Hotel St. Francis - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
210 Don Gaspar Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
51 reviews
Perfect Santa Fe Locale

Wonderful site to see downtown Santa Fe's charm! Everything within walking distance! We ha e stayed... See full review

  • DGiff
  • May 25, 2014
The spirit of Santa Fe

Nice, majestic hotel that captures well the old class of Santa Fe. Very nice location, very... See full review

  • MauriceAfter10
  • Apr 14, 2014
Upscale Historic Santa Fe property

The Hotel St Francis was named after the patron saint of the city and has been recently renovated to give it a modern feel, while retaining the traditional features. The colors used have been chosen to reflect the surroundings and the furniture has all been created in the region by local artisans. Conde Nast have regularly ranked this hotel in the top three travel destinations in the USA and the local cultural attractions and the excellent weather in the region are just some of the reasons why.The hotel also features the Secreto Bar & Loggia and the fine dining restaurant, Tabla de Los Santos.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Historic hotel, which is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, and perfectly located for exploring the city or the surrounding areas, such as the Sangre de Cristo Mountains.
  • Variety of stylish and well-furnished guestrooms to choose from
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
Hotel St. Francis - Heritage Hotels and Resorts Rooms
There are several different guestrooms to choose from at the Hotel St Francis. The Classic Rooms have one full size, a queen or a king bed, and range from 180sqft and up, and Deluxe Rooms feature a Queen, King or 2 Double beds and range from 250sqft and up.  All rooms feature luxurious 400 thread count Frette linens, with high ceilings and original feature windows, and are decorated with authentic local art pieces and architectural touches.  There is also complimentary wireless Internet access for all guests at the Hotel St Francis.  All rooms also feature flat screen TV's and a range of cable channels.
Things To Do:
  • Lensic Theater (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Loretto Chapel (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • New Mexico Museum of Art (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Santa Fe Plaza (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Institute of American Indian Arts Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Georgia O'Keefe Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Cathedral Basilica of Saint Francis of Assisi (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Santa Fe Children's Museum (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Museum of International Folk Art (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • Museum of Spanish Colonial Art (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
Policies and fees
  • Nightly parking fee is $11 USD.
  • Heritage Hotels and Resorts has a corporate policy that requires the minimum age of a guest to check-in to be 21 years. A major provision is that the hotel allows Military personnel on Active Duty to check in with Military ID at the age of 18.
  • Pets allowed, up to two per room for a fee of $25 USD/night plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel St. Francis - Heritage Hotels and Resorts Rooms

Classic Rooms
Classic Rooms have one full size, a queen or a king bed, and range from 180sqft and up. All rooms feature luxurious 400 thread count Frette linens, with high ceilings and original feature windows, and are decorated with authentic local art pieces and architectural touches. There is also complimentary wireless Internet access for all guests at the Hotel St Francis. All rooms also feature flat screen TV's and a range of cable channels.
Deluxe Rooms
Deluxe Rooms feature a Queen, King or 2 Double beds and range from 250sqft and up. All rooms feature luxurious 400 thread count Frette linens, with high ceilings and original feature windows, and are decorated with authentic local art pieces and architectural touches. There is also complimentary wireless Internet access for all guests at the Hotel St Francis. All rooms also feature flat screen TV's and a range of cable channels.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Hotel Map

35.6861 -105.9399
Area served
Santa Fe
Nearby airports
Albuquerque International Airport (ABQ), Santa Fe Municipal Airport
Area description
The Hotel St Francis is 1 block from historic Santa Fe Plaza; 2 blocks from the Palace of the Governors, the Loretto Chapel, and other top attractions; and a half-mile from the Canyon Road Gallery District.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Santa Fe, New Mexico Meetings & Events

Located just two blocks from Santa Fe Plaza and walking distance to the Santa Fe Convention Center, as well as numerous Santa Fe sights and attractions, Hotel St. Francis is the perfect place to host your next meeting, conference, or event. Our historic hotel has been renovated to include modern, well-equipped meeting facilities, including our De Vargas Room, which can accommodate up to 75 people and our magnificent lobby, which can accommodate a reception for 200 people. Let the professional staff at the Hotel St. Francis assist you in planning your next meeting or special event in beautiful Santa Fe, NM.

