$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Garretts Desert Inn

2 stars
311 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
56 reviews
So Sensible

Right where I needed a hotel for not a lot of money. The pool looked inviting although I did not... See full review

  • Pacheco Hiker
  • Nov 18, 2014
Hidden Gem

Garrett's Desert Inn is, in fact, a motel, but only in physical description. It is only 2 blocks... See full review

  • Road Tripper 0229
  • Jun 12, 2013
Prime downtown location for economical Santa Fe trip

Garrett's Desert Inn has kept much of its original charm since this property became a family-owned hotel in the 1970s. This classic motor court style offers guests one of the most affordable options in downtown Santa Fe. Garrett's Desert Inn is a good value when location is an important element of a budget-minded trip. Travelers who plan to spend most of their time in Santa Fe exploring sights, museums, galleries and restaurants can simply walk to attractions, such as the historic plaza just three blocks away.

Highlights
  • Walk to restaurants, galleries and plaza from prime location in historic downtown Santa Fe
  • Pets OK (fees apply)
  • On-site bakery café
  • Heated outdoor swimming pool
  • Down the street from the San Miguel Mission, one of the oldest churches in the U.S.
Rooms

Despite a location on a major road, the 83 accommodations at Garrett's Desert Inn are set back far enough to provide a quieter setting. King and queen beds are accompanied by basic amenities including coffee-makers, hair-dryers, irons and TVs with HBO. Five suite rooms have sofa sleepers. Some also have refrigerators and microwaves. High-speed wireless Internet access is available (fees apply).

Features

Garrett's Desert Inn has an outdoor patio area with lounge chairs and heated pool at the center of the property. A small fitness room has basic workout equipment. Guest laundry and on-site parking are convenient (fees apply). Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served most days at French-themed Ze French Bistro. Warm up with traditional French onion soup and a glass of wine at this casual indoor-outdoor café and bakery, operated by a Parisian couple, on the tree-lined Santa Fe River.  

Transportation
  • New Mexico Rail Runner Express Santa Fe depot (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Santa Fe Municipal Airport (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
  • Albuquerque International Sunport airport (66.2 mi/107 km)
Attractions
  • San Miguel Mission (2 blocks)
  • Santa Fe Plaza National Historic Landmark/Downtown (3 blocks)
  • Santa Fe Opera (7.7 mi/12.3 km)
  • Santa Fe Ski Area (15.5 mi/25 km)
  • Bandelier National Monument (56.6 mi/91.1 km)
  • Albuquerque, NM (62.8 mi/101 km)
  • Taos, NM (70.4 mi/113 km)
Business
  • Computer work station
  • Wi-Fi Internet access in guest rooms (fees apply)
  • Meeting space for 125

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Garretts Desert Inn also booked these hotels.

Garretts Desert Inn Rooms

Queen Mini Suite
1 Qn bed plus 1 Qn sofa bed - 3 blocks to Plaza Breakfast Discount - Cable -HBO - Free Wifi
Standard Queen
1 Qn bed - 3 block walk to Plaza and Canyon Cable - HBO - Free WiFi - Breakfast Discount
Standard 2 Queens
2 Qn beds -3 block walk to Plaza and Canyon Rd Cable - HBO - Free WiFi - Breakfast Discount
Standard King
1 King bed - 3 block walk to Plaza and Canyon Cable - HBO - Free WiFi - Breakfast Discount

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
Guest laundromat
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Room
Television with cable
Sofa bed

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Garretts Desert Inn

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gay Travelers.
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 13, 2009

Should be named Garretts Desert MOTEL

Garrett's is a OK place, and has a good location, but for the price (i payed $135/night) it was NOT worth it. Garrett's is a MOTEL, NOT A HOTEL, dont let their website and the photos on orbitz fool you. The night we stayed here the Police & Paramedics showed up around midnight to the room next to ours to take some kid to the hospital that was too drunk to handle themselves. that's the kind of atmosphere you're paying for. The location is good, but the room was dirty and smelled a bit. it is most definitely a motel. for the same money stay at the Laredo, which is across the street. I'd equate Garrett's to a Red Roof Inn, or some other road side stop. Also, [...], the desk attendant was quite unfriendly and down-right stand-offish when i called to ask him for directions to the hotel (google maps and GPS units direct you to an address 2 blocks past the motel).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hit up the Pink Adobe, across the street for dinner and drinks. really great patio area!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
May 27, 2010

