$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 17, 2014 Check-out: Sep 19, 2014

Hotel St. Francis - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

4 stars
210 Don Gaspar Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
41 reviews
Perfect Santa Fe Locale

Wonderful site to see downtown Santa Fe's charm! Everything within walking distance! We ha e stayed... See full review

  • DGiff
  • May 25, 2014
The spirit of Santa Fe

Nice, majestic hotel that captures well the old class of Santa Fe. Very nice location, very... See full review

  • MauriceAfter10
  • Apr 14, 2014
Upscale Historic Santa Fe property

The Hotel St Francis was named after the patron saint of the city and has been recently renovated to give it a modern feel, while retaining the traditional features. The colors used have been chosen to reflect the surroundings and the furniture has all been created in the region by local artisans. Conde Nast have regularly ranked this hotel in the top three travel destinations in the USA and the local cultural attractions and the excellent weather in the region are just some of the reasons why.The hotel also features the Secreto Bar & Loggia and the fine dining restaurant, Tabla de Los Santos.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Historic hotel, which is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, and perfectly located for exploring the city or the surrounding areas, such as the Sangre de Cristo Mountains.
  • Variety of stylish and well-furnished guestrooms to choose from
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
Hotel St. Francis - Heritage Hotels and Resorts Rooms
There are several different guestrooms to choose from at the Hotel St Francis. The Classic Rooms have one full size, a queen or a king bed, and range from 180sqft and up, and Deluxe Rooms feature a Queen, King or 2 Double beds and range from 250sqft and up.  All rooms feature luxurious 400 thread count Frette linens, with high ceilings and original feature windows, and are decorated with authentic local art pieces and architectural touches.  There is also complimentary wireless Internet access for all guests at the Hotel St Francis.  All rooms also feature flat screen TV's and a range of cable channels.
Things To Do:
  • Lensic Theater (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Loretto Chapel (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • New Mexico Museum of Art (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Santa Fe Plaza (0.1 mi/ 0.2 km)
  • Institute of American Indian Arts Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Georgia O'Keefe Museum (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Cathedral Basilica of Saint Francis of Assisi (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Santa Fe Children's Museum (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Museum of International Folk Art (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • Museum of Spanish Colonial Art (1.6 mi/ 2.6 km)
Policies and fees
  • Nightly parking fee is $11 USD.
  • Heritage Hotels and Resorts has a corporate policy that requires the minimum age of a guest to check-in to be 21 years. A major provision is that the hotel allows Military personnel on Active Duty to check in with Military ID at the age of 18.
  • Pets allowed, up to two per room for a fee of $25 USD/night plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

35.6861 -105.9399
Area served
Santa Fe
Nearby airports
Albuquerque International Airport (ABQ), Santa Fe Municipal Airport
Area description
The Hotel St Francis is 1 block from historic Santa Fe Plaza; 2 blocks from the Palace of the Governors, the Loretto Chapel, and other top attractions; and a half-mile from the Canyon Road Gallery District.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel St. Francis - Heritage Hotels and Resorts also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel St. Francis - Heritage Hotels and Resorts Rooms

Classic Rooms
Classic Rooms have one full size, a queen or a king bed, and range from 180sqft and up. All rooms feature luxurious 400 thread count Frette linens, with high ceilings and original feature windows, and are decorated with authentic local art pieces and architectural touches. There is also complimentary wireless Internet access for all guests at the Hotel St Francis. All rooms also feature flat screen TV's and a range of cable channels.
Deluxe Rooms
Deluxe Rooms feature a Queen, King or 2 Double beds and range from 250sqft and up. All rooms feature luxurious 400 thread count Frette linens, with high ceilings and original feature windows, and are decorated with authentic local art pieces and architectural touches. There is also complimentary wireless Internet access for all guests at the Hotel St Francis. All rooms also feature flat screen TV's and a range of cable channels.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Santa Fe, New Mexico Meetings & Events

Located just two blocks from Santa Fe Plaza and walking distance to the Santa Fe Convention Center, as well as numerous Santa Fe sights and attractions, Hotel St. Francis is the perfect place to host your next meeting, conference, or event. Our historic hotel has been renovated to include modern, well-equipped meeting facilities, including our De Vargas Room, which can accommodate up to 75 people and our magnificent lobby, which can accommodate a reception for 200 people. Let the professional staff at the Hotel St. Francis assist you in planning your next meeting or special event in beautiful Santa Fe, NM.