Dining

Tabla de Los Santos
This fine dining establishment in Hotel St. Francis features the culinary masterpieces of renowned Chef Estevan Garcia. Enjoy an authentic New-Mexican inspired menu featuring local, organic farm-to-table ingredients. Chef Garcia's menu is inspired by traditional northern New Mexican cuisine, his personal experience in a Franciscan monastery and love of the freshest local ingredients. This results in some surprisingly complex culinary creations as well as some delightfully simple signature dishes.
Secreto Bar & Loggia
Guests can discover the ancient wine-making traditions introduced by Santa Fe's Franciscan monks at Secreto Bar as well as enjoying a wide array of award winning, hand-crafted cocktails. On warm days, our seasonal patio and loggia is the perfect spot for surveying the vibrant Santa Fe street scene. Join us for fresh fruit, traditional drinks, and delicious appetizers in a warm, relaxing environment for socializing and unwinding.
Reposo
The tradition of Afternoon tea, coffee, sherry and sweets is reinvented at the Hotel St. Francis with Reposo in our lobby Thursday - Saturday afternoons from 3:00pm-5:00pm. We invite you to enjoy tranquil and indulgent tea-time offerings that include artisan-crafted, traditionally cultivated whole-leaf teas from small farms around the world. We offer you the finest seasonal, premium, artisan-crafted whole leaf teas produced in the world. We only select teas that are farm direct from China, India and Egypt, from suppliers that are committed to buying from small farmers and farming collectives to support traditional tea cultivation techniques. By providing the purest, premium whole leaf, hand crafted teas possible, we hope to introduce you to the connoisseurship, health benefits, and the serenity that comes with drinking tea.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel St. Francis - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel St. Francis - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Larry Old dude
Vermont
Apr 29, 2014

Room from Hades!!

room so small that a chair would not fit! Had to sit on bed sideways to see tv. Bathroom so small that wash sink was in the room not in the bathroom. Tiniest room we ever stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hotel St. Francis - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jeffgibb
Scottsdale, AZ
Dec 1, 2013

Hotel with a long history and short on amenities

Much has changed since we stayed here years ago. Used to have local charm and character. Heritage Hotels bought it and remodeled it to look like a nunnery. Sparse and cold. Rooms are small, always were, but they offered very few amenities as well...what, no coffee maker, fridge, microwave? Not even ice or cold water bucket or pitcher. No small store nor gift shop. Everything had to be purchased at the bar/restaurant or go elsewhere. Business center was a joke. One computer! REALLY! Even the lighting was kept low, hard to read a book or a map. Restaurant, Tabla de los Santos, food was xlnt but very expensive. Waiters nice. We were usually the only ones dining there. Heritage really ripped the heart out of this place. Just as they did Plaza Real, changed it to Hotel Chimayo. Also looked very spartan...yet still expensive. Most of the staff members - many had worked for the former management - we spoke with agreed with our disappointment with the new look/ownership. Won't stay here again. For the money,better places around the plaza with better ambiance/amenities at comparable prices. Try them first. This may be the oldest hotel, but newest of the corporate-chain rip-offs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay close to or in or around the plaza area. Best restaurants, shops, bars, etc. Be prepared to have CASH...many cafes want cash only.

Review of Hotel St. Francis - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
AZ
Feb 26, 2011

Rude front desk

Great location and the decor was very peaceful.The bed very comfortable. The young man at the desk was rude. The $9 parking fee was a surprise. The reposa/ afternoon tea/ sherry advertized for thursday thru saturday was not held on Thursday and the front desk was rude about that too. Very poor phone etiquette and no apologies--even though the welcome letter on the bed stated this was an event. I would probably not stay here again, as the customer service was just not up to scale for the cost. On a positive note, the young womean at the desk on Fri morning was very helpful and told us we could leave the car parked there while we shopped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Santa Fe shopping or just window shopping is a great experience!

Review of Hotel St. Francis - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Medford, OR
Sep 4, 2007

My review of Hotel St. Francis

The lobby of the Hotel St Francis is lovely. Its location is just off the Plaza and across from Pasquale's which is a great place to eat.The standard room I had was very small though, if there were two of us we would have been tripping over each other...as a single it was just tolerable. Check in went very smoothly. The problem came when an emergency occurred. The hotel as well as a few square blocks around the hotel went into a black-out at about 6PM. The manager sent the restaurant and bar staff home and locked everything up tight. As evening progressed and darkness came, the hotel was ill prepared. Although there were a few flashlights and some candles to light the way to our rooms, they did not have candles for the guests. They were very rude to a few guests who decided to stay in the lobby where there was a lit fireplace and at least have some light and a chance to chat with others. A guest went to his car and procured a bottle of wine and was threatened by a staff member that the police would be called because there was an open bottle of wine in the lobby. These guests got quite angry at the attitude of this staff member and of the lack of information they provided as to what had occurred and when electricity would be restored. To be fair, not all the staff was that rude... someone got us wine glasses and kept the fire stoked with wood...I do, however,think the staff needs some training on how to respond in emergencies and the hotel needs better preparation. The next morning electricity had been restored and things were back to normal and the hotel staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel St. Francis - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
AZ
Feb 26, 2011

