$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 13, 2014 Check-out: Nov 16, 2014

Garretts Desert Inn

2 stars
311 Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
55 reviews
Hidden Gem

Garrett's Desert Inn is, in fact, a motel, but only in physical description. It is only 2 blocks... See full review

  • Road Tripper 0229
  • Jun 12, 2013
PERECT LOCATION

I call this place this the "little la fonda annex!" I have been going to Santa Fe since the 1950's... See full review

  • santa fe kid
  • Apr 22, 2009
Prime downtown location for economical Santa Fe trip

Garrett's Desert Inn has kept much of its original charm since this property became a family-owned hotel in the 1970s. This classic motor court style offers guests one of the most affordable options in downtown Santa Fe. Garrett's Desert Inn is a good value when location is an important element of a budget-minded trip. Travelers who plan to spend most of their time in Santa Fe exploring sights, museums, galleries and restaurants can simply walk to attractions, such as the historic plaza just three blocks away.

Highlights
  • Walk to restaurants, galleries and plaza from prime location in historic downtown Santa Fe
  • Pets OK (fees apply)
  • On-site bakery café
  • Heated outdoor swimming pool
  • Down the street from the San Miguel Mission, one of the oldest churches in the U.S.
Rooms

Despite a location on a major road, the 83 accommodations at Garrett's Desert Inn are set back far enough to provide a quieter setting. King and queen beds are accompanied by basic amenities including coffee-makers, hair-dryers, irons and TVs with HBO. Five suite rooms have sofa sleepers. Some also have refrigerators and microwaves. High-speed wireless Internet access is available (fees apply).

Features

Garrett's Desert Inn has an outdoor patio area with lounge chairs and heated pool at the center of the property. A small fitness room has basic workout equipment. Guest laundry and on-site parking are convenient (fees apply). Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served most days at French-themed Ze French Bistro. Warm up with traditional French onion soup and a glass of wine at this casual indoor-outdoor café and bakery, operated by a Parisian couple, on the tree-lined Santa Fe River.  

Transportation
  • New Mexico Rail Runner Express Santa Fe depot (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Santa Fe Municipal Airport (10.1 mi/16.3 km)
  • Albuquerque International Sunport airport (66.2 mi/107 km)
Attractions
  • San Miguel Mission (2 blocks)
  • Santa Fe Plaza National Historic Landmark/Downtown (3 blocks)
  • Santa Fe Opera (7.7 mi/12.3 km)
  • Santa Fe Ski Area (15.5 mi/25 km)
  • Bandelier National Monument (56.6 mi/91.1 km)
  • Albuquerque, NM (62.8 mi/101 km)
  • Taos, NM (70.4 mi/113 km)
Business
  • Computer work station
  • Wi-Fi Internet access in guest rooms (fees apply)
  • Meeting space for 125

Hotel Map

35.6847 -105.9376
Nearby airports
(SAF), 14.00, MI; (ABQ), 66.00, MI;
Area description
Tourist site

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Garretts Desert Inn also booked these hotels.

Garretts Desert Inn Rooms

Queen Mini Suite
1 Qn bed plus 1 Qn sofa bed - 3 blocks to Plaza Breakfast Discount - Cable -HBO - Free Wifi
Standard Queen
1 Qn bed - 3 block walk to Plaza and Canyon Cable - HBO - Free WiFi - Breakfast Discount
Standard 2 Queens
2 Qn beds -3 block walk to Plaza and Canyon Rd Cable - HBO - Free WiFi - Breakfast Discount
Standard King
1 King bed - 3 block walk to Plaza and Canyon Cable - HBO - Free WiFi - Breakfast Discount

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
Guest laundromat
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Room
Television with cable
Sofa bed

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for Garretts Desert Inn

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Insurance Lady
Business
Shreveport, LA, USA
Jan 26, 2012