Dining

Tabla de Los Santos
This fine dining establishment in Hotel St. Francis features the culinary masterpieces of renowned Chef Estevan Garcia. Enjoy an authentic New-Mexican inspired menu featuring local, organic farm-to-table ingredients. Chef Garcia's menu is inspired by traditional northern New Mexican cuisine, his personal experience in a Franciscan monastery and love of the freshest local ingredients. This results in some surprisingly complex culinary creations as well as some delightfully simple signature dishes.
Secreto Bar & Loggia
Guests can discover the ancient wine-making traditions introduced by Santa Fe's Franciscan monks at Secreto Bar as well as enjoying a wide array of award winning, hand-crafted cocktails. On warm days, our seasonal patio and loggia is the perfect spot for surveying the vibrant Santa Fe street scene. Join us for fresh fruit, traditional drinks, and delicious appetizers in a warm, relaxing environment for socializing and unwinding.
Reposo
The tradition of Afternoon tea, coffee, sherry and sweets is reinvented at the Hotel St. Francis with Reposo in our lobby Thursday - Saturday afternoons from 3:00pm-5:00pm. We invite you to enjoy tranquil and indulgent tea-time offerings that include artisan-crafted, traditionally cultivated whole-leaf teas from small farms around the world. We offer you the finest seasonal, premium, artisan-crafted whole leaf teas produced in the world. We only select teas that are farm direct from China, India and Egypt, from suppliers that are committed to buying from small farmers and farming collectives to support traditional tea cultivation techniques. By providing the purest, premium whole leaf, hand crafted teas possible, we hope to introduce you to the connoisseurship, health benefits, and the serenity that comes with drinking tea.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel St. Francis - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel St. Francis - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andycali6
New York, NY
May 28, 2012

Simple elegance and Beautiful

I really enjoyed it. Very friendly and helpful staff. Although not big, the room was gorgeous. I loved the Spanish style.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The jewelry prices of the natives(Navajo) are very high! You find better deals at many of the stores.

Review of Hotel St. Francis - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DGiff
Southern Colorado
May 25, 2014

Perfect Santa Fe Locale

Wonderful site to see downtown Santa Fe's charm! Everything within walking distance! We ha e stayed here several times and will return to the Hotel St. Francis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel St. Francis - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Larry Old dude
Vermont
Apr 29, 2014

Room from Hades!!

room so small that a chair would not fit! Had to sit on bed sideways to see tv. Bathroom so small that wash sink was in the room not in the bathroom. Tiniest room we ever stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Hotel St. Francis - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MauriceAfter10
Woodside, California
Apr 14, 2014

The spirit of Santa Fe

Nice, majestic hotel that captures well the old class of Santa Fe. Very nice location, very central. The rooms are not very big, which is the only thing that makes it not rate 5 star. But then again, who wants to stay in a bedroom when in Santa Fe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel St. Francis - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Darlish
Warner, NH
Apr 10, 2014

Hotel Saint Francis

Hotel Saint Francis is a lovely historic hotel situated in the heart of the Santa Fe plaza. If want to shop, walk around, enjoy good food and visit museums and galleries this is a great spot. The hotel was very pretty and had a relaxed atmosphere. It didn't have all of the high end amenities that one is used to at the larger hotels such as coffee makers in the room, room service and comfy furniture. This could be improved on some however the restaurant was exceptional and the bar atmosphere was also a lot of fun with good food in both locations. I would recommend a stay here if these are the things you are looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We did a day trip to Bandolier Monument. It is about 50 miles/1 hr. away and well worth the trip. Gorgeous ruins, really spectacular views all along the way and wonderful hike. The park is well staffed and a great trip!

