in an Excellent Location

We were booked for an economy room, but were upgraded for free when we checked in - just because! We got vouchers for discounts off margaritas at the downstairs bar, and parked in the attached parking garage (parking was $12/day and not included in the price of the room). The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable and clean, and the location could not have been better. We didn't get a chance to check out the pool area. The feeling is authentic rather than glitzy, an older plaza-side building, but that's it's charm. All in all, this is THE place to stay in Santa Fe for a long weekend or overnight. Superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meeko
Business
Fairfax VA
Aug 30, 2011

La Fonda

Nice old hotel great location, ac was a little weak. Excellent Restaurant and French Creperie on the hotel grounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The Bell Tower had an excellent view of Santa Fe. the cocktails weren't too bad either.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lucille
Business
Frisco, CO, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Great hotel with a lot of character

This is the place to stay in Santa Fe! Wonderful building, old, but well maintained. The location is very convenient, right at the plaza. All of the employees were very friendly and helpful. The food was very good at breakfast and the restaurant was spacious and inviting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

There is not much night life around the plaza except in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nomad
Business
Eugene, OR
Aug 17, 2011

Just what I needed.

I needed a one night stay in downtown Santa fe before heading back home after a full week at nearby Ghost Ranch. I got a great online price for La Fonda. Sadly, I was placed down the hall from folks with dogs. Several rooms echoed with the lonesome barks of canines when their owners when out for dinner. They eventually stopped and I was able to embrace the full night's sleep that I needed so badly. That isn't the hotel's fault so I won't make that part of my assessment of quality thought it did impact my stay a bit. Staff was wonderful. Having restaurants and shops right in this self contained world is amazing. Room smelled strange...like feet? I sprayed peppermint hand sanitizer all over and that seemed to help. This was a first floor room Otherwise...the bed was super comfy and the experience was enjoyable. the pool is lovely as wel. I would stay here again most definitely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arvada, CO
Aug 11, 2011

Great Location

The room was very nice but on the small side. The beds and bedding were outstanding. My sister and I come each year to shop and go to the opera. The location was excellent for both pursuits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Boca had great sangria and paella.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
salt lake city
Aug 8, 2011

summer in santa fe

excellent service, good food, perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

go to the opera while you are visiting

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top