$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 25, 2015 Check-out: Jun 28, 2015

Garretts Desert Inn

2 stars
View map of 311 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
59 reviews
memorial service for family member

we have stayed at this hotel for many years and it has always been fun. the location is excellent... See full review

  • charles l.
  • Feb 11, 2015
So Sensible

Right where I needed a hotel for not a lot of money. The pool looked inviting although I did not... See full review

  • Pacheco Hiker
  • Nov 18, 2014

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Garretts Desert Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Garretts Desert Inn Rooms

Standard 2 Queens
Standard 2 Queens Two Qn beds - 240 SF - Most affordable option in heart of town. Classic moto
Queen Mini Suite
Queen Mini Suite 2 Rooms - 300 SQ Ft with 1 queen bed, and a pull out queen sofa bed. Most aff
Standard Queen
Standard Queen 1 Qn bed. 240 SF - Most affordable option in heart of town. Classic motor-court
Standard King
Standard King 1 king bed. 240 SF - Most affordable option in heart of town. Classic motor-cour

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
Guest laundromat
Room
Television with cable
Sofa bed

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Garretts Desert Inn

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 59
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Road Tripper 0229
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Jun 12, 2013

Hidden Gem

Garrett's Desert Inn is, in fact, a motel, but only in physical description. It is only 2 blocks from the Plaza, so many of the sights and shop are within easy walking distance. If you want to go farther, you can pick up a bus tour within the same area. My room was small but I didn't spend much time in it! I was given a choice of level and chose ground, which worked great because I had easy access to my car. (Just for unloading - I left my car parked for a day and a half and walked everywhere.) I sat outside the room in the evening and it was cool and shady, with bushes blocking the view of cars. The room was very clean and it had everything I needed. For history buffs, it's fun to know that Garrett's is located on "Old Santa Fe Trail." The staff were as friendly and professional as at any higher-priced hotel. I didn't use the outdoor pool but it was beautiful. This place is a gem and I would highly recommend it to anyone going to Santa Fe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Save your souvenir money for the Native Americans who sell their wares in the shade right across from the Plaza. Authentic and tax free. They mostly take only cash, but there is an ATM right across the street!

Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Meatboot
Business
St. Louis
Mar 25, 2013

Good for the price.

Great location. Hotel is dated but clean. There was an additional $8 parking fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Other Nancy
Business
Berkeley "Ghetto" CA
Jul 18, 2012

Another motel room, am I really in Santa Fe?

Garret's Inn is really Garret's Motel. Okay, but NOTHING special other than its close proximity to Galleries and the Central Plaza. It will do in a pinch or as a last minuet option. And probably is as advertised, "The best deal in town.". Staff was helpful when not overwhelmed by many guests who behaved as though this was their first trip outta Kanas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a delightful little Italin style cafe catty-corner from the motel. Great little spot to start the day with an espresso.

Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
indy712
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Jan 14, 2012

Nice stay.

Being only a block from the main square, the location is excellent. The bed was very nice and comfortable and rivaled some of the beds of the higher end luxury chains. The bathroom was rather worn and dated looking, though. Breakfast at the restaurant was very good. The charge for parking, even during the off-season, was disappointing and tacky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Clear Light
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 25, 2010

Great location, great restaurant

Garrett's is a good choice for a value close to the Plaza. Rooms need updating, but are clean. The new restaurant, Ze French Bistro, is really good---give it a try for their crepes for breakfast! I'm trying it for dinner the next time I'm there. Overall, good value and close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Ze French Bistro has received great reviews in the local press; definitely give it a try if you want reasonably priced, excellent continental fare.

Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Oct 9, 2010

I expected more

This hotel is located two blocks from the heart of historical downtown Santa Fe. My GPS overshot the location by a block saying the address was where a church stands. The hotel is at the corner of East Alameda and Old Santa Fe Trail on the right hand side going into historic downtown. Do not miss this or you will be in a mob of people that have no respect for vehicles trying to get through and a mass of twisting one way streets. The hotel itself has very few amenities and the digital tv was snowy. I had to return to check in to register because they were having computer difficulties. They also charge extra for parking per day but why they do not include this in the price of the room instead of making a point about it I do not know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Santa Fe like most places in New Mexico it seems closes early. A lot of the shops close at 6pm but a few of the restaurants and souvenier shops stay open til 9 or 10pm. I went to a restaurant in the historic plaza that was situated upstairs and although the food was good the service was atrocious.

Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sundanse
Business
Boston, MA
May 28, 2010

Bargain Motel right in the City

Nearly everything is walkable so you probably won't spend much time in the room. Rooms do need refreshing. New carpet with brighter walls would help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Bring along your own rolling papers. I couldn't find any here. And nobody knew where they're sold.

Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tallahassee, Florida
Apr 29, 2010

Don't go here

I was more than a little surprised at how small the room was and outdated. It definitely is an OLD motel. Surprised as well about the $8.00/day parking fee, when the lot was only 1/3 full. The Front desk staff were hidden behind a 5 foot tall desk that looked like it was made of scrap lumber.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you get a chance to catch a concert at the Cathedral downtown it is a wonderful experience

Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon
Apr 18, 2010

Conveniently Located

Garrett's Desert Inn is not a 4-star hotel. It is a clean and very conveniently located motel near the Santa Fe Plaza. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom, though not updated, was very clean, and all those little things that you want to work, did - like the coffee pot, the hair dryer and the iron. You just can't beat it for the price. I'll stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
parsely
Business
taos,nm
Jan 27, 2010

Awesome for the price and location!

It's quite nice place for the location and price. If your looking for a hotel caught in the 70's then this is it. All the way to having a restaurant that thinks puttng a Ze in front of the menu items makes it french. Quite funny I'm sure Julia Child is just ze spinning in her grave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to plaza and capital

Back to menu Return to top