Red Lion Hotel Gallup

3 stars
3009 W Highway 66, Gallup, NM 87301
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
27 reviews
Great stopover...

Perfect location for a stopover between Las Vegas, NV and Cimerron, NM... See full review

  • JDH9999
  • Aug 20, 2013
Great stay

We stayed for one night. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The price was great. I... See full review

  • kgbc
  • Jan 12, 2012
Full-service New Mexico hotel with free Wi-Fi near Native Indian land
The Best Western Inn & Suites Gallup sits along historic Route 66 near many beautiful attractions, including Chaco Canyon, the Painted Desert and Native American sites and shops. The hotel boasts an indoor pool, Jacuzzi and fitness room. The Best Western Inn & Suites Gallup offers guests free high-speed wireless Internet access, free daily breakfast in New Mexico Grill and free weekday newspaper. The hotel features banquet facilities and meeting rooms, a 24-hour front desk, free parking and on-site Rookies Sports Bar.

 

Highlights
  • Kids under 17 stay free with one adult in room
  • Indoor pool, Jacuzzi, fitness room
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • New Mexico Grill and Rookies Sports Bar
  • Free breakfast

Rooms
The Best Western Inn & Suites Gallup provides 79 guest rooms and suites over two floors with internal hallways. Rooms include queen or king beds with thicker mattresses. All rooms boast free high-speed wireless Internet access, microwaves and a mini-fridge. Guests watch cable TV with HBO or order room service. In the morning, grab a free paper from the front desk to read with in-room coffee while sitting at the large work area. Suites at the Best Western Inn & Suites Gallup have separate living rooms and bathrooms have hair dryers. Kids under 17 stay free with one paying adult in the room.

Features
The Best Western Inn & Suites Gallup sits along historic Route 66 and offers travelers easy access to nearby attractions like Native American trading posts, Chaco Canyon, Red Rock Museum and Gallup's historic downtown area. The hotel boasts a heated indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi and fully-equipped fitness center. Additionally, the hotel offers a business center and meeting rooms that accommodate up to 350 guests. Dine at the on-site New Mexico Grill or grab a nightcap at Rookies Sports Bar. Free high-speed wireless Internet access and laundry facilities (fees apply) are available at the Best Western Inn & Suites Gallup.

 

Transportation
  • Albuquerque International Airport (128.1 mi/206.2 km)
  • Gallup Municipal Airport (2 mi/3.2 km)

 

Attractions
  • Historic downtown Gallup (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Window Rock (17.3 mi/27.8 km)
  • Zuni Indian Pueblo (30.3 mi/48.9 km)
  • Chaco Canyon (61.5 mi/99 km)

 

Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting rooms for up to 350 people
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access

Red Lion Hotel Gallup Rooms

Standard
Handicap Two Queen Beds Non-Smoking. This room features all the standard room amenities plus additional ADA amenities which include bathroom handrails, Shower chairs, lowered peepholes and closed captioning TV.
Standard
Two Queen Beds Non-Smoking. Featuring Stay Comfortable pillowtop beds, free wired and wireless Internet, Eco-Friendly Bath Amenities, work station, data port, clock radio, coffee maker, iron, hairdryer, cable TV and pay-per-view movies.
Standard
Two Queen Beds Smoking. Featuring Stay Comfortable pillowtop beds, free wired and wireless Internet, work station, Eco-Friendly Bath Amenities, data port, clock radio, coffee maker, iron, hairdryer, cable TV and pay-per-view movies.
Suite
These rooms feature a Stay Comfortable plush pillowtop King size bed, extra sitting room with extra TV, couch and chair, microwave, refrigerator, work desk, wireless internet access, telephone with voice-mail service and Cable TV with pay-per-view movies

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Meal plan - bed and breakfast
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Lion Hotel Gallup also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 1.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.5095 -108.8087
Nearby airports
Gallup Municipal Airport, (GUP), 2.00, MI, SW; Albuquerque Intl Airport, (ABQ), 149.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center

Dining

New Mexico Steakhouse
The New Mexico Steakhouse, a family oriented restaurant with a flare for Old Western Cuisine and a Mexican Homestyle Menu with has nightly specials every evening.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for Red Lion Hotel Gallup