Rude front desk

Great location and the decor was very peaceful.The bed very comfortable. The young man at the desk was rude. The $9 parking fee was a surprise. The reposa/ afternoon tea/ sherry advertized for thursday thru saturday was not held on Thursday and the front desk was rude about that too. Very poor phone etiquette and no apologies--even though the welcome letter on the bed stated this was an event. I would probably not stay here again, as the customer service was just not up to scale for the cost. On a positive note, the young womean at the desk on Fri morning was very helpful and told us we could leave the car parked there while we shopped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Santa Fe shopping or just window shopping is a great experience!

Review of Hotel St. Francis - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ellvizzle
Denver
Jun 26, 2012

paying a lot for not much

A regular room is small. I mean really small. You're paying a lot for not all that much--the same amount for a place down the street where breakfast and parking are included (in case it's not clear, they are not included in the room price). I would not recommend staying here. It's a great location though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hotel St. Francis - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Medford, OR
Sep 4, 2007

My review of Hotel St. Francis

The lobby of the Hotel St Francis is lovely. Its location is just off the Plaza and across from Pasquale's which is a great place to eat.The standard room I had was very small though, if there were two of us we would have been tripping over each other...as a single it was just tolerable. Check in went very smoothly. The problem came when an emergency occurred. The hotel as well as a few square blocks around the hotel went into a black-out at about 6PM. The manager sent the restaurant and bar staff home and locked everything up tight. As evening progressed and darkness came, the hotel was ill prepared. Although there were a few flashlights and some candles to light the way to our rooms, they did not have candles for the guests. They were very rude to a few guests who decided to stay in the lobby where there was a lit fireplace and at least have some light and a chance to chat with others. A guest went to his car and procured a bottle of wine and was threatened by a staff member that the police would be called because there was an open bottle of wine in the lobby. These guests got quite angry at the attitude of this staff member and of the lack of information they provided as to what had occurred and when electricity would be restored. To be fair, not all the staff was that rude... someone got us wine glasses and kept the fire stoked with wood...I do, however,think the staff needs some training on how to respond in emergencies and the hotel needs better preparation. The next morning electricity had been restored and things were back to normal and the hotel staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel St. Francis - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peter C.
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 10, 2011

Pretty basic...

The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful - and the hotel was very clean; so if all you need while traveling is friendliness and cleanliness, this hotel is completely adequate. That said, my room was extremely small and the decor/amenities were beyond minimalist. There weren't even hooks on the wall to hang a standard-sized garment bag (which also wouldn't fit in the small closet space). The restaurant hours aren't extensive - I guess I expected that the hotel restaurant would be open for whenever I needed something to eat in between business meetings, etc. It wasn't. The walls are also thin. I heard the other hotel guests in my hall throughout the night any time a door opened and/or closed. If I return to Santa Fe in the near future, I will most likely try another hotel to see how the Hotel St. Francis compares with at least one other property near the Plaza - but I will keep this hotel in mind for a quick business visit with last minute planning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel St. Francis - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City
Apr 9, 2011

Beautiful Hotel Atmosphere--cramped room

the Hotel is beautiful. I loved the lobby and front patio for drinks and people watching. Charming hotel. Rooms are attractive BUT Rooms are very very small, beds where not at the same level of comfort I've seen at other hotels. Only a hard wood chair or bench in rooms for sitting. So small thermostat was behind furniture. Breakfast was terrible. I should have ordered my green chili on the side. I could not find the eggs on my plate underneath 8 oz of chili sauce. I wondered why the restaurant was empty while the restaurant across the street had people waiting to be seated waiting on the sidewalk. Aesthetically beautiful, not practical. Next trip to Santa Fe will not stay there but go there for drinks. I really wanted to love it, when I walked into the lobby to check in I was smitten but then it turned out average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel St. Francis - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ellen4310
Cleveland, OH
Mar 24, 2014

ST, Francis in Santa Fe

Location, perfect. Hotel is clean and pleasant. Our room was miniscule and we were constantly stepping over each other. Room was dark and I could barely see to put on make up. Sink was in the bedroom and a nuisance. No light in the shower. Restaurant was expensive and not particularly good. Staff was helpful and pleasant,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Pasqual's for breakfast promptly at 8:00 a.m. before they fill up.

Back to menu Return to top