Needs to be up dated

Hotel is in a great location walk to downtown Santa Fe but!!! The beds have been in the hotel for years they are broke down. If you don't mind tacky for over $100.00 a night + 8.00 a night parking its just ok. It is run down,time they up date!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ore House on the Plaza

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Fe NM
Jul 21, 2011

The good and the bad

Where do I start....great location,motel is still in the 1960s. Not worth the money we spent. Worst bed I ever slept in..Hotel staff very very friendly...pool nice...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Avon, CO
May 23, 2011

Close and Gross

The location was great, the price was cheaper than other hotels in the area, and there is a reason. Funny smell in the room, and mold in the shower. It was the what you would expect from a roadside motel. Bar only has beer and wine, and the guy with accent behind the bar pours a 6 inch head on the beer, so you get about 7 ounces in your pint. Nice staff. We never ate there. Didn't look appetizing. A cheap place to stay for the night. That is all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Within 1 block of the hotel is the "oldest house", the "oldest church" and the "miraculous staircase"...total of 4 dollars and 3 neat things to see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Other Nancy
Business
Berkeley "Ghetto" CA
Jul 18, 2012

Another motel room, am I really in Santa Fe?

Garret's Inn is really Garret's Motel. Okay, but NOTHING special other than its close proximity to Galleries and the Central Plaza. It will do in a pinch or as a last minuet option. And probably is as advertised, "The best deal in town.". Staff was helpful when not overwhelmed by many guests who behaved as though this was their first trip outta Kanas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a delightful little Italin style cafe catty-corner from the motel. Great little spot to start the day with an espresso.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Riv
Business
Tucson, Arizona
May 2, 2009

Great Location

Key card opened more than one room ( I mistakenly went to room next door) and locks are flimsy; bed mattresses were worn (bowed in middle). Regardless, you can't beat the location and price as Santa Fe is sooo expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast, Pink Adobe (across the street); for dinner, Cafe Pasquale on Don Gaspar Street, Santa Fe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
colorado
Jan 1, 2010

less than erxpected

Service was minimal. Rooms were poorly kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
turbod
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jan 22, 2010

Unsafe and indifferent

We chose to stay here for the value and location. The location is very convenient for shopping and dining. They charge an additional $8.00 for parking; this is not made clear when booking. The room was clean and decent sized. We did not go to Santa Fe to watch TV but the TV was tiny and had a very limited channel selection. The walls proved to be very thin and lacking in soundproofing as we could hear every word of our neighbor's conversation. It wasn't until the second day of our stay that I noticed the smoke detector was missing from the room. This is a blaring safety hazard. As we left to go shopping for the day we mentioned it to the man at the front desk. When we returned several hours later, it still had not been installed. I discussed this with the women then at the desk and she said "Would you like to check out?" Of course that was not our intent, we just wanted the room to be updated to basic fire code. A nice maintenance person overheard the conversation and had it fixed in 10 minutes. Note: I am not a hysterical person by any means but the flippant attitude of the staff (besides the maintenance guy) about guest safety was truely stunning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The nice ladys at Silver Sun on Canyon Rd know their Turqoise and will spend time educating you on it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Heidz Marie
Business
Denver
Jul 21, 2014

Just OK

The building and rooms are a little outdated, there were also several stains on the rug in our room that I'm sure a professional cleaning would get rid of. Can't beat the location though, and the attached restaurant is pretty good. They charge $8 a day for parking which I think should be included. Overall the location is probably the best thing this place has going.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
indy712
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Jan 14, 2012

Nice stay.

Being only a block from the main square, the location is excellent. The bed was very nice and comfortable and rivaled some of the beds of the higher end luxury chains. The bathroom was rather worn and dated looking, though. Breakfast at the restaurant was very good. The charge for parking, even during the off-season, was disappointing and tacky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top