$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 8, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

La Fonda Hotel

4 stars
View map of 100 E. San Francisco, Santa Fe, NM 87501

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Fonda Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tim Parris
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 5, 2012

This place has all the character!

The stay was great. It just does not get any better when you consider location, charm, staff and the level of cleanliness was excellent. I have stayed at all the main upper end Places including Inn of Five Graces. LaFonda is just plain fun! 5 stars for me

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Pasquals is one of the best places in the world...get a reservation

Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Loves Santa Fe
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Mar 31, 2012

Location fabulous but...

Front desk staff needs some training in customer service and knowledge about the hotel. Pictures on website are extremely misleading as to size of units. We paid extra for a "suite" that was really the same size as a rather smallish hotel room anywhere else. I would rate this hotel as 3 star rather than 4 star. The 4 star rating would be for the location. Onsite less expensive restaurant is not that great, service below standard. And more expensive than other better restaurants in Santa Fe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlohaCiao
Business
Southern California & Texas
Mar 21, 2012

Family reunion

We enjoyed our stay at the historic La Fonda. the colors are so warm and inviting. The lobby fireplaces were very inviting. Our 2 rooms were large, but on different floors. One room had connecting doors on both sides and all the rooms were occupied. Thus it was not quiet when the guests were in their rooms, especially those with young children (maybe this could be fixed with having an insulation strip on the bottom of the connecting doors). But it was so nice to be able to walk outside to the Plaza and the shops to stroll around. Brought back family memories. We also used the fitness center, too. And had several delicious hearty meals in the restaurants. Neutrogena bath products were large sizes! Thanks for offering the complimentary bottled waters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Atocha
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Mar 16, 2012

Excellent Santa Fe experience!

I have visited Santa Fe a number of times in the past, but have never stayed at the La Fonda. Excellent location to all that the Plaza has to offer, great drinks and snacks at the bar in the evening, and surprisingly comfortable beds made our stay fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I always eat at The Shed when I'm in Santa Fe. The NM food is delicious, but the hot fudge sundae at the end is a little treat you can't get anywhere else.

Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sandf
Business
Chandler, AZ, USA
Mar 15, 2012

Friends getaway

This hotel is located by the plaza. Everything that you would want to see is right there or a short walk to get there. Food was good. This hotel is very popular, so very busy and they have entertainment on some nights. Our friends room was close to the band so it did get loud. Over all a great place to stay, just make sure to confirm your room with the hotel directly after you have booked it .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The native american indians have they jewelry for sale right in front of the Palace of the governors. You can get some great buys.

Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
XXoX
Business
San Elizario, TX, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Perfect Business. Trip

After they found our reservations, they were very gracious and helpful. Everything was a pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Just right for my Business.

Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Johnny R
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Warm and Inviting

Great staff and experience. Stay here for a treat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Dragon Room at Pink Adobe. Cool vibe.

Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
annieby
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Nice place in the town center

The hotel is located at the very center of Santa Fe, in a walking distance from a multitude of shops and restaurants. In fact, there is a gallery of art and souvenir shops inside the hotel itself. The parking garage is very convenient (just beware that parking is $12 extra per day). The only problem with the room was that it was located next to the elevators, which meant that there was a lot of foot traffic next to our door and we could hear people talking early in the morning, and that woke us up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant/bar downstairs has a long selection of Margaritas, and they are excellent!

Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pastor Linda
Business
Colorado, USA
Jan 8, 2012

historic and convenient location

The staff and location were definitely at the top of our list for recommending this historic hotel. We loved our experience there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HHGJ
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Jan 7, 2012

WHAT A GREAT HOTEL

Best staff we have encountered in 50 years of travel. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The meals were great in the lounge and the entertainment was super. The decor is fitting and beautiful. This is what a hotel can and should be, but seldom is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Great meals and entertainment without leaving the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top