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
2.9
Value:
3.3

44% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Lion Hotel Gallup

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mesa, AZ
Jan 6, 2010

Yuck

In a word, yuck. The carpets in the hallway were stained and dirty. The place smelled of cigarette smoke, even in the non-smoking room. The toilet didn't flush properly, and the shower didn't drain. The pool was so cloudy you couldn't see the bottom, with a scum on the top of the water. And this was supposed to be a 3-star hotel. Plus, the exterior doors do not lock -- anyone can come in from the parking lot to the building. Oh, and there is no elevator. Yuck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Red Lion Hotel Gallup

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mrs. Galindo
Orange County California
Mar 19, 2011

pecuniary hostile entity

It is exceedingly inexcusable to which the extent that the management and staff of the Best Western Red Rock Inn (located at 3010 East Historic Highway 66, Gallup, New Mexico 87301) successfully manipulate this lodging facility into a pecuniary hostile entity solely striving to gain profit without any hospitable regard or civil respect to the guest of the hotel. We trusted an established name brand which we believed would be capable of meeting a standard of business conduct and customer service NOT beyond superior but simply one of quality. The Best Western brand has failed absolute "to enhance brand equity and increase member value" as stated in the Best Western International mission statement. Clearly the management of the Best Western Red Rock Inn is either under appreciative of the Best Western brand name or they lack the necessary able aptitude to provide a general and acceptable level of customer service. Regardless, the complete desecration of our time and funds is in excess of disrespect as it demeans the efforts of my husband and I as well as undercut the fiduciary expenses to which my husband and I rarely ever conduct anymore in the current economic recession. – Made the reservation over the phone with an email address to be able to receive a confirmation however a confirmation was never received until the next day when we had to call back with a request through two staff members– Denied reservation for existed 15 minutes until net book was brought in from vehicle to display email confirmation– Front desk clerk was told by owner ([...]) that "Corporate Lodgings'" go up in the back(A clear impression was made that the management of this establishment did not want to rent a room for so little money)– Continental Breakfast: the juices and coffee were watered down and served out of 3 ounce cups, the only fruit was an open surplus size can of pineapple tid-bits, and the only other food product was waffle batter so runny it wouldn't cook/rise in the iron.– [...] glared often at us and other guests leery that we were somehow taking things we shouldn't.– The most severe inaccuracy was the unauthorized electronic debt of my bank account on March 29th in the sum total of $102.00. Which was a charge against a personal credit card even though a receipt was given at check out for a charge & Bill to of Corporate Lodging for $52.17.– Multiple phone calls made by both my husband I have (lengthy phone calls) to the hotel only to find the staff unsuccessful in their ability to assist us. Never was there a genuine intention to try for a resolution. All this knowing [...] live on the premises (in the office behind the front desk) they would not take our phone call until 11am of the following morning/day.WE HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCED ANYTHING MORE TACTLESS OR DEGRADING THAN THE DISTRESS WE HAVE HAD WITH THE BEST WESTERN RED ROCK INN.MY HUSBAND & I WILL NEVER AGAIN PAY FOR ANY OTHER SERVICES PROVIDED BY BEST WESTERN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Red Lion Hotel Gallup

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NM
Jan 20, 2010

Bad Taste

Spent the previous week here and all was well. This week, however, went poorly. Upon arrival and check-in, we found that we were not given the room reserved. The desk agent left me on hold for over 15 minutes. I went to the front desk to see why and what was going on. I was told that she was too busy to bother with my problem. She also said she didn't care if we left since the room was already paid for on the internet. After some work we we given a room that seemed to be as described. I learned that it took roughly 10 minutes to get hot water to the shower every morning. No help from the management. Karl

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Lion Hotel Gallup

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
AZ
Jul 29, 2010

Worst hotel stay in my entire life

This was the worst trip I have ever taken in my entire life. The 1st hotel I was in was disgusting, dirty, falling apart, smelled, unfriendly staff. The 2nd hotel I was in, it took the hotel staff 4 different rooms before they could get me into a room that was half way habitable. Rain was coming in from the ceilings, buckets were all over the hotel, mold in bathtubs, rain coming in from ceiling in my room, smelly rooms, you could see the floor board in the room above me, the tv didn't work, light bulbs were burnt out, the complimentary breakfast was very bland, the hotel was not in a desirable location. You name it there wasn't anything about the stay that was pleasant. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Lion Hotel Gallup

