$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 11, 2015

Garretts Desert Inn

2 stars
View map of 311 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Garretts Desert Inn

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sundanse
Single
Boston, MA
May 28, 2010

Bargain Motel right in the City

Nearly everything is walkable so you probably won't spend much time in the room. Rooms do need refreshing. New carpet with brighter walls would help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Bring along your own rolling papers. I couldn't find any here. And nobody knew where they're sold.

Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Minnesota
May 27, 2010

Needs to be up dated

Hotel is in a great location walk to downtown Santa Fe but!!! The beds have been in the hotel for years they are broke down. If you don't mind tacky for over $100.00 a night + 8.00 a night parking its just ok. It is run down,time they up date!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ore House on the Plaza

Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Springfield, MA
May 25, 2010

worth staying at

Great location can easily walk to to old town, best price in the area. Rooms were a good size, very vanilla and beds were a little squishy. The room was mostly very clean. If you are looking for a bed but plan to be out most of the time this is perfect. If you want luxury and lots of TV channels you need to spend more money. We did not eat at the restaurant at the hotel, but there is plenty of other dining close by. Staff ranged from friendly to cold. I would totally stay here again if I make it back to the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Tallahassee, Florida
Apr 29, 2010

Don't go here

I was more than a little surprised at how small the room was and outdated. It definitely is an OLD motel. Surprised as well about the $8.00/day parking fee, when the lot was only 1/3 full. The Front desk staff were hidden behind a 5 foot tall desk that looked like it was made of scrap lumber.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you get a chance to catch a concert at the Cathedral downtown it is a wonderful experience

Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Oregon
Apr 18, 2010

Conveniently Located

Garrett's Desert Inn is not a 4-star hotel. It is a clean and very conveniently located motel near the Santa Fe Plaza. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom, though not updated, was very clean, and all those little things that you want to work, did - like the coffee pot, the hair dryer and the iron. You just can't beat it for the price. I'll stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
OKC, OK
Mar 21, 2010

Not bad but hidden costs

This wasn't a bad place, just some hidden costs not mentioned in the nightly price.... like $8 for parking a night. The location was very convenient and the room was ok... but the bed had a very cheap mattress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If your staying here for skiing, New Mexico doesn't do a very good job of maintaining the road to the Santa Fe ski resort, so expect major delays if it snows and the roads are the least bit bad. We sat in long lines for hours during wonderful ski weather... ho hum!

Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
parsely
Single
taos,nm
Jan 27, 2010

Awesome for the price and location!

It's quite nice place for the location and price. If your looking for a hotel caught in the 70's then this is it. All the way to having a restaurant that thinks puttng a Ze in front of the menu items makes it french. Quite funny I'm sure Julia Child is just ze spinning in her grave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to plaza and capital

Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
turbod
Couples
Phoenix, AZ
Jan 22, 2010

Unsafe and indifferent

We chose to stay here for the value and location. The location is very convenient for shopping and dining. They charge an additional $8.00 for parking; this is not made clear when booking. The room was clean and decent sized. We did not go to Santa Fe to watch TV but the TV was tiny and had a very limited channel selection. The walls proved to be very thin and lacking in soundproofing as we could hear every word of our neighbor's conversation. It wasn't until the second day of our stay that I noticed the smoke detector was missing from the room. This is a blaring safety hazard. As we left to go shopping for the day we mentioned it to the man at the front desk. When we returned several hours later, it still had not been installed. I discussed this with the women then at the desk and she said "Would you like to check out?" Of course that was not our intent, we just wanted the room to be updated to basic fire code. A nice maintenance person overheard the conversation and had it fixed in 10 minutes. Note: I am not a hysterical person by any means but the flippant attitude of the staff (besides the maintenance guy) about guest safety was truely stunning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The nice ladys at Silver Sun on Canyon Rd know their Turqoise and will spend time educating you on it.

Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Snowskiers from Florida
Family
Gainesville, FL
Jan 3, 2010

A little pricey, but clean

Went shopping, dining and skiing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be prepared to pay an extra $ 8.00 a day for parking. Although there is no breakfast provided, Ze French bistro next door is well worth a try. Their pancakes are unique and tasty. Santa Fe ski resort is a 30 minute drive away and well worth it.

Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
colorado
Jan 1, 2010

less than erxpected

Service was minimal. Rooms were poorly kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top