$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2015 Check-out: Aug 14, 2015

The Hotel Blue

3 stars
View map of 717 Central Ave. NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
147 reviews
Extremely Comfortable Beds!!!

This hotel was an older hotel but it had the best beds ever! See full review

  • Mrs Erica Mackey
  • Jun 5, 2015
great anniversary weekend get away!!

our hotel stay here at Hotel blue was great, this is our second stay here and it has always been... See full review

  • Charlie n Melissa
  • May 19, 2015

Soothing Tempur-Pedic beds, Starbucks coffee and free continental breakfast are special touches provided by The Hotel Blue for a comfortable stay in downtown Albuquerque. Guests are welcomed with a freshly baked cookie at check-in and enjoy at-home amenities like a microwave and a refrigerator in each guest room. The Hotel Blue is located midway between the Albuquerque Convention Center and ABQ BioPark Zoo. Take advantage of The Hotel Blue swimming pool, or go across the street for a stroll through Robinson Park.

Rooms

At The Hotel Blue in downtown Albuquerque, get a great night of sleep on king or queen-sized Tempur-Pedic beds that conform to each individual body to minimize pressure points. Microwaves, refrigerators, coffee-makers, 40-inch HDTVs, cable channels, irons, ironing boards, and hair-dryers are some of the comforts of home. Free local phone calls, free high-speed Internet access and voice mail help guests keep in touch.


Families or individuals who prefer a little extra space take advantage of The Hotel Blue suite, featuring separate living and sleeping spaces with an additional television, as well as a full kitchen with hardwood floors.

Property features

The Hotel Blue complimentary breakfast bar includes cereal, fruit, muffins, yogurt and beverages. Stop by the lobby any time for fresh-brewed Starbucks coffee, cookies and complimentary USA Today. Enjoy a refreshing swim in The Hotel Blue outdoor pool, or spend a quiet afternoon the courtyard with a good book. Free parking -- available on a first-come, first-served basis -- is accessible only by guest room key.

Highlights
  • Free in-room bottled water
  • Located in the downtown business district of Albuquerque on historic Route 66
  • Free Wi-Fi in the lobby and free high-speed Internet access in guest rooms
  • Complimentary airport and local area shuttle
Nearby attractions
  • Robinson Park (Across the street)
  • Albuquerque Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • ABQ BioPark Zoo (0.7 mi/1.1. km)
  • Old Town Albuquerque (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • University of New Mexico (2 mi/3.3 km)
  • Balloon Fiesta Park (7.7 mi/12.5 km)
  • Sandia Peak Tramway (12.4 mi/19.9 km)
Business
  • Two meeting rooms available
Transportation
  • Amtrak station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Greyhound station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Interstate 25 (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Interstate 40 (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Albuquerque International Sunport (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Free shuttle to the airport, convention center and Old Town, 7 a.m. – 10 p.m.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Hotel Blue also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5

The Hotel Blue Rooms

Non-smoking King
One king size Tempur-Pedic bed; microwave and refrigerator; iron and ironing board; coffee maker, voice messaging and data ports, hairdryers, high-speed internet access, 40-inch HDTV, free local phone calls.
Non-smoking Double
Two queen size Tempur-Pedic beds; microwave and refrigerator; iron and ironing board; coffee maker, voice messaging and data ports, hairdryers, high-speed internet access, 40-inch HDTV, free local phone calls.