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
AZ
Jul 29, 2010

Worst hotel stay in my entire life

This was the worst trip I have ever taken in my entire life. The 1st hotel I was in was disgusting, dirty, falling apart, smelled, unfriendly staff. The 2nd hotel I was in, it took the hotel staff 4 different rooms before they could get me into a room that was half way habitable. Rain was coming in from the ceilings, buckets were all over the hotel, mold in bathtubs, rain coming in from ceiling in my room, smelly rooms, you could see the floor board in the room above me, the tv didn't work, light bulbs were burnt out, the complimentary breakfast was very bland, the hotel was not in a desirable location. You name it there wasn't anything about the stay that was pleasant. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Lion Hotel Gallup

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mesa, AZ
Jan 6, 2010

Yuck

In a word, yuck. The carpets in the hallway were stained and dirty. The place smelled of cigarette smoke, even in the non-smoking room. The toilet didn't flush properly, and the shower didn't drain. The pool was so cloudy you couldn't see the bottom, with a scum on the top of the water. And this was supposed to be a 3-star hotel. Plus, the exterior doors do not lock -- anyone can come in from the parking lot to the building. Oh, and there is no elevator. Yuck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Red Lion Hotel Gallup

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Cruces, NM
Aug 14, 2009

BAD!!

Horel really needs a bad make over, ceiling falling, rooms smelled could hear the people next door there baby cried until 3 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Earl's Rest/

Review of Red Lion Hotel Gallup

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Cruces, NM
Aug 14, 2009

BAD!!

Horel really needs a bad make over, ceiling falling, rooms smelled could hear the people next door there baby cried until 3 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Earl's Rest/

Review of Red Lion Hotel Gallup

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NM
Jan 20, 2010

Bad Taste

Spent the previous week here and all was well. This week, however, went poorly. Upon arrival and check-in, we found that we were not given the room reserved. The desk agent left me on hold for over 15 minutes. I went to the front desk to see why and what was going on. I was told that she was too busy to bother with my problem. She also said she didn't care if we left since the room was already paid for on the internet. After some work we we given a room that seemed to be as described. I learned that it took roughly 10 minutes to get hot water to the shower every morning. No help from the management. Karl

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Lion Hotel Gallup

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mrs. Galindo
Orange County California
Mar 19, 2011

pecuniary hostile entity

It is exceedingly inexcusable to which the extent that the management and staff of the Best Western Red Rock Inn (located at 3010 East Historic Highway 66, Gallup, New Mexico 87301) successfully manipulate this lodging facility into a pecuniary hostile entity solely striving to gain profit without any hospitable regard or civil respect to the guest of the hotel. We trusted an established name brand which we believed would be capable of meeting a standard of business conduct and customer service NOT beyond superior but simply one of quality. The Best Western brand has failed absolute "to enhance brand equity and increase member value" as stated in the Best Western International mission statement. Clearly the management of the Best Western Red Rock Inn is either under appreciative of the Best Western brand name or they lack the necessary able aptitude to provide a general and acceptable level of customer service. Regardless, the complete desecration of our time and funds is in excess of disrespect as it demeans the efforts of my husband and I as well as undercut the fiduciary expenses to which my husband and I rarely ever conduct anymore in the current economic recession. – Made the reservation over the phone with an email address to be able to receive a confirmation however a confirmation was never received until the next day when we had to call back with a request through two staff members– Denied reservation for existed 15 minutes until net book was brought in from vehicle to display email confirmation– Front desk clerk was told by owner ([...]) that "Corporate Lodgings'" go up in the back(A clear impression was made that the management of this establishment did not want to rent a room for so little money)– Continental Breakfast: the juices and coffee were watered down and served out of 3 ounce cups, the only fruit was an open surplus size can of pineapple tid-bits, and the only other food product was waffle batter so runny it wouldn't cook/rise in the iron.– [...] glared often at us and other guests leery that we were somehow taking things we shouldn't.– The most severe inaccuracy was the unauthorized electronic debt of my bank account on March 29th in the sum total of $102.00. Which was a charge against a personal credit card even though a receipt was given at check out for a charge & Bill to of Corporate Lodging for $52.17.– Multiple phone calls made by both my husband I have (lengthy phone calls) to the hotel only to find the staff unsuccessful in their ability to assist us. Never was there a genuine intention to try for a resolution. All this knowing [...] live on the premises (in the office behind the front desk) they would not take our phone call until 11am of the following morning/day.WE HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCED ANYTHING MORE TACTLESS OR DEGRADING THAN THE DISTRESS WE HAVE HAD WITH THE BEST WESTERN RED ROCK INN.MY HUSBAND & I WILL NEVER AGAIN PAY FOR ANY OTHER SERVICES PROVIDED BY BEST WESTERN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top