$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 21, 2015 Check-out: May 24, 2015

Garretts Desert Inn

2 stars
View map of 311 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Garretts Desert Inn

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
parsely
Business
taos,nm
Jan 27, 2010

Awesome for the price and location!

It's quite nice place for the location and price. If your looking for a hotel caught in the 70's then this is it. All the way to having a restaurant that thinks puttng a Ze in front of the menu items makes it french. Quite funny I'm sure Julia Child is just ze spinning in her grave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to plaza and capital

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
turbod
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jan 22, 2010

Unsafe and indifferent

We chose to stay here for the value and location. The location is very convenient for shopping and dining. They charge an additional $8.00 for parking; this is not made clear when booking. The room was clean and decent sized. We did not go to Santa Fe to watch TV but the TV was tiny and had a very limited channel selection. The walls proved to be very thin and lacking in soundproofing as we could hear every word of our neighbor's conversation. It wasn't until the second day of our stay that I noticed the smoke detector was missing from the room. This is a blaring safety hazard. As we left to go shopping for the day we mentioned it to the man at the front desk. When we returned several hours later, it still had not been installed. I discussed this with the women then at the desk and she said "Would you like to check out?" Of course that was not our intent, we just wanted the room to be updated to basic fire code. A nice maintenance person overheard the conversation and had it fixed in 10 minutes. Note: I am not a hysterical person by any means but the flippant attitude of the staff (besides the maintenance guy) about guest safety was truely stunning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The nice ladys at Silver Sun on Canyon Rd know their Turqoise and will spend time educating you on it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Snowskiers from Florida
Business
Gainesville, FL
Jan 3, 2010

A little pricey, but clean

Went shopping, dining and skiing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be prepared to pay an extra $ 8.00 a day for parking. Although there is no breakfast provided, Ze French bistro next door is well worth a try. Their pancakes are unique and tasty. Santa Fe ski resort is a 30 minute drive away and well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
colorado
Jan 1, 2010

less than erxpected

Service was minimal. Rooms were poorly kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lubbock, TX
Dec 20, 2009

Economic Choice

The hotel is located close to the plaza and the rate is reasonable. The staff were very friendly. The room is clean, quiet, yet a little bit small. The parking fee is $8 per day. I really enjoy my stay there and I recommend it to everyone who wants to stay at a hotel nearby the plaza area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los ANgeles, CA
Nov 21, 2009

Good Value in Santa Fe

The Hotel is nothing fancy but a great value so close to the Plaza

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You must see the staircase

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just Plain Jane
Business
Littleton,CO
Nov 16, 2009

Nice enough

Close to town, nice pizza joint next door. Very quiet, clean and great beds. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Nov 9, 2009

great location, nice room, great value

I'd stay again, great value and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

cowgirl bar was great walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
x
Nov 8, 2009

decent

Location trumps all else. It was in a great location, at a fraction of the price of the other hotels in the area. It wasn't big, but was big enough. There was a fairly strong odor of some cleaning agent, but a take-out pizza from down the street knocked it out for the duration of my stay. Lots of good restaurants within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Oct 28, 2009

Great Location!!!

Had a good experience at this hotel. You can't ask for a better location. Hotel was average in most regards but for the price and location, a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many attraction that you can't miss all just a short walk away from the hotel. Just start walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top