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Free full breakfast
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • KiMO theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rio Grande Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Albuquerque Little Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science: 1 mi
  • Explora Science Center and Children's Museum of Albuquerque: 1.1 mi
  • San Felipe de Neri Church: 1.1 mi
  • Albuquerque Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Old Town Albuquerque: 1.1 mi
  • Turquoise Museum: 1.2 mi
  • National Hispanic Cultural Center: 1.2 mi
  • New Mexico Steam Locomotive and Railroad Historical Society: 1.3 mi
  • Albuquerque Aquarium: 1.4 mi
  • Indian Pueblo Cultural Center: 1.7 mi
  • Albuquerque Isotopes Baseball: 1.7 mi
  • University of New Mexico: 2 mi
  • KiMO theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rio Grande Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Albuquerque Little Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science: 1 mi
  • Explora Science Center and Children's Museum of Albuquerque: 1.1 mi
  • San Felipe de Neri Church: 1.1 mi
  • Albuquerque Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Old Town Albuquerque: 1.1 mi
  • Turquoise Museum: 1.2 mi
  • National Hispanic Cultural Center: 1.2 mi
  • New Mexico Steam Locomotive and Railroad Historical Society: 1.3 mi
  • Albuquerque Aquarium: 1.4 mi
  • Indian Pueblo Cultural Center: 1.7 mi
  • Albuquerque Isotopes Baseball: 1.7 mi
  • University of New Mexico: 2 mi
  • University Stadium: 2 mi
  • American International Rattlesnake Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Rio Grande Nature Center State Park: 3.5 mi
  • Unser Racing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Tingley Coliseum: 4.7 mi
  • Petroglyph National Monument: 5.8 mi
  • The National Museum of Nuclear Science and History: 7.1 mi
  • Corrales Bosque: 7.7 mi
  • Anderson - Abruzzo International Balloon Museum: 8 mi
  • Rainbow Ryders: 8.3 mi
  • Volcano Park: 11.8 mi
  • Elena Gallegos Park: 12 mi
  • Sandia Peak Tramway: 12.4 mi
  • La Luz Trail: 13 mi
  • Jemez State Monument: 48 mi
  • Cibola National Forest: 72.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Blue

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 147
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amanda G.
Business
San Juan
Jul 27, 2015

Comfy bed!

Dont be discouraged by the outside, because its wonderful inside! Comfortable bed and new amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oscar M.
Business
N/A
Feb 13, 2015

quick stay friendly staff

We had a very friendly gentleman at the desk help us out. We were carrying some precious cargo that was large and he stored it for us. I wouls stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
This Nickname business is
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 10, 2014

Just OK

Pros: Clean room, comfortable bed (Tempur-Pedic), Fast Wi-Fi, excellent free breakfast (relative to what most hotels serve as a free breakfast), hot shower, medium size fridge and microwave in room. This would be a great hotel for someone vacationing in the area, who would mostly be driving to attractions. Cons: -Location is about 0.5 miles from Convention Center. The walk between the Convention Center and the hotel is a bit intimidating at night -- deserted streets. I didn't see anything particularly troubling, but I didn't feel 100% safe either. -Room had a desk and a chair, but the chair wasn't on wheels, which I would prefer. Also, there was no other armchair in the room, which nicer hotels tend to have. -One time, I got a signal that there were too many people using the Wi-Fi -- so, I couldn't use it that morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cocina Azúl -- excellent inexpensive New Mexican food, 1.0 mile away.

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ins Traveler
Business
Sacramento, California
Aug 9, 2014

Work travel

Not a terrible hotel but terrible location. staff were alright. Nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Umm...hmm...
Business
Albuquerque
Jul 28, 2014

Needs Help

Maybe with the right owner, looking at the little things this hotel could be helped. But my friend with me said it looked like a motel 6. The breakfast was good, but other than that I just didn't feel comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Staten Island, NY
Jun 17, 2014

Perfect for a quick Business trip

The breakfast is one of the best I have had. The room was spacious with a very comfortable bed. I would have liked to open the window but not possible due to privacy. The windows could use a privacy screen which would allow sunlight and provide privacy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't forget to visit Sandia peak.

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
evia columbus
Business
Staten Island, NY
Jun 17, 2014

Stratigically located

The area was quiet. I had a good night's sleep due to the silence in the area. The room was spacious and the bed was excellent comfort. I could not open the window due to privacy but I wish there was a way for the sun light to enter the room without sacrificing comfort. I think the rooms could use privacy screens that allows sunlight into the room. I did not particularly like the lotion nor the soap and lotion dispensaries on the wall. The body lotion smelled like an expired pharmaco product. Otherwise, I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Sandia peak.

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Onyx25
Business
Winslow, AZ
Mar 15, 2014

Community Service

It was interesting. Hosts werent helpful. Couldve been more pleasent. Loved the location n the cleaning staff was kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Beer Geek
Business
Carlsbad, NM
Mar 15, 2014

2nd Visit

This was my second time staying at this hotel. What I did not like is the fact that they only provide liquid soap rather than bar soap. Also, the shuttle would not take me to Marble Brewery even though it is only about a mile away. When I asked about this, I was told, "Marble no we don't go there" as if it were in some terrible neighborhood which it is not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

VIsit Marble Brewery for their excellent selection of beers brewed on site. The food menu is limited but good. There is also a different food truck parked outside most nights.

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Conference traveler 1977
Business
CA
Feb 27, 2014

Value hotel

Nothing too fancy. Nice free breakfast and hotel shuttle. Very good value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top