$60 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Red Lion Hotel Grants

3 stars
1501 E. Santa Fe Avenue, Grants, NM 87020
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
24 reviews
Great value.

We stayed the night before the Mt Taylor 50K race. The room was very nice, comfortable, clean, and... See full review

  • Runner Girl 111
  • Sep 28, 2014
Going home for Christmas

This is an old hotel but was quite good for us. Room good, breakfast. good. See full review

  • mymotherfrank
  • Dec 27, 2013
New Mexico hotel with pool and free Wi-Fi along the historic Route 66
The Best Western Inn & Suites Grants sits along historic Route 66 near many beautiful attractions, including El Morro National Monument, Chaco Canyon and ancient Anasazi ruins. The hotel boasts an indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and fitness center. Guests take advantage of the hotel's free high-speed wireless Internet access, free daily breakfast and free weekday newspaper. The Best Western Inn & Suites Grants provides banquet facilities and meeting rooms, a 24-hour front desk, free parking and on-site restaurant and cocktail lounge.

 

Highlights
  • Free daily breakfast
  • Indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi and steam room
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • New Mexico Steakhouse and cocktail lounge on site
  • Fitness center

Rooms
The Best Western Inn & Suites Grants provides 126 guest rooms and 25 suites over two floors with internal hallways. Rooms have queen or king beds with thicker mattresses. All rooms boast free high-speed wireless Internet access, microwaves and a mini-fridge. Guests relax with cable TV with HBO or order room service. In the morning, grab a free paper from the front desk to read with in-room coffee while sitting at the large work area. Suites at the Best Western Inn & Suites Grants have separate living rooms and bathrooms have hairdryers. Kids under 12 stay free with one paying adult in the room.

Transportation
  • Albuquerque International Airport (71.1 mi/114.4 km)
  • Gallup Municipal Airport (57.2 mi/92.1 km)

 

Attractions
  • Uranium Mining Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bandera Ice Caves (15.8 mi/25.5 km)
  • El Morro National Park (28.3 mi/45.6 km)
  • Chaco Canyon (61.7 mi/99.3 km)

 

Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting rooms for up to 350
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Lion Hotel Grants also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5

Red Lion Hotel Grants Rooms

Smoking 2 Queens
Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Smoking
Standard Room 2 Queen Bed
Standard Room 2 Queen Beds
Accessible 2 Queen Beds
Accessible 2 Queen Beds

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for Red Lion Hotel Grants

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 24
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.1
Value:
2.5

25% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Lion Hotel Grants

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bonster
Business
New Mexico
Jun 10, 2012

June 2012

The desk help were young and did not anything extra. They were not personable. The location was where I needed it to be near the interstate but far enough away not to be noisy. The room was clean and so was the bath with all of the amenities in place. They offered in-room refrigerators but mine had been turned on in some time and took several hours to cool down but the frig itself was clear and quite ample. The temperature outside was in the 90's and the room had not had on the cooling system and so was quite hot. Even though I turned the thermostat to cool nothing much happened and turning on the fan was just noise for the night. The indoor pool looked inviting and my room overlooked the courtyard which was very nice but didn't allow me access to the cool night air that might have cooled the room. The breakfast was better than normal. It was a buffet at an in-hotel restaurant and featured hot dishes as well as cereal, beverages, a variety of breads and fresh fruit. I got the room at a special rate so for the rate it was an average value; at full rate I would have rated this a poor value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Lion Hotel Grants

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RPeter
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Just Very Average

The hotel was pretty average. The breakfast is advertised as being special on the hotel website. It is less than average, and I ended up at a local fast food franchise. The hotel was no better than the near-by discount hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Lion Hotel Grants

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mellenfoods
Business
Albuquerque NM
Jul 20, 2011

Would never return

First they placed us on 2nd floor with no elevator and I was traveling with a companion in a wheelchair. Asked to be moved said there were no available rooms. Then placed in a smoking room, they said we requested it, which did not. never smoked before in my life. The room was missing a ironing board and iron adn the A/C didn't work. It was absolutley horrible. The staff was not interested in customer service what so ever. I don't believe they were full either, there were many rooms and a lot of empty parking spaces.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Lion Hotel Grants

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Code11ads11
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Mar 10, 2011

Hot Tub Shut Down Also

Not only was the pool closed but the separate hot tub was closed also. I was looking forward to a relaxing time in the hot tub after a long day in the field. Full disclosure of problems would have been helpful and I would have booked a different hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are only a handfull of hometown restaurants in Grants but they are worth trying.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Lion Hotel Grants

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Alamos, NM
Mar 7, 2011

Best Western Inn & Suites in Grants, NM

Hotel was fine. Just there for business. They are going through some renovations. Pool was not open under renovations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Lion Hotel Grants

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Code11ads11
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Feb 23, 2011

Best Western Best P lace to Stay In Gran

My wife and I were delighted with our stay in Grants. The Best Western was ckean, quiet, and everything the online video showed. We loved the indoor pool and spa. Our King sized bed was great and we loved the suite. Breakfast in the restaurant was exceptional. We will stay there again and recommend this hotel to friends and colleagues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The in house restaurant is super. Our steaks were exactly as ordered, and we enjoyed the quiet evening unrushed to vacate our seats.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Lion Hotel Grants

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new mexico
Feb 22, 2010

Just ok Rude Desk Clerk No Hot Water

I've stayed at this hotel many times in the past and it was great but new owners have let it run down and have cut back on quality. The hotel would not book at the discount rate advertised on Best Western website. The desk clerk told me they didn't know about the discount rate so had to book online. Desk clerk told me to watch her lips when I tried to talk to her about the discount. No hot water when we checked in. Desk clerk knew this but didn't tell us at check in. Didn't get hot water until the next night. After I complained the morning desk clerk was rude to me the entire stay. Breakfast eggs and bacon werer cold. Bread was stale and hard. Breakfast was suppose to start at 6am but no food the first morning. Previous guest had put fruit stickers on the lamp shade and maid did not remove them. There were holes in all the towels. New owner has let the place run down. Hot tub and sauna were not working. I was given a discount on the room by the day manager due to no hot water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La Vantana is fairly good but not consistant. Good one night bad the next. The Iron Skillet and La Cafecita are much better and cheaper. Hotel restaurant was not good at all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Lion Hotel Grants

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 3, 2009

Convienent to I-40, but Grants is no gem

Although the location was convienent to the I-40, the town of Grants seemed a bit shady. The hotel room itself was clean and comfortable, with very fast wireless internet. The on-site bar called "Rookies" was a great place to go for a few drinks after a long road-trip... and in my opinion was the shining star of the whole place. I just wished they didn't close at 10:30 on weekdays. My biggest complaint is that it was not a 100% non-smoking hotel... so the hallways reek of cigarette-smoke as you walk to your non-smoking room. Their "fitness center" was only slightly better than other hotels (which usually call one cheap treadmill and eliptical machine a fitness center) in that there was a few weight-machines there... nice but nothing amazing. I didn't get a chance to try the hotel's pool or complimentary breakfast, but the Subway nearby was immaculate. All and all, I should have probably just driven a bit further into Albuquerque and stayed at a newer (but more pricey) hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Subway restaurant near the hotel was so clean and new that it looked out of place in Grants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top