$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 5, 2015 Check-out: Feb 7, 2015

Garretts Desert Inn

2 stars
311 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
56 reviews
So Sensible

Right where I needed a hotel for not a lot of money. The pool looked inviting although I did not... See full review

  • Pacheco Hiker
  • Nov 18, 2014
Hidden Gem

Garrett's Desert Inn is, in fact, a motel, but only in physical description. It is only 2 blocks... See full review

  • Road Tripper 0229
  • Jun 12, 2013
Prime downtown location for economical Santa Fe trip

Garrett's Desert Inn has kept much of its original charm since this property became a family-owned hotel in the 1970s. This classic motor court style offers guests one of the most affordable options in downtown Santa Fe. Garrett's Desert Inn is a good value when location is an important element of a budget-minded trip. Travelers who plan to spend most of their time in Santa Fe exploring sights, museums, galleries and restaurants can simply walk to attractions, such as the historic plaza just three blocks away.

Highlights
  • Walk to restaurants, galleries and plaza from prime location in historic downtown Santa Fe
  • Pets OK (fees apply)
  • On-site bakery café
  • Heated outdoor swimming pool
  • Down the street from the San Miguel Mission, one of the oldest churches in the U.S.
Rooms

Despite a location on a major road, the 83 accommodations at Garrett's Desert Inn are set back far enough to provide a quieter setting. King and queen beds are accompanied by basic amenities including coffee-makers, hair-dryers, irons and TVs with HBO. Five suite rooms have sofa sleepers. Some also have refrigerators and microwaves. High-speed wireless Internet access is available (fees apply).

Features

Garrett's Desert Inn has an outdoor patio area with lounge chairs and heated pool at the center of the property. A small fitness room has basic workout equipment. Guest laundry and on-site parking are convenient (fees apply). Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served most days at French-themed Ze French Bistro. Warm up with traditional French onion soup and a glass of wine at this casual indoor-outdoor café and bakery, operated by a Parisian couple, on the tree-lined Santa Fe River.  

Transportation
  • New Mexico Rail Runner Express Santa Fe depot (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Santa Fe Municipal Airport (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
  • Albuquerque International Sunport airport (66.2 mi/107 km)
Attractions
  • San Miguel Mission (2 blocks)
  • Santa Fe Plaza National Historic Landmark/Downtown (3 blocks)
  • Santa Fe Opera (7.7 mi/12.3 km)
  • Santa Fe Ski Area (15.5 mi/25 km)
  • Bandelier National Monument (56.6 mi/91.1 km)
  • Albuquerque, NM (62.8 mi/101 km)
  • Taos, NM (70.4 mi/113 km)
Business
  • Computer work station
  • Wi-Fi Internet access in guest rooms (fees apply)
  • Meeting space for 125

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Garretts Desert Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Garretts Desert Inn Rooms

Queen Mini Suite
1 Qn bed plus 1 Qn sofa bed - 3 blocks to Plaza Breakfast Discount - Cable -HBO - Free Wifi
Standard Queen
1 Qn bed - 3 block walk to Plaza and Canyon Cable - HBO - Free WiFi - Breakfast Discount
Standard 2 Queens
2 Qn beds -3 block walk to Plaza and Canyon Rd Cable - HBO - Free WiFi - Breakfast Discount
Standard King
1 King bed - 3 block walk to Plaza and Canyon Cable - HBO - Free WiFi - Breakfast Discount

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
Guest laundromat
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Room
Television with cable
Sofa bed

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Garretts Desert Inn

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Clear Light
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 25, 2010

Great location, great restaurant

Garrett's is a good choice for a value close to the Plaza. Rooms need updating, but are clean. The new restaurant, Ze French Bistro, is really good---give it a try for their crepes for breakfast! I'm trying it for dinner the next time I'm there. Overall, good value and close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Ze French Bistro has received great reviews in the local press; definitely give it a try if you want reasonably priced, excellent continental fare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Oct 9, 2010

