$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 6, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

La Fonda Hotel

4 stars
View map of 100 E. San Francisco, Santa Fe, NM 87501

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Fonda Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TwoBrooklynites
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 19, 2014

Great hotel, amazing food - highly recommend

We stayed here for 3 days, and the only disappointment was the ocassaional rain that kept us out of the rooftop bar. The food at the hotel restaurant was excellent, as was the food and entertainment at the lounge. My husband and I are both foodies and agreed that the lunch buffet was some of the best food we'd had our entire trip. The hotel is windy and intricate, really interesting and furnished with original pieces of art - you can spend a day just walking around looking at all the retail showcases and the walls. And of course, there's the hot tub and pool, which were both great - not crowded, warm, and clean. I used the gym once or twice which was small but well maintained. The rooms were exactly what we were looking for - average in size, well maintained, fairly soundproof, and very comfortable - fresh bottles of water daily! Most of all, the location can not be better - La Fonda is smack in the middle of everything as far as Santa Fe's downtown eating and shopping attractions - excellent location. We will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mikepng
Business
El Paso, TX
Jun 24, 2014

Stay here!

This is an outstanding first class hotel. Service is first rate. The only reason it is not a 5 star is because our room was near the elevator and it was a weekend, so it was a bit noisy. The deluxe room is only a few dollars more and is very spacious and worth it. $15 for parking is not excessive given the convenience. The pool is nothing special and was overcrowded with rowdy kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Setter
Business
Florida
Jun 16, 2014

Nice quiet weekend

Enjoyable get away with husband, only problem was the early morning garbage pick up outside our window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Expensive shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Road Trip Godzilla
Business
Chicagoland
Jun 4, 2014

Terrific hotel with noisy bar

Probably would have granted 5 stars if not for the noise that came late night from the bar that features live music. Our room, while very nice and spacious, was located so that it was well within earshot of the events at that bar, which we did visit briefly on one of the nights of our stay. The hotel location couldn't be any better, the staff is friendly enough, and we were fortunate to have no trouble parking throughout our stay. The only other complaint besides it being a bit on the pricey side when compared to similar accommodations near, but not as close to, the plaza, is that the bathtub/shower required you to make a large step to get into and out of it, which could prove difficult for some.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Galisteo Bistro, just a few blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chicago girl 05
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 10, 2014

Great location lacking a warm ambiance

We stayed here for a quick weekend trip to Santa Fe. Overall, the hotel was fine (i.e. the rooms were clean and comfortable) and the location was great. However, it lacked some of the cozy Santa Fe charm that I was hoping for. The concierge Rebecca was great and made some amazing reccomendations for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PamBS
Business
Kansas City
Jan 6, 2014

La Fonda

Hotel remodel is vast improvement, although still lacks a decent exercise area. Not sure if you get a "lesser" room when not booking directly thru hotel. Although we had a nice suite, it was not as pictured on site and the view was overlooking trash bins, metal storage trailers. Made experience less than ideal since Santa Fe is such a lovely city to look at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Shed. An old favorite, but has lost it's appeal. It is no longer unique. You could be eating in any Mexican restaurant, yet there is always a very long wait ...probably based on it prior reputation. Food good but remodel left it less than having a special ambiance it used to have.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vladimir The Great
Business
Portland, OR
Apr 5, 2013

super cute rooms

La Fonda was great, can't beat the location and the price was reasonable for the location. There was some construction sounds starting early in the morning, but luckily I had to be up early so it wasn't too much of an inconvenience. But overall, for the price, the comfort, location/convenience, nice staff, and the overall aesthetic of the hotel (beautiful adobe building, and rooms well decorated), I didn't want to leave! Recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RAC3
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 3, 2013

Great Santa Fe Plaza Hotet

This historic hotel is set right in the heart of the historical downtown plaza area. Walking distance to many shops, restaurants, and bars. The architecture and design are classic Santa Fe. The standard room was cozy (small), but it was comfortable and had great southwest accents. My only complaint (and not on the part of the hotel) is that I wasn't told by the booking website I used that starts with O, that the hotel was undergoing renovations. I learned this only AFTER booking, when I went on the hotels website (yes, I should have looked at their website first anyway) and they had "renovations under way" on their homepage. Kudos to La Fonda for that! The first room had a window that was covered in plastic due to the construction, but the staff was accommodating and allowed us to change rooms. Overall, even with the construction, the experience was great and I would recommend it. Also note: the rate we got was reflective of the construction. (about $100 less than the travel guide published rates)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Vanessie is a great restaurant within walking distance. Amazing food and live music!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Volon
Business
New Mexico
Apr 3, 2013

La Fonda

This trip was VERY busy and I was hardly in the hotel except to sleep. There was some work being done in th hotel that could have been an issue but was not. You can not beat the La Fonda location for a Santa Fe on the plaza experience, which I do about once a year, so I will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Fonda Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yvonne Single explorer
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 2, 2013

Nice place to stay

A great location for the Easter weekend. Very close to Cathedral. Easy access around the Plaza towards other directions in the city. Very clean and beautifully decorated. Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top