Review of Hotel St. Francis - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ellen4310
Cleveland, OH
Mar 24, 2014

ST, Francis in Santa Fe

Location, perfect. Hotel is clean and pleasant. Our room was miniscule and we were constantly stepping over each other. Room was dark and I could barely see to put on make up. Sink was in the bedroom and a nuisance. No light in the shower. Restaurant was expensive and not particularly good. Staff was helpful and pleasant,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Pasqual's for breakfast promptly at 8:00 a.m. before they fill up.

Review of Hotel St. Francis - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bigjon of gv
Grapevine, Texas
Mar 19, 2014

Great for short getaway

St. Francis is an old hotel, beautifully restored. Rooms are super small (think NYC) and short on amenities, but great for short stays. You're not in the room that much anyway. Located right off the square. Staff was friendly and helpful! Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Situated just off the square and within walking distance to great shopping of Santa Fe.

Review of Hotel St. Francis - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kelsy traveling home
San Diego, California
Mar 8, 2014

Staff was a little stuffy

The guy who checked me in asked me if I was lost and when I told him that I was not lost and that I was checking in he asked me if I was at the right hotel. I got the vibe that he thought I couldnt't afford the place. I actually stayed there because it was less expensive than my other options. I understand that I look very young and that my travel clothes are not as high end as my normal daywear but I was still slightly offended. The girl who checked me out was EXTREMELY nice and professional though and almost made up for the first guy. The bartender was very nice as well and the spicy secreto is a must try! They also have great bar food, not the normal onion rings and fries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Spicy secreto is delicious in the bar!

Review of Hotel St. Francis - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady Lane
El Paso, Tx
Mar 3, 2014

Wonderful weekend

we love the Hotel St. Francis. i think this is the 4th time we stayed in this great place. At check in the gentleman (Jeremy) behind the counter recommended a first floor room which had a bigger bath and higher ceilings. It was so comfortable. Great bed! We were also given a coffee pot for the room. Loved that, too. We really enjoyed the bar and the restaurant was great, too although we only ate there for breakfast. A truly wonderful weekend!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel St. Francis - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wandering Grandad
Borger , Tx
Jan 3, 2014

NYE Trip to Santa Fe

The location of the hotel is perfect for visiting the historic plaza and its assortment of vendors, galleries, and restaurants. Staff at the counter and in the bar was freindly and helpful. You park your own car then you wont need it til checkout. The room was very small. I get the historic feeling and all, but there is barely room for two people to get dressed in there at the same time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Hotel St. Francis - Heritage Hotels and Resorts

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jeffgibb
Scottsdale, AZ
Dec 1, 2013

Hotel with a long history and short on amenities

Much has changed since we stayed here years ago. Used to have local charm and character. Heritage Hotels bought it and remodeled it to look like a nunnery. Sparse and cold. Rooms are small, always were, but they offered very few amenities as well...what, no coffee maker, fridge, microwave? Not even ice or cold water bucket or pitcher. No small store nor gift shop. Everything had to be purchased at the bar/restaurant or go elsewhere. Business center was a joke. One computer! REALLY! Even the lighting was kept low, hard to read a book or a map. Restaurant, Tabla de los Santos, food was xlnt but very expensive. Waiters nice. We were usually the only ones dining there. Heritage really ripped the heart out of this place. Just as they did Plaza Real, changed it to Hotel Chimayo. Also looked very spartan...yet still expensive. Most of the staff members - many had worked for the former management - we spoke with agreed with our disappointment with the new look/ownership. Won't stay here again. For the money,better places around the plaza with better ambiance/amenities at comparable prices. Try them first. This may be the oldest hotel, but newest of the corporate-chain rip-offs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay close to or in or around the plaza area. Best restaurants, shops, bars, etc. Be prepared to have CASH...many cafes want cash only.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search