I expected more

This hotel is located two blocks from the heart of historical downtown Santa Fe. My GPS overshot the location by a block saying the address was where a church stands. The hotel is at the corner of East Alameda and Old Santa Fe Trail on the right hand side going into historic downtown. Do not miss this or you will be in a mob of people that have no respect for vehicles trying to get through and a mass of twisting one way streets. The hotel itself has very few amenities and the digital tv was snowy. I had to return to check in to register because they were having computer difficulties. They also charge extra for parking per day but why they do not include this in the price of the room instead of making a point about it I do not know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Santa Fe like most places in New Mexico it seems closes early. A lot of the shops close at 6pm but a few of the restaurants and souvenier shops stay open til 9 or 10pm. I went to a restaurant in the historic plaza that was situated upstairs and although the food was good the service was atrocious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sundanse
Business
Boston, MA
May 28, 2010

Bargain Motel right in the City

Nearly everything is walkable so you probably won't spend much time in the room. Rooms do need refreshing. New carpet with brighter walls would help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Bring along your own rolling papers. I couldn't find any here. And nobody knew where they're sold.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
May 27, 2010

Needs to be up dated

Hotel is in a great location walk to downtown Santa Fe but!!! The beds have been in the hotel for years they are broke down. If you don't mind tacky for over $100.00 a night + 8.00 a night parking its just ok. It is run down,time they up date!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ore House on the Plaza

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, MA
May 25, 2010

worth staying at

Great location can easily walk to to old town, best price in the area. Rooms were a good size, very vanilla and beds were a little squishy. The room was mostly very clean. If you are looking for a bed but plan to be out most of the time this is perfect. If you want luxury and lots of TV channels you need to spend more money. We did not eat at the restaurant at the hotel, but there is plenty of other dining close by. Staff ranged from friendly to cold. I would totally stay here again if I make it back to the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tallahassee, Florida
Apr 29, 2010

Don't go here

I was more than a little surprised at how small the room was and outdated. It definitely is an OLD motel. Surprised as well about the $8.00/day parking fee, when the lot was only 1/3 full. The Front desk staff were hidden behind a 5 foot tall desk that looked like it was made of scrap lumber.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you get a chance to catch a concert at the Cathedral downtown it is a wonderful experience

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon
Apr 18, 2010

Conveniently Located

Garrett's Desert Inn is not a 4-star hotel. It is a clean and very conveniently located motel near the Santa Fe Plaza. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom, though not updated, was very clean, and all those little things that you want to work, did - like the coffee pot, the hair dryer and the iron. You just can't beat it for the price. I'll stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
OKC, OK
Mar 21, 2010

Not bad but hidden costs

This wasn't a bad place, just some hidden costs not mentioned in the nightly price.... like $8 for parking a night. The location was very convenient and the room was ok... but the bed had a very cheap mattress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If your staying here for skiing, New Mexico doesn't do a very good job of maintaining the road to the Santa Fe ski resort, so expect major delays if it snows and the roads are the least bit bad. We sat in long lines for hours during wonderful ski weather... ho hum!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
parsely
Business
taos,nm
Jan 27, 2010

Awesome for the price and location!

It's quite nice place for the location and price. If your looking for a hotel caught in the 70's then this is it. All the way to having a restaurant that thinks puttng a Ze in front of the menu items makes it french. Quite funny I'm sure Julia Child is just ze spinning in her grave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to plaza and capital

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
turbod
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jan 22, 2010

Unsafe and indifferent

We chose to stay here for the value and location. The location is very convenient for shopping and dining. They charge an additional $8.00 for parking; this is not made clear when booking. The room was clean and decent sized. We did not go to Santa Fe to watch TV but the TV was tiny and had a very limited channel selection. The walls proved to be very thin and lacking in soundproofing as we could hear every word of our neighbor's conversation. It wasn't until the second day of our stay that I noticed the smoke detector was missing from the room. This is a blaring safety hazard. As we left to go shopping for the day we mentioned it to the man at the front desk. When we returned several hours later, it still had not been installed. I discussed this with the women then at the desk and she said "Would you like to check out?" Of course that was not our intent, we just wanted the room to be updated to basic fire code. A nice maintenance person overheard the conversation and had it fixed in 10 minutes. Note: I am not a hysterical person by any means but the flippant attitude of the staff (besides the maintenance guy) about guest safety was truely stunning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The nice ladys at Silver Sun on Canyon Rd know their Turqoise and will spend time educating you on it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top