$60 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

Red Lion Hotel Grants

3 stars
1501 E. Santa Fe Avenue, Grants, NM 87020
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
22 reviews
Going home for Christmas

This is an old hotel but was quite good for us. Room good, breakfast. good. See full review

  • mymotherfrank
  • Dec 27, 2013
Best Western Best P lace to Stay In Gran

My wife and I were delighted with our stay in Grants. The Best Western was ckean, quiet, and... See full review

  • Code11ads11
  • Feb 23, 2011
New Mexico hotel with pool and free Wi-Fi along the historic Route 66
The Best Western Inn & Suites Grants sits along historic Route 66 near many beautiful attractions, including El Morro National Monument, Chaco Canyon and ancient Anasazi ruins. The hotel boasts an indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and fitness center. Guests take advantage of the hotel's free high-speed wireless Internet access, free daily breakfast and free weekday newspaper. The Best Western Inn & Suites Grants provides banquet facilities and meeting rooms, a 24-hour front desk, free parking and on-site restaurant and cocktail lounge.

 

Highlights
  • Free daily breakfast
  • Indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi and steam room
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • New Mexico Steakhouse and cocktail lounge on site
  • Fitness center

Rooms
The Best Western Inn & Suites Grants provides 126 guest rooms and 25 suites over two floors with internal hallways. Rooms have queen or king beds with thicker mattresses. All rooms boast free high-speed wireless Internet access, microwaves and a mini-fridge. Guests relax with cable TV with HBO or order room service. In the morning, grab a free paper from the front desk to read with in-room coffee while sitting at the large work area. Suites at the Best Western Inn & Suites Grants have separate living rooms and bathrooms have hairdryers. Kids under 12 stay free with one paying adult in the room.

Transportation
  • Albuquerque International Airport (71.1 mi/114.4 km)
  • Gallup Municipal Airport (57.2 mi/92.1 km)

 

Attractions
  • Uranium Mining Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bandera Ice Caves (15.8 mi/25.5 km)
  • El Morro National Park (28.3 mi/45.6 km)
  • Chaco Canyon (61.7 mi/99.3 km)

 

Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting rooms for up to 350
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access

Hotel Map

35.1395 -107.8286
Area served
New Mexico
Nearby airports
Albuquerque Intl Airport, (ABQ), 83.00, MI, W; Gallup Municipal Airport, (GUP), 67.00, MI, NW; Grants-Milan Municipal Airport, (GNT), 4.00, MI, SE;
Area description
New Mexico

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Lion Hotel Grants also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5

Red Lion Hotel Grants Rooms

Smoking 2 Queens
Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Smoking
Standard Room 2 Queen Bed
Standard Room 2 Queen Beds
Accessible 2 Queen Beds
Accessible 2 Queen Beds

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for Red Lion Hotel Grants

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.1

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Lion Hotel Grants

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
canones nm
Jul 14, 2010

bad experience

What a terrible experience. Non smoking rooms seem to be smoking rooms. I used my c-pap machine at night and almost died from the smell of the smoke. Will never stay in this motel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Red Lion Hotel Grants

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mellenfoods
Business
Albuquerque NM
Jul 20, 2011

Would never return

First they placed us on 2nd floor with no elevator and I was traveling with a companion in a wheelchair. Asked to be moved said there were no available rooms. Then placed in a smoking room, they said we requested it, which did not. never smoked before in my life. The room was missing a ironing board and iron adn the A/C didn't work. It was absolutley horrible. The staff was not interested in customer service what so ever. I don't believe they were full either, there were many rooms and a lot of empty parking spaces.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Lion Hotel Grants

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas
Jul 4, 2010

Hated it

Beds were very uncomfortable, lumpy. The pool was indoors but not in it's own room, so the chlorine smell permeated the entire hotel. NO ELEVATOR, so we had to lug our suitcases upstairs - we're senior citizens - no help with this available, and no apologies from staff. The airconditioner had a note asking not to adjust it beyond established perameters or the "thermostat will freeze up". Window faced the pool, so opening it didn't bring relief, and only worsened the bad smell, we were stifling hot at night and had difficulty sleeping. Ice machine on first floor only. Did not enjoy this stay, will never return, am dubious about other Best Western's now, and would never recommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Red Lion Hotel Grants

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Code11ads11
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Mar 10, 2011

Hot Tub Shut Down Also

Not only was the pool closed but the separate hot tub was closed also. I was looking forward to a relaxing time in the hot tub after a long day in the field. Full disclosure of problems would have been helpful and I would have booked a different hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are only a handfull of hometown restaurants in Grants but they are worth trying.

Review of Red Lion Hotel Grants

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Henderson, NV
May 18, 2011

Not the best, but not bad

Just needed a place to stay while passing through on a road trip. The people were very nice and accomidating. The hotel was under construction in the pool area so it was not very accessible. All in all an average place to go in a very small town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Red Lion Hotel Grants

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bonster
Business
New Mexico
Jun 10, 2012

June 2012

The desk help were young and did not anything extra. They were not personable. The location was where I needed it to be near the interstate but far enough away not to be noisy. The room was clean and so was the bath with all of the amenities in place. They offered in-room refrigerators but mine had been turned on in some time and took several hours to cool down but the frig itself was clear and quite ample. The temperature outside was in the 90's and the room had not had on the cooling system and so was quite hot. Even though I turned the thermostat to cool nothing much happened and turning on the fan was just noise for the night. The indoor pool looked inviting and my room overlooked the courtyard which was very nice but didn't allow me access to the cool night air that might have cooled the room. The breakfast was better than normal. It was a buffet at an in-hotel restaurant and featured hot dishes as well as cereal, beverages, a variety of breads and fresh fruit. I got the room at a special rate so for the rate it was an average value; at full rate I would have rated this a poor value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Lion Hotel Grants

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Alamos, NM
Mar 7, 2011

Best Western Inn & Suites in Grants, NM

Hotel was fine. Just there for business. They are going through some renovations. Pool was not open under renovations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Lion Hotel Grants

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NMtraveler
New Mexico
Dec 26, 2011

Adequate

Clean rooms and great staff, but Fitness center and pool and hot tub not useable due to cold temperature. Breakfast was late in set up (likely due to holidays) so did not get to relax and enjoy it. Computer access very slow and frustrating. For the cost was disappointing, but was clean!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Red Lion Hotel Grants

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern AZ
Feb 21, 2011

Good Stay during renovations

Stayed here while we did the Mt. Taylor Quadrathalon. Hotel is old looking and in the middle of being renovated. Most all of the windows and doors were covered with plastic & unaccessable. Our room was spacious (we had a 1 bedroom suite). I had wished the couch was a pull-out, but it was not. There were also 2 TV's but they were located 3 feet from one another! Not a good plan for TV viewing if you want to hear what your watching. The common area inside the hotel was enormous! Beautiful happy plants everywhere. Again, the hotel was in the middle of a well needed renovation. I would stay there again & I look forward to what needed changes they make. Breakfast was good (pancakes, sausage, biscuts w/ gravy, bacon, eggs, potatoes, cereal, etc) However, my husband bit into a piece of bone in the sausage. OUCH! Pool looked nice & clean and it IS USEABLE...so disregard to message about being repaired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walmart right across the street

Review of Red Lion Hotel Grants

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Matty the traveling bear 2011
Lavallette, nj
Apr 30, 2011

road=trip 2011

Nice, clean and a great breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Long drive but worth it.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search