Perfect Location Downtown Santa Fe

This is the perfect location downtown for the RIGHT price!! The staff was VERY FRIENDLY and EXTREMLY HELPFUL and accommodating when I had to bump up my reservation one night earlier. I would definately stay here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Upper Crust Pizza had great Calzones, and the staff was very friendly. Laid back atmosphere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr. Bullard
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Jan 21, 2012

Garretts Desert Inn

I arrived rather late from a 10.5 hour drive and was kindly upgraded due to my height! (king size bed) What a nice surprise and I needed one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Charro is a locals hangout offering good food , lively atmosphere, people watching at great prices. Full bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
indy712
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Jan 14, 2012

Nice stay.

Being only a block from the main square, the location is excellent. The bed was very nice and comfortable and rivaled some of the beds of the higher end luxury chains. The bathroom was rather worn and dated looking, though. Breakfast at the restaurant was very good. The charge for parking, even during the off-season, was disappointing and tacky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sarahnorman
Business
Norman, OK, USA
Jan 13, 2012

Cozy room at a very good location

Stayed at this hotel for one night as a pit stop, as we were driving a long way. The location of this hotel could not have been better. We arrived during the evening and took a little walk around the hotel area, which is basically the old downtown. Hotel staff was nice and helpful and our room was very cozy. Just know that you have to pay for parking, but we didn´t care since it meant we were parking downtown anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chocolateloving Mom
Business
Northern Colorado
Dec 18, 2011

Santa Fe in December

My husband & I spent Friday night at Garretts Desert Inn, and enjoyed a quiet night plus a spacious room to relax in. The person who checked us in told us about Canyon Drive, where the Christmas lights were exceptional. We would have missed that if she had not told us it was a must-see. The room was clean and the bed was wonderful. Around one door the wallpaper could have used a little more glue, but it did not disturb our rest. It was so very close to the best part of Santa Fe, that was a real treat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Canyon Drive was wonderful to see in December, with the galleries lit beautifully.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Paris, France
Aug 16, 2011

Great place in Santa Fe

A great place where to stay in Santa Fe ! A 2 minute walk to the city center, nice swimming pool & OK rooms. The bad news is that you have an additional charge for parking, rooms are OK but need some renovation and there is no breakfast served (only coffee in the lobby). The restaurant adjacent to the hotel is very poorly managed & inpredictable: I had a great evening dinner with jazz music but a very lousy breakfast(mediocre food, poor coffee and the slowest service in the West !).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of places for drinking, even late at night all around the central square ! I enjoyed tapas at La Boca & dinner at the terrasse at the restaurant of the Inn of the Anasasi ...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Fe NM
Jul 21, 2011

The good and the bad

Where do I start....great location,motel is still in the 1960s. Not worth the money we spent. Worst bed I ever slept in..Hotel staff very very friendly...pool nice...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Jun 28, 2011

Pride Weekend

Overall decent stay. Was great being located in the heart of the plaza in Santa Fe. We were able to park the vehicle and walk to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Avon, CO
May 23, 2011

Close and Gross

The location was great, the price was cheaper than other hotels in the area, and there is a reason. Funny smell in the room, and mold in the shower. It was the what you would expect from a roadside motel. Bar only has beer and wine, and the guy with accent behind the bar pours a 6 inch head on the beer, so you get about 7 ounces in your pint. Nice staff. We never ate there. Didn't look appetizing. A cheap place to stay for the night. That is all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Within 1 block of the hotel is the "oldest house", the "oldest church" and the "miraculous staircase"...total of 4 dollars and 3 neat things to see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Garretts Desert Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Clear Light
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 25, 2010

Great location, great restaurant

Garrett's is a good choice for a value close to the Plaza. Rooms need updating, but are clean. The new restaurant, Ze French Bistro, is really good---give it a try for their crepes for breakfast! I'm trying it for dinner the next time I'm there. Overall, good value and close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Ze French Bistro has received great reviews in the local press; definitely give it a try if you want reasonably priced, excellent continental fare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top